That pan pipe fcuker Quintana done me so many times when I backed him. Goes away pulling a float today though!. He was showing some glimmers recently so when he was in the initial break I should have known, instead I went for Yates!. Most open Le Tour in so many years(if not decades) which is a refreshing change. Ans still wide open in the betting after todays stage.
    My tip for the outright in running........
    Shane Lowry

Is there scenario where the final stage could actually be a race to the Champs-Elysees?

I know something happened with LaMond in a TT type finish in the late 80s.

If the gap narrowed to certain amount of seconds after Stage 20 is there a possibility of it or is it just effectively finished by then irrespective of the gap.

England effectively 97/6 in the final session of the day. Get Root quickly
        Sky lads have spent last 15 minutes or so saying 1st slip in wrong position and then that happens

Is there scenario where the final stage could actually be a race to the Champs-Elysees?

If the gap narrowed to certain amount of seconds after Stage 20 is there a possibility of it or is it just effectively finished by then irrespective of the gap.
          Always that live chance if seconds in it. What if someone crashed or had a medical condition etc. But even at that generally no. Crash and technical can be made up easily and theres block times so its not like a hill top climb where every second counts to the line from one rider to the next.

CRICKET motherfuckers.

Root out!

CRICKET motherfuckers.

Root out!
              Anything under 250 should be chase able right

Always that live chance if seconds in it. What if someone crashed or had a medical condition etc. But even at that generally no. Crash and technical can be made up easily and theres block times so its not like a hill top climb where every second counts to the line from one rider to the next.
                That was my thoughts, if it's below x seconds there might be a chance. I read something where in 2005 when Lance won, there was 2 secs between 5th & 6th and they raced but if that's the type of margin, the probability of it occurring is incredibly low.

Anything over 220 gives England a very defendable target imo

Root out no way!.
                    Also re LeMond. The finale stage there was a departure where the decided to break tradition and go for a time trial as the final stage instead of a skate into the Champ Elysees. So in that case every second did count. And what a finale.
                    I bought a framed picture of Lemond for my brother. What a rider. Not the most astethically looking rider but hes got it in the spare bedroom somewhere, on the floor!

150 is generally considered a par chase in the fourth innings...

Root out no way!.
                        Also re LeMond. The finale stage there was a departure where the decided to break tradition and go for a time trial as the final stage instead of a skate into the Champ Elysees. So in that case every second did count. And what a finale.
                        I bought a framed picture of Lemond for my brother. What a rider. Not the most astethically looking rider but hes got it in the spare bedroom somewhere, on the floor!
                        RIP FIGNON. Great tour that year

150 is generally considered a par chase in the fourth innings...
                          I was gonna say 170 but gave out to myself for being negative

Listen to Boris, stop being negative

CRICKET motherfuckers.....

Missed out on Hinault but I read a biography. Sounded like he and Mercx were just animals on the bike.

Ooohhhh

Without googling, can you name an international field sport not invented by England?

You'd hope our 2nd innings doesn't start this evening, lads must be fairly wrecked out in the field in that heat all day, would be a massive advantage for the bowlers.

Without googling, can you name an international field sport not invented by England?
                                      Compromise rules

Lacrosse

How is he expected to get a VONC through when the government he is VONCing has a majority. He can't defy mathematics.

And it's unfair to retrospectively diss his achievements in the 2017 snap election. May wasn't seen as incompetent at the time nor the government as inept - the Tories were 20 points clear in the polls, she herself had huge 'popularity' numbers.
                                          If they were fractured it was perceived as being because they were being held back by a few rebels taking advantage of the small parliamentary majority bequeathed by Cameron.
                                          The snap election was an open goal to increase that majority and 400+ seats for the Tories was the expected result with the bookies. Over the 5 weeks of the campaign Corbyn destroyed their aim with an excellent and inspiring campaign (aided by a terrible Tory campaign).

He is not a good parliamentarian unfortunately.
                                          That huge upswing in labour was largely on the back of labour being seen (at the time) as anti Brexit. That perception and the levels of subsequent ambiguity helped them initially but is doubtless the main reason for the resurgence of the lib dems.
                                          I mean the more time goes the more it seems his plan is to walk across the ashes into his socialist utopia.
                                          Anyway...I'm talking shite I can tell my words above aren't really concise but I'm up to me tits

edit:

^^ that speech in parliament...fucking hell he was lying through it teeth
                                          Last edited by DeadParrot; 25-07-19, 17:10.

I remember that Lords groundsman from my stint at Clontarf HC way back then. I was from the wrong side of the tracks from a non Mount Temple background. He was a Goalkeeper on the way out and was already the groundsman of Clontarf Cricket club. Gwan the village!

Ah Mount Temple...the weird kids across the road.

I assume this is a coherent sentence understood by horse racing types. Mad how unintelligible it is to me though.
                                                Me too. Same with the cricket coverage. Like listening to Nuacht.

Listened earlier to 5 minutes of babble about it and I could just about make out that Ireland were playing England. No idea who was winning even though they said it.

All the GC players tried one after another to kill Alaphilippe but he finished strongest of them all. Bernal could only pick up 30 secs and Thomas couldn't get a yard on him. And yet there just enough weakness shown on the pointy end of the climb to keep them thinking they can break him tomorrow or Saturday.
                                                  Quintana found his gear and flew away from the breakaway and picked up 6 minutes so he'll probably try to do the same again tomorrow.

Best Tour in years.
                                                  Put a bet on bernal last week to win at 11/2. The fact Thomas is showing nothing and Frenchy is going to struggle with 2 more days in the alps makes me think he might get there. Just looked on PP and he's now an 11/8 fav. Can't wait for tomorrow and Saturday

Ultimate Frisbee

I remember a while back The Situation was looking for dioralyte type stuff that didn't have sugar/carbs. Just in case you are still looking I have been using High Five Zero tablets while cycling for the last while and find them quite effective. They are zero cals and zero sugar so guess the they are probably low/zero carb as well.

I think they only have about half the electrolytes of dioralyte so may need to double dose.

Edit: these ones

High5 Zero 8 Tubes - citrus https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B004AV06...p_mob_ap_share
                                                      Last edited by Keane; 25-07-19, 19:57.

By the way I noticed in a previous post I said I was now cycling 350km a week which was a laughable maths fail on my part but I decided to leave it cos it looks class

(it's more like 120km a week )

Polo?
                                                          developed in India by Brits afaik

Golf was invented by the Scots

I remember a while back The Situation was looking for dioralyte type stuff that didn't have sugar/carbs. Just in case you are still looking I have been using High Five Zero tablets while cycling for the last while and find them quite effective. They are zero cals and zero sugar so guess the they are probably low/zero carb as well.

I think they only have about half the electrolytes of dioralyte so may need to double dose.

Edit: these ones

High5 Zero 8 Tubes - citrus https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B004AV06...p_mob_ap_share
                                                            Yeah, they're great. I get them off wiggle.co.uk good value.

Think I remember recommending them to him too. So, GFYK

No chance, bonus points for sprint finish but not a hope any GC leaders can sprint with the best and the final stage is sprinters showcase. Would be nigh impossible for one to get away from the peloton to grab the necessary seconds to overturn an advantage either.

Be the equivilant of giving Messi the ball on his own goalline and having 30 seconds to score a goal on his own v a full Real Madrid team.

Best one I ever watched

N7 has rightly been mentioned as a horrible experience on here over the past 12-18 months but it is finally open to 3 lanes in large parts now.

I'm sure it's a combo of holidays, brighter commuting times and the semi finished roadworks but my commute is in the sub 40 min range now, it's such a difference.

It won't be any use to DP in Newcastle but from Kildare it's a fantastic improvement.

N7 has rightly been mentioned as a horrible experience on here over the past 12-18 months but it is finally open to 3 lanes in large parts now.

I'm sure it's a combo of holidays, brighter commuting times and the semi finished roadworks but my commute is in the sub 40 min range now, it's such a difference.

It won't be any use to DP in Newcastle but from Kildare it's a fantastic improvement.
                                                                  Drove down to Dingle today. 1h 50m to Adare Manor with some of it still 60/80kmh.

Tis a bit boring here. Where the fuck is the nightlife like. Currently sat in Topo rooftop bar.

Yeah, they're great. I get them off wiggle.co.uk good value.

Think I remember recommending them to him too. So, GFYK
                                                                      Fuck you tobin you don't even cycle

I'm fuckin mouldy byes

Its all about the Holidays I'm afraid. From September on the improvments are going to make a huge difference for the better for people travelling south but on the way in its going to be significantly worse. Will be more and worse crashes every morning and solid tailbacks taking c. 50 mins from Kill to M50

Have my gardening leave coming to an end shortly. Going to italy for a bit before hand though, anyone have recommendations for treviso/venice area, bologna & genoa as well. Have a car and able to travel around no problem.

Its all about the Holidays I'm afraid. From September on the improvments are going to make a huge difference for the better for people travelling south but on the way in its going to be significantly worse. Will be more and worse crashes every morning and solid tailbacks taking c. 50 mins from Kill to M50
                                                                              I have taken to driving via Maynooth when I'm staying in Kildare for a while now because I hate paying the toll tbh but the difference is pretty significant at the minute so it's worth it for the moment.

I do Waterford-Dublin 4 times a week so anything to ease that even it's temporary is always welcome.

Tis a bit boring here. Where the fuck is the nightlife like. Currently sat in Topo rooftop bar.
                                                                                Harry Potter book store thing is good.

Also
                                                                                It's difficult to shortlist all those very special places in the colorful city of Porto, but Mercado Bom Sucesso (Bom Sucesso Market) is definitely one of them. Besides another lovely market in the center of Porto, Bolhão, which is quite different conceptually but equally interesting, Bom Sucesso is also a wonderful place to visit, especially after a whole day stroll around Porto. 

Michelle there's a million and one things to do in Porto at night. Simply Google Porto nightlife and whatever you are after. It's a little early though

Harry Potter book store thing is good.

Also
                                                                                  It's difficult to shortlist all those very special places in the colorful city of Porto, but Mercado Bom Sucesso (Bom Sucesso Market) is definitely one of them. Besides another lovely market in the center of Porto, Bolhão, which is quite different conceptually but equally interesting, Bom Sucesso is also a wonderful place to visit, especially after a whole day stroll around Porto. 

Michelle there's a million and one things to do in Porto at night. Simply Google Porto nightlife and whatever you are after. It's a little early though
                                                                                  Will the clubs in Porto still be open by the time she gets there?

I'm fuckin mouldy byes
                                                                                    Crack open the two Music Kings and vote. About to launch into them meself.

Put a bet on bernal last week to win at 11/2. The fact Thomas is showing nothing and Frenchy is going to struggle with 2 more days in the alps makes me think he might get there. Just looked on PP and he's now an 11/8 fav. Can't wait for tomorrow and Saturday
                                                                                      I was tempted into getting on Quintana @ 55 tonight. He picked up 5 minutes today and looked comfortable going away from a strong breakaway group on a 10% climb, now that he's hit form its possible that he could crush again tomorrow and Saturday. OK he has 6 strong GC players so it's a big ask but maybe moviestar have a bit more left to offer him than most of the other contenders have from their teams at this stage

Not liking new season of Last Chance U. Enjoyed the last 3. Players more like reality tv stars than athletes. Just finished the 3rd episode and the coach is annoying and making excuses already (it's a 4-5 year plan yadayadayada) Anyone watch it yet? Worth sticking with it?

I was tempted into getting on Quintana @ 55 tonight. He picked up 5 minutes today and looked comfortable going away from a strong breakaway group on a 10% climb, now that he's hit form its possible that he could crush again tomorrow and Saturday. OK he has 6 strong GC players so it's a big ask but maybe moviestar have a bit more left to offer him than most of the other contenders have from their teams at this stage
                                                                                          Interested to see how the goung Cork lad Dunbar progresses over next 3 years..could be a contender when he hits 26 or 27.

OK so ordered a gin cocktail saw a fucking martini glass which I hate as I know it's a small cocktail... 4 different gins in it and a slice of orange, strained ice out before pour. Holy fuck this ain't going to end well

*ill end up like a female hitch looking for a, 14 inch black cock later 😂😂😂

OK so ordered a gin cocktail saw a fucking martini glass which I hate as I know it's a small cocktail... 4 different gins in it and a slice of orange, strained ice out before pour. Holy fuck this ain't going to end well

*ill end up like a female hitch looking for a, 14 inch black cock later 😂😂😂
                                                                                                14 ? Hitch draws the line at 8...

Not liking new season of Last Chance U. Enjoyed the last 3. Players more like reality tv stars than athletes. Just finished the 3rd episode and the coach is annoying and making excuses already (it's a 4-5 year plan yadayadayada) Anyone watch it yet? Worth sticking with it?
                                                                                                  I'd say it was a nightmare for Netflix the way it transpired. They did their best to try alter the narrative but just lacks that tension when the side has feck all to play for from early in the season.

All the coaches always seem highly agitated in it though, it's definitely an addiction for most of them, they dont seem to be getting much satisfaction from it and brings out the absolute worst in them.

Mad drama on my road in the last 30 mins or so.

Was sitting there listening to Music King and heard a commotion outside, car alarm going off. Looked out the window and there's a few people milling about.

Went out and there's 3 cars blazing at the top of my cul de sac.

Turns out some guy drove a people carrier yoke up the street, crashed into a couple of cars, reversed it into a parking space then torched it and legged it, setting the other two up.

Mad stuff.

Can't get my head around why he reversed it into a parking space if his intention was to set it alight and leggit.

It's normally quiet DP

Cross Newcastle off the list so

The similarities in delivery between an snl skit and a presidential speech are pretty astounding

Lacrosse, handball, hockey.

Replies to this are gold....

Lacrosse, handball, hockey.
                                                                                                                Hockey certainly codified by ze Brits

I know a guy called Larry Cross . I shall think of him differently now

Quick bump for the IPB golf, all welcome, as Switch will attest to, I'm completely shite so those with zero experience will still not likely be the worst.

Hockey certainly codified by ze Brits
                                                                                                                      They may have codified the modern rules. But the question was who “invented”.
                                                                                                                      And hockey and hockey-like games predate the rules considerably.

Similar with Lacrosse, the French gave it a name an probably standardised the rules, but it’s undoubted a Native American/Canadian game.

Here’s one for you RD. What’s the etymology of “Lacrosse”

Solks, you’re welcome to speculate also.

They may have codified the modern rules. But the question was who “invented”.
                                                                                                                        And hockey and hockey-like games predate the rules considerably.

Similar with Lacrosse, the French gave it a name an probably standardised the rules, but it’s undoubted a Native American/Canadian game.

Here’s one for you RD. What’s the etymology of “Lacrosse”

Solks, you’re welcome to speculate also.
                                                                                                                        Speculate ? Fuck you Mellor I know this already.

It’s name translated from Cherokee and means ‘shit sport’ It emanates from a time when the head of a tribe was trying to piss off a neighbouring chief who he wished would go home as there was no more ‘fire water’ left. So he created this game and they made up the rules as they went along and to this day the rules are nchanged. The beauty of this shit sport is whenever anyone starts to play it, people get angry and leave or else stay and drink whiskey.

I think you’re mate Larry is spoofing about being a Cherokee