I know someone who had a youtube channel with 100k subscribers and millions of views. They would have been better off working any full-time job tbh. If they caught a viral trending video and ended up with a few hundred thousand more subscribers they would have started to make bank. That was the dream they were chasing. For each account making made money there's a thousand of them at nothing.

Todd Rundgren and Sparks back after a 50 year absence. Sounds like they've been listening to HectorJelly.

Epic tune.

Speaking of LOI, Bohs & Rovers on the TV there, some very impressive
        haircuts

Think most of them are talking nonsense. He was claiming 60k grand. That drogheda girl was claiming 50k a month. Just lazy journalists using them for a story, and they get free publicity.

We're in an age where everyone expects everything for free, music, tv, porn. I just think it's all marketing to claim those numbers.
          You can see the amount of subscribers on many accounts (it's an option to show it or not), and the cost. Just multiply the two together. No doubt the interviews are for publicity but I don't see anything wrong with the numbers - 3000 followers isn't actually much, the average person will make very little but even the relatively small but successful accounts can make a lot. You'd also think people wouldn't non stop donate to millionaires on twitch but here we are. Some porn star opened an account and got 2 million in their first week, sure all her vids are free online etc. Both things kind of give a user a sort of "intimacy" that they get off on or whatever, I wouldn't do it nor you but that doesn't mean millions of others won't, just like they will pay for items in the steam market or buy a girls bath water or any aul shite that people spend their money on, loneliness and horniness is big business.
          Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 23-04-21, 21:50.

Iago & Solksjaer!

I'm in the middle of a book about this at the moment. It's a great read so far but I'll reserve full judgement until I finish it and have a proper think.

Digital Minimalism: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/...tal-minimalism

The gist so far is that humans evolved over Millenia through face to face and social interaction. All the while having meaningful moments of solitude and engagement in relationships, hobbies etc. The advent of ubiquitous internet-enabled mobile devices and attention-hogging algorithmic targeting has left us, anxiety-ridden scroll junkies. Our interactions are reduced to a constant flow of thumbs ups, hearts, or insincere messages.

The author promotes de-programming yourself by reducing the number of apps to the absolute minimum and avoiding social media at almost all costs. By this theory, I should not be visiting IPB ten times daily or even posting. Maybe check once a day or even every few days but more likely ignore it as there is no tangible benefit to me. The time I lose or anxiety that I feel would be essentially eliminated if I replaced this type of activity with something that has intent. Ultimately something I find joyful or fulfilling and that which allows uninterrupted focus.

There's likely a missing message in here about balance but I still have to finish the book. I really do like the concept and it's made me re-evaluate a lot of my technology-related behavior. Particularly when working or being between tasks/chores.
            Haven't read that yet but Cal Newport is great. Very much about being focused and getting the best out of things.

Social media can be anything you want. You can use twitter to argue with people that are never going to change their mind, or you can use it to easdrop on some of the smartest people around. The filters are great.

It's funny how much of life is about not doing the easy thing, and how the more difficult thing nearly always pays off longer-term. Eating a donut is easy, the first step of doing exercise isn't. But which ultimately feels better. Scrolling Instagram is easy. But just makes you jaded in the end.

Feels like the effort round controlling the virus is disintegrating.

horniness is big business.
                Hominess reminds me of Homey D Clown from In Living Colour, which would have been before your time.

Prime time report on Dolphin ponzi scheme yet another cautionary tale of what happens when you are offered a couple of percentage points ahead of the market.

Amazing how often farmers who would drive a hundred miles to save a fiver fall for the magic beans
                  Hi lads,met my pension broker today. He was advising me to put some savings into this thing. It is one year fixed return of 12%.

From that thread-And apparently upto 40 Irish financial advisors were advising people to go with this company according to RTE. Worrying to say the least.

Todd Rundgren and Sparks back after a 50 year absence. Sounds like they've been listening to HectorJelly.

Epic tune.

This is on my shuffle . The brother doing the staring Hitler was a good gimmick . I see they haven't missed .many beats despite the gap.

From that thread-And apparently upto 40 Irish financial advisors were advising people to go with this company according to RTE. Worrying to say the least.

It’s mad how this story has blown up now. It’s been reported on for the past 9-12 months with little mainstream coverage. Must have been a quiet week...

Wealth options is a firm that sources and promotes product to Irish brokers who then push it on to their clients to get their commission. That’s how this fund came to be circulating in the market. This kind of shite is inevitable as a result and yet nobody learns. Wealth options still doing plenty of business and people being flogged crap so brokers can make their commission. It’s the same thing every time. People are greedy for return and ignore the warning signs....you get what you pay for...always ask the basic question “how is the person advising you being paid?”

Someone getting 3-5% to give you a few fancy brochures and fill in a few forms with you as you sign away your pension. Mind boggling that folk still go for it instead of paying for some decent independent advice.

Excellent, looks like a genuine arrest the Met wouldn't take kindly to that wouldn't be surprised to see him charged with something for tking the piss on them.
                          hold up a sec you suggesting they're in the right there???

You can see the amount of subscribers on many accounts (it's an option to show it or not), and the cost. Just multiply the two together.
                            Do many people show it?

An article in the NYT today explaining why the soundtrack to many shows is altered when they are put on disc or streaming services. Reassuring that I wasn't the only person who noticed. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/04/21/a...and-geeks.html

Why Don’t Some TV Shows Sound the Way They Used To?

Licensing issues have gutted the soundtracks of many beloved series on streaming services, resulting in bewildering music cues and missing theme songs.

For years, whenever Paula Cole’s phone started lighting up, it usually meant one thing: “Dawson’s Creek” had arrived on another streaming platform.

The hit teen drama, which aired on the WB from 1998 to 2003, is synonymous with the singer’s beloved theme song, “I Don’t Want to Wait.” On home video and on streaming platforms like Netflix, however, the series has had almost all of its original music replaced, including, most conspicuously, its theme song. Instead of Cole’s tune, episodes of “Dawson’s Creek” now open with “Run Like Mad,” by Jann Arden.

Audiences have not taken this change lightly. “People really care and are really upset about it,” Cole said in a phone interview from her home in Massachusetts. “They tag me in every post — so much tagging on the socials, fans tagging Netflix and Sony. It’s prolific.” (Cole’s song does play before the two-part series finale on Netflix, thanks to a deal Sony Pictures Entertainment, the production studio and distributor, made for a special 2003 DVD release.)

“Dawson’s Creek” is one of many classic shows that sound different today than you probably remember. Stream it on Netflix, and most of the pop music it included when it originally aired is absent. It’s a bewildering transformation — and one that is surprisingly widespread across streaming services in North America.

Why does it happen? As it turns out, it’s mainly a problem of foresight.

All shows have to pay for the rights to use existing songs in their soundtracks, and the process of licensing popular tunes can be prohibitively expensive. Before the early 2000s, in the days before DVD box sets and streaming, producers didn’t think much about the long-term future of these programs — as they saw it, they would air live and possibly for a few years in syndication. Many opted for a compromise to get well-known songs onto their shows: limited, short-term licenses, which allowed them to land big artists on the cheap.

“At that point people didn’t think further,” said Robin Urdang, an Emmy-winning music supervisor who has licensed songs for such shows as “Broad City” and “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.” “‘We’re airing the show for a year or three years or five years, and then it’s going away.’ They didn’t think they needed the music longer.”

The upshot is, once the licenses expired, many shows wound up on streaming services with their music replaced. This can result in some unusual and frustrating viewing experiences.

In an early episode of “The X-Files,” Agent Scully, played by Gillian Anderson, interrogates a serial killer who claims to have psychic powers. She doesn’t believe him, but as she goes to leave, he sings a few bars of Bobby Darin’s “Beyond the Sea” — a song she heard the day before, at her father’s funeral. Scully leaves spooked, and the audience is left to wonder whether the killer really does have psychic powers.

At least, that’s what the audience might have wondered in 1994, when the episode aired on Fox. If you watch it today on Hulu, you may wonder what the killer is referring to. Bobby Darin’s “Beyond the Sea” is no longer heard at Scully’s father’s funeral. Instead, we hear “La Mer,” the French-language jazz standard with a similar melody, by Charles Trenet. As a result, the killer’s taunt is now more bewildering than portentous. (The title of the episode, to add to the confusion, is “Beyond the Sea.”)

Some changes are less subtle — the music for shows like NBC’s “Scrubs” and Fox’s “Bones” has been dramatically altered, as fans have been quick to point out online.

When TV producers want to put a song in a scene, even a small portion, they have to clear its use with the song’s composers and publishers and pay them a hefty fee. The costs are considerable — between $30,000 and $40,000 on average for indefinite rights to a popular song that has played on the radio and that most people would know, Urdang said. Network and cable TV music budgets, meanwhile, are sometimes barely half that per episode.

“I worked on a show called ‘Burn Notice’ years ago,” Urdang said. “Our first season, the budget was ridiculously low — about $20,000 per episode. The following year it went down to $19,000.”

For “Burn Notice,” Urdang pursued music by unknown independent artists — “songs that nobody knew,” which were therefore more affordable, she said. But for showrunners and music supervisors intent on using hits, limited-use licenses were a cheaper workaround.

“A lot of times you realize that, say, putting an Abba song in a scene is really key,” said Thomas Golubic, a music supervisor who has worked on “Breaking Bad” and “The Walking Dead,” among other shows. “Well, Abba is incredibly expensive, and nobody is looking to cut you a deal.”

In order to afford the song, a show might have paid a lower fee for fixed-term use under certain conditions — for one year, maybe, or five. The licenses could be restricted to broadcast TV, not for DVD or online. As shows headed to streaming platforms, these limited-use deals had to be worked out all over again.

“Now they have to renegotiate for an Abba song for this incredibly long use, and Abba is able to charge whatever they want,” Golubic said. “They now have to ask themselves: Do we pay for the Abba song, or do we replace it with something else?”

“It’s very hard to do this job, and when you get it right, it’s an exciting experience,” he added. To have to later swap out favorite selections over rights issues “can be heartbreaking.”

These limited, temporary licenses could be as low as five percent of the cost of licensing a song in perpetuity, Urdang said. That enabled shows with low budgets, like “Dawson’s Creek,” to pack their episodes with recognizable tunes, even if only briefly — no one would be interested in watching these shows in a decade’s time anyway, the thinking went.

Now producers know better, and whether on streaming, network or cable, in-perpetuity licenses are the norm. “I don’t know anyone that would allow any kind of limited option anymore,” Urdang said. “We have to get rights forever.” Music budgets tend to be higher now to accommodate these needs, she said.

Buck Damon, a music supervisor on song-laden series like “Freaks and Geeks,” which aired on NBC, and the WB’s “Felicity,” has experienced both sides of the licensing issue. The producers of the beloved period high-school comedy “Freaks and Geeks” have prioritized securing whatever clearances necessary in order to preserve the show’s soundtrack on digital platforms. (The creator Paul Feig has said he wouldn’t allow it to be shown with alternate music.)

A new round of deals allowed “Freaks and Geeks” to return to TV earlier this year, to widespread exultation: When you watch the show on Hulu, its evocative mix of vintage hits by bands like Styx, Rush and the Who remains intact.

“Felicity” was a different story. The charming college drama, created by J.J. Abrams and Matt Reeves, was music-intensive by design, featuring hit songs by popular artists of the time like Lauryn Hill, Damon said.

“There was a lot of great music in ‘Felicity’ that was cool and happening in 1999,” he said. “But with such small budgets, the only way to make that work was to license the music for five years.”

When it came time to re-license the music for DVD and streaming, the distributor, ABC Studios, opted not to bother. If you stream the show now, Damon’s song choices have been replaced with cheap-sounding Muzak and tracks by unknown bands.

“It’s kind of ridiculous, if you think about it,” he said. “Why not just pay to keep that great music?”

Fans of such shows are often vocal about their distaste for the altered soundtracks on Reddit and social media. One “Felicity” fan has even cobbled together a guerrilla edit of the show with its original soundtrack painstakingly restored.

This kind of outcry may have produced at least one victory: Sony has apparently conceded to “Dawson’s Creek” fan pressure about “I Don’t Want to Wait.”

Cole, who is set to release her 11th studio album, “American Quilt,” on May 21, said that she has recorded a new master for the song and that over the past year, Sony has negotiated with her publishing company to restore it as the series theme.

If all goes according to plan, Cole said, “I Don’t Want to Wait” will soon reassume its rightful place at the start of “Dawson’s Creek” on streaming services. (Sony representatives declined to comment or confirm this development.)

“It’s wonderful to have waited this out,” Cole said. “I feel like it’s not just vindication for me, but for the fans, and for all artists.”

It’s mad how this story has blown up now. It’s been reported on for the past 9-12 months with little mainstream coverage. Must have been a quiet week...

Wealth options is a firm that sources and promotes product to Irish brokers who then push it on to their clients to get their commission. That’s how this fund came to be circulating in the market. This kind of shite is inevitable as a result and yet nobody learns. Wealth options still doing plenty of business and people being flogged crap so brokers can make their commission. It’s the same thing every time. People are greedy for return and ignore the warning signs....you get what you pay for...always ask the basic question “how is the person advising you being paid?”

Someone getting 3-5% to give you a few fancy brochures and fill in a few forms with you as you sign away your pension. Mind boggling that folk still go for it instead of paying for some decent independent advice.
                                It's Eddie Hobbs and Cape Verde all over again.

Something I'm sure you notice in the Irish market is the overweening importance we put on personal connections, above such things as basic common sense.

"Me cousin and me friend Joe both invested with this guy and say he's great"

You can see the amount of subscribers on many accounts (it's an option to show it or not), and the cost. Just multiply the two together. No doubt the interviews are for publicity but I don't see anything wrong with the numbers - 3000 followers isn't actually much, the average person will make very little but even the relatively small but successful accounts can make a lot. You'd also think people wouldn't non stop donate to millionaires on twitch but here we are. Some porn star opened an account and got 2 million in their first week, sure all her vids are free online etc. Both things kind of give a user a sort of "intimacy" that they get off on or whatever, I wouldn't do it nor you but that doesn't mean millions of others won't, just like they will pay for items in the steam market or buy a girls bath water or any aul shite that people spend their money on, loneliness and horniness is big business.
                                  There's people buying bath water?

Keith Duggan arguing pretty persuasively that the six Super League wannabees should be relegated from the Premier League.

It was a limited run, and no longer in stock afaik https://www.theguardian.com/technolo...ling-bath-wate

Gotta throw the baby out with something.

Gwyneth Paltrow is selling vagina scented candles afaik.

Keith Duggan arguing pretty persuasively that the six Super League wannabees should be relegated from the Premier League.
                                            If it meant getting rid of the Glazers I'd be all for it but lol at the sanctimonious shite being spouted by any club that wasn't invited. They would all have been falling over themselves to join if they were offered the chance.

The Italian FA has it right "we don't punish people because they liked an idea, no breakaway happened so nothing to punish" it'll be the same on the European stage, at best the executives of the clubs will be suspended from participating in working groups for a few years and maybe they'll remove the ridiculous addition of the 2 free champions league places but that will be it.

As far as the PL goes if anything happens other than background changes to committees and maybe the distribution and share of TV rights I'll be shocked. They want to bring them back into the fold, not convince them to leave in a year or two.

It was a limited run, and no longer in stock afaik https://www.theguardian.com/technolo...ling-bath-wate
                                              Ha!

Fair fucks to that girl.

Honest yunfellas

Think most of them are talking nonsense. He was claiming 60k grand. That drogheda girl was claiming 50k a month. Just lazy journalists using them for a story, and they get free publicity.

We're in an age where everyone expects everything for free, music, tv, porn. I just think it's all marketing to claim those numbers.
                                                  On the flip side, loads of people didn't really believe we were making money from poker back then either. It all comes full circle

The post about the nurse giving up the day job was just amusing to me, because of the number of poker threads that were basically that.

Its mad how effective that documentary is. My brother has never returned to FB since and uses some non-google search engine now.
                                                    It's mad how much the latest popular documentary drives the public consciousness and focus. Meme based global advocacy.

There must be groups using that to their own end in some respect.

from a pure €€€ point of view would doing the WSOP pay more than the few weddings you could potentially fit in that period?
                                                      Or is it more a labour of love?
                                                      The rates seem high but after seeing the photographers in action I understand it.

I've seen the very good, who are fully focused, and lightly choreograph the whole thing.

And I've seen the very bad, mates rates.

A guy I know was chasing down our friend for months about getting his video and pictures. He kept getting excuses about USB keys, and it's on the way, and in the post. Eventually, he was confronted in the pub. And he confessed. He had set up a camera in the church to do the video while he took photos. Turns out someone had stood in front of the camera and he had zero footage. Not sure if they even got the photos in the end.

Another friend is a photographer, but war-torn behind the lines, gritty style. Which is how he shot the wedding
                                                      Last edited by Denny Crane; 24-04-21, 10:06.

A moment's silence for El Stuntdog who has barked at her last postman. Buried in the back garden with full military honours.
                                                        End of an era!

If it meant getting rid of the Glazers I'd be all for it but lol at the sanctimonious shite being spouted by any club that wasn't invited. They would all have been falling over themselves to join if they were offered the chance.

The Italian FA has it right "we don't punish people because they liked an idea, no breakaway happened so nothing to punish" it'll be the same on the European stage, at best the executives of the clubs will be suspended from participating in working groups for a few years and maybe they'll remove the ridiculous addition of the 2 free champions league places but that will be it.

As far as the PL goes if anything happens other than background changes to committees and maybe the distribution and share of TV rights I'll be shocked. They want to bring them back into the fold, not convince them to leave in a year or two.
                                                          Do you not think this is the perfect catalyst to level the soccer playing field?

Give, say, Crystal Palace or Burnley, as much chance as Man City or Liverpool.

It seems Ed glazer was in no.10 for a meeting with boris early April- wonder what they were chatting about?
                                                            Now trying to claim it was re return of crowds post covid but won’t release minutes
                                                            has to be a fairly good chance boris was giving the thumbs up to super league and flipped sides when he saw reaction

Call me cynical but I’d guess there was 1 or 2 “independent “ lads pushing this too

Married 14 years and hand on heart never seen or looked at the wedding pics or video bar a couple pics she has on the walls.. Must have a gander.

Only fans is basically this generations poker
                                                                  https://touch.boards.ie/thread/20581...#post116948167

Young people on the internet taking money off rich old men.
                                                                  This generations poker has been staring you in the face for quite some time

Do you not think this is the perfect catalyst to level the soccer playing field?

I would much prefer say a NFL type scenario whereby every team had a salary and player cap and competition was real as a result but in the absence of a pan-european league that simply isn't possible. There's no appetite in say the English game for them to be reduced to parity while other European teams can hoover up the best players.

There's no scenario in this current generation where teams will be equally matched. In theory all Palace or Burnley need is exactly what City got i.e. a multi-billionaire owner. The truth of it all is that football is like everything else in the capitalist world..about making money.

For example, you relegate the big 6. They have enough funds to spend the maximum of 2 years it would take to get back to the big table, 3 up one year, 3 up the next. They are also very likely to focus on the cup competitions which means bringing 1/2 or even 3 of them back into European competition anyway, then if say City or Liverpool are in the Europa league with no other real distractions they would be heavy favourites to win it which puts them in the CL the following year, possibly at the expense of a team in the premier league that had 'earned' a top 4 spot and we still don't have parity

On top of that I guarantee you that Championship clubs would protest that relegation as they now have no pathway to the money league for at least 2 years and a significantly higher chance to be relegated, which means they'll lose their best prospects and then the div1 teams will kick up because they are much more likely to go up and straight back down etc etc.

The super league has the potential to be a great idea, not the iteration they have proposed but a true pan-european league involving all teams across multiple leagues and with the same chance of being promoted/relegated etc. Letting the media, especially sky, and teams that weren't invited drive the narrative response is a bad idea and just buries the potential positive impacts behind the disdain. It's only really in England that there has been major backlash (surprise, surprise) and all these fans who want to get rid of rich owners would beg to have them back in 5 years when they are reduced to being also-rans in every competition they play in.

On a wider note, are there any truly ‘level’ team sports in the world? Not rugby, cricket, gaa, motor racing, basketball....in a world where even bath water is monetised where we will ever find equality?

It seems Ed glazer was in no.10 for a meeting with boris early April- wonder what they were chatting about?
                                                                        Now trying to claim it was re return of crowds post covid but won’t release minutes
                                                                        has to be a fairly good chance boris was giving the thumbs up to super league and flipped sides when he saw reaction
                                                                        You're as deluded as any fan with the outrage.

Ed Woodward, not Glazer. The Glazers own the club.

Twas Ed Woodward who was in no. 10. But yes it wouldn't take much cynicism to come up with that theory.

Unless he was being interviewed for Cummins' job

You're as deluded as any fan with the outrage.

Ed Woodward, not Glazer. The Glazers own the club.
                                                                            I thought Ed Woodward died years ago

Gotta throw the baby out with something.
                                                                              Guessing you guys are blissfully unaware of the ASMR video bubble?

On a wider note, are there any truly ‘level’ team sports in the world? Not rugby, cricket, gaa, motor racing, basketball....in a world where even bath water is monetised where we will ever find equality?
                                                                                Ironically, it's probably the spiritual home of capitalism, America, where you find the most level sporting pitches. NFL and NBA are huge money sports with a serious intention to level up. So it can be done.

That does depend on a very strong college system though.

It'd be really interesting to take a family of, say Liverpool fans. Great-Grandad, Grandad, Dad and Sonny Boy. All born at 30 year intervals.

And track the changes in the game from 1930-1960-1990-2020.
                                                                                  1. Who owned the club and how did they run it?
                                                                                  2. Who managed the team?
                                                                                  3. Where did the players come from?
                                                                                  4. How much did the players earn compared to the AIW?
                                                                                  5. What was the composition of the fanbase?

Etc

Ironically, it's probably the spiritual home of capitalism, America, where you find the most level sporting pitches. NFL and NBA are huge money sports with a serious intention to level up. So it can be done.

That does depend on a very strong college system though.
                                                                                    Exactly my point though, it’s not international just in 1 country. To replicate that across Europe for any sport is a herculean undertaking that would require infinitely more compromises than Americans had to make.

different fans, different revenues, different taxes, different disposable income to spend on supporting your team, different cultural attitudes to match going and time investment, different economies of scale etc etc etc

not to mention that the American system is still predicated on teams moving state whenever it financially suits them.

That being said, if you started a pan-European system now then in 30-50 years we would conceivably have a similar system of caps/drafts etc that would give a more level playing field.

just don’t see where the appetite for that level of change is coming from. Especially given the fact that the vast bulk of British pushback was in regards to local teams/fans being left behind.

I count 8 different NBA champions in the last 13 years with the best being Golden State (3). Miami and LA Lakers won 2.

By contrast La Liga has had 3 different winners. Barca (8), Real Madrid (4) And Atletico (1).

The EPL looks slightly more competitive with 5 different winners: Man City (4), Man Utd (4), Chelsea (3), Liverpool (1) and Leicester (1).

Bundesliga is even worse.

There's a problem here. Oligarchies aren't good in any context.

That being said, if you started a pan-European system now then in 30-50 years we would conceivably have a similar system of caps/drafts etc that would give a more level playing field.

just don’t see where the appetite for that level of change is coming from. Especially given the fact that the vast bulk of British pushback was in regards to local teams/fans being left behind.
                                                                                          It needs to happen. What's there for a famous old club like Everton (historically far more successful than Chelsea or Man City) otherwise? Not rich enough to buy success, not poor enough to get relegated.

Grime scenes from India

I count 8 different NBA champions in the last 13 years with the best being Golden State (3). Miami and LA Lakers won 2.

By contrast La Liga has had 3 different winners. Barca (8), Real Madrid (4) And Atletico (1).

The EPL looks slightly more competitive with 5 different winners: Man City (4), Man Utd (4), Chelsea (3), Liverpool (1) and Leicester (1).

Bundesliga is even worse.

There's a problem here. Oligarchies aren't good in any context.
                                                                                              All great until you mention Bundesliga. Every club in Bundesliga is 51% owned by fan groups. It’s not oligarchs there and you’re right, outside of Italy/France it’s the worst league for different winners

I do agree that change is needed btw, I just don’t think that UEFA of FIFA will lead it

Well UEFA led the charge to sink the SL.

You're a Man U fan I think. What do you think of the fact that your owners tried to secretly set this thing up within a self-selected supreme tier? (Which included Arsenal and Spurs ffs )

A. An actual salary cap.
                                                                                                    B. An actual draft system for young players.
                                                                                                    C. keep the relegation/promotion.

That’d go a long way.

The issue being handling B and C at the same time. American teams tank quite often to get draft picks. The antithesis of competition.

There’s surely a smart way to do it though.

Football also neither has the stomach for A or the infrastructure for B.

All great until you mention Bundesliga. Every club in Bundesliga is 51% owned by fan groups. It’s not oligarchs there and you’re right, outside of Italy/France it’s the worst league for different winners
                                                                                                      Yes, but the fans = the clubs at least.

In England, fans = 'revenue stream'.

hence you see facts like:
                                                                                                      The average season ticket for the top flight in England is £516, compared to just £159 in Germany

A salary cap is a very difficult thing to organise across several leagues and financial situations. American sports is a much simpler system, where teams are roughly similar to each other. In football it's much more organic, messy. Raoul's analysis above is interesting but limited in that it only takes into account competition at the top of the pyramid.

Good take on the super league here
                                                                                                          Finally, soccer's Super League has announced itself, and the only surprise is that people are surprised. The somersaulting hypocrisy is not just limited to ex-pros and broadcasters either - we all bea

A salary cap is a very difficult thing to organise across several leagues and financial situations. American sports is a much simpler system, where teams are roughly similar to each other. In football it's much more organic, messy. Raoul's analysis above is interesting but limited in that it only takes into account competition at the top of the pyramid.
                                                                                                            I have no answers to the problems btw!

On a related topic, I think watching sports is like masturbation. Everyone does it, there's nothing wrong with it - but it's embarrassing to talk about it all the time.

Fintan Hand (Irish) going to be streaming the final table of $5k Scoop event starting at 6.10. Around $200k up top. Pretty huge spot for him as Pokerstars bought him into the event.

Twitch is the world's leading video platform and community for gamers.

So he's a prop player?

Pokerstars sponsored player. Pretty common marketing thing these days to throw streamers into the big events. If they make a final table like this it gets tonnes of eyes on twitch which drives traffic to the site.

But why is it of any interest without knowing the details of the deal? Maybe he has to give half it back if we wins. In any case, there's no hazard involved, so it's hardly much of a spectacle.

He gets 100%. The ticket is s gift from PS to him.

The best part of watching poker is seeing people lose. Unfortunately, the game is such so that someone has to win, but take away the possibility of losing and there's no spectacle at all.