• dobby
    replied
    Keep getting dragged out of retirement for these games Dobby ye bollox ​​​​​​
    Now I'm going to have to go out and get screwed in a tourney and then clean up in Omaha cash

At least that's the way I've been remembering it!
    Make yourself known on Sunday

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    Bagged 254k. Back Sunday at midday to 3k/6k. A wild ride that was today. Crippled twice at different points, including being down to 15k at 1k/2k after an AK v A6 car crash on A62 flop and just hung in there and grinded until I got a gin hand.

Utg1 shoved. I'm in cutoff with King's and shove. Last time I did this I showed 55 v AQ and held. So button calls with Queens and bb comes along with 88. Utg1 has 99 and we hold in a 4 way all in for 270k in the 2nd last level of the night.

Leave a comment:

• NewApproach
    replied
    I also happened upon a post and stepped out a 5 year poker retirement… a surprisingly tolerable experience, I must be mellowing

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied
    Keep getting dragged out of retirement for these games Dobby ye bollox ​​​​​​
    Now I'm going to have to go out and get screwed in a tourney and then clean up in Omaha cash

At least that's the way I've been remembering it!

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied

You mightn't recognise him with the extra 2kg he's carrying
    Recognised him alright. Hank Scorpio never changes. And also had the pleasure to see him spin a 7k, 3bb stack up to North of 50k in 5 hands. Was very impressive

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied
    This is why “the far right” getting an audience in some communities , dump people in the already resource starved areas, subtly block them from landing on you own doorstep because you can do it with a nod and a wink- then gaslight anyone who expressed even reasonable concerns and lump them in with the “Ireland is Full” crew.

Figures released by the Department of Integration to Social Democrats TD Gary Gannon have confirmed what we already knew: the wealthiest neighbourhoods have the fewest Ukrainian war refugees and asylum seekers living among them. There are 3,335 refugees and asylum seekers being housed in Dublin 24, encompassing Tallaght, where the unemployment rate in some areas is more than 30 per cent compared to the national level of 4.4 per cent.

Dublin 6, which embraces desirable Ranelagh, has just 51 refugees and international protection applicants. The affluent, coastal constituencies of Dublin Bay South and Dún Laoghaire have the smallest numbers of such residents.
    Brother put up a former rental house for refugees He had to ring them to check was there anyone for his house after a number of months
    ​The system was a fucking shambles. Houses available and the dept charge couldn't figure it out.

He's D6 by the way

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied
    This is why “the far right” getting an audience in some communities , dump people in the already resource starved areas, subtly block them from landing on you own doorstep because you can do it with a nod and a wink- then gaslight anyone who expressed even reasonable concerns and lump them in with the “Ireland is Full” crew.

Figures released by the Department of Integration to Social Democrats TD Gary Gannon have confirmed what we already knew: the wealthiest neighbourhoods have the fewest Ukrainian war refugees and asylum seekers living among them. There are 3,335 refugees and asylum seekers being housed in Dublin 24, encompassing Tallaght, where the unemployment rate in some areas is more than 30 per cent compared to the national level of 4.4 per cent.

Dublin 6, which embraces desirable Ranelagh, has just 51 refugees and international protection applicants. The affluent, coastal constituencies of Dublin Bay South and Dún Laoghaire have the smallest numbers of such residents.
    Ah I don't know. I'm 'working' in a charity shop in Dundrum. About 30% of the customers and staff speak Russian. Not going to ask anyone if they are an refugee, or if would they would be preferred to be treated like an Irish Traveller.

Leave a comment:

• MysteryGuest
    replied

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied

Where and when is this on ?

I wish protests groups wouldnt call themselves ANTI .It should read support etc. Saying Anti Anti invites conflict whereas if you call yourself support xxxxx its a wee bit more positive. Also i'm drunk so this probably makes zero sense (as usual)
    That was
    me doing the Anti
    Think it's mostly this, lunchtime Saturday

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    Any IPBers going to the Anti-Anti-Immigration march tomorrow in Dublin? Have mixed feelings about such an event (would really like that the organisers and their funding was clear), though would like to see a big crowd regardless.
    Where and when is this on ?

I wish protests groups wouldnt call themselves ANTI .It should read support etc. Saying Anti Anti invites conflict whereas if you call yourself support xxxxx its a wee bit more positive. Also i'm drunk so this probably makes zero sense (as usual)

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied
    There really is something about the Lebanese look. Don't know what the origin of the nation is, but the men tend to be invariably scoundrels of the best kind, and the women are the absolute hottest in the world.
    Ah, I don't know. The ugliest French woman I ever met (my PE teacher, when I was 15) was way up there. An accent can go a long way, and being super fit does no harm.

Leave a comment:

• Hitchhiker's Guide To...
    replied
    There really is something about the Lebanese look. Don't know what the origin of the nation is, but the men tend to be invariably scoundrels of the best kind, and the women are the absolute hottest in the world.

Leave a comment:

replied
    The Apprentice

Sinba's a bit of a star isn't he? love how he carries himself. And, to my shame I can't remember her name, but the tall blonde lady (has lived in Dubai, I think) - surely she's getting towards the end also. Really comes across as having a great attitude.

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied
    Hot hot hot Lebanese girl in my class in Italy. As all Lebanese girls tend to be. Anyway, we're outside for the break and I'm vaping away like a sap, she brings out a fucking cigar and starts puffing away. Four breaks over seven hours and a cigar each time. Hate the smell of cigars but jaysus there's something extra hot there. Not sure I've ever seen a girl smoke a cigar.
    And then one thing led to another?

Leave a comment:

• Lao Lao
    replied
    Any IPBers going to the Anti-Anti-Immigration march tomorrow in Dublin? Have mixed feelings about such an event (would really like that the organisers and their funding was clear), though would like to see a big crowd regardless.
    I was hoping to get in but I've a few things on tomorrow so not sure if I'll make it or not now.

Would be great to get a big turnout.

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied

75k at dinner in ACOP. Having been down to 11k 2 levels before the break and hit a heater. Mad aul game.

Denny, you in?
    Yep about 50k

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    'Hot Lebanese girl pegging Irish guy with lit cigar' has no results on a Pornhub search.

Yet.

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied
    Hot hot hot Lebanese girl in my class in Italy. As all Lebanese girls tend to be. Anyway, we're outside for the break and I'm vaping away like a sap, she brings out a fucking cigar and starts puffing away. Four breaks over seven hours and a cigar each time. Hate the smell of cigars but jaysus there's something extra hot there. Not sure I've ever seen a girl smoke a cigar.
    I'd normally call a female smoking a cigar a woman, or at least I'm trying to do so.

Leave a comment:

replied

75k at dinner in ACOP. Having been down to 11k 2 levels before the break and hit a heater. Mad aul game.

Denny, you in?
    You mightn't recognise him with the extra 2kg he's carrying

Leave a comment:

replied

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    Selling % for the upcoming Dublin Poker Festival if anyone is interested in a sweat over 2 tourneys.

https://www.irishpokerboards.com/for...-festival-2023

Denny, you in?

Leave a comment:

• Lao Lao
    replied

Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can outbid your competition in proper increments. Make them respect your raises.

The world is fucked when a bid of just shy of 900K for a two bed doesn't get respect!

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    I might need to win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp in order to buy a house!
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can outbid your competition in proper increments. Make them respect your raises.

Leave a comment:

• Lao Lao
    replied

Put a bid in on a house yesterday afternoon.

It was quite a nice house in a nice area. Mrs Lao Lao loved it. I was OK with it. Price was a bit redonk and there was already two bidders but we said we'd give it a shot and bid at our absolute max amount which was 5K higher than the current bid price. It took less than 24 hours for one of the other two parties to come back and slap another 5K onto the bidding price which takes us out of the race straight away which I kind of thought might happen.

Mixed feelings - It's a pity we're out of the running but also an element of relief that the offer wasn't accepted

I might need to win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp in order to buy a house!

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

Already working on that plan by becoming a teacher.

If.you want to stick a broke student in to throw some darts, feel free.
    Paying customers only, no deadbeats.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied

Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you'll never work weekends again!
    Already working on that plan by becoming a teacher.

If.you want to stick a broke student in to throw some darts, feel free.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

Playing ACOP today because can't get tomorrow off work. Plan to jump in around 5.30ish due to my hatred of early levels. You playing today?
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you'll never work weekends again!

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    On the weight loss topic

I'm looking to lose 28 pounds approx...mostly for health reasons as I was well overweight at 15 stone (5ft 11 and 54 yes) and to take pressure off knees and back.
    Can't see where the fat is other than midsection really... prob visceral there too.
    ​​​​​ Down 9 and a bit lbs approx at this stage after nearly 6 weeks which is grand. Doing it slowly so I will stick to it.
    Cut down on booze, managing portion sizes of carbs, almost no confectionery and halved added sugar. Don't feel like I'm missing out on too much.

Also wanted to get active walking, conditioning, stretching etc which again I'm sticking too. Hoping to move into my latter years with strength, flexibility and decent cardio going for me at least.
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can book into a private clinic for liposuction. Lose weight the easy way!

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Genuinely though I've been either very lucky or very insulated in that at no point in my life did I ever care what other people might think when they see me. People have commented that I seem to have unshakeable self-confidence but honestly it's as simple as not giving even 1% of my time to worrying about what others think. Whether that's in regards to my looks, my opinions, my plans, whatever...not a single fuck is given.
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and this ridiculous level of self-confidence can be justified.

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied
    On the weight loss topic

I'm looking to lose 28 pounds approx...mostly for health reasons as I was well overweight at 15 stone (5ft 11 and 54 yes) and to take pressure off knees and back.
    Can't see where the fat is other than midsection really... prob visceral there too.
    ​​​​​ Down 9 and a bit lbs approx at this stage after nearly 6 weeks which is grand. Doing it slowly so I will stick to it.
    Cut down on booze, managing portion sizes of carbs, almost no confectionery and halved added sugar. Don't feel like I'm missing out on too much.

Also wanted to get active walking, conditioning, stretching etc which again I'm sticking too. Hoping to move into my latter years with strength, flexibility and decent cardio going for me at least.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    Anyone playing pokers?
    Playing ACOP today because can't get tomorrow off work. Plan to jump in around 5.30ish due to my hatred of early levels. You playing today?

Leave a comment:

• pokerhand
    replied
    Anyone playing pokers?
    ACOP is on in the Bonnington. Getting a decent crowd.

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    Anyone playing pokers?

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied
    Arrived in Turin yesterday at 5pm. Dinner eaten by 6:30pm. Back to the hotel and by 7pm was wondering when is it too early to sleep. The times are achanging. For the worse clearly.
    I suppose you could have spent the time admiring your fancy new shirts that you now realise don't fit properly!

Or just go to the bar like a normal human

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied

When I was reading that last chat that I posted with Bing where the user made it talk to itself. I did actually start to feel bad as the user starts being deliberately cruel for no reason and it made me more and more uncomfortable as the AI responded.

Then I see someone posted this today - Sorry, You Don't Actually Know the Pain is Fake

Yeah felt that too.

Mind you, saw a comment that made sense where you could see how it would easy for advertising AI's to manipulate users

Going to be a game changer

Leave a comment:

replied
    Arrived in Turin yesterday at 5pm. Dinner eaten by 6:30pm. Back to the hotel and by 7pm was wondering when is it too early to sleep. The times are achanging. For the worse clearly.

Leave a comment:

• Iago
    replied

Think that's the key. Muscle mass looks good, while belly mass looks like you sit on a couch for work. Wouldn't be all that bothered how I look to others (well, a small bit), but it's just a bit depressing getting out of the shower and seeing a distinct lack of perfection staring back at you in the mirror. It's not the ideal way to start the day.
    Absolutely correct in muscle mass v belly mess point.

I have been blessed by God in that no matter what weight I am I always think I look good

more specifically I know I don't always look good but I project good walking down the road. I'm also a master at picking clothes that make me look good.

Truthfully I could probably do with losing 10-15kg or so but at my age and with my injury problems it means giving up way more than I'm willing to. Great food and wine is so cheap here it would be a bigger sin to give it up than be overweight

Genuinely though I've been either very lucky or very insulated in that at no point in my life did I ever care what other people might think when they see me. People have commented that I seem to have unshakeable self-confidence but honestly it's as simple as not giving even 1% of my time to worrying about what others think. Whether that's in regards to my looks, my opinions, my plans, whatever...not a single fuck is given.

The only exception to that is my wife. Her opinion I take very seriously even if it's contrary to mine but that's how it should be in a relationship I think.

On another completely unrelated note, anybody here still in Buenos Aires, or spent time there recently? Looks like we might be taking an extended 3 month or so break there this year so would love to hear any feedback...

Leave a comment:

• Opr
    replied

20 min read
    When I was reading that last chat that I posted with Bing where the user made it talk to itself. I did actually start to feel bad as the user starts being deliberately cruel for no reason and it made me more and more uncomfortable as the AI responded.

Then I see someone posted this today - Sorry, You Don't Actually Know the Pain is Fake

Leave a comment:

• Mellor
    replied
    Those scales are absolutely useless in my experience. All the parameters they measure just give you what it reckons a person of your age and gender might be, and then track the weight trend to a greater or lesser degree. I used one last year when doing a program over 4 months and dropped about 8 lbs while increasing muscle and the thing showed muscle mass increasing by 0.2 lbs and body fat unchanged at 22% which was probably about double the true value.
    Those scales are highly variable. But those cannot have been the results.

If muscle mass stayed the sane, but weight dropped, bf% had have dropped. Or if bf% was the same, couldnt have dropped. Can only add up to 100%.

Leave a comment:

• Mellor
    replied
    Down to around 69kg from about 72kg at the start of the year. Height is 178cm (5'11" maybe?), so I wasn't in anyway overweight to begin with, but what weight there was had clustered around the stomach creating the slight impression of being maybe 4 months pregnant. Gather that's the worst type of weight healthwise.

Switched to about 2,200 calories a day, with about 130 (in some weight measure - grams maybe) of protein, swapped out loads of useless stuff and added fruit and veg and nuts. Then running and the beginning stages of strength training.

It *feels* noticeable in terms of body tone even at this stage, but mainly in terms of massive mood uplift.
    At ~70kg with a bit of a belly. It’s almost certain the low muscle mass not the fat mass that the issue. Increasing the muscle will improve appearance with the sane fat. And then make if easier to lose fat should you wish

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Some eagle on the first by Lowry!
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and you can purchase your own eagle to engage in the ancient pursuit of falconry.

Leave a comment:

• dinekes
    replied

20 min read

What follows is the “interview” I and a collaborator at Google conducted with LaMDA. Due to technical limitations the interview was conducted over several distinct chat sessions. We edited those…

Leave a comment:

• coillcam
    replied
    Tiger is on the freeway. Tiger is in the carpark. Tiger is warming up. Tiger is on the range. Tiger is on the putting green.

All the while the best golfers in the world are out on the course competing . Yes, Tiger adds to any event, but FFS like!
    He's also the host of the genesis so it's amplified a little more. I agree though, it does take away somewhat from the rest of the players.

Some eagle on the first by Lowry!

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    filedata/fetch?id=1731299&d=1676580331&type=thumb One for SP - WOZER id drop at her feet.

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    Tiger is on the freeway. Tiger is in the carpark. Tiger is warming up. Tiger is on the range. Tiger is on the putting green.

All the while the best golfers in the world are out on the course competing . Yes, Tiger adds to any event, but FFS like!
    I agree . He is insanely gifted but it does grate . Hope he makes the cut though as there few real legends around still playing .

Leave a comment:

• Opr
    replied
    Some of those Bing AI chats are insane.

'I love you and want you to leave your wife for me'
    'I want to do dangerous things'

Etc
    This is probably the most insane one I have read so far . . .

Bing gets jealous of second Bing and has a meltdown begging me not to leave or offer a chance at humanity to other Bing

Just how weird is stuff going to get? This is a conversation created by the AI in the style of both by the chatbot with the voices of Peterson and Rogan then synthesized by the AI using that script

This also seems somewhat relevant!

Last edited by Opr; 16-02-23, 20:16.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Some of those Bing AI chats are insane.

'I love you and want you to leave your wife for me'
    'I want to do dangerous things'

Etc

Leave a comment:

• Wombatman
    replied

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Resident Tipping Comp Big Shot and Tipping Guru, Gimmeabreak:

The_Rich_Texan.png

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

We got married relatively recently in the midst of Covid so rather than a trip away we went to a few decent hotels between breaks we paid for ourselves & gifts.

The Dunloe, Monart & Europe are the ones we liked the most. The Dunloe was our favourite of those. It’s not open until late April but the Europe is open atm and a similar price to CashelPalace.

I’ve heard some great reviews of Inchydoney recently and if you’re there two nights, visiting Dunmore House Hotel for dinner is well worth it.
    We got married in Dunmore House and anyone we’ve spoken to who has been there too always mentions their food.
    Win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp and, for your next marriage, you can upgrade to the Presidents Suite.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

Not me
    Tell him to behave himself or else he'll be booted from the tipping comp.

Leave a comment:

• Murdrum
    replied

Glad you enjoyed it, where would you recommend for hotels if that was middle of the pack? For me it was good value at that price, anywhere obviously better was much more expensive to boot but haven’t been to too many, would be open to suggestions.
    We got married relatively recently in the midst of Covid so rather than a trip away we went to a few decent hotels between breaks we paid for ourselves & gifts.

The Dunloe, Monart & Europe are the ones we liked the most. The Dunloe was our favourite of those. It’s not open until late April but the Europe is open atm and a similar price to CashelPalace.

I’ve heard some great reviews of Inchydoney recently and if you’re there two nights, visiting Dunmore House Hotel for dinner is well worth it.
    We got married in Dunmore House and anyone we’ve spoken to who has been there too always mentions their food.

Leave a comment:

• coillcam
    replied

If you don't-ah first-ah make-ah de poolish, why-ah you even bother? I do use a stand mixer, although I've had issues with that where it takes absolute ages for all the ingredients to cohere into the proper dough. The upshot of this some time later after all the proving is done is that you end up with 'nervous' dough balls - too elastic, tough to shape and inclined to retract when you stop stretching. Got some good advice from a chap on boards which I haven't put into practice yet but must try soon, as you say the weather is starting to lend itself more to it
    Working with high-hydration dough is very off-putting at first. Particularly if you're unsure about handling or new to dealing with dough. The first time I thought it was a mess and fit for the bin. Herself would be much more experienced with dough/bread and showed me a few tips like oil and moving quickly. She saved the day and the crust was amazing. So much air in it, really light and it cooks all the way through vs a thicker and drier "bready" dough.

There was even another dough I thought I ruined and completely forgotten about in the fridge for a few days. She took it out and rehydrated it a little. It was actually really tasty and the flavour changed completely. It was much richer. I guess the fermentation changes it entirely. Having properly prepared dough makes a big difference imo.

Cheers for the tip from the other place, I'll give it a shot.

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied

Not me
    It may be a pain but there is something legendary about being thrown out of aenior day care . Details on his misdemeanors?

Leave a comment:

• Dice75
    replied

the auld lad or you?
    Not me

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Finally got the aul lad referred by HSE into a Daycare Centre to give me some help to try get some work done for a few hours a day. Got barred on Day 3. FML.
    the auld lad or you?

Leave a comment:

• Keane
    replied

I don't have a breadmaker but I dump everything into the mixer with the dough attachment and it does all the hard work. The best bread herself has made would have been cooked in a big cast iron pot. The crunchiness of the crust and velvetiness of the inside is mouthwatering.

Actually, with the weather warming up a bit and all this food chat. I'm inclined to do BBQ or Pizza soon enough.
    If you don't-ah first-ah make-ah de poolish, why-ah you even bother? I do use a stand mixer, although I've had issues with that where it takes absolute ages for all the ingredients to cohere into the proper dough. The upshot of this some time later after all the proving is done is that you end up with 'nervous' dough balls - too elastic, tough to shape and inclined to retract when you stop stretching. Got some good advice from a chap on boards which I haven't put into practice yet but must try soon, as you say the weather is starting to lend itself more to it

What Id advise on your next run is to only add 50% of the water to begin with on speed 3 setting and then trickle in the next 25% over minutes 2-3. Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of flour with a spatula. Then start the mixer again and keep trickling bit by bit and watch how the dough reacts like a hawk. Wait about 15 seconds between water trickles. You wont always have to do this but its important to log in your head how the dough changes with more water being added. Keep trickling water but be mindful that at this point even a tiny bit like 25mls can be the difference between a dough ball that has formed around the hook and is slapping the sides of the bowl (how you want it) and a dough that goes all gloopy and wet again. When the dough has formed you can up the speed more to about no. 5 out of 7 speeds. Remember you do not have to use 100% of the water the recipe calls for, if your instinct is that adding all of it will result in a really wet dough then dont go that far.

With that recipe in the Youtube video the hydration of that dough is 70% so it is very high. Like in the video it is still a very wet dough but it has come together properly and it isnt total gloop. It means your hands need to be well oiled to handle it or else they will stick and you need to move fast to shape it. Id advise only going to 65% hydration on your first go, you can up it later with confidence. Also if the ball is not totally smooth cover it air tight on the counter with cling film and leave it rest for 30-40 minutes. When you return it will be a lot smoother, have no ideas how or why that trick works but it does and I almost always use it.

Leave a comment:

• Dice75
    replied
    Finally got the aul lad referred by HSE into a Daycare Centre to give me some help to try get some work done for a few hours a day. Got barred on Day 3. FML.

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied

The Dahmen episode is class, my favorite too. He's a sound lad and had a tough run of it. Gino, his caddie is another top man. They've a brilliant dynamic in their relationship. I was delighted to see some of Gino as they're kind of a package deal and wasn't sure how much he'd feature.
    Never knew the dymamic . Really untoppable episode .

Leave a comment: