This guy is the confused smiley apparently
    I don't quite get it.
    Looks a bit more judgemental or sarcastic to me

A pop up just there in Gmail.

'would you like to unsubscribe from MyFitnesspal as you haven't opened an email from them in x months'

That's a nice feature.

Looks a bit more judgemental or sarcastic to me
        possibly paranoid too

Ticketmaster seem slightly slow on the uptake:
          We have just been advised that Leinster Rugby v Saracens - Heineken Champions Cup which was due to take place at the Aviva Stadium on the 4th of April 2020 has been cancelled due to COVID-19.

#bringbackdialup
            “Racism not welcome in Dundalk, thanks to everyone who took a stand. xoxo https://t.co/O1oMY1JEKs”

WFH today as this guy ​​​​​​

If you could see the rest of his body he has shorts and flip flops on, that's it.

Couple min cashes in last nights Day 2s to draw even but then $90k in buyins last night dust.
                Cheers for the updates,
                Im missing the WSOP mostly for DNegs vlogs which were excellent.
                Last edited by rounders123; 27-05-20, 16:18.

WFH today as this guy ​​​​​​

If you could see the rest of his body he has shorts and flip flops on, that's it.
                  It's been like that in London for the last 2 months. absolutely crazy good weather since lockdown started. BBQ most days for lunch (gas bbq really comes into its own when time is of the essence)

Do all of ye know when you are going back to work yet?
                    Starting to get back to normal now over the last few weeks. Still nowhere near full capacity and don't know if we will ever go back to that again

Bojo getting a fairly severe pasting live on Sky News here. Struggling badly.

What does be going on in the heads of building conservationists?
                        It’s an excellent exemplar of the style and period tbh.
                        They aren’t pretty, but they aren’t dressed up either. The glazing corner is designed better than many much later buildings.

Doesnt that mean you are in exactly the same circumstances as you were before this all happened? i.e. voluntary career break\no pay

where did the confused smiley go as I feel I am missing something....
                            We are apart fete fact that I have to listen to the chaos caused by the two small children and can't ignore it. If it's was at works that wouldn't be an issue. The baby is particularly fussy which is very trying and the missus reaches close to breaking point between him and the older lad (2 months shy of 3) so I have to spend far more time downstairs than I should. If I wasn't here though I fear there may have been murder.

Sounds standard enough tbf

This is the cute phase too, all downhill from here. Remember that if she starts talking of having a third.

I think people are potentially being very quick to make conclusions on this large scale working remotely thing. For sure, you can draw some early conclusions about how you feel about it and some pros / cons about how current work slates are progressing.

But there’s a huge amount of stuff ahead that will become challenging over time:

- new business opportunities, increase of existing service scope
                                - the full yearly cycle of performance management (goals, reviews, difficult catch ups, etc)
                                - onboarding new resources, forming new teams

Seems to me that some of this is going to be very very difficult and I’m also expecting this ‘new normal’ to continue for quite some time yet.

I reckon we will be back to normal quicker than we think . Was in work today . Fair bit of traffic . A ghost of a trace of effective treatment then we are full steam ahead ..choo choo .

Optimism is good, fair play. But seems to me a second wave of infection and lockdown at least is inevitable, probably in the autumn.

Was in work today .
                                        Solid brag

You see that in Cambridge deciding there will be no classes next year because of the decent likelihood of a new wave. After 800 years they have worked out when the plague hits you batten down the hatches and pop a 'Gone to Lunch' sign on the door because there's no harm in missing one year every millenium or so. The conveyor belt of modern society on the other hand doesn't seem to be able to handle shutting down for a month.
                                          There are unrealistic conversations everywhere in my view, from politicians to industries to sports to bars. Until a vaccine further waves of infection are inevitable - particularly when we aren’t getting transmission to 0 everywhere and further phases of reopening in the world involve a resumption of high volume travel. People don’t like to hear that of course, but it seems as obvious and expected to me as the sun rising tomorrow.

Our societal inability to take a pause just seems to me to be the purest manifestation of the failure of our current economic model. But my thoughts in that regard aren’t clear really, certainly in comparison to the above. I agree though.

Our societal inability to take a pause just seems to me to be the purest manifestation of the failure of our current economic model..
                                            to paraphrase some other dude

capitalism is the worst form of economic model, except for those others that have been tried from time to time

Sounds standard enough tbf

This is the cute phase too, all downhill from here. Remember that if she starts talking of having a third.
                                              She's talking sterilisation far more than anything related to a third. Unless something very 'oops' happens,there won't be a 3rd.

Wouldn't stand too close if she's got something sharp in her hand.

You see that in Cambridge deciding there will be no classes next year because of the decent likelihood of a new wave. After 800 years they have worked out when the plague hits you batten down the hatches and pop a 'Gone to Lunch' sign on the door because there's no harm in missing one year every millenium or so. The conveyor belt of modern society on the other hand doesn't seem to be able to handle shutting down for a month.
                                                  I'm reading the new Hilary Mantel novel about Thomas Cromwell and its uncannily resonant how commonplace various outbreaks of plague and other contagion there was at that time and how they were dealt with by locking down and self isolation.

Our societal inability to take a pause just seems to me to be the purest manifestation of the failure of our current economic model. But my thoughts in that regard aren’t clear really, certainly in comparison to the above. I agree though.
                                                    Has there ever been a time in the history of any organism where it could just stop doing what it does and survive?

Anyone know where’s best to trade US stock options? Have a Degiro acc but they only offer options trading for US indexes, not individual stocks.

@ Denny maybe?
                                                      Last edited by thechamp87; 27-05-20, 22:15.

I'm struggling to read posts in a natural way, whatever that is ! They don't seem to flow.

Can you make the text bigger by default Dom ? Eyesight is getting bad but it may help ?

Edit, you may want this in the other thread.

The volatility in these cryptos is mad. I'm not sure they're ready to be a currency quite yet.
                                                          They already are currencies. What does volatility have to do with anything?

Has there ever been a time in the history of any organism where it could just stop doing what it does and survive?
                                                            squirrels

to paraphrase some other dude

capitalism is the worst form of economic model, except for those others that have been tried from time to time
                                                              Do you think in a hundred years we will live under a capitalist system?

Jesus what a cunt. Watching on Netflix vg but.. I've no words

https://www.cnn.com/2020/05/27/enter...iew/index.html

The best example has to be water bears.
                                                                      When required, they can stop everything, even metabolic processes. Energy drops to essentially zero. They dehydrate of nearly all water. And can survive without food or water for years. After which they rehydrate and reanimate. One sample, survived like this for frozen in the Antarctic for 30 years.

There's a list of extreme temps, pressures, radiation they have survived. They really highlight how fragile Humans are .

I think what you're confusing here, in your fondness for paraphrasing quotes from psychopaths, is that there's a difference between good capitalism and shite capitalism. Needing to kill our elderly because the economy will collapse if people can't go to restaurants is clearly on the shite side of capitalism. We can do better.

We, even those weirdos in the US, live in quite socialist societies in any case. And thank fuck for the bit of humanity that introduces into life.
                                                                        Today I learned Churchill was a pyschopath.

The man's interactions with Ireland didn't generally reflect well on him.
                                                                          Whenever a list appears depicting historical figures most hated by the Irish, Sir Winston Churchill - alongside people like Oliver Cromwell and Margaret Thatcher - usually features in the top 10. Churchill's relationship with Ireland - a nation he once described to the British Parliament as "a small poor, sparsely populated island, lapped about by British sea power" - was diabolical. In 1912, giving a speech at Celtic Park in Belfast, advocating Home Rule - of which he was an ardent supporter - Churchill, at a time when sectarian hatred was rife, reiterated his father's divisive phrase, that "Ulster will fight and Ulster will be right".

Rigger

I was going to reply last night to Zuut with hibernation, or an example like Mellor suggested, but that's what those organisms 'do'. That's their naturally evolved method of survival.

I think Zuuts question was whether there was an example of an organism that survived extreme shock and being forced into something that they haven't evolved to do.

Maitlis getting hassle over her anti Government bias https://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-52830437

Do you think in a hundred years we will live under a capitalist system?
                                                                                  Yes.

Imagine asking Lenin that a hundred years ago though.

Whoo-hoo, we have a winner. Game over.

Originally posted by Western_Sean View Post

His most trusted advisors were Irish, interestingly enough.

Brendan Bracken and Alan Brooke.

First one has an interesting bio, worth a few minutes of your time. Good GAA heritage too.

Apparently Cromwell's most trusted adviser was an ancestor of Kayroo. My research on this matter was only completed last year.

Anyone move their pensions away from ETFs and into cash or other commodities before things really kicked off?

Had and interesting chat recently with a colleague who's a couple of years off retirement. She got burned in the last GFC with most of her fund mixed across various ETFs per the standard portfolio from the company's pension advisers. However this January she dumped the balance of ETFs into cash before Covid took off globally. She reckons its a not so insignificant difference in the order of 5 figures saved. Granted at this stage of her pension much of it was already moved out of ETFs automatically. I still thought it was interesting how much she saved. The ironic thing was the pension advisers telling her that she pays more attention to her pension that their team of "experts".

There are unrealistic conversations everywhere in my view, from politicians to industries to sports to bars. Until a vaccine further waves of infection are inevitable - particularly when we aren’t getting transmission to 0 everywhere and further phases of reopening in the world involve a resumption of high volume travel. People don’t like to hear that of course, but it seems as obvious and expected to me as the sun rising tomorrow.

The idea that other economic models wouldn't also be fucked up in different but no less impactful ways is very silly. The absolute worst takes I've seen from all this have involved people claiming X problems wouldn't have happened under <insert my prior government preference of choice>. Of course there are distinct challenges based on capitalist levels of consumption (which are driven by the incredible levels of wealth). But espousing the idea that e.g. a socialist government would build extreme resilience into their systems during a time of unprecedented peace and prosperity shows a tremendous naivety. Besides which, nothing has truly fallen apart yet. The only thing close to it is the meat production system in the US which it turns out was massively overcentralised.

Individual humans have been taking large portions of time out to pause, think and reflect for centuries.

Originally posted by Western_Sean View Post

Actions making him look bad, or even actions being ruthless, isn’t the same as being a psychopath.

The idea that other economic models wouldn't also be fucked up in different but no less impactful ways is very silly. The absolute worst takes I've seen from all this have involved people claiming X problems wouldn't have happened under <insert my prior government preference of choice>. Of course there are distinct challenges based on capitalist levels of consumption (which are driven by the incredible levels of wealth). But espousing the idea that e.g. a socialist government would build extreme resilience into their systems during a time of unprecedented peace and prosperity shows a tremendous naivety. Besides which, nothing has truly fallen apart yet. The only thing close to it is the meat production system in the US which it turns out was massively overcentralised.
                                                                                                    You're arguing against something I haven't said. I didn't propose an alternative system, I'm merely noting something is wrong when our inability to live without non essential consumption activity is so minute. Or argued as minute rather, our lockdown has been relatively relaxed to what Chinese people in Wuhan endured.

It seems obvious to me that mental health is being weaponised from a political / economic perspective in this conversation (what's new eh?). I don't personally buy the notion that we'll have a massive mental health crisis if people need to spend 6 - 24 months at home without menial jobs; foreign travel; close quarter socialising and the freedom to do whatever they like. I feel like humans are far more adaptable than that argument credits.

It also seems that from an economic perspective we could sustain this much longer than we're seriously discussing. The EU are getting around to talking about a unified approach here, and that should significantly help. Borrowing rates for governments are good, the global economy as a whole is affected. This isn't 2008 and it shouldn't be discussed as such.

But all this supposed societal and economic progress is yielding what exactly, and to whom? I don't have answers but it seems a question that's worth spending some time on more now than ever.

Nothing has fallen apart yet, you're right there. But far too much conversation is assuming that a second wave of infection and associated lockdown is not on the way. It also assumes somewhere deep down that we'll be back travelling about the place and clinking glasses by the back end of the year. We're really not having serious conversations around this, governments are certainly not preparing people for the very real possibility that we may be only briefly out of lockdown before we need to start reimposing restrictions.

We don't have a government and the mooted program for government is going to necessarily look very different to the conversation around the February election. Lots of horse trading around the EU rescue package has yet to come. We have difficult conversations to come around treatments and vaccines and who gets them first and whether you can dissent from participation and how that should be managed, etc. There are difficult conversations ahead around bailing out airlines and hotel chains and there's a lot of stuff to come around commercial property blowing up and rental yields falling through the floor and a whole host of things. It might not fall apart, but we'd be well served getting out ahead of a lot of these difficult conversations sooner rather than later.

I was going to reply last night to Zuut with hibernation, or an example like Mellor suggested, but that's what those organisms 'do'. That's their naturally evolved method of survival.
                                                                                                      Any of the animals captured in the wild, and displayed in zoos?
                                                                                                      Or in small tanks or cages in peoples homes.

Actions making him look bad, or even actions being ruthless, isn’t the same as being a psychopath.
                                                                                                        I think a great portion of political leaders, particularly those who made a full career of it, are likely to be sociopathic to varying extents. There's no clinical difference between psychopathy and sociopathy - we just use the latter for more minor transgressions.

There is also the fact that we live in a different age. Comparing what worked in the past versus what works now is stupid. We have evolved in many ways so saying that the system can't change or evolve doesn't make sense. What got us to this point may have been the best of what was available but that doesn't mean it remains the best way forward.

I think Nick Hanauer speaks a lot of sense in this area. One of his striking messages that he tried to get across is that it is not competition but cooperation that drives us forward which is rather poignant in this current crisis.

Visit http://TED.com to get our entire library of TED Talks, subtitles, translations, personalized Talk recommendations and more.Rising inequality and growin...

There is also the fact that we live in a different age. Comparing what worked in the past versus what works now is stupid. We have evolved in many ways so saying that the system can't change or evolve doesn't make sense. What got us to this point may have been the best of what was available but that doesn't mean it remains the best way forward.
                                                                                                                  I'd dispute the evolution point. We are in a period of regression . It beggars belief where we are right now .

what a name though.

Sir Humphry Tyrrell Wakefield

You just don't get names of that calibre anymore. Or indeed cannons of that calibre.

I'd dispute the evolution point. We are in a period of regression . It beggars belief where we are right now .
                                                                                                                          It's a sign of getting old when you start moaning about the Good Old Days.