Spent 8.50 euro on a vanishingly small pack of asparagus called 'white asparagus of Gironde'. Guessing its spectacular at that price. The internet suggests that simply frying it is the way to go?
      Boil them in hot water (between 5-10 minutes), some people pan them in a bit of butter afterwards to give them some colour (I don't) . Then serve them with either a hollandaise sauce, or a vinaigrette. Personally I much prefer a nice mustardy vinaigrette

A fantastic show. That was season 1 travelling through Asia, season 2 just finished last week travelling from Mexico, through South America and finishing in Argentina at the worlds most southerly point. Season 3 is open for applications now. Not sure where they're going but through Africa would make a great show.
        The crowd who won the second season surely cheated? Like, the teams next year are going to
        show up with bags full of shitty MP3 players to bribe their way through the poor countries
        ?

The crowd who won the second season surely cheated? Like, the teams next year are going to
          show up with bags full of shitty MP3 players to bribe their way through the poor countries
          ?
          Only saw them doing that once. Thought it was pretty good by them tbh. I suppose BBC could make a rule against that kind of thing but at the end of the day its about getting to the finish line first, on a budget, not using a plane.

Massive Deja vu when watching Normal People so much so that it was really weirding me out at points. After doing a bit of digging I realized I had read the book. Many of the characters and scenes are exactly like the picture that played in my head when reading it. I don't remember thinking much of the book at the time but the TV series does an incredible job of bringing it to life. The two leads are fantastic.

Only saw them doing that once. Thought it was pretty good by them tbh. I suppose BBC could make a rule against that kind of thing but at the end of the day its about getting to the finish line first, on a budget, not using a plane.
              If your budget can include stuff you bring from home it sort of invalidates the budget surely

They're allowed to work to make some money along the way too. If it's a big issue I'm sure they'll put a rule in place. Seemed fine to me. Not like they had a big bag of iPods and were using them to blag free stuff all the time. They worked at various things tbf and that was their last throw of the dice

Boil them in hot water (between 5-10 minutes), some people pan them in a bit of butter afterwards to give them some colour (I don't) . Then serve them with either a hollandaise sauce, or a vinaigrette. Personally I much prefer a nice mustardy vinaigrette
                  You and your mustard!

Provided to YouTube by Universal Music GroupMean Mr Mustard (2019 Mix) · The BeatlesAbbey Road℗ 2019 Calderstone Productions Limited (a Division of Universal...

I'm having a lovely lockdown

Well now, you're posting in a place where politics is treated as a team sport, and there are lots of FG jerseys pulled snugly around the shoulders. My favourite recent example of this was Varadkar's announcement that he had reregistered as a doctor being salivated upon to much thanks for how it would 'melt the heads' of his critics or some such.

I'm personally of the view that a national Public Health emergency is a time to give the sitting government a lot of leeway. That said, it's valid to question the cosiness of last night's chat. To be honest, Tubs has always been a terrible interviewer, and gets it wrong in all sorts of scenarios. We should be wary of softball prime time tv on the national broadcaster for a leader at any point. If it's a political broadcast or national statement it should be presented in that way.

The nursing home stuff and testing backlogs are areas where the government has performed poorly in reacting to this crisis. That said, overall they have done an excellent job in trying circumstances. The roadmap released yesterday is pitched at the right level of detail and strikes the right notes imo. They also deserve credit for not trying to fudge or obfuscate numbers that indicate failings in the way their UK counterparts have done and continue to do so. That more than any other thing will help to maintain trust and support from the public.
                      Never agreed with a post more, spot on

I'm having a lovely lockdown
                        Same. Have actually enjoyed it. Sorted all the things in the house that I wanted done. Had a lovely break off work. Had fun training the dogs. And got into a half decent running and exercise routine. Also enjoyed the craic in the kitchen and have found some new dishes that I'll make regularly although I bought burgers for tomorrow cos I want a fucking burger lol.

What if you had a brilliant surgeon say cardiologist and he was a bit chubby would you not heed his advice cos he likes a few cakes.
                          If he is a brilliant cardiologist then he has proved his knowledge by going to college, being recognised in his field etc.

I started it a few weeks ago too, finding the sessions grand but legs are in bits for days after it. Very tender shins and a nagging pain at the back of my ankle. Am using good but old runners. Assuming this is not the common experience?
                            Very much the common experience when starting. Build up the distance gently and allow enough rest time between runs, though eventually the more often you get out the easier it is.

Stretching and warming up before and do some post run stretching. Get a foam roller and a physio ball for the bits that connect hips to the lower back and spend a few minutes a day using them.

weight loss is largely a psychological endeavour imo. Which is why I think finding what works for the individual is the best advice.
                            ++ This

Very much the common experience when starting. Build up the distance gently and allow enough rest time between runs, though eventually the more often you get out the easier it is.

Stretching and warming up before and do some post run stretching. Get a foam roller and a physio ball for the bits that connect hips to the lower back and spend a few minutes a day using them.

++ This
                              Got a back baller last week and have used it every day. Have had 100% pain free runs for the first time in years. For 60 quid, I'd recommend it. It comes with all the exercises printed on the side of it and is so easy to use

?
                                The story of how the show was made is just as interesting as the show itself. Would definitely read a cameraman's diary, especially the one who had to do the London to Singapore trip twice.

Before the race, two assistant producers conducted a recce research trip to assess the feasibility of such a journey within the budget constraints. All likely bus and train journeys were assessed beforehand. Visas were applied for the countries along all possible routes before the race as well as any necessary vaccinations for these countries

During the race, each team had two film crew members who travelled along with them. All decisions, however, were made by the racers and the crew cannot interfere with their choices. A director of photography travelled behind the teams for additional location filming. To ensure the safety of the racers, there may be local fixers and security advisers who observed the racers from a distance, and medical support vehicle also travelled an hour behind the team in some countries.

Can't imagine Africa could be a serious option from a risk perspective unfortunately.

Sorry if I missed someone already posting it.

A bed time story of how it started, and why hindsight’s 2020. 🛌 🧸 - First performed online in response to the Covid-19 pandemic, Tomfoolery’s heartfelt poe...

Music King final really delivered I feel, great stuff lads.

A pretty good game this time around, some cracking tunes. Well done all. Really well ran too Denny, nice and quick, no fucking about.

Got a back baller last week and have used it every day. Have had 100% pain free runs for the first time in years. For 60 quid, I'd recommend it. It comes with all the exercises printed on the side of it and is so easy to use
                                      Just bought one there now. Back jogging after calf injury. Back was tight despite plenty of lower back loosened

Did my calf in 3 times last year. Got physio etc
                                        7 month break now anything above a very mild jog and can feel the same niggle which is s precursor to full injury.
                                        Just walking now with press ups, crunches, squats etc

Physio..
                                        "Do these exercises for the glutes they will take the workload off the calves"

"Am i not a big enough arse already"

Cant tell you how much I miss the feeling from running.

ActionFreak who was considered Galfond's toughest challenge is currently get destroyed. Phil is up €416k so far after a little under 3000 hands.

Jungleman talking some shit on this podcast before his match with Phil is good fun. The match starts in a few days.

On this week's episode of The Rake podcast, hosts Marle Cordeiro & Jamie Kerstetter talk to legendary poker personality Dan "Jungleman" Cates about aliens, c...

Numerous states in America are actively killing their citizens as of today.

Cheap amazon ones are surprisingly robust and do the job perfectly well.

I got the one in Lidl. Wasn't planning on getting one initially but using ziplock bags and straws is just messing.

The meat thermometers in IKEA are a great job and cheap as chips. If feeling fancy you could try the Silicon Valley version: https://meater.com/
                                              I think I'll give that Ikea job a go. Meater loos good, but very expensive for simply eletronics.

My new favourite YouTube channel!

There's Boris, Bolsonaro, and Trump - the three idiot-amigos-in-chief.
                                                    One of those is not like the others.

]The Trump Derangement Syndrome that WorldBoFree has is truly incredible. A complete mind-****ing, the dude is fully gone in the head.

This narrative where the WHO, Fauci, Birx etc did their job well but weren't listened to doesn't pass the most basic of bullshit tests:

1. It doesn't pass a comparison test. The main countries in Western Europe have the same population as the US, and have 140K dead while being far from done yet.

2. Birx herself openly and candidly admits that US medical experts - the entire community - didn't take this as seriously as they should have. They were expecting a SARS containment scenario, not this, and acted accordingly. Birx blames China's lies for this

3. The "But For" test does not fall on Trump. It falls on the incompetent socialist "big government" experts. Trump did everything right early in late January - banned travelers from the main infection hotspot, established a broad task force including all the longstanding (Obama era and earlier) pandemic experts to deal with it. Tests began ramping early. What happened is that the NIH, CDC and others under Fauci/Birx, and longstanding procedure completely ****ed up the tests on three levels:

- They prevented private industry making as per longstanding procedure
                                                    - They only made one test, failing to parallelize development as any sane competent person who thought there was a chance this could be very serious would do
                                                    - The scientists screwed up the actual tests, which nuked the early strong ramp that was happening
                                                    - Even after this screwup, Fauci/Birx did not push for private industry involvement (Trump loves the private sector and would sign off on that in a heartbeat), wasting precious more weeks.

The nature of the ****up above alone shows they did either did not think it would be serious or they are completely incompetent.

But for this screwup of the experts, the US would be like Korea. Without testing there's nothing you can do short of total lockdown, a lockdown you'd have to push without the evidence there's danger and widespread sickness. No tests means no intelligence, and no intelligence means compete inability to act with conidence. Pelosi, the NY Mayor and others were openly telling others to go and enjoy ChinaTown, live their lives, hug each other, and don't be afraid of the virus. Fauci and Birx were openly saying over and over the risk to the US was very low. As were medical experts on CNN, saying it would be the flu. You think Trump had any hope at all of locking down NY or California even if he wanted to if this is what Democrats in NY were saying? lol?

Trump acted perfectly early, better than any Western leader by far. Once the tests were screwed up by US expert scientists, it was game over; the most competent president in the world who suspected that this would all happen could have done nothing because there was no intelligence available on US infections, without which no response was possible apart from highly damaging nationwide lockdown which no one would have accepted, especially the blue states. Fauci and Birx themselves explain this problem caused by lack of testing.

Only people who are quite mentally gone with Trump Derangement Syndrome push the narrative that this was all his fault and the experts (who they falsely claim he doesn't listen to) got it right. It's just pure delusion that doesn't fit any of the facts we have. If you actually believe Trump is to they main person to blame you REALLY need to look at your evidence evaluation abilities, just for your own personal sake, because they're not working.
                                                    USA had more time to react because Trump bought them that time by banning 99% of infectious agents from entry.

Trump handled this brilliantly from late January to late February. The best leader in the world. Early, decisive, set up a task force with Obama era experts. Everything was executing flawlessly until the tests got screwed up. Had the tests not got screwed up so terribly by the experts, you'd all be praising Trump's genius and the US would have a few thousand deaths at most.

From March he increasingly handled it poorly. The low infection numbers in the US (from the botched tests) lulled many into a false sense of security. Made decisive action impossible, particularly since the governors had to sign on (Trump lacks the power of governments in smaller countries in Europe, both constitutionally and practically in mobilizing 50 state's individual responses).

The false sense of security from the low numbers was an error of judgment. The messaging became faulty as well as a result. You can level legitimate criticism against Trump there (compare with the insane hot take of blaming him for the entire pandemic that the mainstream left wing media are pushing to China's glee). Did the mistakes for which he is responsible make much difference to the final death toll or the responses? Probably not. The red states who treated this like it was BS and locked down later are still crushing the blue states on every metric. New York has 24K dead and are adding 300/day. Florida has 1K dead and are adding 50/day. Texas has 800 dead and are adding 25/day. Both states have larger populations than NY.

this is very useful, thank you!

My new favourite YouTube channel!
                                                          He's no Fedsmoker

fedsmoker IS aliveyou are a baby raper, follow proto.. DING DINGfedsmoker, Conald Eugene Peterson, Herk, The Herkster, Saint Herkster, Herknews Godsnews, Puk...

WooHoo, the stable orange geniuses little oompa loompa is back.

May have said this before but is there anything that makes you want to puke with cringe more than someone wishing you a happy work anniversary on LinkedIn?

For me . Hmmm grown men arguing about cooking rice

Bump for music king final

No better feeling than sitting on the balcony relaxing with a book after a workout in this weather.

I could get used to this lockdown.

Bull Island is a form of paradise now that the two main forms of pestilence have been banned (cars and golfers). Apparently the bird population is at record levels.

Reads like a Hannity editorial except that there might well be some little nuggets of truth in there but it is completely negated by the emphasis on the bolded bit and the liberal sprinkling of wishful thinking about stable genius and the complete ignoring all the actual directly harmful stuff he's been doing.

Lets come back to this with an open mind in a few months and see if we can attribute a number of actual deaths on how much harm one tweet supporting the gun nut protests has.

Maybe we've misjudged him

By Donald Trump . Aged 3

Bull Island is a form of paradise now that the two main forms of pestilence have been banned (cars and golfers). Apparently the bird population is at record levels.
                                                                              No birds allowed in Royal Dublin (as members anyway)

Channel hoping, Colombo just starting on 5USA

Directed by a young Mr Steven Spielberg

Stage 2 a success Zuut. Good healthy ball of dough in the fridge. Can't wait to bake one tomorrow.

The kneading on the second stage is some workout.

US tearing each other apart even when faced with such a nasty and common foe. Its actually sickening to observe. Could a peaceful civil war/split ever happen there?

Stage 2 a success Zuut. Good healthy ball of dough in the fridge. Can't wait to bake one tomorrow.

You are very kneady (I'll get me coat )

Just watched this game. What an absolute classic. Even rewatching it, you still don't think they're going to do it.

https://youtu.be/o5UMmIMeZzQ
                                                                                            I'm in the middle of:

Strewel will probably remember some of the action. I can remember some of them from my childish memories; that was a ridiculous machine of a team, all brought together by a very political awareness and a great leader, Clive Lloyd.

Nearly through the box set I got at xmas. They really should have left it after season 7.

Ooh, I'd say so ya, originals great, most of the later ones are like a cartoon

Lockdown definitely under a bit of strain in D15 this weekend.
                                                                                                    Lots of bouncy castles in front gardens, and a couple of parties on the go in back gardens at the moment.

Its almost nice to hear some noise again.

Boring update, didn't eat any meat since Sunday. It wasn't difficult at all, had some really nice veggie meals. Still skulling beer at an atrocious rate so can't say whether I feel any better or worse

Lots of bouncy castles in front gardens, and a couple of parties on the go in back gardens at the moment.

I think they may be missing a trick by not giving out some idea of what their idea of 'low enough' numbers look like in terms of new cases, ICU patients etc. It could give people something to focus on if they called out some level of transmission because you feel you have some influence over things.

Whats with all this missing a trick talk, are people playing 25 or something

Well it's a fairly common turn of phrase to be fair, although probably not appropriate in every context!

Not all heroes wear capes!

I found the last week fairly tough to be honest but having any semblance of a plan laid out this evening was like a weight lifting off the chest.
                                                                                                                I am finding this pretty peaceful except for the 10 mins around 6pm when my phone beeps and tells me the numbers, stopped watching News and seriously cut down my scrolling on Twitter, christ has there even been a more horrible piece of software that has caused as much damaged to the World?

Untouched my hole!!

You've had sneaky few sweets admit it!!
                                                                                                                Nope promise. Would never rob a child's birthday present. I can take pic but that requires pulling out laptop to upload and I'm far too lazy for that lol.
                                                                                                                My routine was getting up at 7.30 am going to work home dinner few vinos bed, asleep by 11. 30, 12 ish

Routine now bed anywhere between 2 am to 4 am get up anywhere from 12pm to 2 pm some days just stay in bed all day long bored off my tits.

Any paint jobs, spring cleaning, gardening all done so now I'm starting to get really down in myself and it's deffo effecting me . I've no graw or willpower to stick to anything. It's just like ah cant be arsed, be grand I'll start next week shur I've all the time in the world now.

Main hobbies drinking and eating not even a graw for online poker.

I'd describe my current self like something off a channel 4 reality show tbh.
                                                                                                                Try to get back into your own schedule, if like my the despair of what we are facing has numbed a bit, might be time to pick up something new, I can't recommend youtube enough for improving computer skills etc if you were so inclined!! Udemy isnt bad for Business type courses etc

I have to admit that I cracked today, 8 weeks now in the house, and the girls said they wanted to go for a drive... 10 mins later we were in the car out for about 20 mins, Jesus a lot of people out walking etc around Clonsilla, the park @ the big roundabout by power city has closed it's car park but everyone has parked in the school up the road, ton of people just lying around park... didn't see play area's Would think by looking at it, we may end up rolling back some of these phases!

Decided imma be a Poker "Pro" for May.

Fuck all else to do and Leo paying me 1600 snots a month towards my meagre real life salary.

Night 1 summary....

Into Day 2 of Party Million game near the 25 x investments return

played a shedload of other shite fora 1.5x return, meh.

Then aftwer opeming bottle trhee if Alkbai Rioja jumped intom 50c .1dolla cash

was soon in 2/4 dolla cash

they all left

tldr back 2mrw in m new jurb
                                                                                                                  Burst day 2 of the Million game near the bubble with the ol' AA. Then bust the WPT with da kingers. Made day 2 of some and other yoke and won a few more Tdolla all the while polishing off two bottles or not so bad Merlot. Ahhh its the life of a poker pro for me. Wife starting to look at me funny.

Not all heroes wear capes!
                                                                                                                    This exchange deserves more love than it's gotten, wp Hitch..

On the other hand, most gyms are nothing like they are presented on tv. I'd guess the median age in the one I went to was about 70.

This exchange deserves more love than it's gotten, wp Hitch..

he's wrong though, almost every single golf course (irish and elsewhere) has a functions room available for rent for parties/weddings/bar mitzvahs...

That's shifting the goalposts slightly don't you think?
                                                                                                                          Surely a golf course reopening doesn't include clubhouse bar/function room