I didn't normally work in the office much, but when I did my only memory is of overwhelming tiredness from having to wake up early. Haven't woken up before 8am for about 18 months now. Most times just a small bit before 9am. Some of us simply aren't morning people, and its the rigid hours of working from the office that kill us off. Have barely felt tired in a year.
    This is such a huge benefit, way less tired than commuting, more energy -> clearer mind -> doing your job better. Probably more sleep for people too.
    Less mental health days needed when people are not feeling run down as well.

Presumably in-person lecturing will be back from September?
      Yeah I think so. Although I only teach about 80 hours a year, and 40 of those have moved permanently online. So there's very little 'need' to be on campus. But the desire, and I suspect need, for more human contact will drive a fair bit more visiting. Trying to build a fair few projects up and I suppose coffee works better for those than zoom

add a bit of balsamic vinegar to your vinaigrette to make it perfect. emulsify it before you put it in the avocado. delish!
        Oh must try the balsamic!

I sent a message to a friend at the weekend asking if it were misogynistic that I don't enjoy most of the women doing the football, especially the young pretty interviewers smiling flirtatiously and the players responding in a somewhat similar fashion.
          Generally agree with this but i guess like most things there are the flip side. Co-com on RTE match at the moment seems quite good for a start (hopefully i dont bbv her whoever she is)

BennyHiFi, any chance of regaling us with some China-living accounts?
            Sure. Let's start at the beginning....

How did I get there?

Well I was sitting in Grogan's pub in Dublin City centre one evening, Nov or Dec 2002 when I overhead the table next to me talking about how the one-year visa to Australia had been extended up to (IIRC) 35 years old from maybe 30. I was 31 and literally as soon as I heard it I told the lads at my table I was going to go to Australia.

I was a freelance journalist at the time and had a couple of solid, regular clients so figured I could as well freelance from Bondi Beach as James St.

The idea grew legs and I bought one of those 5-stop around the world plane tickets and decided to spend about 9 months in Australia: approx. 3 months in Sydney, 3 months in Melbourne and 3 months travelling around Asia, wending my way back home.

China was top of my list, then Thailand and, if possible Papua New Guinea.

The following April (2003) I rented out my apartment (my first time as a landlord) and was on my way, rucksack on back with a rough plan to work from Internet cafes on my freelance work (laptops were expensive, bulky and probably not safe in hostels) and pick up some manual Labour for drinking/travelling money along the way.

So It worked out almost to plan - I had a great time in Kings Cross in Sydney with a bunch of kitchen and labouring jobs as well as some regular writing. I also picked up a music writiing gig there for a large national magazine and got so see some interesting bands and go to some quare parties. I ran the Sydney to Surf race and went to some rugby league games.

I was sad to leave Sydney and some friends I'd made but Melbourne proved cool as well. I moved into a house in Fitzroy with some locals and was there for the Rugby World Cup and went to the Irl Vs Aus game as well as hitting the Melbourne Cup and the GAA/Aussie rules game in the MCG.

A few months later I travelled the coast road to Adelaide, slept under the starts in the outback, visited wineries, walked around Uluru, headed to Cairns (and was using up some of my flights on this leg so Papua New Guinea went out the window), dived the Great Barrier Reef (despite being quite petrified of large bodies of water) before heading back to Sydney to end the odyssey with a few days R&R and to board a flight to China.

I was torn upon leaving - there wasn't much I didn't love about Australia but I had an apartment in Dublin and a girl I met just before I left (who would become my wife) and it is at the far end of the earth. I couldn't shake the feeling that it while it was undoubtedly a paradise of sorts it was just too far from all the real action (including my family and friends).

So leave I did... next stop Beijing and a real leap into the unknown.

<To be continued...>

Generally agree with this but i guess like most things there are the flip side. Co-com on RTE match at the moment seems quite good for a start (hopefully i dont bbv her whoever she is)
              A player injured . She says she would run home to mother if hit like that. Not doing much for the wimmins game with that comment

It's interesting that V and Benny both focused on one significant benefit of WFH and ignored the other.

Productivity for V and work life balance for Benny.

I feel both have benefitted immensely (although I'm not WFH anymore) but would put more weight and importance into the life balance.
                I had my work head on when posting Conor, but it's fair to say my work/life balance isn't in the greatest place at the minute. It's too easy to bury myself in work with too few life distractions.

I'm trying to improve the quality of my weekends now that things are coming back and I need to get a few new habits going mid week. But I wouldn't say my work/life balance was great working in the office that's for sure. I honestly feel I have a better chance now BUT I probably need to take action to make sure it happens.

When the baby comes I'm probably fucked anyway but at least I'll be around more to help out.

There seems to be a massive incidence of people meeting their partners for life right before leaving on long trips.

I sent a message to a friend at the weekend asking if it were misogynistic that I don't enjoy most of the women doing the football, especially the young pretty interviewers smiling flirtatiously and the players responding in a somewhat similar fashion.
                    I enjoyed the sizzling sexual tension between Stephanie Roche and Kevin Doyle, and didn't feel like it distracted from the football tbh. Added to it if anything.

There seems to be a massive incidence of people meeting their partners for life right before leaving on long trips.

ha..that's gas. I remember plucking up the courage to ask my neighbour (I was renting next door) out shortly before heading off on a road trip. Not a life partner but significant nonetheless.

Had been lusting after her for ages. She was separated and obviously worked in a professional capacity.
                      I knew she had noticed me (I was a handsome divil back then) but hadnt had a proper conversation or anything.

Kind of knew she might be interested when she called in to borrow a screwdriver. Now any lad with an ounce of common sense would introduce themselves and start a conversation and drag it out a bit. What do I say to a woman I've fantasised about for 6 months and who's basically made the first get to know you move.... "Eh...Phillip's head is it?"
                      Not one fucking screw driver in the house either.

Ended up coming to her rescue on xmas morning as she locked herself out of the house. I scaled a ladder and got in through an open window. Kiss on cheek had the auld swonnicles vibrating, nigh on fibrillating in anticipation. Asked her out shortly after and then the road trip.

She confirmed later that I was a more than a little clueless re the screwdriver incident.

Jesus, even rounders wouldn't miss the subtle message behind being asked for a screwdriver there.

I know, I know. Wasnt like I didnt know what was going on just got flustered at the sudden transition from fantasy to possibility.

Berating at myself later going "you're an idiot, a complete fucking idiot, open goal and you stick the ball into row z for fucks sake" (or something to that effect)

Met my last two gfs the day before leaving on trips for a few weeks, sure just keep at it til it's true.

It seems there's a mortgage lending place that specialises in only (pretty much) lending to public sector workers. Presumably quite a decent business as the risk must be low. You'd wonder why the other banks have let them get away with claiming that niche. The big thing they do is they use their annual flexibility in exemptions to lend to public sector at two points up their salary scale - giving them a nice little boost on everyone else.

Younger brother (48) just announced that he's getting married for the second time. No idea why he'd be bothered.

The best thing about WFH is the mini breaks:
                                  - Do some dinner prep.
                                  - Laundry
                                  - Quickie.
                                  - Hoover and tidy.
                                  - Kid pickup and drop offs.
                                  - Bit of golf chipping out the back.
                                  - Water plants.
                                  - Mow lawn.
                                  - Mini workout.
                                  - Washing up.
                                  - Overdue phone calls with friends and relations.
                                  - Nap in front of screen.

I could go on. Mad what you can achieve in 15 or 20 min. Can get loads done during lunch break too.

In office it's difficult to get out of work head for a 'break' but getting off the chair and away from the screen for a while during the day is essential.

One thing I'm strict on is minimal leisure screen time during work hours. Time can slip away very dangerously.

May not sound it, but I have been super productive with work stuff since I started WFH.

It seems there's a mortgage lending place that specialises in only (pretty much) lending to public sector workers. Presumably quite a decent business as the risk must be low. You'd wonder why the other banks have let them get away with claiming that niche. The big thing they do is they use their annual flexibility in exemptions to lend to public sector at two points up their salary scale - giving them a nice little boost on everyone else.
                                    Who are they Hitch, brother is currently going through the process on his second house but think he is using TSB due to cashback or something, i would be weighing up the APRs myself.

One aspect that I like about going back into the office is simply changing the physical geography of my life. I like going places, seeing things, meeting people - it's stimulating. So I can pop out of work, nip up to town and do stuff, which in itself is beneficial to my wellbeing imo.

I just don't think being stuck in your own house for pretty much all day, every day is desirable long-term and could lead to bad psychological effects. We're not wired that way as a species.

Hotspur can explain why this is nonsense.

Who are they Hitch, brother is currently going through the process on his second house but think he is using TSB due to cashback or something, i would be weighing up the APRs myself.
                                        I-C-S, with dashs to prevent googleability. Spun out from BoI after the financial crisis.

[QUOTE=Wombatman;n1695813]The best thing about WFH is the mini breaks:
                                          -
                                          -
                                          - Quickie.
                                          -
                                          -
                                          - Bit of golf chipping out the back.
                                          -
                                          -
                                          -
                                          -
                                          -
                                          - Nap in front of screen.

Tidied that up for you

One aspect that I like about going back into the office is simply changing the physical geography of my life. I like going places, seeing things, meeting people - it's stimulating. So I can pop out of work, nip up to town and do stuff, which in itself is beneficial to my wellbeing imo.

I just don't think being stuck in your own house for pretty much all day, every day is desirable long-term and could lead to bad psychological effects. We're not wired that way as a species.

Yeah probably depends on peoples situation but I do this during working from home, and go for a drink in the park. It is very important to do. Our office isn't in town so I get more of a chance to do things around town now since I live there. Definitely should be getting out of the home if you're going to be there long term. Also when the pandemic isn't around people tend to do a lot of social stuff in the evenings so it will be easier.

Mia starts work tomorrow supermacs €8.80 per hour and 12-7pm next three days. I think that's fantastic money for a girl who practically just turned 16. She won't know herself from getting an odd 20 quid here and there to checking her acc and seeing prob 150 min every week.

Delighted for her, great to get them working young. Weird looking at her in the uniform, like she grew up overnight!

That's great Michelle, for personal experience and also the auld CV down the line.
                                                  ​I'd say half my graduating year in college didn't ever have a job, never mind relevent work experience and they were in for some shock when it came to job application time at 21/22 years old.

Reading reviews of Dosa Dosa food truck and tempted to go track them down right now. That is a very fine foodstuff when done right.

I was torn upon leaving - there wasn't much I didn't love about Australia but...it is at the far end of the earth. I couldn't shake the feeling that it while it was undoubtedly a paradise of sorts it was just too far from all the real action (including my family and friends).
                                                      This sums up my feelings on Oz exactly. I headed out there first in 1999 for a months holiday and then head a few years later taking the long way there via Asia for the working holiday visa.

We left Dublin in Oct 2002, arrived in Melbourne in April 2003 and Sydney in June of the same year.

Am disappointed I haven't got back since but with in-laws living over there, we may get back sooner rather than later.

I’’m on team duke. Can’t wait to get back into the office a few days a week to get a nice lunch out and have a bit of chat with my coworkers.

As for productivity when I’m having a very focused day work from home is much better but on a day when I’m less pushed I am going to eat a lovely dinner but a lot of work is going to be left till the next day.

Days when I am not 100% on the noise and atmosphere in the office compensated for the lower motivation. I can’t imagine I’m alone on having good and bad days motivation wise.

Another Tragedy in Newcastle/Tay Lane area Lazare.

15 year old in the Equestrian centre. One kid got up this morning looking forward to her training . 2pm today

Had an uncannily timely Joycean moment this evening after swimming out at Monkstown when I'm drying off there was a young wan changing beside me more or less gives up on the towel and leans forward bending right over as she struggles for like a minute to get the filmiest knickers imaginable on, then when she's dressed she gives me a knowing smile. Maybe she's a fan of the book and was channelling her inner Gertie McDowell in celebration of the day thats in it and while I didn't soil myself as the Leopold Bloom did when Gertie put on a show for him on Sandymount strand the moment will make a refreshing new deposit in the oul wank bank

This.
                                                              I was starting to think I was becoming a bit agoraphobic and would struggle to get out again at all.

Last weekend I got to go down to Leitrim for a day and it was great the first time I've been anywhere at all this year.
                                                              Then this evening I got a bit of inspiration about a work thing I'd been struggling with and could only try out in the office so I broke the routine and drove in late, it worked. Ended up going out for a swim and had a stroll in town grabbed a burger and it felt great to be out and about. City felt good buzzy but not too busy or at all messy.

I do this during working from home, and go for a drink in the park. It is very important to do.
                                                                I was impressed with Wombatman's quickie, but you have outdone him getting in a quick knacker drinking session.

For anyone ordering BBQ equipment from Ooni,
                                                                  discount code "GW10%-11205" for 10% off.
                                                                  Won't help speed up delivery though. :-(

Had an uncannily timely Joycean moment this evening after swimming out at Monkstown when I'm drying off there was a young wan changing beside me more or less gives up on the towel and leans forward bending right over as she struggles for like a minute to get the filmiest knickers imaginable on, then when she's dressed she gives me a knowing smile. Maybe she's a fan of the book and was channelling her inner Gertie McDowell in celebration of the day thats in it and while I didn't soil myself as the Leopold Bloom did when Gertie put on a show for him on Sandymount strand the moment will make a refreshing new deposit in the oul wank bank
                                                                      Liking the pretentiousness of obscuring your perving with the ploy of allying yourself with one of the great literary characters of all time as justification. WP.

For anyone ordering BBQ equipment from Ooni,
                                                                        discount code "GW10%-11205" for 10% off.
                                                                        Won't help speed up delivery though. :-(
                                                                        In fairness my experience is that they deliver everything except the pizza ovens in fairly standard time. Maybe a week or so.

How much of a wanker though would you need to be to buy this?

Reading reviews of Dosa Dosa food truck and tempted to go track them down right now. That is a very fine foodstuff when done right.

I fkn love Dosas. Little dingy place on Mary St does amazing ones. Used to get them in Vancouver on the way home from the casino. This one restaurant was open til the wee hours because it was the only place in the city where you could watch cricket. If a big match was on it would be hopping at 4am on a Tuesday and I'd be the only white person in there.

oh nice. Must check out the Marys street one if the food truck is busy.

Liking the pretentiousness of obscuring your perving with the ploy of allying yourself with one of the great literary characters of all time as justification. WP.
                                                                              It was a disturbing read

Can't beat a nice dosa, its odd that more Indian restaurants don't do them.

Hiring the van @ 600 for 50 meals or 1K for a 3 hour service of 100 meals sounds like great value.

The location link on their site doesn't work, where are they parked in Dublin?

I fkn love Dosas. Little dingy place on Mary St does amazing ones. Used to get them in Vancouver on the way home from the casino. This one restaurant was open til the wee hours because it was the only place in the city where you could watch cricket. If a big match was on it would be hopping at 4am on a Tuesday and I'd be the only white person in there.
                                                                                  Sounds great.

Cricket can get you a long way. Whenever I make a new work contact with an Indian person, I make sure to bring up a cricket reference straight away. If they get it and are clearly a cricket fan, then you've got a friend for life.

With Americans, I just make a Trump joke and see how they react.

Also spotted this online yesterday, will be making it a priority to go and try it!

Can't beat a nice dosa, its odd that more Indian restaurants don't do them.

Hiring the van @ 600 for 50 meals or 1K for a 3 hour service of 100 meals sounds like great value.

The location link on their site doesn't work, where are they parked in Dublin?
                                                                                        Grand Canal St upper im pretty sure!

If you mean Madina I heard some bad news its closing. Good food in there

Oooooooft horrible news

Grand Canal St upper im pretty sure!
                                                                                              yep, that's it

don't think it's there all that often though, maybe only weekends?

Quote of 3k + VAT for a structural engineer for our house job.

Single-story extension + moving some internal walls around downstairs (and a retrofit but think that's out of his scope).

Is that good\bad\normal?

Possibly inspired by sp, I have picked out Jason Cockwreck as the winner of US Open.

filedata/fetch?id=1695849&d=1623928210&type=thumb
                                                                                                    Quote of 3k + VAT for a structural engineer for our house job.

Single-story extension + moving some internal walls around downstairs (and a retrofit but think that's out of his scope).

Is that good\bad\normal?
                                                                                                    Can do it all for 500 mr Fawlty

Sounds great.

Cricket can get you a long way. Whenever I make a new work contact with an Indian person, I make sure to bring up a cricket reference straight away. If they get it and are clearly a cricket fan, then you've got a friend for life.
                                                                                                      Top networking strategy. I always tell any Pakistanis I meet that my Dad was at the game in Jamaica when Ireland beat them.

yep, that's it

don't think it's there all that often though, maybe only weekends?
                                                                                                        Yeah saturday/sunday im pretty sure i read

Pity as I would definitely stroll over from the office a couple of times a week to have lunch.

From looking up the driving test it seems to be 99% about roundabouts these days. When I took the first test that failed a whopping 20+ years ago it seemed to be obsessed with hills. Hill parking, hill stopping, reversing back around a hill. While that all seems more or less gone now in favour of roundaboutapolooza. Would that be about right? The first test was in the UK also, so maybe that accounts for some of the differences.

They have actually combined roundaboutery and reverism to make up 99.9999% of the new driving test criteria.

My recommendation is to find the biggest roundabout you can and practice reversing around it until you are expert.

With the way the Euros is setup is it possible that teams might agree a draw in their last group game in order to guarantee advancing to last 16?

The reverse around the corner manoeuvre had to be the daftest, and no time in the test had you to park the car, whether between two lines or parallel, madness

ooohhhh - must try to focus more on reversing. only a minute or two of that so far. Its quite limiting only having the formal lessons with no car to practice in.

Oh really?

I did my test 2 years ago and didn't do a proper roundabout just one of the mini ones so must have changed a fair bit?

Another 'look how things have changed' observation from glancing at the 5-year-olds summary-of-the-year book yesterday. This current generation are really being brought up to honour, love, and never harm, the humble bee in a way in which we were thought to honour, love, and never harm, the spider. Its great, the bee seems great, lovely chap. But what about the poor spider that used to be top of the insect-care pyramid. Who's thinking about the spider? It just shows how fragile your place in the ecosystem can be. One minute top of the walk, the next a mere spider. Some lessons there for any bees in the audience. Always put a bit of honey aside, you never know what might happen.