That's incorrect

Checked data from an analysis product we have in work.

Obv they given penalties away in their own scrum; but the last time they lost a scrum where they put in was against Scotland
    Yeah it did seem hard to believe. Dont know where Pope plucked that from.

Nothing like watching bullshit get ripped to shreds . The media Have been a joke since Samoa game, wait now for the excuses
      Don't read any of it but is that really true, I thought the rugby writers were being reasonably realistic about the prospects

Don't feed it!

We often forget how far above our weight we have punched in the pro rugby era. Today doesn't change that.
          With my PSV head on - we always go out in the last 8 be it pro or amateur era. Today doesnt change that.

That's very nice, Schmidt coming down the steps and being applauded by the fans.

We often forget how far above our weight we have punched in the pro rugby era. Today doesn't change that.
            Similar population to New Zealand who made a cricket final and likely rugby one in the same year. Dont think we've punched that hard above our weight.

Rugby is comfortably the No1 sport, the best athletes stay playing rugby, in Ireland our best athletes are dispersed among a variety of sports.
              It's not the same thing in light of the same population.

The NZ cricketers punched well over their weight is the way to see it in this case

Agree with Sitch.

We don’t punch above our weight.

Wales and The Argies have a semi final in the last couple world cups. Supposed to be a golden age after golden age for rugby and the simple fact is our rugby team are bottlers.

FWIW, I was more referring to our field sports with GAA & Soccer taking from the rugby not so much athletics where NZ also make a show of us.

Also, to be blunt about it, they just have genetically superior athletes to simply work with.

I mean look at Valerie Adam's beside Sonny Bill, her bro is also an NBA player:

Ireland

GAA
                      Hurling
                      Football
                      Horse racing
                      Golfers
                      Boxing
                      Cricket
                      Rowing
                      Running
                      Art/Music/Literature etc

New Zealand

Rugby
                      Cricket
                      Other stuff
                      Last edited by Guest; 19-10-19, 12:49.

Pffft. Not sure where to start.

On the genetics , we struggle to attract top outside backs, that's why Lamour looks head and shoulders above everyone else. Ringrose and henshaw clearly not with it after the head knocks today.

The powerful outside backs we could recruit from are all playing gaa. Someone like Michael daragh macauley would have perfect body type for outside back.

We cannot chase a game, look at the areas of the field of first point of contact from wide ruck, NZ play through the hands, move the ball to midfield and then have options left and right, we have slow set up crash balls at walking speed, very easy to defend against.

The question id ask is what is Irish rugby, how do we define our style of play, Japan, Uruguay, NZ, England and south Africa all have their own unique style. We don't.

We are basically an upgraded USA , system based, an attacking shape that was figured out a few years ago and moved on from by the top teams.

This one doesn't sting as much as Argentina in 2015

Ireland

GAA
                          Hurling
                          Football
                          Horse racing
                          Golfers
                          Boxing
                          Cricket
                          Rowing
                          Running
                          Art/Music/Literature etc

New Zealand

Rugby
                          Cricket
                          Other stuff
                          Rowing, middle distance running, basketball as well

They have mandatory winter and summer sports in school, coached in an athlete centered way throughout all ages. There's also fuck all to do in NZ except for sport

Sport is a part of every kid's life there. Doesn't matter what sport but they all do at least two every year.

Ireland

GAA
                            Hurling
                            Football
                            Horse racing
                            Golfers
                            Boxing
                            Cricket
                            Rowing
                            Running
                            Art/Music/Literature etc

New Zealand

Rugby
                            Cricket
                            Other stuff
                            Think there's a lot of familiarity bias there on your part. New Zealand absolutely crush at rowing for one, and sailing, rugby league is pretty big. Better than us at most Olympic sports tbh.

New Zealand

Rugby
                              Cricket
                              Other stuff
                              New Zealand 18 medals at the last Olympics. It doesn't paint a picture of a country that specializes in just rugby to the detriment of other sports (although presumably 2 of those medals would have been rugby)

Ireland

GAA
                                Hurling
                                Football
                                Horse racing
                                Golfers
                                Boxing
                                Cricket
                                Rowing
                                Running
                                Art/Music/Literature etc

New Zealand

Rugby
                                Cricket
                                Other stuff
                                God this is such ignorant nonsense.

Look at their Olympic medal haul compared to ours for evidence.

Think there's a lot of familiarity bias there on your part. New Zealand absolutely crush at rowing for one, and sailing, rugby league is pretty big. Better than us at most Olympic sports tbh.
                                  I know, have known a few New Zealanders over the years, but Rugby then far behind comes Cricket then comes the rest

Few good musicians too!!!

Jasas didn't think i needed to write a thesies on the fact that NZ is rugby then the rest

They are very good at sport!

They dont play GAA which is a massive advantage

Comparing ourselves to NZ doesn't negate punching above our weight though, they are the best summer sports country in the world, Norway being winter sport.

We probably do more than the likes of Finland, Slovakia and Georgia who are all around 5m I think

The excuses and kid gloves are out already. Reality not getting a look in, we will be back making conservative choices in th 6 nations and overhyping autumn friendliest again next year. Legends

This is very true. New zealand priorities are:
                                          World cup
                                          (Lions when it's there)
                                          Keeping the bledisloe
                                          Rugby championship
                                          Summer tests
                                          Autumn tests

They honestly don't really care about losing the championship to south Africa if it means they are trending towards the world cup. The same cannot be said for 6 nations teams

WE GO AGAIN

Fans looking devestated here

Tory mouthpiece

They can still have an election without that . Listen it's to come clean I'm from the future .

Ireland gonna win the RWC . Dubs gonna hammer Kerry and brexit won't happen .

2 out of 3 ain't bad

When you receive this pm and want to cry realising your a fucking oul wan

"Ladies, a lot of people have been asking about a school reunion, and before we are all too old, we were going to have a get together for our 30 year reunion on Saturday 23rd November in Lonergans pub, Cashel, would be great if we could all meet up, I only agreed to get the ball rolling so if everyone could do their part please and ask whoever they can and join whoever necessary to this group, ALL are welcome, I cannot remember half of the class, so please please spread the word, we will play our own music on the night and a few nibbles, hope to see ye all there xxx "

Ok so you know when you're in trouble.

Have 250...need 1k

No major panic but by close business Monday

Evs x evs double?????

Go

Great start. Come on France!

Ooooh la la

Hopefully the rest of the game will continue to be a try fest.

You'd have to question France's effort levels or enthusiasm for modern 6 nations when they produce this well in the competition that really matters.

Ireland in the 6 nations are like that guy who comes to your friendly 5 a side game every now and then and takes it way too seriously, hacking legs off, trash talking and talking to himself to psych himself out.
                                                                It’s really the 3.5 nations, Scotland and Italy are there to make up the numbers and France don’t care but they would never be ditched as they’re nice weekends away for the guys.
                                                                Hope CVC get their hands on it and flog it into the ground

80 minute game mon ami....

This performance is entirely consistent with the history of their RWC campaigns though. As was Ireland's.

But yes, allez les Bleus!

80 minute game mon ami....

This performance is entirely consistent with the history of their RWC campaigns though. As was Ireland's.
                                                                      Yeah they do a nice public service to the corporate lads at the Aviva in giving them a bit of escapism when we roll over them easily and lead to a false impression that our ranking is justified and we're punching above our weight.

Oh fuck. Just bbv'd them. Red incoming.

Le bleu gonna le bleu

Nice symmetry with Warburton's red eight years ago.

Hopefully they keep the heads.

The daftest red I’ve ever seen 5 meters out chance to go 3 scores up beyond brainless. Ireland’s campaign a now familiar bitter disappointment. People saying Hansen gave youth a chance with Goodhue and the two wingers we simply don’t have the talent.

The weather seems to be perfect for rugby now. Hopefully stays like this for the rest of the tourney.

Enthusiasm for Japans chances later slightly tampered with the stark realisation they were prob in the weakest world cup group of all time. SA cover

This is going to be a long 15 minutes...

The draw more important than the group . Japan Ireland got screwed

That's even more French. FFS!

Poor shraap.

Absolutely gutted. Felt those missed kicks might be important.

3 out of 3 gone exactly to script , including all the mind numbingly boring begrudgery about Ireland.
                                                                                              Would be great if there was a shock here

You never put a gun on stage in Act 1 unless you intend to use it in the denouement

Wales have been poor but fair play to them. Why France didn’t tack on a drop goal at some stage between the 50th and 70th minute I do not know. No one with the balls to take it on.

Disgraceful by no 5 as well. No defending that.

pourquoi pourquoi pourquoi

3 out of 3 gone exactly to script , including all the mind numbingly boring begrudgery about Ireland.
                                                                                                      I just can’t see it. SA to crush the Japs towards the end but I hope I’m wrong.

Wales have been poor but fair play to them. Why France didn’t tack on a drop goal at some stage between the 50th and 70th minute I do not know. No one with the balls to take it on.

Disgraceful by no 5 as well. No defending that.
                                                                                                        I definitely thought they'd go for it when we had the scrum under the posts, but managed to give it away stupidly

Ok so you know when you're in trouble.

Have 250...need 1k

No major panic but by close business Monday

Evs x evs double?????

Go
                                                                                                          Lots of speculators here it seems...

Gone with -

Lovee Dovee Top 4 in the 3.30 Naas @ 11/8
                                                                                                          Overs in Ipswich match @ 17/20

Matsushima and mapimpi both to score a try 8/1 is a cracking bet.

Also Matsushima /kolbe fts

Begrudgery lol, the stock phrase people in ireland go to when confronted with uncomfortable truths.
                                                                                                              We will never learn , already the ducking and diving from responsibility has started with the rugby media sycophants, hiding behind mawkish tributes to best and Schmidt nothing will be learned.
                                                                                                              Same people who were trumpeting for ages about how World Cup was only comp that mattered and it would be what Schmidt and this team would be judged on desperately trying to minimise what a failure this World Cup was. We were told all week how this wasn’t a vintage NZ side but now that they tonked us they that’s all brushed under the carpet.
                                                                                                              They failed by the metrics they set themselves and rammed down everyone’s throats on their chummy chats with their media cheerleaders

Spent a bit of time compiling my top 12 irish sporting achievements of all time below
                                                                                                                These aren’t my personal favourites,Ive tried to be as objective as I can here, I put aside my dislike of rugby and have it fair consideration . When giving weighting to these considered factors like prestige, participation , global audience, difficulty etc. Horeracing was not considered. Couldn’t find a place in top 11 for rugby, id say if I continued the list the Kidney grand slam would come in around 15th and Schmidts one around 21 which is fair enough I think
                                                                                                                1.Italia 90-
                                                                                                                2.Japan/Korea WC 2002
                                                                                                                3. US 94
                                                                                                                2.euro 88
                                                                                                                3.rory mcilroy wiining 4 majors
                                                                                                                4. Harrington winning 3 majors
                                                                                                                4.5 euro 2016
                                                                                                                5.Shanre lowry winning the open
                                                                                                                6.Michelle Smith Atalanta 1996-she still has the medals
                                                                                                                7.Ronnie Delaney Gold medal 1500M 1956
                                                                                                                8. John Treacy Olympic silver
                                                                                                                9. Any of the boxing Olmpic medals
                                                                                                                10. Mcgregor Double Champ
                                                                                                                11. Sonia o Sullivan-various
                                                                                                                12. Eddie Irvine in formula 1
                                                                                                                Last edited by Guest; 20-10-19, 11:03. Reason: Forgot about euro 2016

This is so entertaining and the crowd noise is unreal!

SA nullifying the quick offload so far has been impressive. But Japan are so dynamic, makes for superb entertainment.

Think Barnes bottled that should have been red on Beast.

Spent a bit of time compiling my top 12 irish sporting achievements of all time below
                                                                                                                        These aren’t my personal favourites,Ive tried to be as objective as I can here, I put aside my dislike of rugby and have it fair consideration . When giving weighting to these considered factors like prestige, participation , global audience, difficulty etc. Horeracing was not considered. Couldn’t find a place in top 11 for rugby, id say if I continued the list the Kidney grand slam would come in around 15th and Schmidts one around 21 which is fair enough I think
                                                                                                                        1.Italia 90-
                                                                                                                        2.Japan/Korea WC 2002
                                                                                                                        3. US 94
                                                                                                                        2.euro 88
                                                                                                                        Ah but where would those soccer teams have been if the irfu didn’t let them borrow their pitch. The top 4 are basically achievements for the irfu and the rugby world because they are such a generous bunch of lads.

1.Italia 90-
                                                                                                                          2.Japan/Korea WC 2002
                                                                                                                          3. US 94
                                                                                                                          2.euro 88
                                                                                                                          4.5 euro 2016
                                                                                                                          McIlroy isnt Irish, hes British. Not a bad trolling attempt tbf