the 2nd one is also on the small side. 82 square metres isn't much tbh. it'll feel a lot smaller as the kids grow up. and you're a bit close to the M50. you may have permanent white noise in the background
    The estate itself does feel very nice and no notable sound. A lot of recently renovated houses, modern cars, all the houses well cared for. The current owners got turned down in a marginal decision on building an extra house on the land to the side, but it has loads of space to expand in a way that would be sympathetic to reasons why the full house got turned down. But 575,000 does seem definitely on the high end for what is ultimately a standard 400k cookie-cutter house.

House A clearly looks to be the better house but the way the bed is wedged in on the 7th photo has me on life tilt.

Who the fuck gets in and out of the bed by crawling up and down it from the bottom. You get in and out of bed from the side. I mean in that bed, you'd have to crawl into it from the end, then pull the duvet back while you're hunkered down on it possibly through the use of some gymnastic moves and then you'd be trying to tuck it back down along side the wall.

And don't get me started on how many times you'd bang arms, legs and probably even your head off the wall.

A, other one is basically beside the M50

A will go for well over 100k above that number though - and needs a lot of work long term

A, other one is basically beside the M50

A will go for well over 100k above that number though - and needs a lot of work long term
            Yeah. I think you're right. The long-term plan would be to use the sidespace to extend massively to 260sqm. The neighbours with an identical plot of land got permission in 2008 to build a standalone house on their land. Suppose it depends will anyone else come in and blow us out of the water.

House A clearly looks to be the better house but the way the bed is wedged in on the 7th photo has me on life tilt.

Who the fuck gets in and out of the bed by crawling up and down it from the bottom. You get in and out of bed from the side. I mean in that bed, you'd have to crawl into it from the end, then pull the duvet back while you're hunkered down on it possibly through the use of some gymnastic moves and then you'd be trying to tuck it back down along side the wall.

And don't get me started on how many times you'd bang arms, legs and probably even your head off the wall.
              Makes it harder for the Mrs to escape when, well you know.

Yeah. I think you're right. The long-term plan would be to use the sidespace to extend massively to 260sqm. The neighbours with an identical plot of land got permission in 2008 to build a standalone house on their land. Suppose it depends will anyone else come in and blow us out of the water.
                why do you want a 260 sq\m house?

I don't know? Isn't that what everyone outside of Dublin has?

Just struck me as being pretty much twice the size of the average Dublin house and was wondering why the hell you would need so much space!

The fact that culchies like to build 75% empty McMansions is irrelevant.

Just struck me as being pretty much twice the size of the average Dublin house and was wondering why the hell you would need so much space!

The fact that culchies like to build 75% empty McMansions is irrelevant.
                      I genuinely have no idea - I just thought thats what we were meant to do as semi-automated Irish human beings - to take property and expand it as large as physically possible, and then by definition the best Irish human is the one whose construction can be seen from a distant planet. Aren't those the rules?

Mellor it sounds to me like you simply don't want to change company but you don't want this decision to be costing you a lot of money in income forgone.

I think that's a great way to approach your existing employer...
                        yeah, that’s pretty much it. I don’t want to leave but I’m not willing to obstruct my earnings too much.

I think I’ll just be upfront. Make it easy for them to make it easy for me.

I don't know, like my parents built 4 houses, including two while I was home, and one very recently, and the wife's father has built quite a few also, albeit in a different country, so we have a lot of family experience to draw on, and I guess a lack of fear of substantial development.
                        Building a house it not really that difficult. You pay somebody to manage it, you manage it yourself, or if feeling up to it. You even labour a bit.
                        It’s a big project, but it’s sequential, starting from a black canvas.

Buying a fixer-upper is considerably more difficult. Some of the work needed might be out of sequence, meaning you’ve to demo walls, or rip out parts that were
                        finished. Make the place into a building site, while living there.
                        Unless you go in and gut the place from the get go, it’s likely to turn into a drawn out job that stagnates.

I genuinely have no idea - I just thought thats what we were meant to do as semi-automated Irish human beings - to take property and expand it as large as physically possible, and then by definition the best Irish human is the one whose construction can be seen from a distant planet. Aren't those the rules?
                          Well if that's what the algorithim says, then I guess you better do it!

All over to the east wing of HHs new house for poker , veggie picks and a few bottles of Barbican . Keep out of the room marked DO NOT ENTER . I'm guessing the specious VR porno gang bang room will need a bit of cleaning up.

Buying a fixer-upper is considerably more difficult. Some of the work needed might be out of sequence, meaning you’ve to demo walls, or rip out parts that were
                              finished. Make the place into a building site, while living there.
                              Unless you go in and gut the place from the get go, it’s likely to turn into a drawn out job that stagnates.
                              From experience, you don't go incremental - you plan it right, spec it right and then move the hell out while the professionals do their job!

I can't think of anything worse than some kind of never-ending fixer upper. I'd rather do nothing and live in the old kip than be in a constant state of flux.

From experience, you don't go incremental - you plan it right, spec it right and then move the hell out while the professionals do their job!

I can't think of anything worse than some kind of never-ending fixer upper. I'd rather do nothing and live in the old kip than be in a constant state of flux.
                                How long would you be moving out for? 6 months type of thing?

And if those options, House A.
                                  B is very small for a 3 bed. Has a big garden, but can’t do much with it.

House A needs a bit of work though. New kitchen, new bathroom, maybe new heating, additional insulation. And that’s before you build a culchie McMansion on the side.

How long would you be moving out for? 6 months type of thing?
                                    We moved out for 7 weeks last time - and that was a complete gut, rebuild and double-height extend job.

It was extremely well planned and project managed though.

'A' by a country mile. As you've said yourself, the neighbourhood is lovely and would generally always pick to be east of the M50 if I could afford it.

Full on productivity slump this afternoon.

The last three weeks have been absolutely bat shit crazy work wise, as in 70+ hour weeks bat shit crazy.

This afternoon is the first time in three weeks that there isn't about 50 people screaming at me for something to be done 3 days ago. It's not quiet, there is still shit loads to do but for some reason, the franticness is not there this afternoon.

As such, my brain/body seems to be saying, 'We'll chill this afternoon, it is Friday after all' when at the back of my head I know that this is a mere tiny bit of respite and next week is going to be back to being mental again so I can't afford to faff about the place but yet here I am, fluting around on IPB...

That’s what I was getting at with the guy it immediately. Just do it in one hit.
                                          I suppose you could move in, plan, then move out and do the same. A lot of people end up with the half finished for life place.

Obviously that’s for substantial work. Little bits are manageable of course.

Double jabbed, party time!

As others have noted, it's very weird to be in a room full of people more or less exactly your own age.

A few startlingly old looking ones, one suspiciously youthful looking one and everyone else is all in that 'definitely not young but certainly not old' bracket.
                                            We had a primary school reunion in the car park at Punchestown today, ended up with a half dozen lads from the same 3rd class of 50 years ago!

That’s what I was getting at with the guy it immediately. Just do it in one hit.
                                              I suppose you could move in, plan, then move out and do the same. A lot of people end up with the half finished for life place.

Obviously that’s for substantial work. Little bits are manageable of course.
                                              100%

The biggest problem with the 'do it all in one hit' approach is probably financing. There's no way your average buyer could finance that scale of work upfront.

A is obviously better, but unless you plan for the parents to use the ground floor bedroom, not sure how comfortable you would feel about the kids being downstairs from a security point of view at nights.

Live fairly close to B, there's zero noise from the M50 in that estate I'd bet. Also approximately 100 seconds walk from the Luas, so into Stephen's Green in just over 20 minutes. Tiny tiny house though, I'm assuming it will go for over 600k in the end. Maybe not, the €/square foot is already sky high.

A is a better bet, though for my money it's in a bit of a public transportation hole (not near the Luas, not near the Dart, near enough some busy bus routes at least). I think there are better options out there, keep looking Hitch!

watched "the serpent" yesterday on netflix. would recommend. Loved the 70s vibes and the music was excellent, although the French and quebeccois accents of the 2 main protagonists were all wrong.
                                                    Watched the first episode and just found it deeply unpleasant.

Yeah. Had to switch it off and look up the actual story. Wasn't a nice feel to it at all (maybe a credit to the filmmaker)

We moved out for 7 weeks last time - and that was a complete gut, rebuild and double-height extend job.

It was extremely well planned and project managed though.

ah lovely. So we could probably do it in 5 weeks then.

Cavindish! Massive

We had a primary school reunion in the car park at Punchestown today, ended up with a half dozen lads from the same 3rd class of 50 years ago!
                                                            Jesus class sizes really were smaller back then.

the rest all left after senior infants

One more round is showing in the IFI at the moment, I highly recommend it. Mars Mikkelsen's gives a great performance with a plot that will resonate with most people here: "Four high school teachers consume alcohol on a daily basis to see how it affects their social and professional lives."
                                                                Really enjoyed that today. Discovered I had booked my ticket in the Lighthouse when I went to pick it up in the IFI. Thankfully I was early enough to make it over.

A or B guys - gut instinct?

Currently 625k for here or 575k for here.

Edit: link fixed
                                                                  The Blackrock one. Zero comparison. You could get planning permission for a second house in the garden and sell the plot? Then use that to finance your own renovation? Or if you could stretch for it, build your own second house in the garden and sell the original.

More good videos on the IT.
                                                                    Cahill :"Would your mother be proud of you?" Garda : "My mother would be absolutely ecstatic".
                                                                    "Do you know if you restrict someone it's actually rape under the law?"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/poli...ntre-1.4615772
                                                                    That garda is fast becoming my hero of the week.
                                                                    Saw another video where the exchange was
                                                                    Cahill "I'm an election candidate let me in, what are you afraid of?" and he replies "I don't like spiders".

One of the biggest cons in this world is HR or recruiters trying to convince you that option awards have any real value.

That garda is fast becoming my hero of the week.
                                                                        Saw another video where the exchange was
                                                                        Cahill "I'm an election candidate let me in, what are you afraid of?" and he replies "I don't like spiders".
                                                                        It's time we took the vote back off the wimmins.

Actually its a bigger con that the proletariat don't understand the worthlessness of those options but yet assign them such high mental value.

"omg, they are giving me 100,000 options".

I sometimes think that even the people selling the value of these options are misguided.

Funny oul world.

One of the biggest cons in this world is HR or recruiters trying to convince you that option awards have any real value.
                                                                            absolutely. The wife had a notional two percent in options of her company that is being acquired. Essentially worthless, because of director flexibility on option valuation. Its worked out grand in other ways, as its an acqui-hire, so they've incentivised her contract decently, but the options look like being chucked in the bin to all intents and purposes.

So you're moving to Houston, did you say? Thats going to be a ridiculous change in life!! Are you in a relationship or anything like that, that you have someone else that needs to be brought with you?

absolutely. The wife had a notional two percent in options of her company that is being acquired. Essentially worthless, because of director flexibility on option valuation. Its worked out grand in other ways, as its an acqui-hire, so they've incentivised her contract decently, but the options look like being chucked in the bin to all intents and purposes.
                                                                                Exactly.
                                                                                Then there is the usual 4year vest/1 year cliff.
                                                                                Then the 60 days to exercise post triggering event.
                                                                                Then the fact most companies don't let you exercise while in the seat.
                                                                                Then like you say, the board discretion around valuation and acceleration.

All in all, a lot of individual events have to go your way to realize any value.

Yet, they are bandied about like they have some real tangible value in job negotiations. I actually suspect that the actual ramifications of options isn't really understood by even the HR people selling them. So sometimes they take it as an affront when you question the value. It's a personal attack because they think they have value in their own contract.

So you're moving to Houston, did you say? Thats going to be a ridiculous change in life!! Are you in a relationship or anything like that, that you have someone else that needs to be brought with you?
                                                                                No, not moving. But we have the option of being relocated. I think we will half n half it. There is no better place to be in the world for 4 or 5 months of the year than here, sunshine and dry 26degrees. Winter is awful though. So I think I'll try negotiate a "trial period" for Houston/Austin next winter, perhaps in lieu of any relocation fees. Lots to discuss.

Missus would be more than happy to peace out of Calgary for Winter, and we are lucky enough to not need her to work so much.

Watching Spy Dolphin

Dolphins using a puffer fish to get stoned is a new one for me!

Hitch though, tbf, Houston and Calgary aren't that different. At all. Culture wise anyway.

The boards maintenance delay is a shame. Wouldn't mind seeing the weather forum collectively pull each other off about that heat next week.

I always buy in

Didn't know you were a primary school teacher

Originally posted by The Istanbul View Post

Didn't know you were a primary school teacher
                                                                                          As posts seem to be up a decent chunk again lately I'm going to challenge you to contribute to a conversation once for a change rather than just smart remarks as we both know, well I certainly do from poker interations, you are far more intelligent than your regular imput here

No back seat modding. 1st citizens Infraction

Looking forward to fitting something like this 260sqm into Deansgrange.

It is quite unsettling and uncomfortable viewing especially at the beginning , but then the other side of the story seems to even things out and you're rooting even more for the good guys. Not always an easy watch, but i just love the vibe in which it takes place.

Different strokes I suppose: this was intended to be humorous rather than 'smartass' which is how you appear to have interpreted it.
                                                                                                  Now what would you like to converse on?

Looking forward to fitting something like this 260sqm into Deansgrange.
                                                                                                    You deserve nothing less

Definitely a bitta reaction with the Pfizer second shot - sore arm plus medium sized hangover.

sweet. have been missing out on hangovers for nearly two years and have the shot tomorrow, so hopefully can wake up sunday morning with a good old fashioned head banger.

Does anyone with kids in summer camp know whats likely to happen now that indoor summer camps have been cancelled?

That class had 65 in it and the teacher was a full on paedophile who had no interest at all in teaching kids anything when he wasn't off in the cloakroom kiddie fiddling he'd be in the class feet up on his desk smoking and reading the paper. When he eventually got called out after more complaints than could be reasonably ignored his punishment was, and this incredible as it sounds is absolutely true, to be transferred to a girls only school. Presumably that was on the basis that he only really liked little boys

There were a half a dozen kids in that class who were between 12 and 14 and who had been kept back year after year Ithink the plan was to keep them in primary in the hope they would learn something before they were legally allowed to leave school.

We got the bad side of that draw, the other third class had a teacher who was brilliant and amongst other things taught every one in his class to play chess to a level way above what you'd have expected most of them to get to. Thinking about the outcomes I'd say there wasn't too much damage from that year to anyone's education and the only long term harm was the trauma and deep psychological damage done to Pat the Perverts 'favourite' pupils.

Reg'd for my lethal injection. Pokerhand, send a ham to the missus when I pop it.

Ironically, if I get vaxxed at the Helix it will be the first time I set foot on a campus I paid 3 grand to attend value etc

Originally posted by The Istanbul View Post

Different strokes I suppose: this was intended to be humorous rather than 'smartass' which is how you appear to have interpreted it.
                                                                                                                Now what would you like to converse on?
                                                                                                                Why u keep jamming my BB on PP

Does anyone with kids in summer camp know whats likely to happen now that indoor summer camps have been cancelled?
                                                                                                                  Wut?

Why u keep jamming my BB on PP
                                                                                                                    Down to number of BB's I have (or had) and that Armadillo calls so so wide

Wut?
                                                                                                                      They've just been cancelled today apparently, but through an odd route of claiming that they were never meant to open in the first place.

A guy here who runs summer camps confirming that his understanding is they need to shut.

Definitely felt a bit weak and light headed this afternoon after my first. Arm was sore too but all very mild.

If they close those Starcamps i WILL do a naked protest

Just finished first GAA Camp - heaven for 4 hours a day at an affordable rate