ghvwgim6uef51.jpg

A bit later than usual, some of the dahlias are blooming nicely

Never been there and hopefully never will have to, there is absolutely nothing about Australia that appeals to me at all... Maybe Sidney Nolan paintings and Thomas Kenelly, he's great.

Seems to be a common thread that all these modern states where the power and wealth is unambiguously built on the proceeds of genocide and colonial exploitation despite the facade of liberal democracy remain and indeed are increasingly unattractive societies.
        Don't worry you won't be going anywhere anytime soon.

GAB will be feeling smug on his side of the hill.

so
            • Britain (should probably include us in there too)
            • France
            • Spain
            • Portugal
            • Belgium
            • Netherlands
            • Germany(ish)
            • Denmark (yes,a colonial power)
            • Russia
            • Japan

any to add to that?
            Most of those committed genocide in their pursuit of colonial plunder but I'm thinking specifically of states created by genocide in particular US, SA and OZ

Originally posted by brianmc View Post
              GAB will be feeling smug on his side of the hill.
              GAB exists in a perpetual state of smugness, this will only ampify it further.

Don't worry you won't be going anywhere anytime soon.
                Was due to be in the office at 6 tomorrow morning to do a job just got a call to say stay at home
                Glad of the lie in tomorrow but I do need to go in on Wednesday, and though its in the rules that I can go in when I need to and WFH the rest of the time I expect because its the first day back in for many people they won't want me to go in.

Most of those committed genocide in their pursuit of colonial plunder but I'm thinking specifically of states created by genocide in particular US, SA and OZ
                  Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Nigeria, Congo, Indonesia, Malaysia.

modern Poland?

Brazil qualifies as another hellhole, Canada an exception that proves the rule

Eh I wouldnt be throwing too much praise at Canadians. The native population are openly looked down upon in my experiences and most have very little interest in their well being or taking any blame for what was done to them.

Most would have zero interaction with a native person unless stepping over them on the street counts as an interaction and they're ok with it staying that way.
                          Last edited by Charlie Sheen; 07-08-20, 19:48.

Seems like another attempt to push your dodgy view that non whites are worse racists than whites! Most of the Latin American states are incredibly racist, but its white racism again. You turn on a TV in Bra
                            I don't think indigenous people anywhere in the Americas get much representation. Have Bolivia in my head as a possible exception.

Although I think as a percentage of population, indigenous people are generally a very small amount? According to wiki, just 0.6% in Brazil.

Oz, SA, US are just racist. Or at least their majorities consistently elect racists.
                              Would you like to explain that one in the context of SA? Where the ANC has had a majority for the last 25 years. Are the ANC racists?

Or indeed the US, where the largest popular vote in all of their history went to a black guy. Is Obama a racist?

Does not compute.

Eh I wouldnt be throwing too much praise at Canadians. The native population are openly looked down upon in my experiences and most have very little interest in their well being or taking any blame for what was done to them.

Most would have zero interaction with a native person unless stepping over them on the street counts as an interaction and they're ok with it staying that way.
                                Are they integrated into wider society Charlie or more living on reservations?

Most of them are on reservations from what I've seen or likely in the poorer areas. I've never even seen a Native person in any of the downtown apartment blocks me or any of my friends have lived in. Anecdotally - dated a girl who moved to Calgary from Toronto, she said she'd never even seen a Native in person until she moved and was shocked at how many there are here. I called bullshit but she was adamant about it (she was a little well off though). I know one person who has a Native person as a friend.

Can they at least take their revenge by opening casinos on reservations to strip the rest of society of their $$$$? Like in the US.

I meant the white vs non-white bias in Latin America. Everything is famously white centric in politics and media and commerce despite white folk being the minority.
                                            I miss being called Gringo

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 07-08-20, 20:18.

I meant the white vs non-white bias in Latin America. Everything is famously white centric in politics and media and commerce despite white folk being the minority.
                                                Don't most South Americans identify as mixed race?

'Mestizo' I think they call themselves.

Who is on co-coms on City match on RTE, sounds like a D4 drug mule

The white population in both still votes in the majority for the racists. Overwhelmingly so in the case of SA.
                                                    Oh, so when you said 'the majority', you meant something else. No wonder you get destroyed on Twitter by Kayroo.

But let's take your revised claim at face value. You say the overwhelming majority of South African whites vote for racists.
                                                    So let us examine the results of the most recent South African election.

White South Africans comprise about 10% of the population. So it should be simple for you to point out which racists they 'overwhelmingly' voted for.

Or not, seeing as it didn't happen.

Has to be better than Steve McManaman on BT

Pretty good tbf

Ah! forgot to post my early dahlias at the start of July
                                                          Grew quiet a few flowers this year as well

The new wildflower patch did particularly well
                                                          Discover the magic of the internet at Imgur, a community powered entertainment destination. Lift your spirits with funny jokes, trending memes, entertaining gifs, inspiring stories, viral videos, and so much more from users like TonyRafferty.

In case anyone cares, these are the white racist lads in SA.

They usually get less than 1% in the elections. Although last time they got 2%.

Meaning that the allegedly racist overwhelming majority of South African whites don't actually vote for racists.
                                                            (Mostly they vote DA, who are wonderfully inclusive).

Next!

Pretty good tbf
                                                              You think so? Find him very annoying. Not just the accent but just the shite he comes out with.

Switched to RTE. Yeah no idea who yer man is but see what you mean

Dont know but reckon hes a recently retired LOI player or something. "Toe Pump". Never heard that term before.

Funnily enough not having those is one of the things that makes me happiest.
                                                                  Eat a few impossible burgers, good to go! Annoyingly can't get them here so I eat beyond burgers.
                                                                  Also some exciting stuff on the way, first 3d printed steak is here, and vegan wagyu beef https://vegnews.com/2020/7/world-s-f...se-master-chefhttps://vegnews.com/2020/7/world-s-f...se-master-chef
                                                                  Those are just facsimiles, there is actually lab grown bacon going to restaurant testing in a month or two.
                                                                  When they can grow me one of these, sign me up !

IMG-20200805-154418.jpg

IMG-20200805-155551.jpg

IMG-20200805-165324.jpg

IMG-20200805-165750.jpg

Dont know but reckon hes a recently retired LOI player or something. "Toe Pump". Never heard that term before.
                                                                    It’s normally Andrews or Sadlier isn’t it?

Sounds like a good description for your Golfer

Pick another one next week as i can t be arsed looking

Great having champions League in august.

It’s normally Andrews or Sadlier isn’t it?
                                                                          Neither of those, never heard his voice before, would know most

Great having champions League in august.
                                                                            Meant to do the city/Inter double last night at 15s but forgot. Think Inter be too fresh for United. Must check price in morning.

Sounds like a good description for your Golfer

Pick another one next week as i can t be arsed looking
                                                                              He was -1 thru 1, that was the peak!. Also eagled the same hole next day!.

I looked earlier and he was at -3, was hoping for another birdie in last couple for a sweat. Must have fancied the bar.

Just looked, he bogeyed 4 of last 6. 4 pars he makes the cut with 60 left and 3 shots off the loots
                                                                                Last edited by Dice75; 07-08-20, 21:32.

I looked earlier and he was at -3, was hoping for another birdie in last couple for a sweat. Must have fancied the bar.

Just looked, he bogeyed 4 of last 6. 4 pars he makes the cut with 60 left and 3 shots off the loots
                                                                                    Yeah disappointing. In the British Open week before last he was travelling nicely at -4 deep into rd2 when he went bogey, treble to miss the cut.

GAB exists in a perpetual state of smugness, this will only ampify it further.
                                                                                        Still a BIFFO - Big Infectious Fella From Offaly

This is pretty special..

Last edited by Lazare; 07-08-20, 23:15.

Ah! forgot to post my early dahlias at the start of July
                                                                                            Grew quiet a few flowers this year as well

The new wildflower patch did particularly well
                                                                                            Discover the magic of the internet at Imgur, a community powered entertainment destination. Lift your spirits with funny jokes, trending memes, entertaining gifs, inspiring stories, viral videos, and so much more from users like TonyRafferty.

Looks lovely. Ordered 10 packs of wild flowers from bee bombs just before logging in here to put at the hammerhead at the end of our cul de sac.

Pretty sure it was Stephen Kelly on commentary. And yeah, he was incredibly irritating.

That's brilliant

Seems like another attempt to push your dodgy view that non whites are worse racists than whites! Most of the Latin American states are incredibly racist, but its white racism again. You turn on a TV in Brazil and you wouldn't realise there was any non-Spanish (the majority) in the country. The same with all those relishing the glorious pre communism days of Cuba and Venezuela. They were glorious and privileged for a very small number of white people not the majorities.
                                                                                                  There’s a beautiful irony in the fact you are ranting about racism and refer to Brazilians as the Spanish.

Also your ideas of Brazilian ethnicity is miles off.

Don't most South Americans identify as mixed race?

'Mestizo' I think they call themselves.
                                                                                                  almost. And Tara might have a better understanding that me. But from the Brazilians I know;

Whites Brazilians are the biggest group. About half.
                                                                                                  Mixed race are almost as big, a group in themselves.
                                                                                                  The remaining 5% are black and native.
                                                                                                  Last edited by Mellor; 08-08-20, 02:44.

The countries on your list were created by genocide by those on RDs list. Would also apply to many places in south and Central America mentioned. And excluding Canada is LOL. Canada certainly isn’t the US, but it was established with the same flavour of Genocide.

No shortage of crimes against humanity in Asia or Africa either.
                                                                                                    Peopke are shits in general

Had an engineer from Sky around the house a few days ago. Received a text from them today asking me to respond to a four question survey so that they could "improve their service".

Noticed in the last line that standard SMS rates apply!

Not charging the customer for responding when they request feedback would be my first point.
                                                                                                      Cheeky pups.

Or indeed the US, where the largest popular vote in all of their history went to a black guy. Is Obama a racist?

Does not compute.
                                                                                                        46% of the popular vote in the last election went to a racist. That's pretty scary.

Also scary is it took the orange buffoon to make me realise I had been saying Thailand wrong all my life.

Everyday is a school day !

https://imgur.com/gallery/ncqYnlY

That's brilliant
                                                                                                              I thought this was great too.

Had an engineer from Sky around the house a few days ago. Received a text from them today asking me to respond to a four question survey so that they could "improve their service".

Noticed in the last line that standard SMS rates apply!

Not charging the customer for responding when they request feedback would be my first point.
                                                                                                                  Cheeky pups.
                                                                                                                  They once had a premium phone number for new customers. They charged you around €10 for the privilege of giving them your business.

Some balls.

Can you still buy a 3 pay as you go sim, do the €20 top up and put it into a router?

Hmm. The Democratic Alliance do look fairly okay from that when they had a black leader, subsequently ditched. Let's live and hope that it has been properly rejected. I suspect not as I've never met a white SAer who wasn't extremely racist.
                                                                                                                      Apology accepted.

Let me give you a tip you can reflect upon.

Unfortunately you made the cardinal mistake of bullshitters everywhere.

You made a verifiable bullshit claim ('the overwhelming majority of white South Africans vote for racists') to back up your bullshit argument. Which, when looked at, turned out to be the opposite of what you claimed. Destroying your bullshit argument all by yourself.

Never do that. I feel bad for you here. It's sloppy stuff and an experienced bullshitter like yourself must know better.

I see you are taking steps back on the correct path of bullshit argument though ('I've never met a nice white South African' - perfect bullshit statement, nobody can prove or disprove this bullshit. Trump and Dublin taxi drivers nod their approval) so there may be some hope for you yet. But at a strictly amateur level.

This staycation biz might be better for the environment but on balance I’d prefer a return to the practice where the scum of this country (middle and upper middle class scum very much included) fuck off abroad for summer and stop ruining otherwise nice west coast destinations

46% of the popular vote in the last election went to a racist. That's pretty scary.
                                                                                                                          Does it make you scared ? I was in the USA during the last election and the amount of people who said they would go to Mexico if he got in was huge working for a dollar an hour there would be a great career move. What about Rhodesia and South Africa racist governments there grabbing farms. The whole of the Middle East bar Israel