Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostAnd then there's those hundreds of years of servitude under the English - I know none of us lived through that...
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Solksjaer! View PostLeeds are back theyll last 3 seasons . Autumn , Winter and Spring .
Cool fact:
1963/64: Liverpool win Division One, Leeds United win Division Two and Coventry City win Division Three.
2019/20: Liverpool win the Premier League, Leeds United win the Championship and Coventry City win League One.
- 3 likes
-
Don't know the exact count. Think we are at about 60%. We need 80/90% to make it happen depending on the price per % so if anyone else has an interest in taking a piece please sign up here. Ask yourself this?
Do you really want to be the guy on IPB not cheering on the horsey going into the final day? That would suck.
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Dice75 View PostJumoed into my first ever Bracelet Event. Bit late but 25bbs to work with. Expect to be hot on Helmuths tail by end of next month
Edit - nvmLast edited by Opr; 17-07-20, 21:18.
-
The 100 opener? Made day 2 yesterday. Only 20bb but enough for a spin on the final day. The numbers they are getting are mental. There was 3600 in for my flight alone. Wish I had of gambled it up a bit more to build a stack and shot another few days for a better stack.
- 4 likes
-
Tidying up the rental house this evening prior to departure tomorrow morning when the landlady appeared. Thought she was most likely checking in to see what we had broken (surprisingly little) but no, she had come to say goodbye to the kids and have a 'competition' to see if they could guess the name of the big teddy left in one of the bedrooms. My youngest hit the jackpot with the inspired selection of Big Ted and she promptly presented her with a fiver and one for her brother.
This on top of a welcome pack that included beer, wine, milk, tea, bread, scones, butter, jam, chocolate, biscuits and sweets. Not to mention ample supplies of face masks and hand sanitiser.
Some hospitality tbf. I even got a copy of the Southern Star out of the deal. Ireland wins."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 13 likes
-
One of the best hardcore punk frontmen ever to grace a stage and a true hero to me growing up is gone.
Why I came to be touched (figuratively) by a gay chinaman from Canada as a 16 year old from south Derry is still a mystery.
One of my life’s great regrets is that I was at a hardcore show in Vancouver In the early 90s, maybe 50 or 60 people, and there he was with a couple of friends and I was too awestruck to say hello and tell him how much his music meant to me.
RIP Mr.Chi Pig
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkLast edited by BennyHiFi; 18-07-20, 12:55.
- 2 likes
-
Enjoying watching Dublin GAA supporters on here making arguements in favour of levelling the playing field to negate privilege
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Lazare View PostAnother beautiful lady in my life, 6lb 14, am in love.
Mama and bombolito flying it
Restrictions lifted just two days ago too, so I can visit every day.
This day is one of the good ones.
Another bundle presented with smiles
He'd been wearing a groove in the tiles
Many paths can be led
Our fate is not sealed its bred
In 2040 she breaks the 4 minute mile
- 4 likes
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostMy business school individually interviews all 5000 applicants for about 600 places each year. Massively competitive as everyone has already met very competitive academic qualifications. Each interview is a professor and an external (usually very successful) business person. What you consistently see is that anyone who has had any sort of struggle (through life, disability, ethnicity, whatever) always gets ranked on top. They've so clearly had to fight more to get to where they are so it's the obvious choice. That's consistently across a few hundred interviews with maybe 50-70 interview partners over the last five years. Never been explicitly stated either, it's just a thing.
Not saying 'problem solved', just that people innately want to make decisions to help solve the problem.
On the more general question of selection bias, I would argue the focus should be on removing irrelevant bias from the selection process. If an experiment gives you unreliable results, don't try to change the results by applying weightings or something, go back an change the experiment. Like the 'black' sounding name should never be a factor in the selection process. Probably scope for introducing automation, like verifiable credit ratings for work experience or personality tests, to help remove conscious, unconscious or deliberate bias. It should be possible to audit selection processes, like accounts, and penalize companies with substandard 'loaded' selection processes. Extended equality legislation and stiff penalties would also help. The Equality Acts 1998‐2004 have done a massive amount to balance things out in Ireland in my lifetime.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Kayroo View PostI think there is a chance we are talking at cross-purposes and taking each other up wrong. If that's so I don't want to go down the road of getting more and more entrenched, as I respect your views on most things and would hate to think we were arguingd feel on something we fundamentally agree on because we are having two different arguments.
I think the intensity of bias and historical back tracking depends is case specific rather than a blanket rule.
I was genuinely curious about Hectorjelly’s logic and comments. I don’t think anyone should feel uncomfortable with the re-advantaging you describe.
I wasn't trying to answer HJ's question really, more fleshing out the position I thought he was making. We clearly disagree on how to address in-built racist/sexist/etc advantages but at least we agree that they have to be addressed. If I came across as condescending I apologise, it's an unfortunate side-effect of almost always seeming condescending. Your ad hominems were a little uncalled for if you ask me, as were mine.
I don’t think we necessarily disagree. I just think that’s more to it that a conceptual approach. Certainly anything discussion here won’t solve anything for any one. So happy to bury it.
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View PostOle did you ever get this project finished or did I miss the grand opening?
Its great to have the room to cook and stay dry outside. Got a cheap hammock from amazon, 20€, nice to just swing in there when its raining.
IMG-20200624-142423.jpg
IMG-20200624-164353.jpg
IMG-20200624-183551.jpg
IMG-20200711-174200.jpgThis too shall pass.
- 29 likes
-
Coincidentally, in the last 30 mins I found a clip in my father in laws ankle that has somehow remained hidden until now. Remember I commented on the wound not fully healing?
Hospital here we come. Or in the morning according to the Beacon.
- 5 likes
-
Originally posted by dobby View PostFinally out wesht for the first time since early February. Carrigaholt County Clare to eat all the seafood and drink all the Guinness. If you dont know it check it out. Highly recommended, pure blissNo beast so fierce but knows some touch of pity, but I know none, therefore am no beast.
-
Went to Skibbereen farmers market this morning to buy some provisions for lunch with friends in Laois on the way home.
Very first person we saw was Ian Bailey. I've no real opinion on his guilt or innocence in that case (and he is of course legally innocent) but he is one strange-looking individual. He was attempting to chat up all the other stallholders, who mostly looked uncomfortable with this. My daughter (13) had no idea who he was but walked away quite fast when she saw him. Definitely some bad vibes emanating off that dude."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 3 likes
-
Thinking of our little one we lost a lot over the past couple of days. Spent some time looking at the mortuary in The Coombe yesterday, thinking back, hoping nobody was in there.
There's a special purple logo that they stick to all of your stuff, hall passes, med records etc that helps inform security staff etc to be kinder to you. Was staring at that logo yesterday, for ages.
Thinking that my two year old, and this new beautiful baby wouldn't exist if it wasn't for what happened.
Rainbow babies they're called.
Anyway, this song captures it for me...
'pebble on a beach of a distant star, picked up by a little hand'
http://www.youtube.com/v=x3L3y...AcvRQA9tTqTZp
https://youtu.be/x3L3ySwV8FwLast edited by Lazare; 18-07-20, 22:01.I hold silver in tit for tat, and I love you for that
- 22 likes
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostWent to Skibbereen farmers market this morning to buy some provisions for lunch with friends in Laois on the way home.
Very first person we saw was Ian Bailey. I've no real opinion on his guilt or innocence in that case (and he is of course legally innocent) but he is one strange-looking individual. He was attempting to chat up all the other stallholders, who mostly looked uncomfortable with this. My daughter (13) had no idea who he was but walked away quite fast when she saw him. Definitely some bad vibes emanating off that dude.
-
Originally posted by Lazare View PostAnother beautiful lady in my life, 6lb 14, am in love.
Mama and bombolito flying it
Restrictions lifted just two days ago too, so I can visit every day.
This day is one of the good ones.
I suppose I'm nearly an uncle now, so ?!!
and say hello to granda Tom !!!
- 1 like
-
Today I had the brother on my mind for a few different of reasons that converged on today but mostly because he was a huge Leeds fan , Jackie Charlton was his hero as a kid, and I'd have been bombarded by various Super Leeds messages if he was still around.
This evening just after his grand children left my home after being over visiting I sat down to look at a race on the curragh when I noticed that a lad he used to follow as a Jockey had brought a horse over from the UK to run so obv I lumped on a sentimental punt and obvSPOILERIt finished lastTurning millions into thousands
- 7 likes
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View PostToday I had the brother on my mind for a few different of reasons that converged on today but mostly because he was a huge Leeds fan , Jackie Charlton was his hero as a kid, and I'd have been bombarded by various Super Leeds messages if he was still around.
This evening just after his grand children left my home after being over visiting I sat down to look at a race on the curragh when I noticed that a lad he used to follow as a Jockey had brought a horse over from the UK to run so obv I lumped on a sentimental punt and obvSPOILERIt finished last
I saw a lovely tweet today, a woman saying how her Dad had just died that morning. A water bailif found him at the side of a river, in his fishing chair with his rod cast. Thought it was really beautiful.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Rahenyrhythm View PostJust now saw your post about the rainbow baby Laz, so sad. Hopefully this new little one helps to ease the pain - never forget of course, just ease the pain a little.
Ah, we're in a good placeI hold silver in tit for tat, and I love you for that
-
Laz has me all mushy tonight.
My song for my kiddies .
Had the hots for her after the commitments, then when she sang this in early OV1. I thought it was romantic back then now it makes me think of the childer. Played it to the 1st one when he was ill at the start . Many nights walking the floors . Now hes rudely healthy.
Maria Doyle Kennedy "Stars above" live Zürich 9.1.11
- 2 likes
-
That's cool HJ. Like these. Maybe I missed one of the weeks, but is there any snippets of the music itself, or is that something you are building up to in the final Medium?
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hectorjelly View PostThis weeks music journal: https://medium.com/@daraghthomas/we-...a870709f017062airport, lol
- 1 like
-
Ah Dilla snares! Dreamy is the one that always gets me
-
Kid did two things that have me pretty blown away today.
1/
I was brushing her hair and she asks, daddy are we really small?
No says I, you are getting bigger everyday.
But Daddy, my LOLs are really small and they are my toys.
Yeah?
Well are we just toys of something really big like Big Boots (a giant from a story I tell her)
?
Fucking four.
- 3 likes
-
2/
Then brushing her teeth I put my toothpaste on her toothbrush she got annoyed and said no use my one.
Its for Princesses, its for royalty.... It's for Royal Teeth.
And then proceeding to bust her shite laughing at herself for ages.
Its a really good pun and I literally never copped it until she said itPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 6 likes
-
Originally posted by rounders123 View PostTh Windies are playing admirably for a draw here. Play up play up, play the game."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 1 like
-
Long before the benchmark reference work on kilings during the Troubles, Lost Lives, there was this extraordinary piece of work by a Lancashire bus driver with no research qualifications. Had never heard of it until today.
I was very surprised to learn an original copy of Lost Lives now sells for between e500 and e1000 as it's been out of print for over a decade and the original authors are unlikely to update it.
I have to say it's pretty ghoulish that the book is changing hands for that amount now, I'd have thought around the e100-150 would be more realistic.
Last time I checked my copy, probably a decade ago or more, I totted up 13 people I knew who were killed (either personally or knew a family member) - neighbours, family friends, a teacher, from all sides of the 'divide'.
Last edited by BennyHiFi; 19-07-20, 19:45.
- 8 likes