For that money you could buy this in the country

or this in the town
    Find Detached Houses for Sale in Naas, Kildare. Search 10 Detached Houses for sale on Daft.ie now.

And be a shorter commute to DCU than Bray or much the same as Balinteer.
    But the amenities darling! One simply wouldn't have the range of amenities and cultural attractions that one would be accustomed to in the city. And the locals....

CASH OUT ?

Second moderna for me yesterday, I'm in giblets this morning.
        Panadol and back to bed had me right by the afternoon!

CASH OUT ?
          Depends on your attitude really. England are by no means a cert to win and have some tough games ahead, Germany in the round 16 is a stinker for them and one I can see going to penalties.

CASH OUT ?
            Betting on ENGLAND? Ronnie Drew is thrashing around furiously trying to get out of his grave so he can bate the head off ya.

Tear up that ticket and we'll tell your sons this unpleasantness never happened.

When I'm a Brayovian, I'll be telling my fellow citizens what ye think of them. Might even suggest we build a wall.

Betting on ENGLAND? Ronnie Drew is thrashing around furiously trying to get out of his grave so he can bate the head off ya.

Tear up that ticket and we'll tell your sons this unpleasantness never happened.
                I view it as compensation should the unthinkable happen. The early rounds powder is dry. I fear the worst

Hitch, what would you think of something like this? https://www.myhome.ie/residential/br...lin-16/4510579

Hitchhiker's Guide To...

what about something like this? seems in budget. no doubt some work needed but can easily be done bit by bit , and is 5 minutes to the school

https://www.myhome.ie/residential/br...lin-18/4510620

Thanks! Have arranged viewings for both now. Although the first one has just joined the market and is already at a 611k bid. I’d imagine the second might easily pop over our allowance (725).

I can't help but feel there's a big slice of history up for grabs in the likes of here in Bray. Imagine how much that would cost in not Bray?

A massive project obviously. But you are polishing a hidden gem.

When I'm a Brayovian, I'll be telling my fellow citizens what ye think of them. Might even suggest we build a wall.
                    Jokes on you, if there were enough builders to put up the wall then you wouldn’t need to move to Bray.

Didn't know disc golf was a thing but there are some crowds at this!
                      If this is the best they can manage it must be fairly shite.

Didn't know disc golf was a thing but there are some crowds at this!
                        If this is the best they can manage it must be fairly shite.

I wanna play!

Well, with regard the Bray house, I'm sure you've seen what a great job next door have done (thought that was the one you were looking at to start with) - there's definitely a lot of potential there!!! However, I do think relatively and certainly right now (I await others who will disagree), there's more value going for the walk-in condition places over the 'need €200K-€300K' ones. There's feck all subcontractor availability at present, renovation/extension prices are sky high and labour is only going to get tighter and tighter if the government (be that the current one or a SF-led one) truly want to increase supply as they have promised. We don't have the manpower to build all these houses at present, but if we actually make a go of it, that's going to pull in the same people you'd be looking to to do up a fixer-upper in the future.

If you compared #4 and #5 in that terrace, if they both went at asking, #5 is better value IMHO, given the cost and unbelievably hassle of dealing with a large-scale renovation.

Jesus lads, 800k+ ? ye need to come down the country !
                            Sure if you are on 100k+ a year it's a no brainer obvs!

Thanks! Have arranged viewings for both now. Although the first one has just joined the market and is already at a 611k bid. I’d imagine the second might easily pop over our allowance (725).

Your budget is 725 and you're looking in Bray?! I know prices are bit nuts in Dublin but don't resort to that.

This in Sandyford is minutes to Foxrock if you're set on that school and a short walk to the Luas

Same with this, across M50 from Foxrock and walking distance to Luas

And this

Or this or this nearby too

Well, with regard the Bray house, I'm sure you've seen what a great job next door have done (thought that was the one you were looking at to start with) - there's definitely a lot of potential there!!! However, I do think relatively and certainly right now (I await others who will disagree), there's more value going for the walk-in condition places over the 'need €200K-€300K' ones. There's feck all subcontractor availability at present, renovation/extension prices are sky high and labour is only going to get tighter and tighter if the government (be that the current one or a SF-led one) truly want to increase supply as they have promised. We don't have the manpower to build all these houses at present, but if we actually make a go of it, that's going to pull in the same people you'd be looking to to do up a fixer-upper in the future.

If you compared #4 and #5 in that terrace, if they both went at asking, #5 is better value IMHO, given the cost and unbelievably hassle of dealing with a large-scale renovation.
                                yeah, I agree. its just we don't have €850k! The one we were actually looking at was this one: https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/semi-de...icklow/2510959

I've a slight element of navity, in that growing up my parents always built their house - so they built three of them while I was at home as we moved around the country, and one more subsequently. Its maybe made me think its easier and more attractive than it actually is as an option.

Genius move by hitch,
                                  it's akin to the auld "if you want the right answer just post the wrong answer first".

Your budget is 725 and you're looking in Bray?! I know prices are bit nuts in Dublin but don't resort to that.

This in Sandyford is minutes to Foxrock if you're set on that school and a short walk to the Luas

Same with this, across M50 from Foxrock and walking distance to Luas

And this

Or this or this nearby too
                                    Theres a lot of decent options there! Now we don't want to spend the 725 - we were thinking more 600k

If you move to Bray, you'll be banned from the site

Also viewed a place in Brighton Court in Foxrock/Cabinteely last week, yikes - massive space but bizarrely laid out.
                                        Foxrock! We bought in Brighton Court earlier this year
                                        Initially intended to give it a lick of paint but then decided to do a proper job on it so 3 months later it looks like a new build inside so we're pretty excited to move in this Saturday.
                                        Assume that's number 2 you viewed? Layout does look strange. Where's the bidding at, out of interest? It's a great area.

Theres a lot of decent options there! Now we don't want to spend the 725 - we were thinking more 600k
                                          Did Wayne sort the mortgage in the end?

Of all the things that we could have staged an intervention for Hitch over down the years, it turns out that a potential move to Bray is the one that triggered IPB's inner humanitarian.

Was out walking down to the Baily lighthouse with the kids earlier. Some amazing houses tucked into the cliffs there (not that they would be in any of our budgets but insane views up/down the coast).

Foxrock! We bought in Brighton Court earlier this year
                                                Initially intended to give it a lick of paint but then decided to do a proper job on it so 3 months later it looks like a new build inside so we're pretty excited to move in this Saturday.
                                                Assume that's number 2 you viewed? Layout does look strange. Where's the bidding at, out of interest? It's a great area.
                                                LOVELY, lovely estate, first time I'd been in it (despite living 8 minutes drive away and going up that hill to Cabinteely very often), the houses on the way in are gorgeous. €1M+ I'm guessing though. Yeah, #2. They extended out to the left, hence the weird layout. No bids, and I won't be bidding ether, it just doesn't work in terms of the flow. Love the area alright, some really nice houses on Cornelscourt Hill Road and Hainault Road. We're going to Stepaside Park now I think.

Mad amount of crashes in the TDF today, its not even wet just a tight technical last 20Km, also Tsitsipas 2 down in his first round match at Wimbeldon

absolute carnage!

Did Wayne sort the mortgage in the end?
                                                      Wayne is the dude, and Wayne is the man who made it happen. There's something very likeable about him, with his obvious focus on doing well by the person. Thank you hugely for the contact as it has made the whole mortgage thing very pleasant.

Jaysis, you wouldn't see that in an U-8 game

What a last 25 minutes, extra time.

Diamond Hill in Connemara is a superb little hike for anyone with the younger kids . Although I think I loved it more than them. Stunning around this neck.

Switched off in the 80-somethingth minute at 3-1.

BBQ'd whole sea bream. Epic.
                                                                Was out in Howth (using up the 2020 leftover holidays) and popped into Dorans for more of the same. Roasted a bream and a bass, with a bitta mash and some tzatskiki. Drop of vin blanc on the side.

Should really eat more fish at home:

20210628_190756a.jpg

Was out walking down to the Baily lighthouse with the kids earlier. Some amazing houses tucked into the cliffs there (not that they would be in any of our budgets but insane views up/down the coast).
                                                                  This house:
                                                                  20210628_131232a.jpg

looking over this view (probably haven't done it justice and suspect he's got the entire panorama up and down the coast):
                                                                  20210628_130446a.jpg

Just me (or recency bias) or are the Euros usually better watching than World Cups?

nope... You need the South Americans... they are usually the best to watch in the cup.

One of Mrs Lao Lao's mates has a 33' sailing boat and we've been out on it a few times over the years. Last time we went out was the end of the summer last year and we went around Howth head. Quite a few houses perched up there and when you see them from the sea, you know they have an absolutely stunning view.

Serious lotto win required to buy one of them though!

Also, having looked at a lot of the links to houses posted today, there are a lot of people with shocking taste in interior design in this city.

Vaccine free for all

(ignore dobbs quoted post, its the first one from gav that has the info)

Vaccine free for all

(ignore dobbs quoted post, its the first one from gav that has the info)
                                                                              To answer Dobby question though, it's code for dodgy as fuck - probably better not to take.

Remind me where you did your doctorate in immunology?

Also, having looked at a lot of the links to houses posted today, there are a lot of people with shocking taste in interior design in this city.
                                                                                  you'll be blindfolded if you ever enter my gaff. It's designed by both of us with all the chic of a failed bomb disposal expert.

Scenes, etc... Round of 16 is delivering in spades.

Euros DELIVER

Scenes, etc... Round of 16 is delivering in spades.
                                                                                        Really are.

Not bad fare for a Monday.

WTaF
                                                                                          backed France at 5.1 when they were one down didn't bother cashing out at 1.02 flicked over to the Tennis for 5 minutes and when I look back its gone

Poor Shrap

WTaF
                                                                                              backed France at 5.1 when they were one down didn't bother cashing out at 1.02 flicked over to the Tennis for 5 minutes and when I look back its gone
                                                                                              CHAVBALL EH?

The Swiss rolled them.

CHAVBALL EH?
                                                                                                  Pure daycent show tonight, pray for Shrap!

Lol. Nonsense. I'll be taking it and if it kills me, so be it.

I just didnt understand the wording of it. Like are they not explaining the risks to everyone which I assumed they are. Thought it might have meant something technical given the announcement but doesn't seem so.

Pure daycent show tonight, pray for Shrap!
                                                                                                      Thought we'd win on penalties tbh. We played well for the better part of 20 minutes. Mbappe missing the penalty sums up this dismal performance in the tournament.

Was surprised they didn't take him off when he was limping badly in ET

He was hurt without being injured. Pretty certain they wanted to keep him on for the penalties. Obviously didn't work out the way they had planned it

That is a nice view from that house in Howth, but how long has it really been Mrs RDIII posting on here?

Remind me where you did your doctorate in immunology?
                                                                                                              Nothing to do with science, just understanding jargon.... You should know, you're the king of it

Anyone done the cheese eating surrender monkey thing yet ?

Second jabbage yesterday afternoon, so far so good on the side effects side..then again, i kept WELL hydrated yesterday
                                                                                                                  Obv jinxed myself. Went for a walk around noon and had to turn back after 15 mins, every muscle in my body aching, paracetamol and bulmers and fine again today.

edit: getting errors again when posting, " 500 error Internal Server Error" on Firefox.

Getting errors again when posting, " 500 error Internal Server Error", on firefox, wont let me edit a post either.

Highest number of daily covid deaths (110) in St Petersburg ever yesterday, and yet the quarter-final goes ahead with a 50% crowd this Friday https://tass.com/sport/1308015 Of course there are people who still think we should have had the matches go ahead here.

They're not real numbers either. The actual numbers would be far higher. Weird, as vaccines are fully available for anyone in St Petersburg. Nobody seems to want to act for mutual benefit in that country by helping to build herd immunity.

They're not real numbers either. The actual numbers would be far higher. Weird, as vaccines are fully available for anyone in St Petersburg.
                                                                                                                          The Russians seem to be highly resistant to taking vaccines. Like you say, they are available.

Putin, who has basically self-isolated for the entire pandemic, has not been filmed taking a jab either. Seems like a Bolsonaro-style play of some sort.