Looking at today's numbers, I imagine all non-essential stuff gets shut down tomorrow.

Its about time tbf. This half arsing around is more tilting than anything.

Got a dozen books out of Chapters anyway today so should be good for a few weeks.

As long as the schools stay open, we can stay sane.

Good: deadpidgeon given covid all clear, given she was CC, we should all be OK.
          Bad: nipped on the line 3 times today
          Variance: found two old (years old) Xmas presents that I had no idea I had while clearing house for the move.

Exciting times ahead.

Yep. I've similarly topped up on books. Been road testing a new idea of reading physical non fiction and only reading novels on the kindle. The price of paper books is shocking.

We've probably a few months of shutdown ahead.

We could make things interesting - as many people as want in - by having a bet on how many days between Jan 1st and June 1st that sit down service will be available in food pubs.

Disagree. Head massage is irritating and a waste of time. I suspect the only reason it was a head massage was they were in a communal area so no risk of bustage.
                Tend to agree but the cheeks were odd and alluring.

I'm in the pro head massage corner. Bliss .

Where the hell is that champ fellow with the quiz answers

Yep. I've similarly topped up on books. Been road testing a new idea of reading physical non fiction and only reading novels on the kindle. The price of paper books is shocking.

I've determined to write a review on Goodreads of every book I read from here on. Might be an incentive to stop reading shite.

Just put down Reaganland for the last time, fairly overpowering read. It and its three preceding volumes will give a very solid insight into the question 'how did we get here?'

rs-189998-18692_lg.jpg

Your job Roaul is to go out and find the equivalent of that Russian hotel book you got us all fruitfully reading last year, not to be pissing about with American politics.

Something travel related perhaps. A Graham Greene era and some exotic setting. Chop chop!

Your job Roaul is to go out and find the equivalent of that Russian hotel book you got us all fruitfully reading last year, not to be pissing about with American politics.

Something travel related perhaps. A Graham Greene era and some exotic setting. Chop chop!
                        Why would you want anything more than Greene himself?

Going around the continents, how about a few suggestions:
                        1. South America: just read some Mario Varghas Llosa. Start with The Feast of The Goat. You can upgrade to Borges as you see fit.
                        2. Asia: I will never lose my love for Haruki Murakami. You start with Norweigan Wood. Snow by Orhan Pamuk is a worthy substitute.
                        3. Africa: JM Coetzee. Kick off with Disgrace. Andre Brink and A Dry White Season is another apartheid-era classic.
                        4. Australia: this is a great Aussie page turner; The Lost Man by Jane Harper.
                        5. Here's a really good historical thriller from the US: November Road by Lou Berney.
                        None of them will quite have the Scott Fitzgerald-esque lushness and elegance of A Gentleman in Moscow, but they are all very fine reads and will give you a taste of the wider world.

I've been resisting Where the Crawdads Sing for a while but it seems to garner equal levels of reaction so might give that a spin next.

Then finally, The Caliph's House is both hilarious and touching. Brilliant writing.

1. South America: just read some Mario Varghas Llosa. Start with The Feast of The Goat. You can upgrade to Borges as you see fit.
                          2. Asia: I will never lose my love for Haruki Murakami. You start with Norweigan Wood. Snow by Orhan Pamuk is a worthy substitute.
                          3. Africa: JM Coetzee. Kick off with Disgrace. Andre Brink and A Dry White Season is another apartheid-era classic.
                          5. Here's a really good historical thriller from the US: November Road by Lou Berney.
                          None of them will quite have the Scott Fitzgerald-esque lushness and elegance of A Gentleman in Moscow, but they are all very fine reads and will give you a taste of the wider world.

I've been resisting Where the Crawdads Sing for a while but it seems to garner equal levels of reaction so might give that a spin next.

Then finally, The Caliph's House is both hilarious and touching. Brilliant writing.
                          Oh that's amazing. Thank you good sir. I think I've exhausted all good Graham Greene at this stage.

Well now

Experts suggest officials saved time by copying and pasting text from old legislation.

Well now

Are people being bitter about GAA or just being realistic?
                                Like I'd compare it to world table tennis. China have a far bigger population than anybody else and as a result a far bigger pool of talent. They are up to nine consecutive world team championships now and its bi-annual events, they've won 15 of the last twenty.

I'm not criticising anybody but Dublin has a really professional set-up and as long as they have that they are going to dominate the sport. Inter county GAA will lose popularity as people get fed up of the same team winning year after year.

If Dublin could put a second team into the Championship do you think they might have two teams in the final? I know a lot of people who think Dublin has enough talent to do that.

It's going to be a problem when attendance numbers dwindle.

I gave away 2 bags of books in the past few days because I've bought a lot in the past few weeks as online buying had got out of hand.
                                  I'm saying I'm done but likely a lie.
                                  Follow a similar fiction/non-fiction method to you, I also love the daily 99c deal on Kindle no matter the genre.

On Covid, I think schools might close in the coming weeks. I know INTO are getting far more pressure regarding health of teachers. Not for long but the circuit breaker idea.

I told her family in mid December we'd have 1k cases by Xmas and somewhere close to 4k+ cases by mid January which is a guess I'll stick with.

People will get a pretty substantial shock in the coming days as others finally start going for tests which they avoided over the last week.

I gave away 2 bags of books in the past few days because I've bought a lot in the past few weeks as online buying had got out of hand.
                                    I'm saying I'm done but likely a lie.
                                    Follow a similar fiction/non-fiction method to you, I also love the daily 99c deal on Kindle no matter the genre.

On Covid, I think schools might close in the coming weeks. I know INTO are getting far more pressure regarding health of teachers. Not for long but the circuit breaker idea.

I told her family in mid December we'd have 1k cases by Xmas and somewhere close to 4k+ cases by mid January which is a guess I'll stick with.

People will get a pretty substantial shock in the coming days as others finally start going for tests which they avoided over the last week.
                                    Know 2 people who had to cancel Christmas due to being a. A close contact (found out 30 mins from end of a 4 hour drive home) and b. Close contact of a close contact
                                    both decided to cancel all plans of visiting home for Christmas and isolate- there will be a a significant minority who won’t have when faced with similar situations- and in addition will have socialised extensively gonna be grim

Legendary stuff, Rory Bremner prank calls may have inadvertently saved John Major from Eurosceptic revolt in 1993. Would have been huge implications there for the peace process as well no doubt.

Newly released historical files show the comedian impersonated the then-PM in phone calls with Tory MPs.

I might branch out and read some non Russian fiction next year

Da tovarisch.

It's good to read stuff from all over. I feel like there must be some great east European books (not Russian) to read but I've only ever read a handful like The Good Soldier Švejk or The Unbearable Lightness of Being. There's got to be some great Romanian or Bulgarian fiction out there.

I have been meaning to read some Joseph Roth for that Mitteleuropa vibe of Austro=Hungarian decay for some time. Now might be appropriate.

Do not bother with inferior capitalist literature, dovarish

Where the hell is that champ fellow with the quiz answers
                                                Answers out tomorrow. Will share as soon as I have them.

Was in Moss Brothers on the hopes of opportunistically picking up a nice suit. Are their suits considered dodgy, okay, good, great? Assuming of course that the right tailoring is done afterwards.

They seemed to have some suits made of a nice Italian fabric - Zeyna - but I don't really know if that's good or they just consider it good.

Freshen up your tailoring options with our range of double-breasted, two-piece & three-piece men's suits. Shop big brands & in-house favourites today.
                                                  Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 30-12-20, 15:44.

Legend, Pat M

where do we stand on coffee table books? Will have to furnish a new place and I'm supposed to grown and fancy these days, so a few recommendations would be appreciated

Was in Moss Brothers on the hopes of opportunistically picking up a nice suit. Are their suits considered dodgy, okay, good, great? Assuming of course that the right tailoring is done afterwards.

They seemed to have some suits made of a nice Italian fabric - Zeyna - but I don't really know if that's good or they just consider it good.

https://www.mossbros.ie/ermenegildo-...cket-966516891
                                                        Got a couple of suits over the last couple of years from them

nice quality and still wearing well

Bought a Norweigan hat to go with my sweater and it arrived today. Undoubtedly the warmest piece of headgear I've ever owned.

Looks like the whole final season of Vikings has been leaked?

edit.No, looks like Amazon just released all 10 together...last week would have been better Amazon !
                                                            Last edited by oleras; 30-12-20, 17:00.

where do we stand on coffee table books? Will have to furnish a new place and I'm supposed to grown and fancy these days, so a few recommendations would be appreciated
                                                              We say 'welcome to the 1970s'.

US hit a new high for deaths yesterday (3,628). Grim few months ahead yet I fear.

This seems quite popular: https://www.easons.com/old-ireland-i...-9781785373701

This accidentally became mine because I wasn't aware how big it was until it arrived but people love it: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mamba-Menta.../dp/0374201234

We have this, it has grown on me

School holidays extended until the 11th. Woo-hoo!

What kind of witchcraft is going on here ? ? FF to 1.06

1700 cases, we are flying along now.

Pffft. Amateurs. 50k here, now that's flying!

#GeorgeNkencho is a fucking cesspit.

Whilst obviously not a fan of police shootings,
                                                                                a car chase, pepper spray, taser and warning shots didn't stop him swingin a machete.
                                                                                I dunno what else they could have done.
                                                                                I intially thought riot shields would have been the way to go but the guards appear to have done
                                                                                every reasonable method of force escalating up to shooting.
                                                                                Or course, comparing it to every incident where the other party didn't end up dead makes for dicey reading

IPBers seem to have kept their shit together admirably during the whole Covid thing. Their basic understanding of risk, probability and statistics obviously coming in handy I dare say. Still an anathema to the auld mortgage application though.

that's how it got here . Close the airports

a car chase, pepper spray, taser and warning shots didn't stop him swingin a machete.
                                                                                      I intially thought riot shields would have been the way to go but the guards appear to have done
                                                                                      Or course, comparing it to every incident where the other party didn't end up dead makes for dicey reading
                                                                                      I hope it wasnt Lazare showing off his fancy new knife . People can get thick about that type o thing. Shooting was fair enough . Mad money to spend on a knife.

Just had a baked Mont d'Or that I fingered some garlic and thyme into beforehand. You frogs really are durrrrrrty lads altogether.

Delicious on a cold day though. Even the half-dead dog had some.

School holidays extended until the 11th. Woo-hoo!
                                                                                          The Nintendo Switch is very educational. Money well spent for next week.

Have to laugh at this being called a full level.5 lockdown when the construction industry full of the dirtiest cunts you'll ever meet remains open and schools full of kids mingling about together all day stay open.

More half arsing.

Have to laugh at this being called a full level.5 lockdown when the construction industry full of the dirtiest cunts you'll ever meet remains open and schools full of kids mingling about together all day stay open.

More half arsing.
                                                                                              Don't panic. We'll have level 6 and 7 worked out in a few weeks!

'Death to 2020' was a bit meh, but probably essential virtual water cooler viewing.

Just had a baked Mont d'Or that I fingered some garlic and thyme into beforehand. You frogs really are durrrrrrty lads altogether.

Delicious on a cold day though. Even the half-dead dog had some.
                                                                                                  No honey? A rather brave life choice.

Damn. And I even have some fancy honey (although not brianmc standard) on the go.

One for the next time!

This is going to be the big test now. Could be 2-3 months of a lockdown? I suppose the fact that we'll see the vaccination numbers rise quite rapidly by the end of Jan when Oxford vaccine comes on stream around then is the big positive. They're also thinking of just giving single shots of the vaccine to get everyone basically covered so that speeds things up a lot.

Yeah , I think the vaccines rolling out at least gives hope of an endgame. Can remember last March/April fearing it might be a 5 year complete sack of shit. Still going to be a nasty few months.

https://www.mossbros.ie/ermenegildo-...cket-966516891
                                                                                                            Yeah zegna are one of the best. Vertically integrated, they buy some of the best wool and see it through to the end. But their stuff is usually 10x that price.

Imo there is an element of seasonality with this and by March we'll be in an optimistic frame of mind . 10 -12 weeks.

My aunt died in the UK the poor old mudder is distraught she cant go over to Notts. It wasnt covid but was lung decline over the years . So it wont go down as a covid stat like all the conspiracy madmen claim.

Great docu on Ozzie on right now .

More half arsing.
                                                                                                                The centras in the ifsc with their mix of unmasked school kids and builders must be among the most dangerous places in the city.

I watched Parasite there for the first time and turned it off with 30 minutes to go. On the other hand last night I watched La La Land was the first time and was blown away.
                                                                                                                    I think Arrival is one of the few movies I didn't regret watching this year. Actually really struggling to find any movies or series worth watching.

Twitter needs to be shut down
                                                                                                                      that hashtag a perfect example of why- we usually get to watch it at a remove but not this time - the extremes from both sides having a field day- although it’s the Garda are fascists side making most hay on this one- they’ve been praying for this. plenty of international grifters piling on too

Can’t wait for the article from youknowwho in the times

Last edited by Guest; 30-12-20, 22:47.

I think Arrival is one of the few movies I didn't regret watching this year. Actually really struggling to find any movies or series worth watching.
                                                                                                                        I remember laughing at and feeling sorry for Michael Owen a few years ago for this quote -“It’s very boring, but I don’t watch films. I think I’ve seen about five in my life. I just can’t get into them”

but that’s me now- just find myself sitting down thinking this is pointless I need to get outside any time I attempt to watch one- also plenty ruled out now once I’ve realised what bell ends most actors are

related note- RTÉ news and the people of dalkey disgraced themselves with a report today on Matt Damon’s visit being a highlight of 2020- doubt there’s been a bigger display of kneeling cap doffing cringing peasantry since medieval times

Yeah zegna are one of the best. Vertically integrated, they buy some of the best wool and see it through to the end. But their stuff is usually 10x that price.
                                                                                                                          I think I'm going to take a risk on it. Works out at about €270 if bought from UK version of Moss Bros and will then get hefty tailoring done. I presume Zegna wouldn't allow crap out there.