And we all know tories are a lot of things but not hypocrites. Isn't that right?
    Exactly! They all went to the best schools after all. Character building.

Boris can't really dump someone on the grounds of playing offside now can he? (well he could, but it would be hypocrisy on a grand scale)
      The most recent revelation...his bit on the sides brother gets cushy NHS contracts.

Anyone got any tips for changing the direction work is going when the orders are coming from on high in a very large company? Major groupthink going on and most people at my level think it's going to be awful but I'm the only one speaking up. So far all I seem to have done is make management double down. Polish the CV time or is there a productive way to say no to something I know is going to be bad for our customers?
        Update: Bypassed all the managers and booked a 1-1 with the most senior technical guy I could reasonably request one with. Explained the issue and he agrees it's a problem, and we've set up a plan for putting the brakes on. Very important not to overegg the pudding now, but hoping to put a stop to this thing over the next few weeks.

This video of the block collapsing in Miami, seemingly about to crush 100-150 people to death in their beds is quite chilling.

I don't have blind faith in either NPHET or the government. I probably have more faith in the NPHET doctors than the government tbh.

We have definitely fucked some things up in our pandemic experience; the decision to reopen for a 'meaningful Christmas' being No 1 (and led to an awful Jan-Apr), but compared to our peer group of countries we have definitely performed above the average. Of course being an island gives us a massive inbuilt advantage so some of the credit gets removed there.

Let me pose two questions back to you and let's see if we can get anywhere:
            1. Which peer countries do you think have performed better than us in the pandemic and why?
            2. If you think the current restrictions are unnecessary, can you explain what you think the government's motives are?
            The Danes 2500 dead. But the manner in which COVID deaths are reported is up for discussion as well. I have no doubt if I blew my head off with my automatic shotgun and had COVID that would have been the cause of death. They had 25000 at a football match last week poor Holohan must have cried seeing people enjoy themselves. There government has said they will abolish face masks when they get 70 per cent vaccinated except for public transport. The current restrictions are way over the top come on surely with 40 people in the whole country that’s less than 1 in 100000 in hospital with COVID not from COVID the most blinded person can see this overreaction. It’s easy telling people who have not lost wages or businesses here. Young people have made a massive sacrifice for older more vulnerable people the ones who get sick from it. The delta sub continent strain is whatever percentage more infectious but is it worse for us than the other older less cool one ? The government’s agenda I clearly don’t know I do know that regardless they will get there golden handshake pensions and won’t be affected. They remind me of the union generals at the start of the civil war petrified to make a decision besides keep everything closed. I think they are traitorous cunts and should be treated as such the old fashioned way. Can you imagine our debt in the next few years what sort of a country are the children now going to have ?

Local Spar, 100m from my gaff now stock Kinnegar. And me off the gargle.

Cunce.

Just got this gift today so this:

lVgNShNm.jpg

I asked what my followers like to eat and will share some screenshots of that an what my friend has been eating for dinner this week too
                Discover the magic of the internet at Imgur, a community powered entertainment destination. Lift your spirits with funny jokes, trending memes, entertaining gifs, inspiring stories, viral videos, and so much more from users.

I think in general you can veggie up the meals you usually eat with alternatives or just cook new things and see what you like, make curries, burritos, bolognaise, soups, roast stuff potatoes/veg, lasagne, pizza, whatever. It shouldn't need to be too different, just using a few different ingredients like beans,lentils, buts, fake meat things like that. It's not a big deal if you slip up or whatever, just try to find some veggie meals you like and start adding to it as you go along.

For breakfast I have smoothies (I'm sponsored by myprotein now so use a lot of protein powder and that craic, in smoothies or pancakes etc), porridge (with things on top like seeds, peanut butter, berries), granola with yogurt and toppings, scrambled tofu, avocado toast, or straight up have a regular lunch kinda meal. For lunch and dinner it could be anything tbh.

You seem to have a high ratio of female to male followers

Also, was it just me whose eyes went straight to the first one's lovely painted toes instead of the food?

Boris can't really dump someone on the grounds of playing offside now can he? (well he could, but it would be hypocrisy on a grand scale)
                  It's amazing the lengths some people will go to to impress their boss

They had 25000 at a football match last week poor Holohan must have cried seeing people enjoy themselves.
                    That bit is a batshit crazy outpouring of reading too much of gobshites like Cummins. Do you really believe that or is it just your anger venting?

Can you imagine our debt in the next few years what sort of a country are the children now going to have ?
                    What people think about that in the rear view mirror is going to be really interesting, will it be looked on with resentment at the price that has to be paid much as people reflected o WW1 or as a sacrifice that was worth making more like WW2.
                    IMO there are aspects about solidarity, social protection and healthcare that we can be very positive about but if there is an economic collapse as a direct result of the money spent then any gains and the trends towards healthcare for all and universal basic income will get the blame.

Anti lockdown sentiment remains a tiny but extremely loud minority, it will disappear in time and whether it lasts a few weeks longer than absolutely necessary is irrelevant.

Getting ridiculous now. Whatever about opening up or extending restrictions. The leaks annoy the bollox out of me. Just grow a pair and make an announcement.

You seem to have a high ratio of female to male followers

Also, was it just me whose eyes went straight to the first one's lovely painted toes instead of the food?
                        It's my preferred ratio Not much surprise in ages either.
                        She always looks amazing with that kinda stuff, runs acc with me.

NaVYaLFl.jpg

That bit is a batshit crazy outpouring of reading too much of gobshites like Cummins. Do you really believe that or is it just your anger venting?
                          Whatever about Holohans thoughts or motivations, the man has no business being on twitter commenting about crowds in town. Think it was about 20.40 on a Saturday when he tweeted about the crowds on South William Street. If I was about 12 years younger I would have been in there by about 21.10.

Poor sick puppy, he is completely right about the flattened curve. Hospitals are empty, vaccinations are effective against the new strains and the 20-30 somethings are mixing in huge groups anyway.

I think that we are at the point where having the conversations around are we being to risk adverse makes sense and isn’t anti lockdown tinfoil hatness.

Nphet have to be very conservative - it’s their job to model the worst numbers and try to protect 101% of the population.

The govt made a balls up at Christmas and don’t want to be caught out again.

I’m not too sure on where I stand on opening up myself but we are very close or maybe over the tipping point where economic v’s public health risk is shifting the other way.

Just to keep the conversation where it should be I wholeheartedly agree with Lao Lao and his toe fetish.

Met Tony H in Bushy Park on Sat morning pounding his few laps, asked him where his sheep were. Took him a minute to realise I wasnt a conspiacy theorist nut about to have a go

22.5 years for Chauvin.

I’m not too sure on where I stand on opening up myself but we are very close or maybe over the tipping point where economic v’s public health risk is shifting the other way.
                                  The problem is the virus can shift those goalposts very rapidly indeed. And we're constantly using lagging indicators to assess where we think we are.

I moved from them to VF.
                                    After years of working there and not using it
                                    home tv/home phone(lol)/1gb FTH/mobile all for €80
                                    Ufff, same deal but my company got bought by Eir and I get the above for 30 quid.

Course the Apple TV thingy is still in the box unused.
                                      DpTV 4 life.

Ufff, same deal but my company got bought by Eir and I get the above for 30 quid.
                                        You in Cherrywood?

I'm thinking opening up is logical. The whole reason for it was to protect the vulnerable. They are now vaccinated.

As of yesterday, only 24% of the 60-70 age group was fully vaccinated. That should be largely addressed over the next couple of weeks but then there is the couple of weeks after the second dose for maximum protection. That's the gaping hole at the moment, and the one any delay would be designed for I suspect. Another month and that gap should be filled, by and large.

The problem is the virus can shift those goalposts very rapidly indeed. And we're constantly using lagging indicators to assess where we think we are.
                                              The virus could possibly not can move those goal posts but as stands the vaccine stands up and the mortality rates are similar. Again based on what I have heard in the uk press.

I don’t think the question of lockdown is now as simple as science on one side and Gemma O’D on the other.
                                              Last edited by RichieM; 25-06-21, 22:31.

As of yesterday, only 24% of the 60-70 age group was fully vaccinated. That should be largely addressed over the next couple of weeks but then there is the couple of weeks after the second dose for maximum protection. That's the gaping hole at the moment, and the one any delay would be designed for I suspect. Another month and that gap should be filled, by and large.
                                                Really i thought we were way ahead of that.

fair enough that changes a lot - I think they are Astra and one dose of Astra is pretty poor against this variant.

Well ignore everything else I posted

People talk about the virus like it’s a sentient being with great intelligence. If it was the Black Death plague I’d be hiding myself. Two of my friends wives won’t leave the house women in there early 40s petrified to go outside. Never want to work in the office again. I take it all back Tony holohan for president. Iceland has just lifted all restrictions of course smaller population than us they also jailed bankers not like Ireland let them transfer it to the wife.

You in Cherrywood?
                                                    No I'm in my kitchen

/ Still contracted into d'EPA.

Went out to see The Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard last night. There was a grand total of me and two random other people in the whole cinema. The 16-year-old who had enough free time to escort me to the screen from the ticket checkin desk, was lamenting that cinemas are gone for good.

And yet, and yet, despite the uncomfortable seats, and having to listen to the two other pricks loudly crunching popcorn from their seats at the other end of the cinema, it was highly enjoyable and would have been a tiny fraction of the fun sitting at home watching it on the tv/screen.

It might be time to devote an evening or two to going back to the cinema and sending a message that its still got a chance.

Went out to see The Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard last night. There was a grand total of me and two random other people in the whole cinema. The 16-year-old who had enough free time to escort me to the screen from the ticket checkin desk, was lamenting that cinemas are gone for good.

And yet, and yet, despite the uncomfortable seats, and having to listen to the two other pricks loudly crunching popcorn from their seats at the other end of the cinema, it was highly enjoyable and would have been a tiny fraction of the fun sitting at home watching it on the tv/screen.

It might be time to devote an evening or two to going back to the cinema and sending a message that its still got a chance.
                                                        Meant to ask you.....when i met you at Peter Rabbit why were there a load of older teenagers up the back, i couldnt see what they were at - drinking or whatever or filming?

It was weird as they actually seemed to be genuinely there for the movie. A movie aimed at 5-10 year olds. We only moved as they were a prime 'we've got covid' cohort.

we eventually got around to registering ourselves in the Spanish healthcare system last Friday. Received texts this morning for vaccination on Monday evening. actual efficiency in Spain, I'm going for a lie-down.

bloody fordeners coming here taking our JABS wha?

Did you go on your own?

I tried to book 3 different movies in 4 different Cinemas yesterday afternoon. Family of 4. Got through to seat picking stage a couple of times but couldnt actually pick seats.

Rang a couple of them only to be told that "website should be showing as booked out" or "you can book in two sets of two but you wont get a refund if you book first two and cant get the second two"

My own fault for leaving it to last minute .

Joker in The Stella was one of the best nights out I've had in years.

Such an amazing place. Such a fitting movie too I thought, suited the style and atmosphere of the place beautifully.

Can't wait to go back.

Would be meh to cinemas generally but the overall experience there is a thing of class.

I went to The Quiet Place 2 with two buddies last week and there was a decent crowd in the screen, probably 100 people? Love love love going to the cinema, the whole experience, massive bag of popcorn, the trailers. Please let it remain part of our lives! I'd rather pubs disappear than cinemas, and I do miss the pub...

It's always been the cinema for me ahead of theaters, art galleries, book and poetry readings, concerts or operas. I guess the problem cinema has vs the rest is it's not live, so can easily become home entertainment. At what point does a big home movie room become a cinema? It's a lovely neutral meetup point all the same, particularly for dating. Hitch?

Hopefully have never yo date again the cinema is woeful for dates have to sit in silence can’t even see the woman man or other. I used to love the Phoenix park beside where I lived free and a chance to get them in for a cup of tea .

Did you ever meet a Stagg up there?

Got whistled at as I cycled down the road. Still got it Raoul, still got it.

Beat: they looked to be rough as fuck fiftysomethings. Female at least.

Pride weekend in full flow
                                                                            them ladies have a wolf whistle to be proud of

Pride weekend in full flow
                                                                              them ladies have a wolf whistle to be proud of

Hancock gone.

Wales out in sympathy too.

Want -

Hancock gone.

As minister for health

All kicks off around 50 seconds in

Its like the parish priest never left.

I have a question. My uncle, unfortunately, passed away a few months ago, albeit at a reasonably satisfactorily elderly age (despite his protestations). My mum is in charge of his estate and can't seem to find any assets. Not a penny. Which seems unlikely as he would have earned a fair bit over the years developing properties. But he might easily have spent it all. Is there a standard way, without too much cost, that she can search for whether he had any registered assets in Ireland across banks, funds, properties, etc?

Its like the parish priest never left.
                                                                                                  Ah, the poor fella forgot he wasn't living in France

Some less moralising country anyway that doesn't judge people's personal lives.

Yeah, it wouldn't be like the Tories to ram family values and moral hazards down peoples throats.

Do the Tories do that?

And even if they do, why should we in turn also do it?

Was it not that he broke the covid restrictions (rather than having a mistress, which is clearly standard in Boris-land)?

Being Minister for Health (or rather Secretary, what's with that usage?), that put him in a rather invidious position....

And he's a twat. So it's (a) funny and (b) nice to see him hoist on his own petard.

Less talk of ramming things down people's throats with Boris around. He might take you up on the suggestion.

Was it not that he broke the covid restrictions (rather than having a mistress, which is clearly standard in Boris-land)?

Being Minister for Health (or rather Secretary, what's with that usage?), that put him in a rather invidious position....

And he's a twat. So it's (a) funny and (b) nice to see him hoist on his own petard.
                                                                                                              I don't mind the 'he's a twat' angle, as long as we're not all calling on our inner-priest and morally judging people. And lets not pretend it has anything to do with covid regs.

I have a question. My uncle, unfortunately, passed away a few months ago, albeit at a reasonably satisfactorily elderly age (despite his protestations). My mum is in charge of his estate and can't seem to find any assets. Not a penny. Which seems unlikely as he would have earned a fair bit over the years developing properties. But he might easily have spent it all. Is there a standard way, without too much cost, that she can search for whether he had any registered assets in Ireland across banks, funds, properties, etc?
                                                                                                                Literally no paperwork in the house (or office) at all?

Does he even have an ATM card, which at least would tell you who his bank was? You could start there.

I don't mind the 'he's a twat' angle, as long as we're not all calling on our inner-priest and morally judging people. And lets not pretend it has anything to do with covid regs.
                                                                                                                  His resignation statement says both (I broke the regs and I let my wife and children down):

I want to reiterate my apology for breaking the guidance, and apologise to my family and loved ones for putting them through this
                                                                                                                  But remember: he is a twat. And rejoice in the spectacle.

More importantly today was spent fitting in ten or so suitable homes for sale in Bray into a Google Maps walking circuit, and expending 24,000 steps to visit them all and admire or disparage them from the outside.

It seems its quite easy to wipe out 80% of candidate homes simply based on exteriors. One home managed to not have a footpath, so every exit of the house would involve legging it across a road with cars screaming around two hairpin turns on either side. Other homes were clearly the 50-year-old hooker at the 50-year-old hooker party that had had a recent boobjob and felt that meant they no longer belonged to the elderly hooker club. That included one home selling itself as an upmarket abode where most of the neighbours seemed to have caravans in good working order in the back garden and heaps of broken down cars. Other houses, a surprising number, their most admirable external features turned out to be camera tricks.

In the end, we felt there was two candidate homes, and in a surprise turn, the runaway fav is 200k under our mortgage approval limit. A reasonably bogstandard estate house, but in a nice looking estate (near Boghall, which aside from a horrible name for a place, seems to have some highly dodgy areas, but the estate is away from the dodgiest of areas). The other is a bit more of a budget buster on the lovely Parnell Road. Lets see how it works out.

Bray has some amazing houses. Lovely architecture that really looks unique. Putland, Herbert, Parnell roads.

One that didn't make the final list, but which we'll view next week anyway, as its maybe a contender, if not for the size, is this. What thoughts would anyone have on this place?

Find Semi Detached Houses for Sale in Bray, Wicklow. Search 28 Semi Detached Houses for sale on Daft.ie now.

Literally no paperwork in the house (or office) at all?

Does he even have an ATM card, which at least would tell you who his bank was? You could start there.
                                                                                                                      Nothing. There's no money in his bank (she has access to that), and he was just renting a room in a house in Dublin for the last 30 years, so there's no identifiable asset there. But he would have made a lot from building over the years. He was extremely reclusive and very strongly into religion, so he might have simply donated it. Its just he went quickly and wouldn't have had a chance to sort anything out. Ah, its all a bit *something* talking about money and dead people, but its more there is a suspicion that there might be something that he would have wanted passed on, but having no idea how to check. One thought is he might have a few bits of land somewhere.

More importantly today was spent fitting in ten or so suitable homes for sale in Bray into a Google Maps walking circuit, and expending 24,000 steps to visit them all and admire or disparage them from the outside.

It seems its quite easy to wipe out 80% of candidate homes simply based on exteriors. One home managed to not have a footpath, so every exit of the house would involve legging it across a road with cars screaming around two hairpin turns on either side. Other homes were clearly the 50-year-old hooker at the 50-year-old hooker party that had had a recent boobjob and felt that meant they no longer belonged to the elderly hooker club. That included one home selling itself as an upmarket abode where most of the neighbours seemed to have caravans in good working order in the back garden and heaps of broken down cars. Other houses, a surprising number, their most admirable external features turned out to be camera tricks.

In the end, we felt there was two candidate homes, and in a surprise turn, the runaway fav is 200k under our mortgage approval limit. A reasonably bogstandard estate house, but in a nice looking estate (near Boghall, which aside from a horrible name for a place, seems to have some highly dodgy areas, but the estate is away from the dodgiest of areas). The other is a bit more of a budget buster on the lovely Parnell Road. Lets see how it works out.

Bray has some amazing houses. Lovely architecture that really looks unique. Putland, Herbert, Parnell roads.

One that didn't make the final list, but which we'll view next week anyway, as its maybe a contender, if not for the size, is this. What thoughts would anyone have on this place?

Find Semi Detached Houses for Sale in Bray, Wicklow. Search 28 Semi Detached Houses for sale on Daft.ie now.

One approves (if only for the verbiage):

On reaching the entrance hall, one steps into the bay-windowed sitting room with its welcoming open fireplace
                                                                                                                        Glazed double doors invite one to the eat-in family kitchen, well fitted, and featuring a vaulted ceiling over the dining area also enjoying double doors to the rear garden.
                                                                                                                        And look! They wrote the whole ad just for you!

We confidently recommend inspection to the most discerning purchaser.

Nothing. There's no money in his bank (she has access to that), and he was just renting a room in a house in Dublin for the last 30 years, so there's no identifiable asset there. But he would have made a lot from building over the years. He was extremely reclusive and very strongly into religion, so he might have simply donated it. Its just he went quickly and wouldn't have had a chance to sort anything out. Ah, its all a bit *something* talking about money and dead people, but its more there is a suspicion that there might be something that he would have wanted passed on, but having no idea how to check. One thought is he might have a few bits of land somewhere.
                                                                                                                          Get the last few years of statements, might give you a few clues.