Dead right. It's also something she will enjoy for years. That coupled with the lift it gave you both means it was an absolute bargain.
    Durty

Can anyone recommend Irish Xmas Hamper retailers? Quality Irish produce, maybe somewhat unique if possible. Think some nice hampers will solve the annual search for presents for various family and in-laws.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 06-12-20, 21:49.

Very popular in the food markets on a Saturday, where you pop in for a morning verre and some complimentary rilette on bread is given out - traditionally the cafe would have sourced it from the market itself, given for free by the stalls in return for the expectation of a few complimentary glasses when the thirst came upon them. Or so I read in a book a while ago anyway on the custom of rilettes in the market.
            Ah stop, you'll have me crying for the rugby trip I won't be making this season. The day of the match itself always starts in the local food market with wine, coffee, cognac and whatever's good to eat.

Semi-final in April maybe.

The other day the missus asked me to give her lipstick. I handed glue stick by mistake. She still isnt talking to me

We'll miss auld Trump when he's gone all the same.

Interesting to guess at how much he'll actually be "gone" though.

I mean he's box office and there is plenty of craic in the trad media continuing to report on the ongoing meltdown.

It's not like he'll do an Obama and stay a fairly dignified quiet for the first 85% of his successors reign before speaking his mind (and only when history has been firmly written)

That type of succession etiquette isn't plausible for DT.

He won't be able to keep his gub shut and presumably the just wears down his credibility further and Biden just ignores it completely and move on as the boss of all bosses.

Can anyone recommend Irish Xmas Hamper retailers? Quality Irish produce, maybe somewhat unique if possible. Think some nice hampers will solve the annual search for presents for various family and in-laws.
                        GAB retweeted some crowd on twitter this morning I think

The biggest threat of Trump is that the Dems get so focused on defeating him in 2024 that then some relatively same person actually gets the nomination when Trump realises he is actually 80 and there's nothing worse he could imagine for four more years. But then that person comes across as the voice of reason compared to Dems who have made themselves shrill shouting about Trump.
                          And don't forget the fact Biden is going to do next to nothing to help actual poor people or change anything.

Free health care? Not on your life buddy! (and we mean on your life!).
                          Insane cost of education? Keep on paying suckers.
                          Tax the rich? lol, get fucked.
                          Maybe reduce our military spending or bring some troops home? Nope, brown people have to die. Fire up the drones!
                          How about we don't lock up whistleblowers? lol, get fucked again for even asking.
                          Maybe some workers rights, some mandatory vacation maybe? work until you die
                          *Forgot this one* Prison/policing reform? Yeah BLM and all that but poor people need to fill these cells and a woman of colour as VP is just as good right? (i.e. get fucked)
                          Platitudes? - oh baby you'll get lots of them.

Biden is much better than Trump, but he's going to do next to nothing to actually change anything. The democrats are going to take the road of anything is better than Trump right? And it'll work for a while but they better do something otherwise the voters won't turn up again.

I hope I'm wrong but I'll guess in four years, Biden/Harris will have done next to zero to help poor people.
                          Last edited by Charlie Sheen; 06-12-20, 23:56.

Going to last frame in the snooker if anyone is still up

Sick frame! I thought Trump would go for that green!

Surreal to see a finish like that and the silence at the end.

Ok so I'm listening to The Beatles on Tidal. Loads of regular, decent hifii quality but a bunch of superlative, master quality as well. Hmmmmm... pretty fucking good. Beach Boys, Fleetwood Mac, The Kinks, The Who all sound amazing on 'Master'. Check it out...

Opinions on this please .

I'm sure the BBV heard of Phoebe Bridgers. If not why not ?

Phoebe Bridgers sounds like a specialised military unit imo

Usual 40 min round trip walk to school took double that waddling like Donald Trump without his nappy. Poxy black ice. Nice 2020 Range Rover wrapped around a pole 50 yards from the school.

did you suppress a smirk when you saw it? people who live in cities and drive those things deserve whatever they get imo

Yeah no excuse really for not walking or having someone in place to walk your kids to school. Every kid lives within the Parish so max 20 min walk like I have. 1500+kids in that school so imagine if everyone selfishly drove.

This seems as well thought out as Denny's idea to get an options trader to run Interpol.

Best craft beer website guys?

Want to send a link to my KK. Went onto Dungarvan's website last night and selected a case of Mine Head but for some reason they have a 3x case MOQ.

Makes the min spend €105 which is a bit ridiculous. Budget is €50
                                                    craftcentral.ie

Yeah no excuse really for not walking or having someone in place to walk your kids to school. Every kid lives within the Parish so max 20 min walk like I have. 1500+kids in that school so imagine if everyone selfishly drove.
                                                      biggest cause of congestion in Dublin imo, fat kids being driven by fat parents in fat cars

Got the wife a pyjamas from this place for her birthday. A slightly risky move as she'd never expressed the merest hint of interest in pyjamas, and the whole idea sounds kinda lame. But they were on the Late Late Show as an example of a cool buy Irish brand, so thats how I got on to them and assumed that because of the price they were better than they looked or sounded. Anyway - and this is the reason for posting this - jaysus, she loved them. They're pretty class - look a bit like a tailored suit in bits, although still pyjamas obv. Also said pyjamas are in like every single blog she follows at the moment. So, if ye are are stuck for choices, that might be a great option, bearing in mind that your mileage may vary. They're not cheap though unfortunately. But I think that feeds through into the quality.
                                                          €200 for jammers?

fucking hell.
                                                          I got the wife this last year.
                                                          It's a subscription service and she gets new ones every month.

Have the best of Eurovision on in the background this morning for musical pleasure. What a beast of a song this is.
                                                              Absolute banger.

However, the real gems are the ones that didn't win but were just great craic

ooh that looks rather nice. where were you when I was making poor financial decisions a month ago?! In fairness the pyjamas are ridiculously good.
                                                                the monthly dopameine hit means I can have a recurring hooker bathtub pardon.

hmm, a simple compass app tells me something I should have known i.e. that our house is oriented East-West and thus not suitable for solar

Absolute banger.

However, the real gems are the ones that didn't win but were just great craic

Buy the official DVD: https://Eurovision.lnk.to/DVD2019IDAdd or download the song to your own playlist: https://Eurovision.lnk.to/ESC2019IDDownload the album...

I missed eurovision this year

Just to balance all this pro Europe messaging

hmm, a simple compass app tells me something I should have known i.e. that our house is oriented East-West and thus not suitable for solar
                                                                                Still worth looking into?
                                                                                To get the very most power from your solar panels you should face them South. But this article explains why you should consider other directions too...

I've been depressing myself by looking at similar tales on boards.

We had figured on x, they all seem to be suggesting 2x if you can even get a builder, which you can't.

2x is > the cost of rebuilding btw

so maybe sell the house and move to Costa Rica.

Fascinating tale of life in Nazi Germanies civil service: https://www.lrb.co.uk/the-paper/v21/...rm=Read%20more

Just to balance all this pro Europe messaging

VDL talking to BoJo later today and Barnier signalling Weds as the last date for negotiations.

I do know the Brussels people have been working insane hours for the last couple of months but seems to be all down to UK domestic politics now, which I suppose it always was.

cool map - the countries that the UK has not invaded are shaded white

CuqK7IWXEAAv_TH.jpg

I'd avoid GiftsDirect. All their Irish Pantry stuff is own brand/yellow pack and the wine has fake labels.

Hey, I realise this is kinda old hat, but I never really understood the underlying tech.

I want some sort of server that I can send a command to from e.g. my phone - to say, e.g. here's a list of names of tv series, now go out and automatically download episodes in these series as they appear and also get all historic episodes. Plus that I can plug the server into a projector to play the shows. Does that type of thing exist? I'm just trying to eliminate the stage where I have to physically get the episode each time watching, and also to have somewhere that has a vast reservoir of easy to navigate unwatched shows.
                                                                                              Unraid as your media server, any of the available plugins/dockers

https://wiki.unraid.net/Setting_Up_S...nd_CouchPotato

This is bog standard stuff I think. Danny has been using it too I believe.

I've been depressing myself by looking at similar tales on boards.

We had figured on x, they all seem to be suggesting 2x if you can even get a builder, which you can't.

2x is > the cost of rebuilding btw

so maybe sell the house and move to Costa Rica.
                                                                                                I always felt you were optimistic basing things on your positive experience from a few years ago.

The construction industry has changed a lot in the past 4/5 years with a lot less workers and much more demand.

Hard to tell if things will be a good bit cheaper in 18 months time. Brexit and COVID mortgage restrictions/defaults will take a while to feed through but they could bite pretty hard.

At this stage all you can do is make the plans and run a tender process and delay a bit if the answer is not to your liking...

Unraid as your media server, any of the available plugins/dockers

https://wiki.unraid.net/Setting_Up_S...nd_CouchPotato

This is bog standard stuff I think. Danny has been using it too I believe.
                                                                                                  Can anyone explain why use this rather and something like Typhoon/CinemaHD/Kodi with a Real Debrid sub.
                                                                                                  tie it up with trakt.tv as well
                                                                                                  Last edited by DeadParrot; 07-12-20, 13:36.

At this stage all you can do is make the plans and run a tender process and delay a bit if the answer is not to your liking...
                                                                                                    exactly what we are doing

It's quite different from the last project as that was very much a build, with a small bit of eco-upgrade. Whereas this is the opposite, we aren't really messing with the house footprint much at all but we do want to fundamentally upgrade all of the eco components. So a learning process.

Whoever recommended that Eco Eye episide on retrofits, thank you. It's here, with Hitch's favourite guy doing his thing.

#retrofit #emissions #passive #house #SE17EP02In this episode, Duncan meets new homeowners who want to retrofit their homes with the latest in energy saving ...

craftcentral.ie
                                                                                                        Cheers Dude. I had actually searched back through your posts and found it.

Changed my mind in the interim about KK, but will buy some Kinnegar anyway.

Is there an MOQ on there?

Dungarvan got back to me and said they can't sell less than 3x cases online because of legislation.

There is a Denny Crane doppelganger in that video btw

Can anyone explain why use this rather and something like Typhoon/CinemaHD/Kodi with a Real Debrid sub.
                                                                                                            tie it up with trakt.tv as well
                                                                                                            Only thing is 'ownership' (heh) of the files. I don't use unraid as a media server but it absolutely could be (and is extensively used) as such.

Some people's internet won't handle the buffering of a 4K film, but if they'd pre-downloaded it the day before etc.

Cheers Dude. I had actually searched back through your posts and found it.

Changed my mind in the interim about KK, but will buy some Kinnegar anyway.

Is there an MOQ on there?

Dungarvan got back to me and said they can't sell less than 3x cases online because of legislation.
                                                                                                              nope, just a €5 flat delivery fee by dpd.
                                                                                                              I usually get a case of 4 for 10 mix and match

Thought it was good, FWIW!

Anyone have any fun/interesting Spotify end of year wrapping up lists to share? Like to see what others have been listening to.

VDL and Bojo have now been talking for nearly 2 hours.

Don't know if that's good or bad

Tough day for the aibers. yikes. I presume a bit of doubt about the possibility of brexit.

nWkGl34.png
                                                                                                                      no news out of Brussels anyway, just a holding statement

Tough day for the aibers. yikes. I presume a bit of doubt about the possibility of brexit.

nWkGl34.png
                                                                                                                        Bought again today

Thought it was good, FWIW!

Anyone have any fun/interesting Spotify end of year wrapping up lists to share? Like to see what others have been listening to.

I work with one of the girls who sings it, be nice to let her know BBV approve!
                                                                                                                          They have a few songs on spotify which are pretty good but that one struck me the most.