Seems like a crazy high number of young people are shilling that. Like it seems like it's a pretty normal thing for popular people on twitter and other social media. Just seems mad.
    What even is it? explain to a person born in the last century.

IOU dinner by the way, once they reopen I will book us in. FU Trump.

This is great in so many ways
        It reminded me very much of The Corrs.

You pay a subscription to see erotic pictures of someone. You don't even get a digital card of them like Hitch does with Sorare.

Jim is a complete ass - analogy checks out

Ed Thorp pointed it out decades ago. The monthly reports had steady returns regardless of conditions, and claimed trades that never happened.

but no one was interested.
              Bernie understood how people just love those magic beans

TheJiggaman is this the same as that football index thing that blew up recently?
                no

It's like a premium twitter. You pay to follow someone. I *think* originally it was claimed to be for chefs and private trainers but like all technology it got used for porn.

​​​​​​It's funny in that probably no one pays for porn (other than HBO, HBO should pay for the porn). But a group of shoddy amateurs is making billions.

I didn't realise how out of touch IPB is...only fans is a gigantic and not particularly recent phenomenon.

Were you searching for donkey videos again Solks?
                      Pretty ladies singing make homer something something.

I know a perv however you cannot be uncheered by these ladies.

Only Andrea though .

I didn't realise how out of touch IPB is...only fans is a gigantic and not particularly recent phenomenon.
                          Has it got a use case beyond porn?

You can use it for any sort of content (fitness, art etc), but I think the overwhelming use is erotic pictures.

I promise not to be overwhelmed- send on a screen capture of your fav only fans pin up . A redhead or an Andrea . Your pick.

I know a lad making tens of thousands on it. Mad shit.

Its made alot of people filthy rich.

I promise not to be overwhelmed- send on a screen capture of your fav only fans pin up . A redhead or an Andrea . Your pick.
                                  How's your blood pressure? I have pretty exotic tastes!

Go on CHD stick your Onlyfans link up.

If I'm being called 'out of touch' for being unaware of that particular manifestation of human stupidity then I'm cool with that.

Alright BBV,

That app I mentioned I was putting together has just been released.

It'll be useless in Ireland until I get some Irish customers but I'm tossing it in here in the hope that anyone who knows anyone that has a businesses that takes bookings might hook me up with a conversation.

If I'm being called 'out of touch' for being unaware of that particular manifestation of human stupidity then I'm cool with that.
                                            Bet you don't even make your own music

I know a lad making tens of thousands on it. Mad shit.

Its made alot of people filthy rich.
                                              It's one of those mad steep curves where almost nobody is making any money on average but the 0.001% are all gazillionaires.

at pretending not to know what onlyfans is - or not actually knowing- that’s a whole new level out of touch

but if genuine it’s just the logical progression of social media turning Yong people into degen attention whores- not a big leap to graduate to being actual whores
                                                Last edited by Guest; 16-04-21, 16:25.

Must check in on Bubblekings YouTube channel

Bet you don't even make your own music
                                                    I can fart the national anthem.

You have enough hot air to do so. Gwanoutadat.

Sine a Fine Fart.

at pretending not to know what onlyfans is - or not actually knowing- that’s a whole new level out of touch

but if genuine it’s just the logical progression of social media turning Yong people into degen attention whores- not a big leap to graduate to being actual whores
                                                        I just find it mad how it legitimized it. None of those people would have done porn before. But since the made an app that's basically twitter/Instagram, practically everyone under 25 has one.

Ha, the only people I know under 25 are also under 10. Pretty sure they aren't on onlyfans

I wonder in my idle moments what ways human sexuality will evolve in as stuff like this becomes mainstream.

Have decided to have a crack at becoming a non drinker.

It's gotten to a point where the downsides are heavily outweighing the fun. Mostly due to small kids in the house.

Went two weeks without alcohol up to last Sat, none since either.

I'm pretty sure it's the longest break I've had away from it since I was a teenager. Which is a little scary really.

I guess if I'm honest with myself, I'm an alcoholic.

That pervasive type of alcoholism where you can convince yourself you're not because you only drink four or five nights of the week. Or you only have the two beers on a Tuesday.

So far so good in terms of struggling with it, focusing on the gains.

Just wondering if anyone else was in a similar boat, cut it out or cut it back. How did it work out.

If you are an alcoholic, you have it very mild. To just stop for 2 weeks like that means you are not physically dependent. If you think it's a problem then stop and you have . Dont get hung up on the semantics and define yourself as an alcoholic.. you think you drink too much so as the old saying goes , if you cant cut it down , cut it out as you say. You wont miss it that much.

Cheers Willie.

I think that's kinda the problem though (obv not as bad a problem as drinking at breakfast), it's very easy to dismiss to yourself.

Definitely not physically dependant. Mentally attached a little too closely though I would say.

A lot of habitual drinking, a beer while cooking etc.

Prob just have to work on breaking those habits.

One of the owners of Studio 54, Steve Rubell, said in a interview, that only the Mafia made more money than the club brought in. Not long after that, the club was raided by the IRS, which led to multiple criminal charges and the eventual demise of the club. Matty would want to take heed.

I didn't realise this was a side-effect of covid. Shit is worse than I thought.

Lazare and other Lankum fans, they're doing a Tim's Twitter Listening Party at 9pm for The Livelong Day - I'll be giving it a spin! (And good luck with the non-drinking!)

Funnily enough I'm watching The Man With The Golden Gun while waiting for 9pm to roll around and JB is chasing down Lazare!
                                                                          Last edited by BennyHiFi; 16-04-21, 19:30.

It's gotten to a point where the downsides are heavily outweighing the fun. Mostly due to small kids in the house.

Went two weeks without alcohol up to last Sat, none since either.

I'm pretty sure it's the longest break I've had away from it since I was a teenager. Which is a little scary really.

I guess if I'm honest with myself, I'm an alcoholic.

That pervasive type of alcoholism where you can convince yourself you're not because you only drink four or five nights of the week. Or you only have the two beers on a Tuesday.

So far so good in terms of struggling with it, focusing on the gains.

Just wondering if anyone else was in a similar boat, cut it out or cut it back. How did it work out.

I'm in a similar position. Im.not going to try not drinking. Im just massively cutting back. Wouldn't class you as an alcoholic though. I think you're being quite harsh on yourself.

For me it definitely got worse when I was laid off and on lockdown last year. Then I went back to work and it was fine and it got pretty bad again when I was let go.

First it was just the usual Friday and Saturday beer. Then it was the midweek soccer is on telly beer. Then the Sunday I've got no work tomorrow beer. Suddenly you could be drinking 7 nights without even noticing. Not heavily but enough for a change in mood and sleep pattern.

Ive had some bottles in the fridge since last Friday and I'll have them tonight. That will be it then until next Friday. Trying to regain some semblance of normality back to life.

To keep me occupied, I've started loads of jobs around the house. Volunteered to cut all the grass around my areas of the estate for the residents association and trying to get out for a run every evening. Small changes but already noticing improvement in mood and sleep pattern.

I dont think I'll cut it out but I'll cut back an awful lot.

Jaysus that turned into a long winded post. But sure.

Cheers Willie.

I think that's kinda the problem though (obv not as bad a problem as drinking at breakfast), it's very easy to dismiss to yourself.

Definitely not physically dependant. Mentally attached a little too closely though I would say.

A lot of habitual drinking, a beer while cooking etc.

Prob just have to work on breaking those habits.
                                                                              You might find this interesting

I used to drink plenty in my 20's but gave it up before I was 30 and other than finding the first year a bit weird, mostly in terms of other people's reactions, I've never had as much as a tinge of regret.
                                                                                You will find that, in Ireland especially the word alcoholic comes heavily loaded, you would be well advised to understand what it means in all its aspects and how it can be best dealt with, it might have some value for you but it may also work against you.
                                                                                It's probably best to not worry too much about tagging it but you have identified an issue and want to deal with it. I would recommend that you talk to someone, preferably a medic or maybe a counsellor with experience of the area who can talk you through what to expect. I think for many people there is a progression in their relationship with alcohol and while jumping off the treadmill before it is a huge problem is always going to be better than waiting around for it all to go pear shaped doesn't mean there aren't things you might need to deal with.
                                                                                I reckon a good definition of problem drinking (or anything similar for that matter) is that if it's costing you anything more than money its something you will be better off without. Two other very wise things I've heard said that stuck with me were that there just isn't room for drink in a young family and the other was hearing the late great Jimmy McGee describing what an absolute waste of time it was for him and how much he was able to do without all that wasted time.
                                                                                Can't recommend it enough as a life hack, the only negative thing I can think of was the reaction of so many people who cannot comprehend the concept of someone simply not wanting to drink unless they have been down and out breakfast drinking or whatever. GL with it.

Nice one dobby, on all fronts. Fair play on the volunteering in the community. Such a sound thing.

I drink a fair whack apparently going by stories but then again I dont. Pure binge drinker. Id go at it once a week, and maybe of that was a Friday I might have a couple glasses of wine the next night but never would even think about it Sun-Thurs. But i suppose when i go for a night it amounts to a lot. Lived with an alcoholic mother till she died at 42 so do remember the bad times. That said since the kids came along even the morning after if I'm thrown into the fray I'm grand after 3 or4 hours kip.Do whatever you feel is needed I guess?

I think we're unfairly tarnishing breakfast drinking. The best drinking is week-long binges, wake up and crack one open, then see what happens the day. It's glorious and horrific.

I stopped maybe around a year and a half ago. Its really just made me obsessed with other things. Most of which are great fun.

There's a time and a place for drinking and I'm not sure it's in our best years. My dad took up drinking at 60 for the first time and loves it. Retired early and treats it as a nice feature of retirement. I think that's a way of thinking about it.

As strew says, I wouldn't use any labels. But if like me and you know you know then it can be a personal label. I wouldn't let anyone else label you though. Labels about things you don't do are shite. You want to be labeled about things you do do. Great dad, good friend, guitar wanker.

I hope this doesn't come across the wrong way cos there was nothing wrong with ya before Dobster, but this new Dobby, the Uni nailing, grass shredding, drink cutting Dobby. He's class.

So laz did you have a . AM I STILL LIVING IN FECKING NEWCASTLE Fr Jack style moment when you stopped the ol drinking

Pretty sure alcoholic means different things to different people. I still remember being specially invited by my Student Union President to an AA meeting when I was about 21. Never even imagined you were a regular drinker. First time I gave it a serious break was 2014 ( for 6 weeks) and ended up in A&E with pretty serious head injuries as soon as I went back on it.

Had a proper break after the heart bypass in 2018, though was dying to have a drink as soon as I felt even marginally well enough to. It took 6 months.

Try to keep it to 2 days a week now, though I still prefer to drink either 3 bottles of wine, or a bottle of whiskey, when I feel up to it.

Pretty sure alcoholic means different things to different people. I still remember being specially invited by my Student Union President to an AA meeting when I was about 21. Never even imagined you were a regular drinker. First time I gave it a serious break was 2014 ( for 6 weeks) and ended up in A&E with pretty serious head injuries as soon as I went back on it.

Had a proper break after the heart bypass in 2018, though was dying to have a drink as soon as I felt even marginally well enough to. It took 6 months.

Try to keep it to 2 days a week now, though I still prefer to drink either 3 bottles of wine, or a bottle of whiskey, when I feel up to it.
                                                                                              Eurovision Night! That was some night. I think we were all just getting drunk in different places rather than together. But there was something about that particular Eurovision. Can't remember what. Maybe a competition on here.

Thanks so much lads. I haven't even mentioned it to anyone bar my wife but knew the support here would be class as always.

SP really hitting the nail on the head with the bit about there not being room for it with a young family.

Rushing through the bed time story so you can crack open a beer is not good. Zombied on Sundays.

I made the decision three weeks ago, in my own mind that it was enough.

Had an alcohol related row with herself on the Sat night, stupid stuff, a ruined night and a really horrible Sunday. You regularly get that 'I'm giving this up' feeling on Sundays but this was different. Really felt like there was just no room for it anymore.

Re the label, I've a close family member that successfully went through AA in the 80s and changed their life completely, so I'm acutely aware of the importance of admitting to yourself that there's an issue.

I doubt I'll become teetotal, maybe I will, maybe I'll drink on occasion, but I just don't want it to be in the way anymore.

​​​

Eurovision Night! That was some night. I think we were all just getting drunk in different places rather than together. But there was something about that particular Eurovision. Can't remember what. Maybe a competition on here.
                                                                                                  Think for me it was the bearded Trans from Israel winning that inspired me after a skinfull to go to Pantibar for more. What happened next is pure speculation.

Laz, just based on what you said here id say knock it on the head for a few months,
                                                                                                    make a decision of sorts, if you do decide to drink again, none in the house, then see again

But you know yourself better than anyone
                                                                                                    good luck with it fella!

You might find this interesting
                                                                                                      Thanks Sham, have it bookmarked for later or tomorrow.

Laz, just based on what you said here id say knock it on the head for a few months,
                                                                                                        make a decision of sorts, if you do decide to drink again, none in the house, then see again

But you know yourself better than anyone
                                                                                                        good luck with it fella!
                                                                                                        Cheers man.

I’m sure there’s a lot of people questioning their relationship with booze after this past year I’ve definetly upped it., I went at it hard for Christmas end kept it up through January (when I say hard I mean 4 cans of +5% abv beer) but have reined it pretty much in to 1-2 nights now. I’m pretty much on the verge of stopping drinking at home now- it’s a bit pointless really and even very respectable sensible drinking chips away at your energy/time after a while.

that said I imagine the first time I have a freshly pulled pint of creamy draught Guinness in front of me when pubs open will go something like this

Last edited by Guest; 16-04-21, 20:59.

You'll be getting religion next.

Trust in your Higher Power.

The sorare fantasy football thing is great, for anyone sitting on the fence. I spent about a grand on players, which *should* be enough for those players to gain 250 points in real life fantasy football. 250 points gives you 0.2 eth or $30 in weekly prizes. So 3% return on investment every week, and then the player value itself keeps rising as the popularity rises. If you're thinking about it as an investment, it quickly starts to tick a lot of interesting boxes.
                                                                                                              that'd be the
                                                                                                              https://sorare.com/r/deadparrot that I was on about a few times?

I feel some classic Flann O'Brien poetry, yes poetry, is the only anectode to this puritan piety:

When things go wrong and will not come right,
                                                                                                                Though you do the best you can,
                                                                                                                When life looks black as the hour of night –
                                                                                                                A pint of plain is your only man.

When money’s tight and hard to get
                                                                                                                And your horse has also ran,
                                                                                                                When all you have is a heap of debt –

When health is bad and your heart feels strange,
                                                                                                                And your face is pale and wan,
                                                                                                                When doctors say you need a change,

When food is scarce and your larder bare
                                                                                                                And no rashers grease your pan,
                                                                                                                When hunger grows as your meals are rare –
                                                                                                                I think The Dubliners might have musicalized it too.

It's unpatriotic is it what it is.

I feel some classic Flann O'Brien poetry, yes poetry, is the only anectode to this puritan piety:
                                                                                                                    Died in his early 50s due to his alcoholism.

Flann had further wonderful thoughts on the topic of drink:

Do you know what I am going to tell you, he said with his wry mouth, a pint of plain is your only man.

Notwithstanding this eulogy, I soon found that the mass of plain porter bears an unsatisfactory relation to its toxic content and I subsequently became addicted to brown stout in bottle, a drink which still remains the one that I prefer the most despite the painful and blinding fits of vomiting which a plurality of bottles has often induced in me.

Died in his early 50s due to his alcoholism.
                                                                                                                        Which came first, the alcoholism.or the writing though?
                                                                                                                        And would you have had one without the other....

I’m sure there’s a lot of people questioning their relationship with booze after this past year I’ve definetly upped it., I went at it hard for Christmas end kept it up through January (when I say hard I mean 4 cans of +5% abv beer) but have reined it pretty much in to 1-2 nights now. I’m pretty much on the verge of stopping drinking at home now- it’s a bit pointless really and even very respectable sensible drinking chips away at your energy/time after a while.

that said I imagine the first time I have a freshly pulled pint of creamy draught Guinness in front of me when pubs open will go something like this