-
- 1 like
-
Yeah case numbers are an indication of how its spreading. But the comparisons saying we are x times the number of cases back during the first peak hurts my head when the testing is completely different. The walk in symptom free testing centres are a great thing of course, but comparing the resulting cases to a time when we werent testing the same type of people, who would have sat at home asymptomatic, creates unnecessary panic, and the media will run with it.
IMO (as the great health data expert I obviously am), the danger of 'the health service being overwhelmed' is now close to 0% and that should now be factored into decision making.
- 3 likes
-
Originally posted by ArmaniJeans View PostSuez canal up and running again - you'd fill a bit foolish if you were one of the ships who panicked and went the Cape of Good Pirates route."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Originally posted by Raoul Duke III View PostLooks like easily an extra 18,000km or so
Obviously we were all reading up on it a bit because it was in the news - I was fascinated by the fees for what is effectively a toll road.
I had a figure in my head for how much it would cost to travel, I was way off.
For anyone who wants to guess before the answerSPOILERmy guess was around $10K depending on size of ship, turns out the average toll is $250K. Makes the port tunnel seem a bargain at €10.
- 4 likes
-
Originally posted by Wombatman View PostLoaded up on IAG shares there. If they don't get back to €5 before the end of the year convert everything to random NFTs."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Is there a reason you went for IAG specifically, vs Ryanair or indeed a basket of airlines?
Ryanair has already recovered back to pre-covid price.Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
- 2 likes
-
Is there a reason you went for IAG specifically, vs Ryanair or indeed a basket of airlines?
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by GMoran1 View Post
Whats the best way for a beginner start trading? I know the likes of revolut etc but is the best approach to open an account with the likes of Davy?
- 2 likes
-
As well, case numbers in a time when vaccinations are being rolled out <> case numbers when no vaccines were available
IMO (as the great health data expert I obviously am), the danger of 'the health service being overwhelmed' is now close to 0% and that should now be factored into decision making.
Essentially the same thing but phrased differently - the current message has lost any meaning.
- 3 likes
-
I think linking opening to vaccine roll out milestones rather than positive cases would be a good change of direction and give a bit more hope to the population.
Essentially the same thing but phrased differently - the current message has lost any meaning.
Although it's a horrible fine line for the government to try to walk, I don't envy them"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
I think linking opening to vaccine roll out milestones rather than positive cases would be a good change of direction and give a bit more hope to the population.
Essentially the same thing but phrased differently - the current message has lost any meaning."I can’t find anyone who agrees with what I write or think these days, so I guess I must be getting closer to the truth." - Hunter S. Thompson
- 1 like
-
The trouble is we don't know exactly what success will look like in that regard. Ideally we'd see cases stay roughly stable but hospitalisations plummet. Hopefully we'll get good date from the UK's opening up starting today, but there will still remain a huge number of unknowns.
They don’t really need to promise much, like just going for once the 65’s are done we all get to go for a hair cut, Small promises that are inevitably coming anyway and if numbers actually fall then they can throw in a few more bonus’s.
Obv pubs, gigs and big sporting events are miles away.
-
I think we can take a positive enough view of this, despite all being exhausted by lockdown. Some new openings happening this week. Probably some more in a months time (end of April - more or less everything open except pubs and restaurants), then pubs and restaurants open a month at end of May, then whatever the fuck a month open by the end of June. So there's positive new steps happening each month after three months of nothingness, and within three months it'll be more or less fully over for all intents and purposes."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Move aside NFTs. Anyone manage to get a pair of very limited edition Satan shoes?
https://satan.shoes/Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product. ~Eleanor Roosevelt
- 1 like
-
what's the round trip sailing from Suez to Rotterdam vs going through the canal? must easily be 10,000km extra (he said wth no backup at all)
In addition to time, probably an additional 7+ days, you also have the issue of piracy of both side of Africa which can be a big issue.
Thank fuck, they got the vessel re-floated today, will still take up to a week to clear the back log and could impact supply chains for the next 6-8 weeks but at least we're moving again.
- 9 likes
-
Congratulations to Shrapnel, for winning consecutive Music Kings. He beat Ed for the second year in a row (and I think this one is gonna hurt) while PSV played a strong game too.
Some great music on offer and I doubt it'll be another year before we do it again.
Well played all.
- 17 likes
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostI think we can take a positive enough view of this, despite all being exhausted by lockdown. Some new openings happening this week. Probably some more in a months time (end of April - more or less everything open except pubs and restaurants), then pubs and restaurants open a month at end of May, then whatever the fuck a month open by the end of June. So there's positive new steps happening each month after three months of nothingness, and within three months it'll be more or less fully over for all intents and purposes.
Separately, emerging reports that
Gardai are investigating Munster Rugby for making an entirely unnecessary trip to the RDS.
- 4 likes
-
Well he's been dead these17 years now, so any more recent efforts would be more frivolous than serious.Please do better.
On a related note, has anyone ever been to a presidential library? Kinda imagine they don't see much traffic but maybe there are hordes of avid amateur historians who can think of no finer thing to do with their holidays than to trek to the Richard Milhous Nixon Presidential Library in Yorba Linda and marvel at the wonders therein."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
In fairness to the Nixon library, it doesn't seem like they've shied away from the episode he is remembered for"We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
When this pandemic is over I think we should all look back on the Matt Damon in Dalkey story last year as the single most shameful episode from the entire pandemic.
The fawning boot licking coverage was a national disgrace, we are better than that as a country“PSV was right all along” -Hitch 20 May 2019
-
No 2 prospective son in law started work in a new job last year in a rapidly growing company, decent package with share options to kick in after 12 months he's happy with the job and seems to be doing well. Yesterday they were told that the company founder is being bought out, minimum 40K bonus for everyone who has options, he's there 10 months, puketastic. He's bull thick and I guess you can't blame him. They are about to start building a house and it would have made a nice start to that.Turning millions into thousands
- 2 likes
-
This lockdown has been going on way too long.Please do better.
On a related note, has anyone ever been to a presidential library? Kinda imagine they don't see much traffic but maybe there are hordes of avid amateur historians who can think of no finer thing to do with their holidays than to trek to the Richard Milhous Nixon Presidential Library in Yorba Linda and marvel at the wonders therein.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View PostNo 2 prospective son in law started work in a new job last year in a rapidly growing company, decent package with share options to kick in after 12 months he's happy with the job and seems to be doing well. Yesterday they were told that the company founder is being bought out, minimum 40K bonus for everyone who has options, he's there 10 months, puketastic. He's bull thick and I guess you can't blame him. They are about to start building a house and it would have made a nice start to that.
- 2 likes
-
Originally posted by Strewelpeter View PostNo 2 prospective son in law started work in a new job last year in a rapidly growing company, decent package with share options to kick in after 12 months he's happy with the job and seems to be doing well. Yesterday they were told that the company founder is being bought out, minimum 40K bonus for everyone who has options, he's there 10 months, puketastic. He's bull thick and I guess you can't blame him. They are about to start building a house and it would have made a nice start to that.
In fairness though, 10 months, WTF do you expect really."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 5 likes
-
Originally posted by PSV58 View PostWhen this pandemic is over I think we should all look back on the Matt Damon in Dalkey story last year as the single most shameful episode from the entire pandemic.
The fawning boot licking coverage was a national disgrace, we are better than that as a country
- 5 likes
-
Originally posted by PSV58 View PostWhen this pandemic is over I think we should all look back on the Matt Damon in Dalkey story last year as the single most shameful episode from the entire pandemic.
The fawning boot licking coverage was a national disgrace, we are better than that as a countrySPOILER"Fatt Damon"
- 1 like
-
- 6 likes
-
It's a sickening feeling. Happened to me back in the day when BT bought Esat from O'Brien, I was 3 weeks short of share options and while everyone was dancing around and talking about their windfall I was sitting gutted in the corner. would have only been 20-25k but still hurt.
- 14 likes
-
It's a sickening feeling. Happened to me back in the day when BT bought Esat from O'Brien, I was 3 weeks short of share options and while everyone was dancing around and talking about their windfall I was sitting gutted in the corner. would have only been 20-25k but still hurt.I think the poor hoor has actually died inside, He'll get over it in time.
I remember a conversation with three lads in Trintech who were working out whether to vest shares they had and if it would be worth the hassle for the €400 they were going to get between them. They told me then that they had had a conversation five years earlier where they were discussing an option to sell those same shares and buying a house each in Leopardstown for what they were worth at that time (setting up a company to deal with the tax), one of the three persuaded them to hodlTurning millions into thousands
- 5 likes
-
I have to say this is the most over the top delivery of sausages that I woke to this morning and I appreciate it.
ieczvacl.jpg
xpykTtbl.jpg
-
Originally posted by Tar.Aldarion View PostI have to say this is the most over the top delivery of sausages that I woke to this morning and I appreciate it.
ieczvacl.jpg
xpykTtbl.jpg
Now you lot are at it. 'Sausages' and 'black pudding' are sacred to our tribe, you're messing with forces you don't even understand here."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 2 likes
-
Went into a decently authentic looking Chinese place and asked for the gyozas. She's just pulled the same frozen pack I normally buy in the Chinese supermarket out of the freezer. Got to love the gamesmanship. Although I'm now wondering if the run-down look of the place wasn't an attempt at portraying authenticity but just their general business attitude."We're not f*cking Burundi" - Big Phil
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWent into a decently authentic looking Chinese place and asked for the gyozas. She's just pulled the same frozen pack I normally buy in the Chinese supermarket out of the freezer. Got to love the gamesmanship. Although I'm now wondering if the run-down look of the place wasn't an attempt at portraying authenticity but just their general business attitude."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
- 2 likes
-
This reminds me of when Homer accused the gays of stealing 'our words'.
Now you lot are at it. 'Sausages' and 'black pudding' are sacred to our tribe, you're messing with forces you don't even understand here.Bruce, and Lance, and Juliansausage and pudding. Those were thetoughestmeatiest names we had!
It's come to a point I can nearly live off the free food I am receiving, and for some reason companies seem to think i want to wear beanies with their names on it.
I was surprised to see Denny get in on the vegan products but their sausages are class.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Hitchhiker's Guide To... View PostWent into a decently authentic looking Chinese place and asked for the gyozas. She's just pulled the same frozen pack I normally buy in the Chinese supermarket out of the freezer. Got to love the gamesmanship. Although I'm now wondering if the run-down look of the place wasn't an attempt at portraying authenticity but just their general business attitude.
-
Don't gyozas come from Japan?Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 30-03-21, 12:49.
- 4 likes
-
They come from China, they were brought to Japan by soldiers after the war and are a little different now, though homemade Chinese ones are the same as Japanese ones."We are not Europeans. Those people on the continent are freaks."
-
Like when I went to a Ramen place in New York with my mother and she was miffed they didn't have chipper style battered fish, and didn't trust the word tempura.
Also don't get my girlfriend started on how Eastern European shops are all called Polish shops too as us westerners just think there is one big country called Poland over there.
- 1 like
-
Originally posted by Tar.Aldarion View Postas us westerners just think there is one big country called Poland over there.
- 1 like
-
The Ranchers Wife.
SPOILERThe Ranchers Wife
A successful rancher died and left everything to his devoted wife.
She was a very good-looking woman and determined to keep the ranch, but knew very little about ranching, so she decided to place an ad in the newspaper for a ranch hand.
Two cowboys applied for the job. One was gay and the other a drunk.
She thought long and hard about it, and when no one else applied she decided to hire the gay guy, figuring it would be safer to have him around the house than the drunk.
He proved to be a hard worker who put in long hours every day and knew a lot about ranching.
For weeks, the two of them worked, and the ranch was doing very well.
Then one day, the rancher's widow said to the hired hand, "You have done a really good job, and the ranch looks great. You should go into town and kick up your heels." The hired hand readily agreed and went into town Saturday night.
One o'clock came and he didn't return. Two o'clock and no hired hand.
Finally he returned around two-thirty, and upon entering the house, he found the rancher's widow sitting by the fireplace with a glass of wine, waiting for him.
She quietly called him over to her. "Unbutton my blouse and take it off," she said. Trembling, he did as she directed. "Now take off my boots." He did as she asked, ever so slowly. "Now take off my socks." He removed each gently and placed them neatly by her boots. "Now take off my skirt." He slowly unbuttoned it, constantly watching her eyes in the fire light. "Now take off my bra." Again, with trembling hands, he did as he was told and dropped it to the floor.
Then she looked deep into his eyes and said, "If you EVER wear my clothes into town again, you're fired"
- 8 likes
-
Inter county GAA training back before golf is a bad joke- do GAA have compromising pics of cabinet members? It’s a fucking joke the slack they get count after the amount of shite that had been caused county final celebrations last yesr
knowing the nature of the micromanaging nazis who are involved in back room teams and management of inter county a good few have been training away for past few months anyway“PSV was right all along” -Hitch 20 May 2019
- 3 likes
-
I worked with a guy who was in the office lotto syndicate for a few years. He was out sick from work for a week and didn't get to pay his sub as a result. They didn't count him in the syndicate for that period and ended up winning the lotto. Pictures in local paper and national media coverage etc. Poor fella missed out on a very nice 5 figure sum as a result. The other syndicate members wouldn't give up a few k each to cover his potential winnings either. I just couldn't fathom the bad vibes that would have caused. He was still working with the same company and colleagues for years later.
...On that note--- still recruiting for the IPB Lotto syndicate... €5 per week for guaranteed returns*...
*Returns very likely to be massively less than invested...
- 6 likes
-
I keep hearing him on calls telling people how happy he is for themI think the poor hoor has actually died inside, He'll get over it in time.
I remember a conversation with three lads in Trintech who were working out whether to vest shares they had and if it would be worth the hassle for the €400 they were going to get between them. They told me then that they had had a conversation five years earlier where they were discussing an option to sell those same shares and buying a house each in Leopardstown for what they were worth at that time (setting up a company to deal with the tax), one of the three persuaded them to hodl
She was gushing telling me how she was getting €4 a share...People say I should be more humble I hope they understand, they don't listen when you mumble
- 1 like
-
I really don't think we think that. Like literally no-one. Not least thanks to decades of Eurovision and football. I do remember the exact at opposite at some point of being surprised how big Poland actually was.
- 2 likes