With all the talk of impact from COVID and lack of normal communication you forget there are people out there genuinely struggling with work. I've a mate who is a pilot for Aer Lingus but, obviously because of this lockdown, he's off work. I'm thinking of doing some work in the house so l asked him if he fancied doing a bit of decorating for me while he's at a loose end and he jumped at the chance.

He mad a bit of a balls of the sitting room but, l must say, he made a lovely job of the landing.

Do you think letting the dough prove overnight is a good or bad thing? made my first bread at the weekend from a Nevin Maguire recipie, and it was nice but a little too doughy for me. Would have preferred it to be lighter.
      Haven't a clue tbh, I know feck all about baking. I just followed the instructions and it was lovely.

FWIW I like your arguing the other side, it removes the group think that's prevalent. I don't agree with it always but I still think it's worth hearing.
        Yeah, this. I really enjoyed reading the debate last night. Such a great thread this.

Where's the trolling?

Things that the WHO has said:

"no evidence of human to human transmission"
          "no evidence that wearing a mask has any medical benefit"
          "no evidence of airborne transmission "
          "no evidence that travel restrictions would be of benefit"

I didn't say they were out swimming with manatees.

Hitch is calling it case closed because they said "no evidence" so far? Maybe one of the disappeared doctors has it.
          This is like something a genuine drooler would write. I had always been on the fence about whether Denny was trolling or levelling himself but this seals it for the troll conjecture.

Another clear 10-8 round for Denny last night. It's becoming too easy at this stage.

Higgins butchers in Sutton are doing deliveries.

They supply a lot a restaurants and their steaks are savage.

A bit pricy but well worth the extra loot.

Buy your meat online from a traditional butcher and supplier of Japanese Wagyu beef, dry-aged beef, and more. Nationwide delivery available.

So I finally won something. I got agent of the month for February. The only person across retail!! The rest were the call centre.

Well done Sat Nav, I wonder will the sky website ever be nominated for an award?

Do you think letting the dough prove overnight is a good or bad thing? made my first bread at the weekend from a Nevin Maguire recipie, and it was nice but a little too doughy for me. Would have preferred it to be lighter.
                  Overnight is fine for sourdough, other bread I'd make the same day.

FWIW I like your arguing the other side, it removes the group think that's prevalent. I don't agree with it always but I still think it's worth hearing.
                  Commodifying animals is the reason for most pandemics, as well as being a major factor in global warming - the two biggest threats to humanity, and you all caused this. Let's go boys.

Originally posted by Wesley Harms View Post
                    Still the same
                    Can you (and anyone else having problems) try using https instead of http and let me know if that works?

Well done Sat Nav, I wonder will the sky website ever be nominated for an award?
                      Is there a problem I can help with?

Commodifying animals is the reason for most pandemics, as well as being a major factor in global warming - the two biggest threats to humanity, and you all caused this. Let's go boys.
                        Crop failure is the most common source of famine too

Interesting, I thought it was communism.

What's a genuine communist country? There has never been one, nor can there currently be one.

A random thought. Are there any genuinely communist countries left in the world? Must be maybe one or two hanging around Africa somewhere.
                                  Cuba?

What's a genuine communist country? There has never been one, nor can there currently be one.
                                    nor a genuine Scotsman

Laos possibly one of the more recent examples of successful communism state.

I know they changed things in the early 90s but wouldnt know enough about it.

One of highest GDPs in Asia so doing something right.

The 4th episode of the new Westworld was savage

Do golf courses not have a big part of their income as yearly paid fees and so a decent part of their fixed costs covered? Would have thought that it was just a case of laying off everyone except the lawnmower dude and coasting through. Although maybe there are big debt servicing costs also.
                                              Depends on the course some of the top courses rely more on fleecing the yanks than others
                                              Also closure came at a bad time re yearly fees, would still have been in the chasing down lads for the money phase of year
                                              I’d say the average course in Ireland need to run a very tight ship to keep in the green
                                              A mate of mine.... think he is a lurker from time to time here and big into his golf says most golf courses are the worst run businesses in the country! A lot of them are run by committee which hire a manager and then he hires a team and as long as the manage is able to spoof the committee nothing really changes, He did say there were companies out there now actively doing this role for the golf course, you bring them in they run the place, increase revenue and they take a large % of it but you get a better golf course in the end!

From the very least, if it originated in a lab it should mean changes and better protocols going forward.
                                                Bats were never in the wet market in Wuhan. They were in the lab in Wuhan. Viruses have escaped multiple times from such labs.

I believe there is zero evidence it originated in a lab but I also believe there is a small probability that it might have originated that way.

Is there a problem I can help with?
                                                  Nah thanks.
                                                  I was just checking when my contract was up for my broadband. I'm getting the 1ghz fibre for €35ish a month and I remember that only lasted for a year I think. Just wanted to 'cancel' before the year is out, but I noticed my future bills still have it at that price. So itight be okay.

The website Is just a load of balls. Very difficult to Navigate, lots of 'page does not exist' links etc.

I'll still ring them because I spend a lot with them and would like a better deal.

Diamond VIP me hole

Completely random, but I came close to getting killed in Laos. We were travelling in Laos with my wife in 2000. We were in Luang Prabang and went to the bus terminal to get tix for the next day's bus to Vang Vieng. 2 buses available, 5am or 930am. Although we did want to get to Vang Vieng as early as possible, we opted for the 930 bus because, well 5am was just too early!

Probably 2 hours into the trip we're in a small village in the mountains, bus pulls up, and loads of men come on board with AK47s and start making a lot of noise. We're the only foreigners on the bus, there's a lot of talking, shouting, pointing etc, and we haven't got a clue what's going on.
                                                    After half an hour of this, we still haven't left the village, but people have calmed a little. i find a young guy in the bus who speaks a bit of French and i ask him what's going on. He says those guys are soldiers (although still too poor to own uniforms), and that the bus travelling before us was attacked by Hmong rebels, and that they burnt the bus with everyone inside.
                                                    An hour later, we're on our way again, we pass the bus further down the road. Bus is a wreck and they were pulling charred bodies from the wreckage and laying them by the side of the road. Grim stuff

We got lucky to say the least! Our laziness saved us that day!

Anybody had any success getting a Ryanair refund lately, got that email about a travel voucher and it links to some chat bot and I've been able to speak to somebody about getting the requested refund.

I guess Laos would be more a socialist-oriented market economy, with poverty, corruption and ethnic classism, I don't know enough about here to say more. Communist state (or country) is an oxymoron as communism dictates statelessness. Socialist aspiring countries led by communist aspiring corrupt parties (that would never cede power) is more what Hitch is looking for I guess.

So close to pulling the trigger to end Irish times sub
                                                          Such an awful app
                                                          And I a mullaleys latest just reminded me what I’m funding

Such an awful app
                                                            Hesitant to mention it given your thoughts on streaming but an old college email might get you a year or so free.

Such an awful app
                                                              The An Post daily paper delivery offer is brilliant. Worth a look.

​Convenient and reliable newspaper delivery service by An Post bringing the news straight to your doorstep. Stay informed with ease

Nah thanks.
                                                                I was just checking when my contract was up for my broadband. I'm getting the 1ghz fibre for €35ish a month and I remember that only lasted for a year I think. Just wanted to 'cancel' before the year is out, but I noticed my future bills still have it at that price. So itight be okay.

The website Is just a load of balls. Very difficult to Navigate, lots of 'page does not exist' links etc.

I'll still ring them because I spend a lot with them and would like a better deal.

Diamond VIP me hole

Is it fibre to the home you have if so thats gonna shoot right up, rememer 31 days notice.

Anyway all I was gonna say is they have put most of call centre onto fb messenger now and are flying through cases seemingly. Just have sky Id to hand.

https://www.anpost.com/Post-Parcels/...per-deliveries
                                                                  Severe lack of original thinking when it came to naming weekly publications:
                                                                  1. The Nationalist
                                                                  2. Kildare Nationalist
                                                                  3. Laois Nationalist
                                                                  4. Naas & Newbridge Nationalist

Now that I actually have most of my gardening work done (thank you covid), where could I purchase garden recliners for sitting my lazy ass in for a well-deserved break? Need something that will deliver I guess.

Any ideas O mighty BBV

They want a monthly subscription, which I don't mind but they won't deliver before I go to work, anyone know a service that delivers early?

Severe lack of original thinking when it came to naming weekly publications:
                                                                            1. The Nationalist
                                                                            2. Kildare Nationalist
                                                                            3. Laois Nationalist
                                                                            4. Naas & Newbridge Nationalist
                                                                            Well thats a weird *snap*, my first thought too.

They are just localised editions of the same paper

Finishing a research paper analysing pricing relationships between fish in Europe. A whopping 84 fish species are commonly caught and sold across our fine continent. Surprised with some of the species that are 'big in ...'. Cuttlefish, a fish I'd never heard of, and looking ugly as sin, being massive in some countries and unheard of in most others.

Coincidentally found a few cuttlefish bones on the beach yesterday

Have some strange memory that people give these to pet birds?

hyper-localised

pretty impressive though that there is such a surplus of news in the county of Kildare that you need two versions of the local paper to handle the volume!

There's not many feelings worse than waking up after a night out in Naas and somewhat recalling that the photographer from the Kildare Post took a snap of you making your way out of The Court, likely on your way to The Loft.

World snooker championship announced as due to start on 31st July. Seems ambitious to say the least.

Now that I actually have most of my gardening work done (thank you covid), where could I purchase garden recliners for sitting my lazy ass in for a well-deserved break? Need something that will deliver I guess.

Any ideas O mighty BBV
                                                                                      In Lidl tomorrow https://www.lidl.ie/en/p/great-garde...lounger/p40589

Any ideas O mighty BBV
                                                                                        Aren't amazon still delivering in Ireland?

Originally posted by limpwhacker View Post
                                                                                          World snooker championship announced as due to start on 31st July. Seems ambitious to say the least.
                                                                                          They're going to play it behind closed doors if necessary.

Aren't amazon still delivering in Ireland?
                                                                                            true...dumdidum off I go

Any ideas O mighty BBV
                                                                                              Fuck that. Hammock baby! Already spammed these guys already but there is just something super relaxing about it...

can't say they are not confident, first line of Product Description:

Don't even stop to think, go get your credit card. This is a great bargain, maybe the best on the internet.

I suspect it will depend on the business model of the golf course even for those of a similar standard, within the same region.

For example Tramore & Faithlegg are of a similar standard, former being better tbf but within similar price range. They have very different business models though.

Faithlegg have a hotel which is popular wedding venue that buttresses the course, also owned by FBD. Tramore rely far heavier on green fees, bar & pro shop.
                                                                                                  I'm guessing plenty of debt with that additional 9 hole add on too.

On the memberships Hitch, I'd say a far higher % of memberships in courses is based on direct debit than you'd imagine. I suspect quite a few have been halted that for the moment.
                                                                                                  I've played both for 20 year +. A well conditioned Faithlegg and by some for me.

Would Tramore have a big historical membership ? old school look down the nose type ? although a lot that demographic could well have died off.

The Faithlegg course doesn't get the spend on condition it once did, but it's greens when they get them right are 2nd to none in the country.

Connie147 if you're reading, remember the day You, Mick McCloskey & Marty played Tramore & I told you they didn't allow buggy's
                                                                                                  Last edited by nicnicnic; 23-04-20, 00:48.

I know a guy...
                                                                                                    ...who would build and upholster a matching pair....

can't say they are not confident, first line of Product Description:
                                                                                                      If you have a few trees to string it between then for 70 odd quid it’s a no brainer. If you have to buy the stand it’s a bit more of an outlay but a man of your DIY skills could knock something together...

I have a few trees alright but too spaced out.

Meh, a hammock feels too hipster. Will leave it to cool young fashion slaves like yourself.

The basics of the proposal GUI are putting to government to get golf back safely.

1. Golf back May 12th
                                                                                                          2. Max 3 balls with 14 minute intervals
                                                                                                          3. Members only
                                                                                                          4. Social golf only no competitions
                                                                                                          5. Others same as before ie no touching flags takes etc.

I've been trolling Denny all this time . I love Trump ; hes great and now I have all these links to prove it

Chinah

A mate of mine.... think he is a lurker from time to time here and big into his golf says most golf courses are the worst run businesses in the country! A lot of them are run by committee which hire a manager and then he hires a team and as long as the manage is able to spoof the committee nothing really changes, He did say there were companies out there now actively doing this role for the golf course, you bring them in they run the place, increase revenue and they take a large % of it but you get a better golf course in the end!
                                                                                                              Before the lockdown a golf course manager job in south of England passed through my Emails

Jesus; the job spec was mental... run course, run bar. run clubhouse, run events (weddings etc), drum up event business, do this do that... £33K

No wonder they are on the spoof half the time

The basics of the proposal GUI are putting to government to get golf back safely.

1. Golf back May 12th
                                                                                                                3. Members only
                                                                                                                Are the guards pattollingvthe golf courses ? Are the courses being maintained? I remember being in Portmarnick club house once thinking it was tedious . I'd murder a pint there now .

Finishing a research paper analysing pricing relationships between fish in Europe. A whopping 84 fish species are commonly caught and sold across our fine continent. Surprised with some of the species that are 'big in ...'. Cuttlefish, a fish I'd never heard of, and looking ugly as sin, being massive in some countries and unheard of in most others.
                                                                                                                  Do remember that outside of a menu etc there is no such thing as a fish

and cuttlefish are not even "aah but ya know what i mean by fish", there kinda squid

Trump shot down a few questions about this last night and moved on very quickly. He stopped talking about Hydroxychloroquine recently which he promoted people should try and kept repeating ad nauseam that sure if it doesn't help it can't hurt. Studies now suggests it could cause a higher death rate in people that take it.

Last edited by Opr; 22-04-20, 19:55.

1. Golf back May 12th
                                                                                                                      3. Members only
                                                                                                                      The 'members only' bit makes sense - but it wold also leave the government open to an easy accusation of catering for rich people whilst the working class continue to be denied the chance to play a game of soccer or gaa.

That is Actually pretty cool, nice that you can select by day, thought you’d be locked in for everything

The 'members only' bit makes sense - but it wold also leave the government open to an easy accusation of catering for rich people whilst the working class continue to be denied the chance to play a game of soccer or gaa.
                                                                                                                          You can't play soccer or GAA whilst observing social distancing. You can playing golf.

Not so sure I agree with members only but can't compare golf and other contact sports.