I'm not so sure people are stressing that much about it. Personally I stopped buying plastic bottles when I saw the ecological damage however my recycling leaves a lot to be desired. If we tackled the plastic poison at the least we will have done a measurable good for our planet.
      Ditch the bottles lads.

Shakespeare knew a thing or two about the nags:

What a long night is this! I will not change my
        horse with any that treads but on four pasterns.
        Ca, ha! he bounds from the earth, as if his
        entrails were hairs; le cheval volant, the Pegasus,
        chez les narines de feu! When I bestride him, I
        soar, I am a hawk: he trots the air; the earth
        sings when he touches it; the basest horn of his
        hoof is more musical than the pipe of Hermes.
        He's of the colour of the nutmeg.
        And of the heat of the ginger. It is a beast for
        Perseus: he is pure air and fire; and the dull
        elements of earth and water never appear in him, but
        only in Patient stillness while his rider mounts
        him: he is indeed a horse; and all other jades you
        may call beasts.
        Indeed, my lord, it is a most absolute and excellent horse.
        If you scoop the 2019 IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp, it can only be via the picking of the most absolute and excellent horses. Sign up today or there'll be more of this shite.

Also I don't buy the black coffee snobbery. Much of good food and drink is about combinations of flavours and coffee and milk/cream is a good combination as warm fat tastes good and milk brings the pH of the drink coffee back towards neutral making it taste less astringent.
          I wasn't saying there anything wrong with milk in coffee. I don't drink black coffee. I just meant order exactly what you want. Maybe there's not flexibility with options in Australia. 3/4 Cappuccino imo.

I have to deliver a 3 min speech/presentation to prob 150 people on a stage using power point next Tues. I have recorded myself several times and I am constantly saying "em"

Is there anything I can do to stop this,. Help!

All tips appreciated as I'm fucking shitting it
            ÂĐ 5starpool

I have to deliver a 3 min speech/presentation to prob 150 people on a stage using power point next Tues. I have recorded myself several times and I am constantly saying "em"

Know the speech pretty much off by heart, take pauses in certain spots that make sense and during those pauses take one deep breath, when you know what you have to say next and by taking the breath should stop you just saying em

I litterly haven't time to breath. On the end of the 3rd min a horn is gonna be blown to stop. It's so much pressure. But I'll try it tomorrow nights practice ty
                ÂĐ 5starpool

Do a dry run with about 5 or so people beforehand. The best still do dry runs

I can only do with mia. I can't do with anyone else as there is a huge prize up for grabs.
                    ÂĐ 5starpool

Have a few drinks before you go onstage. Then try some Groucho Marx lines on your audience.

I have had a perfectly wonderful evening - but this wasn't it.
                      Then wiggle your eyebrows suggestively and wave your cigar around. Job done.

Sounds painful.

Durty .

find it hard to believe Satnav stuck for words.

Soft Border Patrol on BBC is v funny.

Norn Iron comedy that's actually funny. Who knew.

Work on your breathing and timing.
                              Em...is a crutch your brain uses to lead onto the next sentence. Instead of em, just take a breath...say nothing. Count to 3 in your head etc

Soft Border Patrol on BBC is v funny.

Norn Iron comedy that's actually funny. Who knew.
                                You filthy animal.

Carson was hilarious.

Have a few drinks before you go onstage. Then try some Groucho Marx lines on your audience.

Then wiggle your eyebrows suggestively and wave your cigar around. Job done.
                                  You do realise due to botox I am unable to raise my eyebrows

Re breathing jesus Im. Gonna sound like something off porn hub
                                  ÂĐ 5starpool

You filthy animal.

Carson was hilarious.
                                    Cotch yerself oan

You do realise due to botox I am unable to raise my eyebrows

Re breathing jesus Im. Gonna sound like something off porn hub
                                      Channel Groucho. He's your only hope.

I'm not a vegetarian, but I eat animals who are

I litterly haven't time to breath. On the end of the 3rd min a horn is gonna be blown to stop. It's so much pressure. But I'll try it tomorrow nights practice ty
                                        Work on your breathing and timing.
                                        Em...is a crutch your brain uses to lead onto the next sentence. Instead of em, just take a breath...say nothing. Count to 3 in your head etc
                                        That's why I said to know it all pretty much off by heart, like DP says above the em is just you looking for a pause. If you know it off by heart and train yourself to take the quick breath instead of saying em you'll be fine and nobody will notice. Itll come across as well prepared and professional

K I'll practice that, thanks for help.
                                          ÂĐ 5starpool

K I'll practice that, thanks for help.
                                            Have only ever had to do it once thankfully and I kept on stuttering over a couple of words so that was the technique I was told to use and it worked a treat.

Best of luck with it

Knock out half of the words you plan to say and do what Dobby said.

If you have to race then you are trying to fit too much words in.

Use pictures rather than words on the slides. Try to make them funny and informative. People get bored senseless by words, and pictures are more effective anyway. Also words slow you down as you're trying to fit them all into your presentation.

Send my the slides if you want and I'll edit them.
                                                I have exactly that done no words on my PowerPoint only pictures which I'm using as prompts with a little humour.

Can't edit anymore as cut off point was yesterday.

So I'll try the breath technique and leave out a few pointless bits. I'll practise again tonight

ÂĐ 5starpool

Any more technologically minded people able to figure this out?

Just after Christmas both PP & Betfair stopped working more or less on all devices when on home wifi. They will work intermittently but get a lot of "isoidentity site not working messages" and when they do load up sometimes the bank wont load. Sometimes its fine if you persist but its very annoying.

Everyting else works fine (ie Poker sites and Boyles etc so it cant be some sort of gambling site block) and both PP & Betfair work fine on other wifi or 4g so it must be the home wifi or I've pressed something or whatever.

Even when in it takes ages to deposit & could take 4 attempts to place a bet.

Neither PP or wifi company support can figure it out.

Meh maybe its the wife
                                                  Last edited by Dice75; 23-02-19, 10:01.

Go into settings/apps/the problem app/force stop.
                                                    clear cache also

Go into settings/apps/the problem app/force stop.
                                                      clear cache also
                                                      Yeah tried that on phone/tablet & Laptop but no joy. App wont open full stop just says "oops something went wrong" all the time. Laptop works half the time at best.

What colour is the laptop?

I only buy red ones

I have exactly that done no words on my PowerPoint only pictures which I'm using as prompts with a little humour.

Can't edit anymore as cut off point was yesterday.

So I'll try the breath technique and leave out a few pointless bits. I'll practise again tonight

Think about your audience. What is the key message that you want them to take away and the key action you want them to take.

Strip back everything else and hone this message and understand you are trying to persuade not just to inform. 3 minutes is very short, slides and faffing around with setup are distractions to your message. Ahs and ems arise from a lack of focus on the audience and too much thinking about yourself in the situation.

Commit 100% to getting the audience to change as a result of your words in that 3 minutes and that elevates you out of your own way. Practise out loud in front of a full length mirror. Body language, image, tone and vocal projection should all be in alignment with your purpose. No notes and commit with sincerity.

Think about your audience. What is the key message that you want them to take away and the key action you want them to take.

Strip back everything else and hone this message and understand you are trying to persuade not just to inform. 3 minutes is very short, slides and faffing around with setup are distractions to your message. Ahs and ems arise from a lack of focus on the audience and too much thinking about yourself in the situation.

Commit 100% to getting the audience to change as a result of your words in that 3 minutes and that elevates you out of your own way. Practise out loud in front of a full length mirror. Body language, image, tone and vocal projection should all be in alignment with your purpose. No notes and commit with sincerity.
                                                              Thanks for that. I think once I start I'll deffo get my message across. I'll do the mirror thing tonight.

Ah im just a bit nervous. I'll take a valium 30 mins before hand lol.

Thanks all for the tips
                                                              ÂĐ 5starpool

People (or at least younger people) seem far more concerned about climate change compared to even just a couple of years ago. There's people I know who actually get upset about it. It's something I can't get my head around. Here's this big issue that essentially you can't fix or affect in a meaningful well.

I don't mean this in a "I can't do anything so while bother", by all means recycle and be conscious of things, but it's the sitting at home and getting upset over it that I don't get. Save your concern for things that you can directly control imo.
                                                                This.

I remember growing up there was fretting about how we were all going to get skin cancer due to the decline in the ozone layer, or how we were gonna hit peak oil (lol), or run out of drinking water. Before that it was the Cold War, Tetraethyllead, CFCs, acid rain etc, etc.
                                                                We literally solved all those issues due to collective actions! Overfishing and deforestation all hugely addressed, albeit imperfectly. Society has a decent track record of sorting out its most pressing problems.
                                                                I admire ye’re delusion lads, it is too late , the mass disruption to western civilization is baked in at that stage. Belief progress as a an always increasing thing and humanities ability to engineer its way out of any problem is going to be brutally exposed as little better than believing in god over the coming decades
                                                                We hit the planetary euromillions when we found oil and we spunked it
                                                                I don’t think the younger generations have even got started on the anger, older generations will be vilified

This is a very good article on the misunderstandings a lot of people seem to have, btw I’m still a meat eater , wouldn’t describe myself as an environmentalist and my attitude to climate change a few years ago would have been “at least I’ll be long gone before the bad shit hits” and I definitely would have had that vague hope that we’d “yeah science!” our way out of it. But I don’t believe any of that anymore
                                                                  David Wallace-Wells, author of the new book The Uninhabitable Earth, describes why climate change might alter our sense of time.

I think that we have a very hard time processing our own complicity as Westerners reading novels and wondering about climate change. We really prefer to see ourselves as truly innocent, and therefore want our climate storytelling to reassure us about our own culpability, and tell us in fact that it’s someone else’s problem in our culture, outside of narrative.

I think this often takes the form of vilifying oil companies. I don’t want to come off as someone who thinks oil companies are forces for good. But I also realized that when I buy a flight to take a vacation, I’m not doing that as a tool of the oil companies. When I eat a hamburger, I’m not doing that as a tool of the oil companies. Everything about the way that we all live in the modern world [has] a carbon footprint, and therefore we all share in responsibility for this damage.

Skill levels in the France-Scotland game are atrocious. On a lovely day too.

Im always glad seeing V for Vendetta's posts that he's remained a positive and helpful source and never made the transition to Scientology or something. Because imagine all his energies if he did.

Skill levels in the France-Scotland game are atrocious. On a lovely day too.
                                                                        In fairness to Scotland they just don’t have the strength in depth and the control of their own players. Losing Finn Russell playing in France for example.

The French were actually there for the taking in the 2nd half as they tired but the Scots just didn’t have the players coming off the bench like the welsh did. Dupont is a seriously good scrum half for France but they are penalty conceding machines. Still it was entertaining in a sort of mad way.

Anscombe a terrible man for executing kicks

Epic finish by Wales. Won't fancy our chances when we go there trying to stop them winning the GS in three weeks.

Place will be lifting off.

Rumours of England's resurgence were greatly exaggerated.
                                                                                -Michael Twain.

Great match .

Biggar had a huge impact on the game when he came on

It’s going to be rough. We will most likely be playing to take 2nd place against a welsh side which should finally be approaching their best combinations and form. Still it’ll be a cracker and the pressure of going for the GS will be on them.

Get a good result tmrw and rotate a few boys for the French and then the welsh with a 6 day turnaround. Good experience and preparation and if we could win all 3 Ireland would have decent confidence heading for the RWC and no northern hemisphere team would be getting too far ahead of themselves.

Biggar had a huge impact on the game when he came on
                                                                                      Unreal that he wasn’t brought on at half time tbh.

The Umbrella Academy's first episode showed some promise.
                                                                                        Don't fkin ruin it for me now.

Been chasing a bug since last Monday morning in some insanely fragile 20 year old code. Thought I had it beat leaving work yesterday, knew I shouldn't have looked at the test results this morning and sure enough I couldn't leave it alone all day. Finally got it fixed just now. A day 1 design flaw that never envisiged big data sets and single character mismatch checked in 10 years ago combined were lurking like that thing of Stephen King's hiding down in the sewers.
                                                                                          I've had worse Saturday nights

lol, Italian cops are bananas.

Watching the anthems, I'm having a premonition that this one might go badly wrong.

It's only Italy ffs.

The Umbrella Academy's first episode showed some promise.
                                                                                                Don't fkin ruin it for me now.
                                                                                                1st 3 been good

Watching the anthems, I'm having a premonition that this one might go badly wrong.

It's only Italy ffs.
                                                                                                  It’s hard to begrudge them a performance. They are building the right way and improving throughout their structures. They’ll get crushed in the 2nd half though. Another one for stockdale.

Better team so far imo. We look unfocussed.

My theory: now the players know Schmidt is gone, there is inevitably slippage in terms of adherence to his standards.

Better team so far imo. We look unfocussed.

My theory: now the players know Schmidt is gone, there is inevitably slippage in terms of adherence to his standards.
                                                                                                      Aki gone and Farrell carrying his right shoulder. Carty going to make his debut in the centre. Fun times ahead.

Deserved lead for Italy now. If I was neutral I'd be roaring for them.

Serious amount of damage done in Malta as its been battered by the worst storm to hit the country in over 50 years for the past 2 days. Pretty much a no-go area outside. Fun times!

Deserved lead for Italy now. If I was neutral I'd be roaring for them.
                                                                                                            100%. It’s a lot more entertaining than a bonus point lead by half time. The scrum half for Italy is having a huge game. Also their backrow minus Parrise is looking more balanced.
                                                                                                            Last edited by V for Vendetta; 24-02-19, 15:55.

It’s funny this game is basically a World Cup squad make or break game for a number of the Irish forward players and they aren’t handling it well.

Combine that with murray and Sexton not playing well and a makeshift midfield and it’s not pretty. Still think we’re going to win with a try BP. Can’t take Murray off due to backline injuries and inexperienced Carty on the bench. Some good forwards to come on after 10-15 minutes.

Kilcoyne going very well at loosehead. I’d like to see Jordi Murphy really get going.
                                                                                                              Last edited by V for Vendetta; 24-02-19, 16:01.

Serious amount of damage done in Malta as its been battered by the worst storm to hit the country in over 50 years for the past 2 days. Pretty much a no-go area outside. Fun times!
                                                                                                                Would Malta get about 300+ days of sunshine a year? Hard to have sympathy for ya m8

I have seen clips of people "fishing" in the streets...lol

If Johnny Sexton was English he'd get some abuse. Permanently in a huff on field.

Everyone knows Sexton is a bollix.

It's part of what makes him our greatest ever 10.

Would Malta get about 300+ days of sunshine a year? Hard to have sympathy for ya m8
                                                                                                                        Not quite! It's far from Spain in terms of weather. Been a really cold winter, and when it's cold over here, it's really cold due to the wind and ridiculously high humidity.

It gets dark about 5.30pm at the moment, and even during the height of summer, it's dark about 8.15pm at the latest. Not going to lie that it's not awesome over here during the summer though!

Couple of examples of the weather:

The amount of trees, walls, poles, balconies that have been blown down is crazy. Not to mention half the country is flooded. Will be some cleanup operation over the next few days.

I have seen clips of people "fishing" in the streets...lol
                                                                                                                        Yeah lol. Hundreds of fish been blasted out of the sea. Here's some of the vids!

Not sure what was more painful

Watching Ireland, watching Utd or trying to watch them both at the same time.

Shite day of sport altogether