• hotspur
    replied
    Just out on the television guide, RTE 2

The Octopus in My House.
    A professor develops an extraordinary relationship with an octopus when he invites it to live in his home to learn about its intelligence. S40 Ep3
    That's one long running series about an octopus in a house. Had to Google to find out it's an episode of The Natural World.

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    I definitely put him up here last June or so when I was going through a phase of listening to fat people with powerful voices doing covers.
    I always wanted 'Originals that are far superior to their better known covers' to be a category on Music King so if I landed it I could post this winner..

Such an uplifting tune, uplifts like no other..

Leave a comment:

• Opr
    replied
    Guy Ritchie's The Gentlemen is somewhat a return to form for him. It's no Snatch but certainly a huge cut above most of the stuff he has done since.

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    Originally posted by Rahenyrhythm View Post
    Thanks Lazare, will give it a go. Here's a song from long ago that's kinda relevant now ... Or not ... Anyway ...https://youtu.be/RXdsuBaujbQ
    The show is Tiger King btw, Joe Exotic is the main character.

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    That genre doesn't get better than this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-AxpbrFrZo
    Never realised that was a cover.

Leave a comment:

• Rahenyrhythm
    replied
    Thanks Lazare, will give it a go. Here's a song from long ago that's kinda relevant now ... Or not ... Anyway ...https://youtu.be/RXdsuBaujbQ

Leave a comment:

• Dice75
    replied
    Originally posted by Rahenyrhythm View Post
    This is maybe a kinda anachronistic post, but anyway: I have, of necessity, started looking at - eh Netflix...and discovered "Better call Saul" .., which I am devouring, for reasons that may become obvious later in the game. Just wondering is there other stuff on Netflix that people would recommend? Of the same ilk, or just better?

And ... Remember, Spring forward, fall back ... For the clocks like ...
    Have you watched Breaking Bad?

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    Three episodes in and I fucking love Joe Exotic.

Leave a comment:

• Rahenyrhythm
    replied
    This is maybe a kinda anachronistic post, but anyway: I have, of necessity, started looking at - eh Netflix...and discovered "Better call Saul" .., which I am devouring, for reasons that may become obvious later in the game. Just wondering is there other stuff on Netflix that people would recommend? Of the same ilk, or just better?

And ... Remember, Spring forward, fall back ... For the clocks like ...

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    How are heroin addicts getting by does anyone know.

Last year or so up by the tenth lock in Clondalkin its been like Hamsterdam up there, supplies must be running fairly thin by now.
    You cant go higher than 2 km so rationing it I'd say.

Leave a comment:

• Strewelpeter
    replied
    @Flushdraw

Why don't you fire up a 10c / 20c cash game in the ipb club on stars and we could try starting a zoom session to go with it

Leave a comment:

• Strewelpeter
    replied
    Kind of is. There is quite a few people who'd cause damage in order to get their fix.
    How are heroin addicts getting by does anyone know.

Last year or so up by the tenth lock in Clondalkin its been like Hamsterdam up there, supplies must be running fairly thin by now.

Leave a comment:

• Strewelpeter
    replied
    I definitely put him up here last June or so when I was going through a phase of listening to fat people with powerful voices doing covers.
    That genre doesn't get better than this

Leave a comment:

Guest replied
    Anyone child addled folk here might enjoy Breeders...It's a TV show with one of the blokes from The Office. I suppose its on Netflix or Sky downloads or something.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Playing 5 card PLO with a table of Norwegians earlier.

You lose money at quite the rate playing that.
    sounds like a plan, getting bored already

Leave a comment:

Guest replied
    Trying out that cool new online poker craze. Seems that playing like people used to 12 years ago gets you called down super-light every time.

Turning pro.
    Playing 5 card PLO with a table of Norwegians earlier.

You lose money at quite the rate playing that.

Leave a comment:

• CHDad
    replied
    I presume the off licenses being open means beer can be considered an essential supply?
    Kind of is. There is quite a few people who'd cause damage in order to get their fix.

Leave a comment:

• hotspur
    replied
    Great stuff. Had never heard of him. Gutteral soulful voice.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Trying out that cool new online poker craze. Seems that playing like people used to 12 years ago gets you called down super-light every time.

Turning pro.

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    We all think we're gonna look like David Beckham when we shave our heads, but we end up looking like your man Prince Edward.

Leave a comment:

• Keane
    replied
    I presume the off licenses being open means beer can be considered an essential supply?

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    That was an inferior performance by him, here is a better one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4edjh2sJvxc
    Great stuff. Had never heard of him. Gutteral soulful voice.

Leave a comment:

• Hitchhiker's Guide To...
    replied

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied
    Jaysus lads, day one?

We'll be eating each others kids by next week..
    Are you have a go at those of us without kids now?

Leave a comment:

• CHDad
    replied
    Lads,

This is for a great cause, keeps us safe. If there's any amount you can chip in please do.

Please check the URL and try again or, alternatively, you can browse fundraisers currently receiving the most donations worldwide below.

Leave a comment:

• newbie2
    replied
    Jaysus lads, day one?

We'll be eating each others kids by next week..

Leave a comment:

• Dice75
    replied
    I love it when HJ goes off on one.

Leave a comment:

• hotspur
    replied
    This remains the best part of my day so far.
    That was an inferior performance by him, here is a better one:

Leave a comment:

• Hectorjelly
    replied
    Ok, so we've both annoyed each other. I don't like feuding with anyone, let alone someone who has been good to me in the past.

I apologise.
    Sorry if I overreacted! Once it's all over we can have a race, any distance up to 800meters

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied

I post regularly on the boards athletics forum where that sort of comment is meaningless. I can see how it appears as bragging here, but it's not.
    It's really not. The cardio rehab classes in Tallaght hospital were 50 minutes exercise for people with damaged hearts. Even now with plenty of practice, it takes 15 minutes just to get my heart beating at the speed that I'd consider myself to be exercising. Like to keep it going for 30 minutes, and cool down over 10 or so. That's not being athletic, it's just enough to keep feeling ok.

Leave a comment:

• Theresa
    replied
    Eh.

A 35-year-old man who was placed under home quarantine amid the COVID-19 pandemic after he returned from Sri Lanka has been charged with killing a woman at a village in Tamil Nadu.

This is how it starts lads.

Leave a comment:

• Keane
    replied
    I didn't even leave myself enough beer to get drunk on

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    I don't see anything from the guards on that link.

I'm only annoyed because Lazare replied to one of my posts bringing up how long I typically exercise for, I mean this is either rude or stupid but either way, it's annoying.
    Ok, so we've both annoyed each other. I don't like feuding with anyone, let alone someone who has been good to me in the past.

I apologise.

Leave a comment:

• Hectorjelly
    replied
    I assumed you were sedentary, like most here, where a 60 min run is big.

I post regularly on the boards athletics forum where that sort of comment is meaningless. I can see how it appears as bragging here, but it's not.
    it might not be bragging, but it's definitely irrelevant.

Anyway, let's move on. The next time one of us bumps into Leo we can ask him.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

I'm only annoyed because Lazare replied to one of my posts bringing up how long I typically exercise for, I mean this is either rude or stupid but either way, it's annoying.
    Laz needs to check out the great Bill Hicks riff on jogging

In Relentless, Bill Hicks’ classic special from 1991, he tells us how he feels about non-smokers, blowjobs, religion, war, peace, drugs, and music.The full s...

Leave a comment:

• Hectorjelly
    replied
    I think I'm just trying to say you seem to be very aggro about other people's interpretation of a (deliberately?) vague rule while having the most extreme interpretation of it I have seen anywhere on the Internet yourself.

I think this from the guards is also pretty indicative that nothing like a 15-30 minute limitation is implied

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0327/11...-restrictions/

Leave a comment:

• Lazare
    replied
    I assumed you were sedentary, like most here, where a 60 min run is big.

Leave a comment:

• Rahenyrhythm
    replied
    Lol! You will see I have decided to "join in the conversation"!!! Be afraid, be very ... Etc, etc...

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied
    Makes sense for the likes of the small parks around the city. 2m distance in a national park should be fairly achievable.
    Afaik Dunlaoghaire Rathdown are leaving the parks open, but closing the car parks. Might check out Marlay tomorrow, I had stopped going as it was too full.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Corbyn, McDonnell and Labour would be a far superior outcome for the U.K. in this crisis than Cummings et al. A centralised big state socialist response (which is exactly what is required) is what they spent their entire careers preparing for! In a choice between someone who seems to care about people and a dishonest fuckhead completely naked in his self interest it should have been fairly straightforward who to vote for.

Their approach very quickly moved from 'incompetent' to 'sinister' to now being unapologetic about massaging stats to cover their asses. It's outrageous what's been going on over there the past decade.
    They are mirroring the US, should hardly be surprising.

I'm sure you can see why, when presented with a choice between a droning hangover from 1970s student politics and the unapologetic bullshitter that is Boris, people chose Option B in their droves?
    If Labour had a Blair, or even a Brown, they would have walked it. Instead they sold their soul to a version of socialism that is unequivocally failed. FFS, Corbyn couldn't even make up his mind on Brexit.

People like Boris. It's a mystery to me but it's one of those political intangibles that you can't put a price on. Bertie had it too.

Leave a comment: