Has anyone been watching 'The Stand'?
    Seems to be getting slated for flying thru material.
    1994 version a better bet?

Or is the book the way to go?

Edit, Scratch that, think my new years resolution is not to watch anything just airing,
    too many cancellations and sunken time.
    Last edited by Micknail; 04-01-21, 17:17.

Need to get my oven repaired (IKEA electric model) - can anyone recommend a good appliance repair guy/electrician suitable for this in Dublin? Seems a common fault in ovens, the grill still works, it is just the oven that doesn't heat up, so either a faulty heating element or thermostat it seems. I don't think I'm handy enough to fix myself.

I feel like the only person here who doesn't do New Year resolutions at all How much potential personal & professional development am I leaving behind me?
        Paul we haven’t had a chat about your career since you were looking for your last job. However, I was surprised at that time how unfocused you were and unclear on your future career direction. If you’d gone into that period with a clear goal I wonder if you would have had a change in career direction.

If you don’t have a clear process for advancing towards your goals I do think it costs you. Whether that’s career, personal life, wider skills etc.

In a career context not making plans and strategic decisions to invest in yourself, change career direction etc. and preparing yourself in order to take advantage of future opportunities does result in money (or career or work/life balance satisfaction) being left on the table imo.

Also having a review process can hold a mirror up to yourself and encourage you to take the necessary actions rather than continuous procrastination. Even a failure of a resolution can have real value if part of a review process.

Need to get my oven repaired (IKEA electric model) - can anyone recommend a good appliance repair guy/electrician suitable for this in Dublin? Seems a common fault in ovens, the grill still works, it is just the oven that doesn't heat up, so either a faulty heating element or thermostat it seems. I don't think I'm handy enough to fix myself.
          Could simply be a specialist internal fuse. Had this with a neff microwave. €2.50 for the fuse and no €80 call out fee. Running a risk with the Mrs though if you fuck it up.

my last word on it . I fully support the Garda here and he had to be stopped . I disagree he had to die

Speaking of shots . the odd cheap shot taken in here this morning. sure nobody died .
            If you'd seen the video you wouldn't be supporting the poor fucker whose career is over. Two shots fired initially a gap of 4-5 seconds and then an 6-7 second gap until the last shot. There were 6/7 guards and 9/10 bystanders in close proximity. The victim attempted to run around the side of the house after the first two shots. He may been a danger to others before the first two shots but he was no danger to anyone when shots 3,4 and 5 were fired.

Paul we haven’t had a chat about your career since you were looking for your last job. However, I was surprised at that time how unfocused you were and unclear on your future career direction. If you’d gone into that period with a clear goal I wonder if you would have had a change in career direction.

If you don’t have a clear process for advancing towards your goals I do think it costs you. Whether that’s career, personal life, wider skills etc.

In a career context not making plans and strategic decisions to invest in yourself, change career direction etc. and preparing yourself in order to take advantage of future opportunities does result in money (or career or work/life balance satisfaction) being left on the table imo.

Also having a review process can hold a mirror up to yourself and encourage you to take the necessary actions rather than continuous procrastination. Even a failure of a resolution can have real value if part of a review process.
              Sure everyone knows ionapaul doesn't need to work for money . He just likes to get out of the house.

6,110 cases today . No way are the schools reopening next week.

Can’t wait for Dianna fail heave will be comedy gold
                  jim o Callaghan ,Marc Mcsharry and Barry Cowen

Regarding the goals and resolutions, I've recently found that spite and competitive nature post divorce is the best motivator.

Last year I had a dry January, no booze competition with my mate, he lasted 21 days, but apart from that I was unfocused and pissed about for the year. Have some clearer things in mind now and even without achieving them yet, I've found that I'm more capable of finding solutions.

The shooting is something my parents talked about. I find it laughable that there's suggestions to aim for legs or shoulders. Don't remember John Wick being a Garda.

I've a friend here who does competition pistol shooting where he moves around the course and hits targets and all that nonsense. The accuracy required when stressed, moving and under pressure compared to just shooting at a tree or target is night and day. It's basically centre mass or nothing.

Crickets Irish roots starting on RTE 1 now for anyone inclined

Who got the Poco X3 here?
                          Happy with it still?

Upgrading from the last bbv recommend phone I got, the Redmi note 3. Still going in fairness, battery losing its legs, metal body finally starting to fail in places. OS I think now stuck on older android version.
                          Got it on amazon.uk pre Brexit. Does what is says on the tin. A small bit of Chinese bloatware and ads. Easy to disable. Everything you would expect from a flagship without the 5G. Fast charging and battery superb. Happy with it so far.

Extensive thread over on boards.ie dedicated to it.

He attacked a Guard with a machete and got shot.
                            Did he attack a guard?

Was he armed with a machete?

I don't think the argument should be about where they shoot but why they shoot and mostly IMO we should be focussing on why there are not more effective non deadly ways to immobilise someone who is out of control. For instance could no one find a net to throw over him, a 5000 year old technology that we know works.

I think anything that states 'racist Gardai shot black man, this wouldn't have happened if he was white. Let's all do BLM protests outside the GPO.' is just a completely false narrative.
                              To be fair, you don't know that it wasn't a racist Garda for certain any more than the people trying to make it a race issue know their version to be true.

If there was ever a case for waiting for GSOC to report this is it. Hopefullly it will be thorough and completed in a timely manner.
                              Last edited by Strewelpeter; 04-01-21, 20:13.

Tore a muscle in my poxy calf this evening while jogging along well within my comfort zone... could have done without that after putting on 5Kg in the last 2 months.

FFS! Feels pretty bad right now guesstimating at least a week or two before I'm allowed use it again. Are the physio's even open tomorrow?

Did he attack a guard?

Answers seem to be 'yes' and 'a knife rather than a machete' respectively.

Video footage capturing the shooting appears to show Mr Nkencho swinging and lunging at gardaí, with what is thought to have been a knife or bladed-weapon, when shots were discharged.

The footage shows Mr Nkencho continued to move and swing around even after initial shots were fired.

Did he attack a guard?

Wasn't there so no idea, just going on media reports. Maybe he was offering them all a Christmas drink.

Tore a muscle in my poxy calf this evening while jogging along well within my comfort zone... could have done without that after putting on 5Kg in the last 2 months.

FFS! Feels pretty bad right now guesstimating at least a week or two before I'm allowed use it again. Are the physio's even open tomorrow?
                                      Yup they are - was at one today

Answers seem to be 'yes' and 'a knife rather than a machete' respectively.

Two shots.

What appears to be a lunge.

Two shots.

Significant pause.

Final shot.

So two shots were fired prior to any 'attack'. Self defence?

Wasn't there so no idea, just going on media reports. Maybe he was offering them all a Christmas drink.
                                          Didn't see that in any reputable media reports.

Classic stats humour

Thoughts and prayers with the WFH crew with school age kids

Two shots.

What appears to be a lunge.

Two shots.

Significant pause.

Final shot.

So two shots were fired prior to any 'attack'. Self defence?
                                                What, you reckon Nkencho attacked the Guards in self-defence? Interesting theory.

A-Levels and GCSEs cancelled again in England.

The shooting is something my parents talked about. I find it laughable that there's suggestions to aim for legs or shoulders. Don't remember John Wick being a Garda.

I've a friend here who does competition pistol shooting where he moves around the course and hits targets and all that nonsense. The accuracy required when stressed, moving and under pressure compared to just shooting at a tree or target is night and day. It's basically centre mass or nothing.
                                                    My mammy agrees with me too.

A small fortune its costing me

The step counter on the phone suggests I've averaged about 2000 steps a day for the last week. Basically sedentary.

Ah good. I’m getting some alternative thoughts on it from some corners but I’d be fairly similar in thinking to that succinct summary.
                                                          It's mad how often incidents like this come up where someone's preconception completely determines their interpretation of an event. Usually after reading a headline.

​​​​​​i know a lot of people who were straight to "the guards are trigger happy racists". While others were using it to back their racism.

Makes you wonder how much free will we have. How much thinking we actually do on a day to day business versus just using whatever synapse is warmed up.
                                                          Last edited by Denny Crane; 05-01-21, 00:24.

It's mad how often incidents like this come up where someone's preconception completely determines their interpretation of an event. Usually after reading a headline.

​​​​​​i know a lot of people who were straight to "the guards are trigger happy racists". While others were using it to back their racism.

Makes you wonder how much free will we have. How much thinking we actually do on a day to day business versus just using whatever synapse is warmed up.
                                                            I'd say maybe 90% of us went to 'that seems unfortunate but probably justified'. It's just that the five percent on either side tend to be people with microphones.

As in our default views are probably pretty uniform and save us getting too distracted by unimportant things.

Oh man. I hear you. Ive a buddy who wilfully admitted going down the George was a dirty scumbag road only the admit his embarrassment a day later. And another that fully still believes it was because he was black. and then there is me who is staunch pro police in this scenario based on what I've read.

Then you'll have some who believe he was a bit of a scumbag, the guards are a bit racist but were right in this scenario just to sound nuanced and reasonable.

People having differing opinions is one thing but we really are just happily all meandering down the path of polarization, where being right is much more important than learning.

I see some gobshite starting in our mutual uni's law gov department issued his first tweet on the job as "I'm doing this for all the black guys like george who didn't make it into 2021". The mind boggles as to the quality of research he's going to produce.
                                                                ​​​​​.

People having differing opinions is one thing but we really are just happily all meandering down the path of polarization, where being right is much more important than learning.
                                                                  What transpired is not matter of opinion, it's a matter of fact. The conclusion jumping, from both, maybe all sides, is the most unfortunate aspect of the aftermath IMHO.

So much we don't know. Like how things kicked off in the shop for a start.

What transpired is not matter of opinion, it's a matter of fact. The conclusion jumping, from both, maybe all sides, is the most unfortunate aspect of the aftermath IMHO.

It does seem like you have a different version of the facts than others, or are you just asking questions?

Do you think the shopkeeper was in on it with the police. Maybe he gets kickbacks for every blackman the police gets to shoot after being riled up by the shopkeeper.

The step counter on the phone suggests I've averaged about 2000 steps a day for the last week. Basically sedentary.
                                                                        I had similar yesterday which is a bad indicator for the new WFH situation.

My new role requires facetime calls which limits my ability to continue my previous walking calls.
                                                                        They were perfect as you knew it's largely irrelevant to you for the first hour so almost no chance of being asked a question until you arrive back.

How the fk so?

Shoot to kill ?
                                                                          When the perpetrator has a gun, shoot to kill for obvious reasons.
                                                                          I understand your logic here; it’s a knife, step back, shoot a leg, drop him, don’t kill him. But it’s incorrect.

The armed unit are trained to only shoot where there is an immediate treat and risk. Once he lunged, that risk presented, so he was shot. Had he been shot in a limb, he could have continued his attack and stabbed somebody. In fact, the first round that hit him hit a limb, and he didn’t stop him.

If order to use limb shots effectively, you’d need to shoot people before that attack or present an immediate threat. And yes, that could have shot his legs 20 seconds earlier and he might have survived.
                                                                          As nobody has physic powers, that would mean shooting in cases were a lethal shot would not have been required.
                                                                          Basically, if you utilise leg shots as the strategy, you’d end up having to shoot more people overall. Which could end up causing more deaths. There’s a argument to be made that that could be the strategy. But it isn’t. So you can’t retrospectively and selectively say they should have after the fact.
                                                                          Last edited by Mellor; 05-01-21, 08:21.

Maybe it's completely normal to carry a lethal weapon with you when you go down to the shops for The Sun and a litre of milk.

Screw you guys . I went out with a nerf gun last night Hit approx 70% of the legs I aimed for and that's WITH the wind swaying some shots off target like a Liverpool centre forward. Zero fatalities. . I reckon I could take down a blanch thug from 6 feet. I deffo wouldn't be hiding 30 feet away behind Maguire's van hoping to hit his body mass. I WIN .

Maybe it's completely normal to carry a lethal weapon with you when you go down to the shops for The Sun and a litre of milk.
                                                                                Ever been to Blanch?

Just outside of Cannes, yes I think I've been there. Nice little one star place.

Go to the NAC quite a bit if that counts.

Any chance the schools open before Paddy's day?

Just outside of Cannes, yes I think I've been there. Nice little one star place.

Go to the NAC quite a bit if that counts.
                                                                                      Got into a scrap by the pirates ship. Little Antos trying to skip my kid on the water slide . Knife was in the locker room luckily for me

I can see you in your 1985 speedos now. You're a fine figure of a man to be sure.

Any chance the schools open before Paddy's day?
                                                                                          why, are you thinking of enrolling?

I can see you in your 1985 speedos now. You're a fine figure of a man to be sure.
                                                                                            Whilst you are correct , I wear the ankle huggers . In some ways just as redic looking but it does cover my battle scars . I do have a rather unpleasant 4 inch scar on the left leg

I do have a rather unpleasant 4 inch scar on the left leg
                                                                                              Anto on the pirate ship the last time?

Should have aimed for my body mass

Hard to miss a target that size tbf

A-Levels and GCSEs cancelled again in England.
                                                                                                    Son number 1 doing GCSEs this year. has been studying all xmas holidays for the mocks coming up which i told him were probably going to be the only exams this year (and therefore a big consideration for end of year grades) so he'd better nail them. Bit gutted as he won't even got to do those!!! what a fucking shambles!

Regretting selling the 14 ether I built up over the first pandemic. Would be worth €12,000 now vs the €6,000 I think I got for selling them in September. Or maybe it was €5,000.

Shouldn't be second guessing good ideas. Although think we needed the money at the time.

Son number 1 doing GCSEs this year. has been studying all xmas holidays for the mocks coming up which i told him were probably going to be the only exams this year (and therefore a big consideration for end of year grades) so he'd better nail them. Bit gutted as he won't even got to do those!!! what a fucking shambles!
                                                                                                        That's what you get for educating your children outside the EU.

First screeners are out and they're good ones (I hope)

Nomadland
                                                                                                          Promising young woman
                                                                                                          The nest
                                                                                                          Nomadland

i don't think this would have worked with anyone other than Frances McDormand. She's nailed on for the oscar, and possibly the director as well. Halfway between a documentary and a fictional piece steeped in poetry, Frances glides along this beautifully shot work effortlessly. 8/10

The nest

interesting drama set in the 80s with Jude Law and Carrie Coon about an anglo american couple who move their family to London only to watch it fall apart piece by piece. Well shot and really enjoyable although felt some scenes were just a bit poorer for ad libbing. 7/10

promising young woman

First movie from the director of killing eve. A revenge movie with plenty of dark humor as you'd expect, and a fantastic performance by Carrie Mulligan. Really enjoyed this one. 7.5/10

I don't think the argument should be about where they shoot but why they shoot and mostly IMO we should be focussing on why there are not more effective non deadly ways to immobilise someone who is out of control. For instance could no one find a net to throw over him, a 5000 year old technology that we know works.

To be fair, you don't know that it wasn't a racist Garda for certain any more than the people trying to make it a race issue know their version to be true.

If there was ever a case for waiting for GSOC to report this is it. Hopefullly it will be thorough and completed in a timely manner.
                                                                                                            I can imagine the headlines.

promising young woman

First movie from the director of killing eve. A revenge movie with plenty of dark humor as you'd expect, and a fantastic performance by Carrie Mulligan. Really enjoyed this one. 7.5/10
                                                                                                              Seen the trailer for this about a year ago looked interesting. It’s on in the outdoor cinema tomorrow, would be tempted in giving it a spin.

I don't think the argument should be about where they shoot but why they shoot
                                                                                                                If there is immediate and real risk to the life or immediate and serious risk to the health of a member of AGS or the public. That's when they shoot. That's not a mystery. If he shoots for any other reason then he's in serious trouble.

and mostly IMO we should be focussing on why there are not more effective non deadly ways to immobilise someone who is out of control. For instance could no one find a net to throw over him, a 5000 year old technology that we know works.
                                                                                                                These lads aren't inspector gadget. How much equipment do you think they carry with them? We need to live in the real world here.

I don't know the Garda wasn't actually a Terminator sent from the future to eliminate the saviour of all mankind from the robot tyranny. But I am not asserting that. Nor was RDIII. He wasn't suggesting the Garda was or was not anything. He was pointing out that the leap from "black man gets shot" to "Garda who shot him was motivated to murder by racism" is a pretty big one and the people making that suggestion have absolutely no basis for it.

On this we totally agree.

Seen the trailer for this about a year ago looked interesting. It’s on in the outdoor cinema tomorrow, would be tempted in giving it a spin.
                                                                                                                    subject matter is a tough one, but she's really managed to mix it up in such a way so as not to be overwhelming or flippant, but needless to say it was a great watch.

I think it was Wombatman that suggested setting dogs on him and I had that exact thought.

Spose at least he would be alive though.

That's what you get for educating your children outside the EU.
                                                                                                                        Actually, on a semi-serious note, would you be OK to send kids to university in the UK or will there be barriers in place going forward that will make that prohibitive? i.e. would you be paying fees at the 'dirty non-British Johnny Foreigner' level?

On the face of it not the funniest thing I've read in ages but then I sure did chortle to the point of urination . Throwing a net over a black man .