I do some business with an Olympian. He raced (cycling) for Ireland in Los Angeles.

Always in awe of him.

Imagine going through your life being able to tell people you're an Olympian. Although this guy has never once mentioned it, I found out through someone else, which adds to the class.

Obviously the best in the world are a niche group, although they can be discovered in many more ways than simply the Olympics. Hitch, which you agreed with, claimed being an Olympian is a niche pursuit, which obviuolsly it isn't. Olympics may be a main goal and focus, but an athletes schedule will be packed for all the years they compete.
      I didn't agree with him. Thought what he was saying was mostly rubbish.

Olympian is a niche pursuit. Nothing wrong with that.

​​​

The recent ancient mysteries is very good, it even has a great cameo from blindboy https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gs3ouRYleV0

I didn't agree with him. Thought what he was saying was mostly rubbish.

Olympian is a niche pursuit. Nothing wrong with that.

​​​
          OK, we seem to be looking at it from different angles

Don’t think testosterone levels should count the man has a cock and balls or had no matter what you do get them chopped tucked sellotaped to the side of your leg you are still a man. No matter what fad you want to be identified as. My first cousin played a few Games for the women’s Irish rugby team as a tight head prop. She wasent even 14 stone the average 16 year old boy playing the same position in school would be heavier and stronger.
            None of that is really relevant to the fact it was a bad bet. Hubbard has no chance of winning. I'd give you 10/1.

You're 14stone cousin would be relatively weak. As you said, average 16 year old is stronger.
            Elite female weightlifters are not weak. They'd be significantly bigger and stronger that you for example. If you entered, you probably come last, despite your cock and balls.
            Hubbard shouldn't have been allowed to compete imo, but not because she was she was going to steal a medal. She was a pretty average male lifter, now they're a geriatric transsexual.

Do you mean Caster Semenya?

I don't think that's insane at all tbh.
              for all other athletes taking medication to alter testosterone levels is doping / cheating

Brother is heading to Kenmare next month and was looking for Restaurant recommendations. Outside of Jack’s do you lads have any other gems.

None of that is really relevant to the fact it was a bad bet. Hubbard has no chance of winning. I'd give you 10/1.

You're 14stone cousin would be relatively weak. As you said, average 16 year old is stronger.
                  Elite female weightlifters are not weak. They'd be significantly bigger and stronger that you for example. If you entered, you probably come last, despite your cock and balls.
                  Hubbard shouldn't have been allowed to compete imo, but not because she was she was going to steal a medal. She was a pretty average male lifter, now they're a geriatric transsexual.
                  Relative to what ? As a tighthead prop they are usually very strong. No doubt I’d come last I’m an unfit middle aged man not an Olympic athlete. The winner probably has so much juice in her she’ll be dead by 40.

I don't know. Like, can they definitively say that someone who started at 0.099 seconds consciously started before the gun and someone who started at 0.101 didn't?...
                    Yes, they can definitively say that based on thousands of test and the science involved. It's essentially 100% confidence that an movement before 0.1 is a false start.

But they aren't saying that after that is never a false start. Just because below 0.1 is for sure a false start, doesn't imply that above 0.1 is a clean start.
                    That's just the line they have drawn, Somebody who goes on .101 has realistically false started also.

Maybe they can but i'd imagine that reaction times can potentially vary alot between competitors. Reaction times probably get better as time goes on also. World records are constantly improving in disciplines due to better training, nutrition etc etc so it stands to reason reaction times are also.
                    Reactions will vary, but it doesn't stand to reason that they can be improved beyond certain limits.. Performance is improving due to improved physical attributes. Physical performance of muscles, heart, lungs. Reaction time is neurological so it's limited by the transmission time of the signals. Basicaly physics, so not likely to change.

I guess that while there is no perfect way of doing it, it's getting the best way. Maybe they should just scrap the reaction times totally and if you start within .0001 seconds of the bell, fair play to you; but if you false start it's an instant DQ? May be a terrible idea, i know very little about it.
                    No matter where you set the line, you have the potential for a difference of 0.001 to make the difference. But 0.1 excludes more people who false started, so on that basis is a lot better.
                    Ideally you want the highest time where 100% of people below the time are false starts, and 100% of clean starts are above the time. That's 0.1 to 0.15 - so they took the conservative end of the range.

Lets see what's on the goggle box...

Jack Reacher never go back -atandard thriller 5/10
                      Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy- over long/slightly boring and difficult to follow when beering 4/10
                      Safe House- despite the big names just ok 6/10
                      Godzilla king of the monsters -YES! rushes out to buy beer and popcorn

Watched a really nice little film late last night "whistle down the wind" black and white and made in 1961
                      Simple story about 3 kids who find a man (murderer on the run) hiding in their barn and come to believe its Jesus incarnate. Nostalgic/charming/funny 8.5/10
                      on YouTube if anyone interested

for all other athletes taking medication to alter testosterone levels is doping / cheating
                        I don't think that correct tbh. It's doping to increase test levels with drugs obviously. But there's no rule that says you can't lower test levels afaik.
                        WADA ban specific drugs, some of them might lower test and be banned because they also mask PED use. But I'm sure there are others that lower test that aren't banned.
                        The pill is the obvious one. It's basically estrogen, so taking should suppress testosterone. But I don't think female athletes are banned for being on the pill.

I may have misunderstood what you were saying regarding Semenya. I was saying it's insane to let her compete as it is.

Brother is heading to Kenmare next month and was looking for Restaurant recommendations. Outside of Jack’s do you lads have any other gems.
                          Unfortunately, I've only ever driven through Kenmare and have never stopped to eat so can't recommend anywhere.

Upon googling Kenmare restaurants, some nice looking places pop up though so hopefully he finds something good.

If he finds himself wanting a Kebab after a few pints, Efe is a Turkish man with a chipper there for about 25 years now. Always uses fresh lamb and pitta bread. Worth getting if he likes a kebab anyway. They're top class and not the usual slop you get in Irish chippers.

Olympics are all about finding out who the best in the world in a given event. Only a few can realistically claim that, ergo it is niche.
                            Olympian is a niche pursuit. Nothing wrong with that.​​​
                            You're kinda conflating niche with elite. Not really the same thing. Being the best in the world at any sport does not make you automatically niche.

Obviously niche sports exist. Like ultimate frisbee, or chess-boxing, or some olympic events. But many olympic sports are pretty mainstream. 100s of millions taking part and competing. Some outliers have to emerge.
                            That makes them elite not niche.

Relative to what ? As a tighthead prop they are usually very strong. No doubt I’d come last I’m an unfit middle aged man not an Olympic athlete. The winner probably has so much juice in her she’ll be dead by 40.
                            Relative to the average person. Or any group you like really.

And I didn't mean you now specifically. At any age, it would still apply. At 25, or when every your athletic peak was you'd have no chance. I'd have no chance. Same goes for any non-trained weightlifter, even if they were a relatively strong bloke.

Hubbard was a junior record holder as a heavyweight male, years of training and competing. And his best lift as a male wouldn't have podiumed in the women's. Qualification was the ceiling, as there's quite a spread between first and last lifter. It's a shallow division sport.

The chips from the van in the square are epic (and I know you are an expert). My kids got some on Friday and I had to steal half of them.

Didn't go into any restaurants.
                              The wine shop has an amazing selection and Puccinis does great coffee.

The chips from the van in the square are epic (and I know you are an expert). My kids got some on Friday and I had to steal half of them.

Have you a saver on the bokke 2-1 for series. What do lions have to do to win. Have you enjoyed the games thought the second game was woeful leather the ball hope for turnovers the South Africans won a World Cup doing it.

both games were absolutely shite.

Hopefully they both lose the last game.

Rubbish series.

I don't think that correct tbh. It's doping to increase test levels with drugs obviously. But there's no rule that says you can't lower test levels afaik.
                                    WADA ban specific drugs, some of them might lower test and be banned because they also mask PED use. But I'm sure there are others that lower test that aren't banned.
                                    The pill is the obvious one. It's basically estrogen, so taking should suppress testosterone. But I don't think female athletes are banned for being on the pill.

I may have misunderstood what you were saying regarding Semenya. I was saying it's insane to let her compete as it is.
                                    I'm saying it's not.
                                    She's being punished because of a genetic mutation

Have you a saver on the bokke 2-1 for series. What do lions have to do to win. Have you enjoyed the games thought the second game was woeful leather the ball hope for turnovers the South Africans won a World Cup doing it.
                                      I'm feeling cheated on my 3-0 bet as this is clearly a terrible Lions team. Made it all back and more though backing SA -13 last Saturday.

Feeling vindicated in my dismissal of Hogg as a show pony.

Feeling like I don't give a shite who wins though. Two teams playing garbage rugby, coached by two dislikable pricks in a series that shouldn't be played. Not enough Irish interest either which is annoying when you look at some of the donkeys getting a run.

Just adding to the recent fish shack love. Post 40ft dip fish n chips followed by Teddy's 99 was a winner. Pity about the lack of sun

You are looking at it from the pov of a comparatively rich person with a successful life plan. Giving that up to spend 50 hours a week of lonely tough training to be heat-fodder in the 5K or 14th in the kayaking isn't an attractive proposition.
                                          But if your alternate lifepath was at the Tesco checkout, the Eircom call-centre or the warehouse loading bay then it might look different - a €30K grant to keep playing your sport, and multiple paid trips abroad to see parts of the world you'd likely never otherwise get to. And the chance that you might eventually get the big win (presumably when they start out they all believe they'll be the winner). It's a no-brainer for a lot of athletes, even more so in poorer parts of the world.

Having said that there is doubtless some who had a more difficult decision - if a lucrative career in law or finance or something like awaited them then it's a tough call. Go the sports route and you could end up in your thirties with no victories or money to your name and have to 'start over'. Or take the career and be that boring middle-aged businessman who tells us all how he was a 14:00 5Ker or Leinster champion swimmer in his youth and wonders whimsically whether he should have stuck with it.
                                          This is pure working class porn, Roddy Doyleyevsky. Your average Irish athlete isn't facing the Tesco warehouse as an alternative in life. They are generally from quite rich families that could afford to send them to niche sports. Boxing as a very rare exception. Do many folks in Devaney Gardens do rowing lessons.

And fund accounting is the real Irish Olympics.

It's mad how angry Taleb is all the time now, this is just so mean spirited: https://twitter.com/nntaleb/status/1...155186692?s=20

This is pure working class porn, Roddy Doyleyevsky. Your average Irish athlete isn't facing the Tesco warehouse as an alternative in life. They are generally from quite rich families that could afford to send them to niche sports. Boxing as a very rare exception. Do many folks in Devaney Gardens do rowing lessons.
                                                You are displaying your own prejudices if the mention of call-centres, checkouts or working in a warehouse conjures up comparisons with Roddy Doyle or Fyodor D.
                                                They are all perfectly normal respectable jobs which people from across the whole strata of society end up doing.

I was brought up in the shadows of O'Devaney Gardens flats - one of my friends from there has a daughter who seems to be winning everything in her age group in that BMX racing thing, though I have no idea how that compares to the euro/world standard. There was another decent kayaker from there who started on the Liffey and the canal, though never quite made it beyond Irish level. And plenty of us took part in Judo/Taekwondo/Karate without ultimately being much good, though if we were then they are cheap and cheerful sports unlike your rowing example. It's not just boxing and soccer for the O'Devaney people.

Wha. You are the one presenting the olympics as their glorious escape from these futures, not me.

Ya won’t see many from the inner city playing cricket rugby or gaa in fairness.

Wha. You are the one presenting the olympics as their glorious escape from these futures, not me.
                                                      Not at all. You are the one who brought the working class thing in, bizarrely interpreting what I said as being Roddy Doyle-esque.
                                                      Remember, you'd suggested that it was a poor life plan to play a niche sport, even to an Olympic standard.
                                                      I replied that there was very little downside if you could get decent grant money and travel the world, if the alternative was working in a menial job. By no means a glorious escape, but a fairly straightforward decision.

I don't see that's there anything 'class-related' or Barrytown in what I said, as people from posh areas and backgrounds end up in nothing jobs as well.

It's mad how angry Taleb is all the time now, this is just so mean spirited: https://twitter.com/nntaleb/status/1...155186692?s=20
                                                        Lol. Financial porn network. He’s making a fair point in a sarky way…most stuff is complete and utter backward looking noise.

Ya won’t see many from the inner city playing cricket rugby or gaa in fairness.
                                                          In fairness to rugby (and if you remember back in the boards.ie bbv days we had some runs in about it) it has made huge efforts in the D1/D7 area.
                                                          I remember making the point that when I was in school that we had a noticeboard where every sport, obscure and mainstream put up a 'join us for training, all welcome' notice. With the noticeable exception of rugby. But by all accounts that has changed and they now go into these schools looking for people. It might well take a generation to have an effect though.

GAA still struggles, which is quite strange when you can see Croke Park on the horizon. I've often wondered is it a space thing, the corpo fulfils it's sporting remit by building a sports area with a 7-a-side soccer pitch/goals and a perpendicular basketball court with bonus tennis markings. Whereas something for GAA would be two or three times the size which is considered a waste of land?

Cricket - a few of us actually played street cricket every summer - chalk markings on the wall for a wicket, and lampposts for boundaries. And ventured up to Phoenix CC the odd time to play 4-a-side with our one shared bat and improvised wickets, but rarely got more than 30 minutes before being ran off by the groundsman. I think such street cricket is gone though sadly.

I just don't get olympics, compared to say professional sports like football. What's the life plan after misallocating all of your youth to something that niche so people can sit on a couch and critique your performance.
                                                            Are you satisfied with how your life plan worked out? Are any of us?

Highly intelligent guy, loads of education but is being a professor on a decent wage in DCU some sort of pinnacle of achievement given the natural abilities and family support you had to start with?

Like any of us who had that sort of background earning 100k~200kpa by your mid 40s is almost inevitable bar you didn’t fuck it up or decide that you wanted something different from life.

Contrast that with an athletically gifted person who spends 10-15 years primarily dedicated to their sport (but likely developing themselves academically if they have the ability). I’m not sure they end up any worse off….

For example, if a young Hitch had been very good at something like badminton say, I think he could still be a professor in DCU in his mid 40s and maybe have had a lot of travel in his 20s and even more sexual experiences! Would that have been a misallocation of your time?

This is great btw. Trying to ease down from twitter rather than go full cold turkey, so appreciate this.

Just need to work out now if it's AJ or V4V who are 'literally worse than hitler'.

Not sure V4V there's any point looking back in the past and imagining making better, or even just different, decisions.

You could have shuttled your cock more often.

As a main practical point I would be hesitant about over-pushing kids on any sports. It's fundamentally a distraction and Olympic folk are the ultimate distracted.

Lol. Financial porn network. He’s making a fair point in a sarky way…most stuff is complete and utter backward looking noise.
                                                                      Is it? Are you talking about the exact column he called out by name? It's just a roundup of the latest financial news. Is he making the point that we should do away with newspapers and only read books?

I think its pretty likely the journalist in question annoyed him and he's lashing out.

The chips in Clara Lara were surprisingly good (for frozen). Was in Old Street on Saturday night and the chips were awful.

Not sure V4V there's any point looking back in the past and imagining making better, or even just different, decisions.
                                                                          But thinking about our own lives with the addition of some sporting talent is the only way we can consider if whether pursuing an Olympic goal would have materially reduced the quality of our future lives.

Take myself for example. I played a lot of sports poorly and enjoyed them all in my teenage years.

But say I happened to be good at judo and had dedicated myself to it ( I was half decent but didn’t get much coaching and didn’t pursue it). I don’t think if I’d been good enough to win Irish titles and maybe qualify for an Olympics it would have hampered my subsequent career to any meaningful extent. It would probably have helped it to be honest in some small way. And certainly would have meant I was in better physical shape…

As a main practical point I would be hesitant about over-pushing kids on any sports. It's fundamentally a distraction and Olympic folk are the ultimate distracted.
                                                                          Ultimate distraction implies there is some fundamentally correct way to live your life.

Most of us live very ordinary lives and enjoying it rather than making an impact should be our goal.

Very few will make an impact so theres no point in pushing anything. And it’s questionable if those who make an impact are ultimately any happier than anyone else. If the kid enjoys something then support them. Art, academic studies, sport etc.

Btw I was laughing at myself responding to your original post as I knew this was just part of your Twitter withdrawal program. Basically I’m supplying you with methadone…

Hitch is enraged because Vlads Lads are having to compete under a flag of convenience imo.

Is it? Are you talking about the exact column he called out by name? It's just a roundup of the latest financial news. Is he making the point that we should do away with newspapers and only read books?

I think its pretty likely the journalist in question annoyed him and he's lashing out.
                                                                              No it’s more a general comment. There’s a financial adviser I read who refers to all the breathless financial coverage on the likes of CNBC etc. as the financial porn network and as time goes on the more i find myself agreeing.

I think the point is to focus on the long term fundamentals and then stick with the plan. If you are busy consuming every daily listicle briefing article then you are just being distracted by noise.

As for Taleb and that particular journo I have no idea.

Hitch is enraged because Vlads Lads are having to compete under a flag of convenience imo.
                                                                                They are getting more coverage under the name ROC then if they were there as Russia. Stupid idea imo.

You could have shuttled your cock more often.
                                                                                  I’d say young Nhat Nyugen will do very well for himself over the next two Olympic cycles and still be under 30!

They are getting more coverage under the name ROC then if they were there as Russia. Stupid idea imo.
                                                                                    Agree. They shouldn't be there.

We really do some epic chips in this country.

Golf update (for Collie) New irons are savage. Hcap now lowest it’s ever been 3.7. Not finishing off scores at the moment but feel a really low one will happen soon. Hitting some ridiculous tee shots with the sim 2. Drove it in green side bunker at 390 yard hole down about 10mph wind.

Personally and professionally my martial arts background helped open a lot of doors and other things in my youth ​​​​​​

I got to see dozens of European cities before I was 18 and went to california before I was 12.
                                                                                          Not bad for a bucko from ballyfermot

Just don't go all Chinese parent on them, forbidding sports because schoolwork is what's important.
                                                                                            I sense you and the wife aren't big into sports, do they have auntie/uncles who'd be bringing them to matches or pointing them towards local clubs, local soccer teams, cul camps etc.
                                                                                            If not it's probably something you should think about rectifying. It's really much more than 'fundamentally a distraction'. Even as a simple example, it's a way to healthy widen your circle of friends.
                                                                                            Without sport, you can end up at 40 where you are an accountant whose only friends are fellow accountants (spoiler, they are actually colleagues, not friends).

Like any of us who had that sort of background earning 100k~200kpa by your mid 40s is almost inevitable bar you didn’t fuck it up or decide that you wanted something different from life.
                                                                                              What age does one officially hit mid-40s? Asking for a.....me

The chips in Clara Lara were surprisingly good (for frozen). Was in Old Street on Saturday night and the chips were awful.
                                                                                                Malahide is very hit or miss for dining imo (as is Clontarf). Surprising given how much €€€ are in the local market, or maybe that is the reason.

49 imo.

Golf update (for Collie) New irons are savage. Hcap now lowest it’s ever been 3.7. Not finishing off scores at the moment but feel a really low one will happen soon. Hitting some ridiculous tee shots with the sim 2. Drove it in green side bunker at 390 yard hole down about 10mph wind.
                                                                                                    Unreal! Unreal feeling when cap is lowest ever. really encourages you to put more time in. I’m down to a 0.5 now and I’ve made a little plan for myself to get me to a plus (mostly involves putting practice haha)

You have convinced me. I’m gonna play my Sim2.

Currently gaming an Epic Max (the new Callaway one). I actually have a Sim2 sitting here beside me in the office with no shaft in it. Taylormade sent me 2(! I know it was a mistake but I called them and they said “if it keeps you a Taylormade customer keep em both!) when I sent my m5 back due to the face caving in. I traded the first one for the Epic and then have kept the second one sitting around since.

I’m gonna put the Sim2 in the bag now. You’ve got the Sim2 irons too?

My bag is a mish mash, callaway driver and wedges, Titleist ap2 irons and hybrid, taylormade 3wood.

my headcovers get me a bit of abuse on the course for all being different.

which reminds me, these guys do very very very nice leather headcovers!

Beautiful premium leather golf headcovers handcrafted by skilled leather workers in Nova Scotia, Canada. Choose from our original designs or create your own!

Meh, I think the most important thing for a kid (and adult tbh) is the ability to build a wide and diverse network.

Both education and sports help in that regard.

Focusing singularly on one or the other is silly.

Unreal! Unreal feeling when cap is lowest ever. really encourages you to put more time in. I’m down to a 0.5 now and I’ve made a little plan for myself to get me to a plus (mostly involves putting practice haha)

You have convinced me. I’m gonna play my Sim2.

Currently gaming an Epic Max (the new Callaway one). I actually have a Sim2 sitting here beside me in the office with no shaft in it. Taylormade sent me 2(! I know it was a mistake but I called them and they said “if it keeps you a Taylormade customer keep em both!) when I sent my m5 back due to the face caving in. I traded the first one for the Epic and then have kept the second one sitting around since.

I’m gonna put the Sim2 in the bag now. You’ve got the Sim2 irons too?

My bag is a mish mash, callaway driver and wedges, Titleist ap2 irons and hybrid, taylormade 3wood.

my headcovers get me a bit of abuse on the course for all being different.

which reminds me, these guys do very very very nice leather headcovers!

https://dormieworkshop.com/
                                                                                                        The new hcap system is great as we have a bit of competition between us who can get the lowest. One guy who is 1.7 is about to go up as he has 4 great scores going in a row and he’s playing shite. (Probably 5 of us around 3-4 at the moment.

Got the P770’s took a few rounds to get used to them but love them now.

still waiting on my new sim2 fairway wood. After that I’ll have the perfect bag (have an old ping rescue that I doubt I’ll ever change)

headcovers look slick
                                                                                                        Last edited by elbows; 02-08-21, 19:29.

The new hcap system is great as we have a bit of competition between us who can get the lowest. One guy who is 1.7 is about to go up as he has 4 great scores going in a row and he’s playing shite. (Probably 5 of us around 3-4 at the moment.

Got the P770’s took a few rounds to get used to them but love them now.

still waiting on my new sim2 fairway wood. After that I’ll have the perfect bag (have an old ping rescue that I doubt I’ll ever change)
                                                                                                          I had no experience with the old system but I think the new one is great. Mine is gonna go back up here soon too I think. I’m close to losing a few low ones and I’ve put in a few very high ones lately.

I’ve heard a few people complain about the new system.

ah yes, the 770s are trampolines man, such a good feel.

I am being slowly convinced to get a full bag fitting from a buddy of mine, he thinks it made a huge difference for him. I’m not sure I see the benefit tbh but I think I’d like the fitting process.

I had no experience with the old system but I think the new one is great. Mine is gonna go back up here soon too I think. I’m close to losing a few low ones and I’ve put in a few very high ones lately.

I’ve heard a few people complain about the new system.

ah yes, the 770s are trampolines man, such a good feel.

I am being slowly convinced to get a full bag fitting from a buddy of mine, he thinks it made a huge difference for him. I’m not sure I see the benefit tbh but I think I’d like the fitting process.
                                                                                                            The great thing about the new system for me is you can see everyone’s scores from the club. Also you can put in scores when playing away and not in competition which I love.

The 790’s were more trampolines than the 770’s. They softened the lofts a bit but they still go a club longer than my old ones. I’m not a fitting guy really. I know what feels right and what doesn’t pretty quickly. So driver hit 5 shots with 2 heads 2 shafts and found one pretty quickly (only my brother doing it in the range) for the irons I went to Taylormade fitting and the guy was really good. Probably took about 5 different shafts with different lie angles to get it right and then hit 7 or 8 shots with tight dispersion and sold.

Malahide is very hit or miss for dining imo (as is Clontarf). Surprising given how much €€€ are in the local market, or maybe that is the reason.
                                                                                                              Yeah it is missing a really decent high end restaurant.

The food in the fine dining part of Bon Apetit was great until they closed it.

Kajjal is probably my favourite as there is a decent buzz there and food is always pretty good.

Old Street have an amazing space (they spent a fortune on doing it up) and it’s never been right IMO. Think it would work better as a cocktail bar that does really good tapas and played music. (before COVID anyway)

Am I being unreasonable?

Degree and masters/work qualifications. 20+ years experience. Likely people management experience and responsibilities. Living and working in Dublin….

If it ain’t happening then there’s a problem or a specific decision or reason imo.

Argumentative cunce is argumentative shock horror!

I suppose its his rigorous analysis of the crypto scams that has your back up against him, I was kind of expecting you to come along today regurgitating some of this absolute steaming pile of claptrap.

But then I wasn't going to take the bait based on another recent tweet from NNT

I'd never be that harsh and I'd really rather understand any sustainable use case that is not based on criminality

I don't know. Like, can they definitively say that someone who started at 0.099 seconds consciously started before the gun and someone who started at 0.101 didn't? Maybe they can but i'd imagine that reaction times can potentially vary alot between competitors. Reaction times probably get better as time goes on also. World records are constantly improving in disciplines due to better training, nutrition etc etc so it stands to reason reaction times are also.

I guess that while there is no perfect way of doing it, it's getting the best way. Maybe they should just scrap the reaction times totally and if you start within .0001 seconds of the bell, fair play to you; but if you false start it's an instant DQ? May be a terrible idea, i know very little about it.
                                                                                                                    Surely you simply set the line at 0.00.
                                                                                                                    Anyone before that definitely started before the gun
                                                                                                                    anything later than zero may have anticipated it or may have unbelievably fast reaction times
                                                                                                                    but it's at least possible they're legal so carry on.

Automatic disqualification for a false start
                                                                                                                    is the most effective way of counteracting
                                                                                                                    an athlete trying to anticipate the gun.
                                                                                                                    At least now when they take the risk
                                                                                                                    they know for sure it's not a free roll.

Am I being unreasonable?

Degree and masters/work qualifications. 20+ years experience. Likely people management experience and responsibilities. Living and working in Dublin….

If it ain’t happening then there’s a problem or a specific decision or reason imo.
                                                                                                                      Nope, not being unreasonable at all. Resonated as it's heavily on my mind lately. Just hit 40 and am house hunting and realising it'd be a lot easier if I'd made some better career decisions which I'm currently trying to rectify

Had this chat with myself 10 years ago. Work is a game and not a vocation.

Once you internalise that and make peace with it then you have to be somewhat ambitious on behalf of future you and your family. Not making a decision is a decision and it’s too easy to let inertia hurt you.

The good news is you can rectify it and you’re on it.

filedata/fetch?id=1699087&d=1627940250&type=thumb Best one yet