Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To...
View Post
Bad beat/Moaning/Venting thread - Wordle Gummidge
-
Rented the spoilered for about the same price. I think your bro won this round! Man Dublin accommodation is so shite. Think it's quite large though - about 95sqm - although weirdly the letting agent had no idea what size it was, which is surely the first piece of info you'd have on hand.
SPOILERhttps://touch.daft.ie/for-rent/apartment-newpark-newtown-avenue-blackrock-co-dublin/2523045“Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders.”
- 1 like
-
Rented the spoilered for about the same price. I think your bro won this round! Man Dublin accommodation is so shite. Think it's quite large though - about 95sqm - although weirdly the letting agent had no idea what size it was, which is surely the first piece of info you'd have on hand.
SPOILERhttps://touch.daft.ie/for-rent/apartment-newpark-newtown-avenue-blackrock-co-dublin/2523045
- 1 like
-
That is insane money. I got so lucky buying in 2011. The difference between my mortgage and that apartment is significantly more than it costs to a run a plane!
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostHeh. They were all around that: €2000 for a crappy two bed. €2200 for a standard. Maybe it's just the area? Sure I suppose we'll just be swapping it for an equivalent mortgage in a year, so can suck it up for 12 months. Maybe spend the last few months of the academic year in France to save a few grand. 2011 was such a good year to buy in fairness.
Edit- just looked instead of being lazy. Interest rates not too bad really.Last edited by Dice75; 14-07-20, 17:53.
-
Is there a reason why apartments in Ireland are always furnished? The furniture you get always looks like garbage. 2,400 a month and look at the table and chairs, the stool and high table in the kitchen, if you were giving them away the person taking it would ask you drop it off as it's not worth the cost of the petrol.
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by Dice75 View PostQuestion for ye in the know please?
WheN sOMeoNe WriTes soMeThiNg lIKe ThiS DoEs IT MEaN SomEThiNG?
-
Originally posted by Charlie Sheen View PostIs there a reason why apartments in Ireland are always furnished? The furniture you get always looks like garbage. 2,400 a month and look at the table and chairs, the stool and high table in the kitchen, if you were giving them away the person taking it would ask you drop it off as it's not worth the cost of the petrol.
*looking at the agent*
"Any chance of getting a real table?"
"I thought that was cool and hip"
"eh..."
- 3 likes
-
Actually I was going to ask them to ship it away. Hopefully that's a thing you can do?
- 1 like
-
Since my father got back from A&E the other night he's been telling anyone who'll listen that they took out his kidney, he's more convincing than Trump is about passing his dementia test.Last edited by Strewelpeter; 14-07-20, 19:31.Turning millions into thousands
- 4 likes
-
Since my father got back from A&E the other night he's been telling anyone who'll listen that they took out his kidney, he's more convincing than Trump is about passing his dementia test.
Run!!
- 1 like
-
Wonder where the guard who leaked Cowen stuff is from
whiff of the Mayo deep state about the whole thing
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostThe wife's boss (maybe around 50-55 years old - I mention the age to indicate its a sensible age) was saying she was back in the West of Ireland over the weekend visiting her extremely ill parents that she hasnt be able to see in a few months due to lockdown and all her brothers and sisters, same age range, were making fun of her fancy Dublin ways of wearing a mask. Wtf. She's most definitely not prone to exaggeration, so either she has a weird family or that whole part of the world is weird. Why would you make fun of someone wearing a mask??!
Honestly I was half rolling my eyes about it a few weeks ago but have taken to having one in my pocket to put on in busy shops over the last week or so. I do it for the sake of other people's peace of mind pretty much.
The messaging around it in Ireland has been extremely wishy washy. When you consider most places west of the Shannon have had basically no cases throughout the pandemic I don't think it's too surprising that it's taken Dubs turning up with COVID to have infection parties to get the plain people of the west to start wearing masks in light of the fact that they've literally just now decided to make a bit of thing about it for people taking the DART.
- 3 likes
-
The other odd thing is having new apartments with like a B or even a C energy rating. How do you even physically achieve that with modern building techniques?!
Achieve a good rating requires a lot more than modern building techniques. There's a significant investment required that not everyone wants to spend.
Originally posted by Charlie Sheen View PostIs there a reason why apartments in Ireland are always furnished? The furniture you get always looks like garbage. 2,400 a month and look at the table and chairs, the stool and high table in the kitchen, if you were giving them away the person taking it would ask you drop it off as it's not worth the cost of the petrol.
I think it's down to the plebs expecting furnished apartments to the point of there being no market.
If makes sense in low-cost, short term, or small city apartments. But can never understand a somebody rent a large relatively expensive place but sleeping in somebody's old smelly bed.
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by PSV58 View PostWonder where the guard who leaked Cowen stuff is from
whiff of the Mayo deep state about the whole thingPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
Since my father got back from A&E the other night he's been telling anyone who'll listen that they took out his kidney, he's more convincing than Trump is about passing his dementia test.
Without fail, every day he forgets Covid is a thing or expresses in wonder that it's the first day out in months.People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Ed View PostSome people/places are just weird. Was in Tesco in Wicklow town earlier. Pretty sure I was the only one wearing a mask(or one of the very few anyway) and got a few weird looks alright
-
Is this permitted ? Consequences?
“An employee shall not use or permit the use of his Government position or title or any authority associated with his public office to endorse any product, service or enterprise.”Last edited by ComradeCollie; 15-07-20, 08:19.“Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders.”
-
Jesus christ
Coronavirus: ‘Worrying trend’ of symptomatic people refusing Covid-19 tests
via The Irish Times
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/heal...ests-1.4304542
-
Just when you think they cannot get any more crassPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
-
I see joe Rohan proving beyond all doubt he is a dangerous moron “masks are for bitches”
poor reflection on people that they listen to his rambling shite, people who go on as guests usually go down in my estimation also
-
I see joe Rogan proving beyond all doubt he is a dangerous moron “masks are for bitches”
poor reflection on people that they listen to his rambling shite, people who go on as guests usually go down in my estimation also
-
Fake news bro https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BY3C...youtu.be&t=578"I can’t find anyone who agrees with what I write or think these days, so I guess I must be getting closer to the truth." - Hunter S. Thompson
- 5 likes
-
For coffee people, darkarts have a 25% sale today on anything, as they are moving premises and don't want to move their stock, if ye wanted anything. Code is fuckouttahere
I'm a big fan of the "I will kill again" keep cup. Their coffee is awesome.
https://www.darkartscoffee.co.uk/
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Tar.Aldarion View PostFor coffee people, darkarts have a 25% sale today on anything, as they are moving premises and don't want to move their stock, if ye wanted anything. Code is fuckouttahere
I'm a big fan of the "I will kill again" keep cup. Their coffee is awesome.
https://www.darkartscoffee.co.uk/
-
Very easily tbh.
Achieve a good rating requires a lot more than modern building techniques. There's a significant investment required that not everyone wants to spend.
I've always found that odd too.
I think it's down to the plebs expecting furnished apartments to the point of there being no market.
If makes sense in low-cost, short term, or small city apartments. But can never understand a somebody rent a large relatively expensive place but sleeping in somebody's old smelly bed.
What are you going to do in the Dublin rental market? Just have to suck it up
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWe've now agreed to pay the landlord to store his crap in a storage place so we don't get infected. They saw us coming all right. In fairness we would have had to store our stuff somewhere otherwise.
His stuff, his responsibilityPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWe've now agreed to pay the landlord to store his crap in a storage place so we don't get infected. They saw us coming all right. In fairness we would have had to store our stuff somewhere otherwise.‘IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.” Genghis Khan
- 1 like
-
Anything specific you can recommend?
The place is called it's a trap, near mountjoy sq, if you feel like trying it out. They also sell the beans there. They spent months drinking different coffees before choosing these guys and when they chose them, the lads flew over from London to chat about coffee etc, great service!
- 1 like
-
...Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 15-07-20, 15:08."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
TBH I can see where they those new IP businesses are coming from. It's risky yes and the valuations seem high now BUT I think bands and record companies have traditionally been rather shortsighted and this is a much longer play, monetising catalogues hard over many decades with a much broader vision of where the opportunities might be.
And I don't really have a problem with that for bands/artists which are big business.
The main risks I'd highlight is that the ubiquity which will come from putting their images and songs in places they traditionally may not have been will dilute their cache (in the west) and they won't get anything near the return they might think they will from 'emerging' markets in the east.
Might be another case of Guy Hands catastrophic takeover of EMI a decade ago but this move seems different. It's music industry insiders trying to disrupt with a near bottomless pit of cash.
The challenge will be to get the revenue streams robust enough before the money runs out and/or the often very fickle world of celebrity/entertainment either pushes back against the prices or something like another global recession/depression (or something like cancel culture) create an insurmountable structural shift.
- 8 likes
-
Food to see a bit of a backlash brewing against working from home, pretty clear it’ll be a disaster for all the companies that rely on catering to workforce’s in the city
hopefully if this blows over there will be a campaign to shame selfish WFH holdouts and they’ll be forced to abandon their plans to infest and destroy the west of Ireland
don’t think everyone is loving it anyway and Have no doubt productivity has dropped for many.
-
Hullo to whomever shouted out a window to me from a taxi in Chapelizod tonightPeople say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 2 likes