He's talking about the Buddhist equivalent of pope position only I think, not the behaviour of general Buddhists?
    Yep you're spot on as usual hitch. Dali Lama is our pope. Lamas are priests. We don't have an equivalent of bishops cardinals etc. The next Dali Lama will have been identified at a very young age often as young as three of four. No sticking a load of Lamas in a room and getting them to vote until the white smoke appears. All Lamas Dali or otherwise are considered to be reincarnations of Lamas from a previous lifetime.

Have to admit to laughing at the bit where he gut punched a nun.

Not the act per se, more the way that line flowed in your post.

Originally posted by limpwhacker View Post

It appears that Hotspur is otherwise engaged in researching information to enable him to be victorious in a rumble he's already won so I'll throw my two cents worth in. Invariably the usual starting point for Tibetan Buddhism is a book called The Tibetan book of living and dying. I've met people who have told me that just reading the book has completely transformed their lives.
        Thanks, yeah I was just looking at what I have and it's nearly all Tibetan. So I curious about hotspurs recommendations.

These new spoiler tags are a bag of shite.

The original Macker. Great documentary on him on youtube somewhere . Mad times back then
              RIP - Oh well .

The wife of an old friend just liked this on the old twitterbox. Is there any way of broaching the bat shit crasyness.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 25-07-20, 21:12.

Went to a David Icke talk before. Can't remember a huge amount but do remember him being batshiate. Lizards and stuff.
                        I was literally planning on using Icke as an example of batshit crasyness, in a future expected argument about their attitude to Covid. They've now taken that away from me, though have also left me not so bothered.

There's something deeply wrong with the Polish.
                          We elected Bartholomew Ahern.

Ah here . Its goans I'm after not laughs . HJ will be incensed by that comment.
                              haha, in fairness that was excellent

There's something deeply wrong with the Polish. Seems all the smaller countries over in Eastern Europe are sound enough, but the larger ones: Poland, Ukraine, Russia are all kinds of nasty miserable fucked up social attitudes.

The original Polish who landed here on mass as soon as the borders opened were mostly the sound ones escaping the lunatics.

Some of the stories they used to tell were awful!

They were soon followed by the ex-boyfriend/family lunatics

Yep you're spot on as usual hitch. Dali Lama is our pope. Lamas are priests. We don't have an equivalent of bishops cardinals etc. The next Dali Lama will have been identified at a very young age often as young as three of four. No sticking a load of Lamas in a room and getting them to vote until the white smoke appears. All Lamas Dali or otherwise are considered to be reincarnations of Lamas from a previous lifetime.
                                  Hasn't the chosen successor been kidnapped by the Chinese?

Quite possibly. Haven't heard anything of that nature but it certainly won't surprise me if you're right.

These new spoiler tags are a bag of shite.
                                      The whole thing is shite (compared to old place), I can barely get on the phone and even then i get all these pop-up crap yokes so confuses the shite outta me. But still love the place

Limpy (can we call you that now) i do like and i hope the manic pahses you seem to go through are ok for you.

Had Dobby over with the Mrs, he did indeed enjoy the downstairs jacks but said it was too much too photograph

Personally I feel I've adapted really well to the new site. It feels unnoticeable now. Like the old place did.

Assume I'm not alone?

Nah it would appear not. A very very brief look at Google throws up an interview with Dali Lama from march last year in which he says that his successor may emerge from India where he has been in exile for 60 years. Interestingly he suggests after his death that there may be two Dali Lama's one of whom the Chinese will pick. That's never gonna fly and he was smiling and laughing at the thought of it.

Wow!
                                            That's mad. I hadn't read Dice's post above before posting that. Was just a random thought.

Reads like a direct reply.

Great minds think not so much alike Dice

Nah it would appear not. A very very brief look at Google throws up an interview with Dali Lama from march last year in which he says that his successor may emerge from India where he has been in exile for 60 years. Interestingly he suggests after his death that there may be two Dali Lama's one of whom the Chinese will pick. That's never gonna fly and he was smiling and laughing at the thought of it.
                                              Tibetan exiles are calling for China to release a high-ranking monk who disappeared 20 years ago when he was just six years old.

Wow!
                                                That's mad. I hadn't read Dice's post above before posting that. Was just a random thought.

Reads like a direct reply.

Great minds think not so much alike Dice

Just me being an old fart lol. Whats the best setting to make it feel like home?

Might spin the Clossis on GG last flight at 3pm 2mrw. Any love for GG love in? $400 inski, $3m, gtd we fly the last flight. Finishes with Day 2 tmrw. Will do a BBV awwww in and sell up to 80% on Revolut or wherever for the craic/spin. Only stipulation is if we ship some loots we keep spinning in bigger buyins up to main @ $5k

Markup is a generous invisible

As they say in the biz, playing regardless
                                                  Last edited by Dice75; 25-07-20, 22:42.

hotspur, is there any books that you would recommend as a beginning for the uninitiated?
                                                    I like A Guide to the Buddhist Path by Sangharakshita. It's very straightforward, not that you need that, but I found it a nice simple and pleasant book to read on the basics. I can also recommend a series of talks by the same guy:
                                                    https://www.freebuddhistaudio.com/se...etails?num=X04

The whole thing is shite (compared to old place), I can barely get on the phone and even then i get all these pop-up crap yokes so confuses the shite outta me. But still love the place

Limpy (can we call you that now) i do like and i hope the manic pahses you seem to go through are ok for you.

Had Dobby over with the Mrs, he did indeed enjoy the downstairs jacks but said it was too much too photograph
                                                        as long as I keep taking the tablets I'm grand. I was discharged from the psych hospital after my most recent episode at the start of may. The side effects from the meds are horrendous tho. I've weighed 12 stone all my life and by Christmas I will be 16stone plus. Coupled with zero energy and constant fatigue. The meds are effectively like stabilisers on a child's bike they are effective at keeping me on an even keel and prevent me from getting too high or too low. Not my first rodeo with the meds obviously but like most others who have my illness it's easy to get lulled into a false sense of security so you stop taking the meds cos you feel grand. The weight literally falls off you in three months and then the craic starts cos sooner or later the shit hits the fan. I was very lucky with the most recent episode because I wasn't smoking grass from morning to night because of Covid19 there wasn't a crumb to be got. If I'm on the greenery and have an episode then it really does get messy.
                                                        The jacks in your house sounds just like the kitchen in my apartment,every inch of space on the cupboard doors are photos of the kind of stuff your Mrs has. As for calling me Limpy you can call me whatever you like I don't get offended easily. The legend that is Stephen Murphy christened me Limpwhacker because I was a bastard for limping monster hands and whacking the rest in at the first available opportunity. His variations of my my moniker include whackpotter puttpotter and Lord whackington or just plain old whacker.

Just me being an old fart lol. Whats the best setting to make it feel like home?
                                                          I set it to gradient as that's what felt most like the old place visually.

That's the thing though, the setting doesn't matter anymore.

The change over was a shock, the different look was jarring, for a while but then I just got sucked back into the BBV craic and forgot about it. It just became unnoticeable. Then I realised that's pretty much how the old place was.

Like getting turfed into the residents bar, disruptive for a few minutes but then the craic stirs back up.

as long as I keep taking the tablets I'm grand. I was discharged from the psych hospital after my most recent episode at the start of may. The side effects from the meds are horrendous tho. I've weighed 12 stone all my life and by Christmas I will be 16stone plus. Coupled with zero energy and constant fatigue. The meds are effectively like stabilisers on a child's bike they are effective at keeping me on an even keel and prevent me from getting too high or too low. Not my first rodeo with the meds obviously but like most others who have my illness it's easy to get lulled into a false sense of security so you stop taking the meds cos you feel grand. The weight literally falls off you in three months and then the craic starts cos sooner or later the shit hits the fan. I was very lucky with the most recent episode because I wasn't smoking grass from morning to night because of Covid19 there wasn't a crumb to be got. If I'm on the greenery and have an episode then it really does get messy.
                                                            The jacks in your house sounds just like the kitchen in my apartment,every inch of space on the cupboard doors are photos of the kind of stuff your Mrs has. As for calling me Limpy you can call me whatever you like I don't get offended easily. The legend that is Stephen Murphy christened me Limpwhacker because I was a bastard for limping monster hands and whacking the rest in at the first available opportunity. His variations of my my moniker include whackpotter puttpotter and Lord whackington or just plain old whacker.
                                                            Haha deadly, Limpy was just to shorten the typing and make you more familiar, nothing stupid. I have spoke to jbravado a good few times about your haunt in deepest West Cork. Seems like an interesting place. I'm more of a "get the fuck on with it, lets have a pint" sort of average Irish male but can see the merit of different thinking. I do enjoy reading the differernt perspectives on here from the RDs to the Hjs and all inbetween

Not gonna say where i lie on that 1-10 spectrum in general but I do actually have my own thoughts

Might spin the Clossis on GG last flight at 3pm 2mrw. Any love for GG love in? $400 inski, $3m, gtd we fly the last flight. Finishes with Day 2 tmrw. Will do a BBV awwww in and sell up to 80% on Revolut or wherever for the craic/spin. Only stipulation is if we ship some loots we keep spinning in bigger buyins up to main @ $5k

Markup is a generous invisible

As they say in the biz, playing regardless
                                                              20% gone

Hehe, Lord Whackington.

Plans for winnings are to stick 300k aside to buy horses with GAB, and the rest to ship the Main for 5m and buy into the $1m One Drop next summer while sunning our fat asses in Vegas

Haha deadly, Limpy was just to shorten the typing and make you more familiar, nothing stupid. I have spoke to jbravado a good few times about your haunt in deepest West Cork. Seems like an interesting place. I'm more of a "get the fuck on with it, lets have a pint" sort of average Irish male but can see the merit of different thinking. I do enjoy reading the differernt perspectives on here from the RDs to the Hjs and all inbetween

Not gonna say where i lie on that 1-10 spectrum in general but I do actually have my own thoughts
                                                                    Jbravado and I would have very different opinions on DZB. It's very easy to get tied up in the whole Rigpa scene down there. Sogyal Rinpoche was the spiritual leader of that organisation until shortly before his death. His students revolted and sacked him basically. Jbravado would be of the opinion that Rigpa and DZB are a cult organisation. I would completely disagree with that obviously. Good luck in the Colossus. Incidentally are any of the rest of ye aware that GG poker are advertising the World Series on porn hub ? Every time you log in up pops the GG ad. And yes hitch before you ask Buddhist's are allowed watch porn and wank themselves into a coma, at least this Buddhist is allowed to anyways

Name change to Lord Wankington?

Daniel Negreanu had an epic meltdown recently, it's well worth a watch: https://www.cardschat.com/news/danie...e-poker-92470/

Name change to Lord Wankington?
                                                                          You missed your calling Solks definitely should be doing stand up comedy

Off to leaba, shall spin the Clossos up tomorrow on the last flight @3pm. $400 buyin at $400 for the spin, Deffo should be a markup of 0.9% but im a generous man. Terrible investment except im fairly sure im ahead of approx 65% of the field(ish. Go.

Lord Whackington has provided us with several unexpected perspectives in the last while.

I think he should give Rastafarianism a spin too for the sacred herb angle.

Personally I feel I've adapted really well to the new site. It feels unnoticeable now. Like the old place did.

Assume I'm not alone?
                                                                                    I still hate everything about the new site.

It's very very slow and clunky on my phone

Whatever about the clearly longrunning background and it's justification, I'm personally extremely shocked and disappointed that a poker player would use bad words. I'm even more shocked that a few lesser poker players and commentators would try to get free publicity by hanging on the outrage coat tails. Therapy all round I guess and maybe they should consider shutting down poker playing for a few months so we can all reflect on what just happened

That's far beyond a few bad words.

Someone says something bad about his wife and he says I'm going to kill you. That's every pub fight since the invention of beer and everyone has heard it a million times. It's not like there's little kid poker players out there who will be negatively affected by hearing these words. Everyone's an adult. And indeed whoever that guy is should count himself lucky he didn't say it to a real life person and end up with many broken bones.
                                                                                            I don't know about you, but I have never heard anyone, never mind the supposed face and morality of poker (https://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/ot...takes-22411237 - Daniel Negreanu says high stakes poker pros are causing damage to game's image) offer to feed someone's teeth to them "anally."

This weeks music journal: https://medium.com/@daraghthomas/we-...60025c7b8044b5

Rinpoche was the only bad apple in the Buddhist basket. He was a horny old goat and physically, mentally and sexually abused beautiful young followers. I would not like to be trying to purify the bad karma that he accumulated that's for sure. I attended five of his week long summer retreats and it was no surprise to me that he was eventually exposed. He once gut punched a nun in the stomach in front of 1,000 people at a retreat in Lerab Ling in France. Buddha allegedly live roughly 2500 years ago. Imagine being the only bad apple in that length of time. The Catholic church probably had 10000 bad apples in the same amount of time. Some of what Sogyal Rinpoche got up to was horrific and beyond belief. It's all available on Google. Having said all that and if you can put that to one side, the book is an excellent starting point and has sold millions and millions of copies worldwide.
                                                                                                  I’d imagine there’s be more than one bad egg in 2500 odd years.

This guy....

Yeah I get everything tailored.

Fit > everything else really.

I'd said you'd notice a massive difference with your frame.

About 30, usually they knock some off.

There's a guy on Wicklow St that's great. He does the work for BT and Louis Copeland.

Perry getting Rakti in the snooker.

Fucking ethereum has started pumping this week like a mad thing before I could finish building up a sizeable (for me) position in it. Got 14 eth so it's something anyway, but was hoping to reach 32 eth which gives you a staking income in eth 2.0.
                                                                                                                Plus 30% in a week!! What's that about?

Have a customer who was mining them. Must be a happy bunny now.

Are you genuinely offended and really feel this has let down the good name of poker?
                                                                                                                  He said it was an epic meltdown?

Also for a guy like Dan, who makes more money from endorsements and sponsorship this is a very bad career move.

Yeah I get everything tailored.

Fit > everything else really.

I'd said you'd notice a massive difference with your frame.
                                                                                                                        Getting anything that fits properly makes it a million times bettter. A Penneys €3 t shirt that someone fits to you will look better than a €75 Tommy Hilfiger yoke (though may not last as long). The dream is finding a cheapo - H&M / Penneys / Uniqlo / Dunnes Boutique standard fit that suits you well, and so you can get sorted for next-to-no cash. If you can't (not unusual) finding something close that doesnt' require too much messing around with is next best option.

That all being said, I've nothing tailored beyond my wedding suit because frankly my dear I don't give a dam.