Are we all good?!

No!

I'm currently celebrating getting mortgage approval today by looking up houses in Bray. Oh how one has fallen. Fecking Bray.

Seems no point playing any part in Dublin property pricing lunacy.

I'm currently celebrating getting mortgage approval today by looking up houses in Bray. Oh how one has fallen. Fecking Bray.

At least you'll get on the ladder

Bray to dcu for the commute. How long is that each way with the drop off for the kids school in between.

The kids school is the killer as its everyday, but doable from Bray maybe. While Glasnevin would be maybe twice a week?

Hour to drop the kids in and get into centre. Same back. Ouch.

Come live in Drimnagh m8 we'll go for pince in the Blackforge Inn and try to get punched by McG

Move to a nice commuter town like Maynooth or Ashbourne. Feck living in Bray.

Genuinely wondering how you came upon him. For me it was one old friend from 30 years ago, who I normally meet up with every nine months or so. I knew he was well into the keto diet for the last 5 years or so, but the devotion to Cummins came as a shock to me about last October. At least his wife has deleted her twitter recently, but I'm finding it difficult to forgive this shite
                    He has a fairly deep reach, there is a type; bright, formerly ambitious people who have done ok but never really made it the way they expected to and typically are not half as smart as they think they are tend to latch on to his every word. And the word is usually some perverse take on whatever is trending this month.

Murder At The Cottage - pretty underwhelming imo.
                      I believe he had a load of interviews with her family that were pulled at the last minute so I'm sure that didn't help.

I have no time for any more telling of the story, unless in the unlikely event someone comes up with something new its a crime there will never be an answer to.

I know nothing about this, but I'm prepared to say that he's talking utter scutter.
                        Do you think that's a truly terrifying attitude to have? Do you think pharma as an industry is driven more by the tentacles of economic greed or sincere intent for general well being. Which do you think in general benefits them more. Do you or others here feel humanity is on a cusp of a general shift in human consciousness, a kind of crisis point in scientific terms of the broader consciousness, that once broken through will in turn allow us to question almost everything we think we know. If we could all take a single second out of the bounds of econmic servitude and slavery to truely connect to I can't imagine anyone for a single moment thinking pharmaceutical companies, PHARMACEUTICAL companies, wanted people to be less sick. Does that, within the parameters of the world we live in make sense on any level?

Come live in Drimnagh m8 we'll go for pince in the Blackforge Inn and try to get punched by McG
                          Drimnagh could well be an option!

Salt of the earth folk.

A song for the existential crises BBVers. BLUE 50 years ago now.

have a listen and marvel

Do you think that's a truly terrifying attitude to have? Do you think pharma as an industry is driven more by the tentacles of economic greed or sincere intent for general well being. Which do you think in general benefits them more. Do you or others here feel humanity is on a cusp of a general shift in human consciousness, a kind of crisis point in scientific terms of the broader consciousness, that once broken through will in turn allow us to question almost everything we think we know. If we could all take a single second out of the bounds of econmic servitude and slavery to truely connect to I can't imagine anyone for a single moment thinking pharmaceutical companies, PHARMACEUTICAL companies, wanted people to be less sick. Does that, within the parameters of the world we live in make sense on any level?
                              I'm not sure competition among all pharma companies and government researchers in universities and charitable endowments, as well as entire countries like Cuba, would be able to act in concert so well as to block a cure to something.

If this is a thing - a real thing - then maybe because it is quite unusual (a drug for a totally different purpose), its hardly surprising that in the first year of a new epidemic that nobody has yet got to it. There's so many drugs out there, and the most obvious solution is to develop a flu-based solution to it - vaccines.

Testing these things takes ages. There's not some simple approach to automatically test all medicine. It costs huge amounts of time and money to run a valid trial. So why would a random drug for an unrelated illness have garnered any time or funding?

On to more life-affirming stuff. Mr Inbetween, as recommended by oleras a while ago, is a phenomenal show.

That's a very heavy post.

I'm under no illusions that pharma companies want what's best for the world, I'm sure they are almost entirely dictated by greed and profit.

However, given the scale of this and the economic impact worldwide, if there was an already available and effective treatment for this, I very much doubt that the US for one would have ignored it because it was widely available, safe and cheap? Is this all part of the world cabal thing where big companies and governments want to oppress and terrify the population into submission?

I just don't get it

On to more life-affirming stuff. Mr Inbetween, as recommended by oleras a while ago, is a phenomenal show.
                                    So Good !!

Time , BBC show, as mentioned by hotspur...but got wiped during the transition is well worth an eye gawk.

I'm under no illusions that pharma companies want what's best for the world, I'm sure they are almost entirely dictated by greed and profit.

However, given the scale of this and the economic impact worldwide, if there was an already available and effective treatment for this, I very much doubt that the US for one would have ignored it because it was widely available, safe and cheap? Is this all part of the world cabal thing where big companies and governments want to oppress and terrify the population into submission?

I just don't get it
                                      This is where, IMO, some form of conflation/ socialisation and deep seeded loyalty to a system that serves us kicks in (rich white ppl basically). Polarity insists this is represented, almost with a cartoon villian bondesque evil cabal type baddy. The baddy is money. Economics. Consumption. Greed. Have to produce to have value. Education systems. The works. All part of the same gig, that makes it so easy to dismiss anything that makes us face up or question to a system that serves us. Impossible to even gain the space to do so, or the capacity to in the hectic pace of the way we live currently. I genuinely believe there has been a mass shift in general consciousness. I think everyone on some level feels it. And in the next five years, our world will be more different than even the most imaginative and lunatical can imagine. Like any cultic shit, and the world functions as a cult essentially, simply saying, hmm that's a little odd, can we acknowledge that, is always extended to something else (form of gaslighty stuff) , as opposed to simply, there really are a lot of odd features to this.

This is the dawning of the Age of....

JBravado that shift was briefly expressed in the 60s The LSD generation , ironically through drugs . Drugs control a lot of the world .If we all had access to LSD the world would indeed experience a shift in consciousness .However it's not going to happen as we are too divided . We conquer ourselves with this division . If anything we have been dumbed down by apps and technology as opposed to powering up. There may hopefully be a new renewal post pandemic but s long we are predictable and ego driven things wont change.

I do see a mindset change in how we consume resources and animal processing. Hopefully that route will finally bring about change . I'm not so sure about this crazy gender revolution though.

In short we all need some LSD

Happy Friday .

Tar
                                          can you give an example of your daily diet ie brekkie dinner snacks etc?

You might as well go full on retro-Tiger and move to somewhere like Gorey , Or Cavan.

At least Chad can give you the lowdown on the local hotspots.

There is definitely a massive trend since WW2 (it's not something that just popped up recently) in over-medicating the Western population - and it came at the point where pharma companies started employing marketing, not to the general public who actually consume their product, but to fucking doctors.
                                              We like to think of doctors as being saintly pillars of the community but some of the shit they are complicit in is outrageous. I'm especially thinking of the opioid epidemic in the US, which thank fuck we seem to have swerved. Still plenty of people sucking down daily doses of pills that they fundamentally do not need though.

This book about the Sacklers and the Oxycontin is a serious eye-opener in that regard.

All that said, the vaccine program for covid is probably the great scientific achievement of our lifetime. So yeah, balance.

I just don't get it
                                                This is the bit where all the conspiracy theories start to fall apart.

"Lockdowns are unnecessary, we don't need masks - they want us to be afraid, they want to control us".

eh, OK...but why exactly? Not exactly seeing that all of the political leadership of the entire planet are getting anything out of this. And the ones who have ignored the health advice are doing the worst.

There is definitely a massive trend since WW2 (it's not something that just popped up recently) in over-medicating the Western population - and it came at the point where pharma companies started employing marketing, not to the general public who actually consume their product, but to fucking doctors.
                                                  We like to think of doctors as being saintly pillars of the community but some of the shit they are complicit in is outrageous. I'm especially thinking of the opioid epidemic in the US, which thank fuck we seem to have swerved. Still plenty of people sucking down daily doses of pills that they fundamentally do not need though.

This book about the Sacklers and the Oxycontin is a serious eye-opener in that regard.

All that said, the vaccine program for covid is probably the great scientific achievement of our lifetime. So yeah, balance.
                                                  My dad has a few good ones about drug companies in the good days depending on your view of it.

One conference he went to he was flown first class with my mum to Chicago and put up in a savage resort type place where the conference was going to be held.

when they checked into the room there was a nice welcome basket with champagne and an envelope with 2k in it for expenses.

This was for a newly minted consultant in the west of Ireland so you can only imagine what the heads of big hospitals in the us were getting.

That spend had to come from somewhere so the idea that pharma companies are crooked big businesses is not a wild conspiracy theory.

That being said the COVID vaccine being produced at cost by Astra and the others not going full gouge does make me think that in this one case they are working more public than stockholders interest in this case.

Hanlon's Razor - never assign to malice that which can be explained by incompetence

Move to a nice commuter town like Maynooth or Ashbourne. Feck living in Bray.
                                                      Wifes friends house is up for an Architizer Award in the Private House Category this year. Makes you sick to see what you can get if you look outside the likes of Bray or Drimnagh in those price brackets, although the commute might be a bummer

The Sail House Sept 2020Music: 'Bounce' by Katchafire from the album 'Revival'. No copyright infringement. This video is NOT for any commercial or profit pur...

Confirmed Dobby sighting this morning when I was out dropping the young lad to school.

come to sunny Lucan

"Lockdowns are unnecessary, we don't need masks - they want us to be afraid, they want to control us".

eh, OK...but why exactly? Not exactly seeing that all of the political leadership of the entire planet are getting anything out of this. And the ones who have ignored the health advice are doing the worst.
                                                            Lockdowns ease global warming.
                                                            Governments are saving the planet by forcing us to burn less fossil fuels.
                                                            The fires in brazil and oz was a water mark that we couldn't ignore.

Post pandemic, we'll have environmental lockdowns every few years to give Gaia a chance to recover.

Wifes friends house is up for an Architizer Award in the Private House Category this year. Makes you sick to see what you can get if you look outside the likes of Bray or Drimnagh in those price brackets, although the commute might be a bummer

The Sail House Sept 2020Music: 'Bounce' by Katchafire from the album 'Revival'. No copyright infringement. This video is NOT for any commercial or profit pur...
                                                              Wtf? Jaysus. That's some design.

Yeah, be fun under that Tensile Fabric when the Hurricanes are blasting over

This is where, IMO, some form of conflation/ socialisation and deep seeded loyalty to a system that serves us kicks in (rich white ppl basically). Polarity insists this is represented, almost with a cartoon villian bondesque evil cabal type baddy. The baddy is money. Economics. Consumption. Greed. Have to produce to have value. Education systems. The works. All part of the same gig, that makes it so easy to dismiss anything that makes us face up or question to a system that serves us. Impossible to even gain the space to do so, or the capacity to in the hectic pace of the way we live currently. I genuinely believe there has been a mass shift in general consciousness. I think everyone on some level feels it. And in the next five years, our world will be more different than even the most imaginative and lunatical can imagine. Like any cultic shit, and the world functions as a cult essentially, simply saying, hmm that's a little odd, can we acknowledge that, is always extended to something else (form of gaslighty stuff) , as opposed to simply, there really are a lot of odd features to this.
                                                                  I'm more of an antitheist than an atheist yet my faith consoles me in the face of this stuff, my faith in the inherent goodness of humanity. There are too many talented, hardworking and decent people in the scientific community to allow this to happen on a grand scale. There will be outliers for sure but we always get there in the end because the essence of humanity won't \ can't change radically. You only have to think of the medical medical miracles we have witnessed in the last 20 years to put your mind at ease brother.

Confirmed Dobby sighting this morning when I was out dropping the young lad to school.
                                                                    Nice to see ya. Couldn't stop. We must go for that pint some time with pubs opening again.

What is the goal of the lockdowns? We were told to flatten the curve have done so correct? 13 people in icu who have COVID. There will always be a certain amount of it about. How long do you think is acceptable for people the country to be locked down ? You are a smart well travelled guy surely you have to question this government ? Varadkar a medical doctor celebrates 800 jobs opening at McDonald’s shit unhealthy food and he thinks it’s great half the country is overweight as it is. There will always be some scary variant that’s super start out there that does not effect young people but like many illnesses targets the old and weak. If we as a country get vaccinated abs still have draconian restrictions will you stil say I trust tony holohan he’s very concerned etc. How many businesses are gone or will go mental health issues people are on the edge. It’s the blind faith supposedly intelligent people have in our government and nhphet that I find bewildering. Not so many years ago you couldn’t question a priest a teacher or a guard plenty of lies abs corruption there too.

Yeah hitch, move to Ashbourne. Looks like on campus teaching will be back in September so I can drop you to school. I'll do you a good deal and we can go for pints with 5star

Nice to see ya. Couldn't stop. We must go for that pint some time with pubs opening again.
                                                                          Might have to be an outdoor pint the way this Delta variant conversation is going.

Anyone want to put a price on a delay to the indoor opening?

Might have to be an outdoor pint the way this Delta variant conversation is going.

I've just spent 4 days on the beer after winning a county final at the weekend and didnt have a problem with any place I went to. I always preferred to booze outside anyway so this "outdoor dining" is perfect for me.

Also 1 place in Ashbourne has a covered area with full bar and tellys so its grand.

Swans in Curraha (beside Tayto Park) the pick of the bunch for a variety of reasons if anyone finds themselves in the area looking for a pint.

I've just spent 4 days on the beer after winning a county final at the weekend and didnt have a problem with any place I went to. I always preferred to booze outside anyway so this "outdoor dining" is perfect for me.

Also 1 place in Ashbourne has a covered area with full bar and tellys so its grand.

Swans in Curraha (beside Tayto Park) the pick of the bunch for a variety of reasons if anyone finds themselves in the area looking for a pint.
                                                                              I'm going to Tayto Park next Weds. Might need a pint after several hours of being chucked around upside down and inside out.

What is the goal of the lockdowns? We were told to flatten the curve have done so correct? 13 people in icu who have COVID. There will always be a certain amount of it about. How long do you think is acceptable for people the country to be locked down ? You are a smart well travelled guy surely you have to question this government ? Varadkar a medical doctor celebrates 800 jobs opening at McDonald’s shit unhealthy food and he thinks it’s great half the country is overweight as it is. There will always be some scary variant that’s super start out there that does not effect young people but like many illnesses targets the old and weak. If we as a country get vaccinated abs still have draconian restrictions will you stil say I trust tony holohan he’s very concerned etc. How many businesses are gone or will go mental health issues people are on the edge. It’s the blind faith supposedly intelligent people have in our government and nhphet that I find bewildering. Not so many years ago you couldn’t question a priest a teacher or a guard plenty of lies abs corruption there too.
                                                                                I don't have blind faith in either NPHET or the government. I probably have more faith in the NPHET doctors than the government tbh.

We have definitely fucked some things up in our pandemic experience; the decision to reopen for a 'meaningful Christmas' being No 1 (and led to an awful Jan-Apr), but compared to our peer group of countries we have definitely performed above the average. Of course being an island gives us a massive inbuilt advantage so some of the credit gets removed there.

Let me pose two questions back to you and let's see if we can get anywhere:
                                                                                1. Which peer countries do you think have performed better than us in the pandemic and why?
                                                                                2. If you think the current restrictions are unnecessary, can you explain what you think the government's motives are?

I'm going to Tayto Park next Weds. Might need a pint after several hours of being chucked around upside down and inside out.
                                                                                  They've got 2 outdoor areas. One is covered and would have been the old smoking area for the bar. But its large, they've done it up really nicely and fitted it out with proper furniture and it looks really well now.

Then they fenced off the car park, got a load of outdoor furniture and fixed it up like a big garden. Loads of space there for kids to run wild while you have a drink and you can still keep an eye on them.

They dont do food but I really couldnt recommend them any more highly to stop off for a drink. They've put in a huge effort.

1/10 all you can eat

The English really do the best political scandals... Never piss off the boss.

Tar
                                                                                        can you give an example of your daily diet ie brekkie dinner snacks etc?
                                                                                        Just got this gift today so this:

lVgNShNm.jpg

I asked what my followers like to eat and will share some screenshots of that an what my friend has been eating for dinner this week too
                                                                                        Discover the magic of the internet at Imgur, a community powered entertainment destination. Lift your spirits with funny jokes, trending memes, entertaining gifs, inspiring stories, viral videos, and so much more from users.

I think in general you can veggie up the meals you usually eat with alternatives or just cook new things and see what you like, make curries, burritos, bolognaise, soups, roast stuff potatoes/veg, lasagne, pizza, whatever. It shouldn't need to be too different, just using a few different ingredients like beans,lentils, buts, fake meat things like that. It's not a big deal if you slip up or whatever, just try to find some veggie meals you like and start adding to it as you go along.

For breakfast I have smoothies (I'm sponsored by myprotein now so use a lot of protein powder and that craic, in smoothies or pancakes etc), porridge (with things on top like seeds, peanut butter, berries), granola with yogurt and toppings, scrambled tofu, avocado toast, or straight up have a regular lunch kinda meal. For lunch and dinner it could be anything tbh.
                                                                                        Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 25-06-21, 12:00.

Changed broadband provider at the start of the month, these changes are supposed to be seamless, despite my previous poor experience with Eir they were half the price im currently paying so a no brainier...you would think. Took them 4 weeks to sort my landline and they keep sending me routers...what a complete disaster of a company. To top it off, im still being billed by the previous crowd. Cant wait to see the first bill from Eir either. They still think of themselves as a semi state with guaranteed jobs, obvs comes from the top down. Zero effort in customer support.

Sponsored to eat.

What a life.

Changed broadband provider at the start of the month, these changes are supposed to be seamless, despite my previous poor experience with Eir they were half the price im currently paying so a no brainier...you would think. Took them 4 weeks to sort my landline and they keep sending me routers...what a complete disaster of a company. To top it off, im still being billed by the previous crowd. Cant wait to see the first bill from Eir either. They still think of themselves as a semi state with guaranteed jobs, obvs comes from the top down. Zero effort in customer support.

On the plus side, you can now open a router emporium .

After much trial and error, I've found Virgin to be best - I do ring up the retention hotline every 12 months and beat them down to an offer though.

He was doomed weeks ago

On the plus side, you can now open a router emporium .

After much trial and error, I've found Virgin to be best - I do ring up the retention hotline every 12 months and beat them down to an offer though.
                                                                                                  I moved from them to VF.
                                                                                                  After years of working there and not using it
                                                                                                  home tv/home phone(lol)/1gb FTH/mobile all for €80

Cheers Mr Tar . I think I'll have a few false starts but already drastically reduced my meat intake. Then came the binges .
                                                                                                    maybe I'll get on a run and keep it going.

Was there a movie about the Jeremy Thorpe scandal. I vaguely recall something.

TV Series with Hugh Grant 'A Very English Scandal' might be what you are thinking of.
                                                                                                        There's actually a sequel on the way this year (different scandal, same writers/producers)

Was locked out for a few days there, not the same for ye cunts?

you mustn't have bought the Premium package? I'll shoot you a PM with payment details

Sponsored to eat.

What a life.
                                                                                                              Typical instagram babes

He was doomed weeks ago
                                                                                                                I have seen enough episodes of VEEP to understand what "he has my full backing" means.

Just left a pretty swoon gaff in Portmarnock..

Typical instagram babes
                                                                                                                      It's funny because I was on the first business call with them and their other "influencers" yesterday and they are all hot young sporty girls and I'm the only guy, with his covid weight who is just there cos I like to eat.

I have seen enough episodes of VEEP to understand what "he has my full backing" means.
                                                                                                                        Boris can't really dump someone on the grounds of playing offside now can he? (well he could, but it would be hypocrisy on a grand scale)

And we all know tories are a lot of things but not hypocrites. Isn't that right?