Originally posted by Apache View Post
    To hopefully ease the tension and lighten the mood here is a video of some competitive eating by dogs voiced by BBC commentator Andrew Cotter...

Take Zuutroy off ignore. Dont you know he gets to everything first

If I had a penny for every person who thinks their parents will die if they catch it becuase they have x or y condition.
      Reality is very few people get to 65+ with a clean bill of health and yet an overwhelming majority of them are surviving this.
      Constantly telling them they're gonna die will prob have the opposite effect you want when telling them to stay indoors.
      Not undermining the seriousness of all this but people need to chill with their biases that their parents are feeble and on the edge of death
      Have you any numbers on this? It seems to intuitively make sense but then I hear Paddy Mallon from St Vincent's today on the radio saying that they are seeing otherwise healthy 70+ age people getting very ill very quickly on admission and if it continues ICUs will be overrun by them sooner rather than later.

Take Zuutroy off ignore. Dont you know he gets to everything first
        DOH! Sorry Zuutroy. Must have missed it.

Quite clear from listening to Harris there that Lazare is doing it right. It's a guidance to keep you near to home .
          Distance from home being the key.

Let the brow beating cease .
          Yeah he was pretty clear that it's about staying within a radius. I don't know how people got the impression that you are meant to go 2km in a straight line out and back.

Originally posted by Apache View Post
            Have you any numbers on this? It seems to intuitively make sense but then I hear Paddy Mallon from St Vincent's today on the radio saying that they are seeing otherwise healthy 70+ age people getting very ill very quickly on admission and if it continues ICUs will be overrun by them sooner rather than later.
            Nice to see a new face around here. Tell us your story? How did you find us? We don't get many strangers around these parts anymore.

Signs of civil unrest breaking out in parts of Italy. Sky showing footage of lootings already underway in parts.

Nice to see a new face around here. Tell us your story? How did you find us? We don't get many strangers around these parts anymore.

It's the same story as most here I think. I would have found the Poker forum on boards back in the mid 2000's. I was never a prolific poster but always enjoyed reading the BBVs both there and here. The level of discussion was always, in my opinion, higher than other forums so hopefully I can add something towards that in these strange times we find ourselves in.

Wow. Intelligent people measuring out 2km radius and doing what they want within "the rule".
                  If it was 2km walk I'd be walking around housing estate's and a few busy roads

If it was 2km radius, which it is, I could design a walk for myself around part of Lough Gill and a few country roads where I'd come into contact with practically no-one

You can be a right dick at times, can't you?
                    I often feel this way, though on any reflection it doesn't sit well with me. It's a bit like saying we voted for Bertie Aherne(more than once), so fuck us.
                    Does the ever declining state of politics and the societal conversation in the UK not just fucking unreasonably annoy anyone else? The politicking of covid 19 is a direct extension of the politics of Brexit and the right wing slide of our nearest neighbour. I'm aghast at what's going on there and the grapevine from Irish doctors on the frontline in London is terrifying.

They voted yet another Eton debate society chancer to make them poorer and put their lives at risk. At what point is it okay to get angry about that?

think they're pretty harmless. The loop from my house around to oughterard cemetary and back is short of 8k. I'm sure you've jogged it?
                      Weirdly I've only really started exploring that direction since all this started. That was the first time I ran up your road. I normally run Lyons Road over the bridge and down to Celbridge. There's a beautiful stretch down that way, so quiet and rural. 'The Lord's road' guessing it was named after a Brit rather than Jaysis.

Really liked as far as I got up your way this morn, bar those dogs. Will definitely run it some day when I can.

I understand where Lazare is coming from. I was lucky that a concept II erg and a kettlebell arrived early last week. I'm glad I ordered them in time. I did a few k on the rower this morning and I'd be climbing up the walls without some proper training in the week.

Telling everyone you did it is probably your biggest mistake today in all honesty.

Ha! Yeah, probably. Didn't expect it though tbh.

Does the ever declining state of politics and the societal conversation in the UK not just fucking unreasonably annoy anyone else? The politicking of covid 19 is a direct extension of the politics of Brexit and the right wing slide of our nearest neighbour. I'm aghast at what's going on there and the grapevine from Irish doctors on the frontline in London is terrifying.

They voted yet another Eton debate society chancer to make them poorer and put their lives at risk. At what point is it okay to get angry about that?
                            You saw the muppet on the other side of the choice equation, right?

This is how to cover a song;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_e0I05VSc0
                              This remains the best part of my day so far.

I'm a dickhead for running alone on a countryside path for an hour?
                                What would be great is if you enthusiastically embraced the restrictions. Be a role model. Don't look to game the system or bend the meaning of words. For you sacrifice is giving up long outdoor runs for a few weeks, it's not much compared to what others are doing.

But I didn't look to 'game the system'. I ran until my watch beeped 2km and turned around. I spent an hour within that cordon, almost in isolation. My interpretation of the restriction was exactly that. I never felt put out by it either and am fully behind it.

Except he got the lyric wrong.

Sometimes it's like someone took a knife, baby
                                    Edgy and dull and cut a six inch valley
                                    Through the middle of my skull

Maybe its his interpretation singing soul instead of skull...but since everyone else is demanding to be outraged today...

Nah, something something Corbyn communists anti-Semite doesn't cut it here.

There was no particular disparity of ability between the two front-benches of Labour and the Conservatives at the last election. Mc Donnell no worse than Javid, nothing much between Corbyn and Johnson, Patel and Abbott seem equally poor but at least Abbott has some inherent decency.

The public chose the debating society Etonites in nicer clothes with a slightly suaver image and clever 3 word slogans. So fuck em, as Lloyd says.

Corbyn, McDonnell and Labour would be a far superior outcome for the U.K. in this crisis than Cummings et al. A centralised big state socialist response (which is exactly what is required) is what they spent their entire careers preparing for! In a choice between someone who seems to care about people and a dishonest fuckhead completely naked in his self interest it should have been fairly straightforward who to vote for.

Their approach very quickly moved from 'incompetent' to 'sinister' to now being unapologetic about massaging stats to cover their asses. It's outrageous what's been going on over there the past decade.

But I didn't look to 'game the system'. I ran until my watch beeped 2km and turned around. I spent an hour within that cordon, almost in isolation. My interpretation of the restriction was exactly that. I never felt put out by it either and am fully behind it.

You interpreted every part of the restriction in the fashion that would allow you to run the max distance possible without missing out on a meter, including the cognitive trick of pretending to yourself that brief meant relative to your normal routine, rather than it's more general meaning. Then you angrily argued about it whilst bragging about your athletic prowess. You don't feel put out by the restrictions because you aren't letting them affect you.

At what point is it okay to get angry about that?
                                            Ah I just expect you to be better than me. I'm aware I have quite an anger management problem, though letting a bit of steam off here is an improvement I feel, from threatning people on the roads.
                                            The Donald is giving a speech on an army hospital ship that's heading for NY. What a shitshow.

Was listening to the Wall album in the early hours and I came across the ' isnt this where we came in ' vocal loop on the Album. After all these years I never knew .
                                              Let out a big COOOOOL very loudly due to the earphones. The missus jumped up WHAT ? i told her , she said COOOOL. We both fell asleep. Hmmm now i remember why i married her

They should have voted Labour for the benefits of a socialist response to an unprecedented global pandemic on a scale of which we haven't seen for 100 years is one of the best takes we've had here for a while.

Was wondering what the C in your name stood for. Just yesterday I realised that it most likely stood for Cincinnati, though until then I had thought it was for cancer

I understand where Lazare is coming from. I was lucky that a concept II erg and a kettlebell arrived early last week. I'm glad I ordered them in time. I did a few k on the rower this morning and I'd be climbing up the walls without some proper training in the week.

Telling everyone you did it is probably your biggest mistake today in all honesty.
                                                    My housemate was going mad without training for a few days, on top of the stuff we already have she just got a squat rack, barbell, and 100kg in weights.

Not to mention in the last few days she learned to metal and made her own dip bars.

Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 28-03-20, 18:24.

That’s not what I said, don’t think AJ said it either. You should fucking read a post properly lad before you try and rubbish it.

Can’t believe some of the replies. A fifty minute run certainly counts as brief exercise in my book. I think the fact that a specific distance was announced but no guidance given around ‘brief’ indicated it can be left up to the discretion of the exerciser. Harris and Varadkar both emphasised the importance of people taking exercise during the week.

You interpreted every part of the restriction in the fashion that would allow you to run the max distance possible without missing out on a meter, including the cognitive trick of pretending to yourself that brief meant relative to your normal routine, rather than it's more general meaning. Then you angrily argued about it whilst bragging about your athletic prowess. You don't feel put out by the restrictions because you aren't letting them affect you.
                                                          You're literally the only person I've seen anywhere suggesting the intention is for 10-15 minute activities.

The radius is reported on some news sites as '2km of the home (i.e within half an hour from the home)' which would seem to indicate an interpretation of rules that going a half hour out and a half hour back is fairly reasonable.

E.g https://www.thejournal.ie/clarificat...Mar2020/?amp=1

Playing my first game of online poker in forever, any tips & tricks?

Move up levels so they respect your raises.

You're literally the only person I've seen anywhere suggesting the intention is for 10-15 minute activities.

The radius is reported on some news sites as '2km of the home (i.e within half an hour from the home)' which would seem to indicate an interpretation of rules that going a half hour out and a half hour back is fairly reasonable.

E.g https://www.thejournal.ie/clarificat...Mar2020/?amp=1
                                                                I'm not sure I would read anything into a news site adding '2km of the home' to the restrictions, they are probably just attempting to help people visualise what 2km is.

I think I'm just trying to say you seem to be very aggro about other people's interpretation of a (deliberately?) vague rule while having the most extreme interpretation of it I have seen anywhere on the Internet yourself.

I think this from the guards is also pretty indicative that nothing like a 15-30 minute limitation is implied

Gardaí say a high visibility operation is now under way involving thousands of officers.

They say they will intervene where people are not complying with measures and they have appealed to people and families not to attend popular spots for overly long periods, and if it is busy to leave.

Sorry Daragh, but I'm not going to let you make me think I'm a prick here. Just not. I did nothing wrong.

What's this 'athletic prowess' childish nonsense?

If you interpreted bragging in anything I posted today that's a you problem. In fact that's likely the root of it is it?

All national parks open for people who live within 2km of them also.

Was listening to the Wall album in the early hours and I came across the ' isnt this where we came in ' vocal loop on the Album. After all these years I never knew .
                                                                        Let out a big COOOOOL very loudly due to the earphones. The missus jumped up WHAT ? i told her , she said COOOOL. We both fell asleep. Hmmm now i remember why i married her
                                                                        I was looking at my window the other day. Aguy with DCC was driving a bin truck and emptying the litter bins on a deserted street. Music was booming out of the truck. It was the tail end of one of my turns, which then led into Brain Damage. The guy really seemed to be reveling in the bizarreness of the scene.

Just finished a bottle of Boli.

Fuck all you cunts and your running.

Can I be the first to call Hectorjelly a lazy bollix. Think it might clear the air!

Stay within the fucking 2k limit you selfish bastard .

Running is the new paedophilia. Or chainsaw massacring.

I better "Run" off to work...when the revolution comes !!

Sorry Daragh, but I'm not going to let you make me think I'm a prick here. Just not. I did nothing wrong.

What's this 'athletic prowess' childish nonsense?

If you interpreted bragging in anything I posted today that's a you problem. In fact that's likely the root of it is it?
                                                                                    Maybe not for you. I normally run between 80 and 120 mins.

All national parks open for people who live within 2km of them also.
                                                                                      DCC have closed all the parks and squares bar the Phoenix park

LL, couldn't agree more. My brother is living other there and I don't know which one of us is the more furious at the stupid, mendacious, privileged waffling of the utter fools that are meant to be running the country there. It is infuriating - as well as in some ways terrifying - in the extreme to see the fucking clowns going about their bumbling, incompetent, business, not caring a shit about the people they are meant to represent/be responsible for ...Jaysis, a fucking traines junior assistant in a shop would be sacked for displaying that kind of mindset/lack of any ethics...

DCC have closed all the parks and squares bar the Phoenix park
                                                                                          Makes sense for the likes of the small parks around the city. 2m distance in a national park should be fairly achievable.

Nark levels off the charts today. By Day 14 we'll be headbutting our way through the walls.

Feels like we should put together a wish list of what we dream of doing when the restrictions are lifted.

Mine is pretty sad: go to work in an office that doesn't have my children bursting in every 30 seconds.

Me with my new self-haircut wandering around the local village today.

Even if there was no virus you couldn't go out for two weeks with a haircut like that

Corbyn, McDonnell and Labour would be a far superior outcome for the U.K. in this crisis than Cummings et al. A centralised big state socialist response (which is exactly what is required) is what they spent their entire careers preparing for! In a choice between someone who seems to care about people and a dishonest fuckhead completely naked in his self interest it should have been fairly straightforward who to vote for.

Their approach very quickly moved from 'incompetent' to 'sinister' to now being unapologetic about massaging stats to cover their asses. It's outrageous what's been going on over there the past decade.
                                                                                                  They are mirroring the US, should hardly be surprising.

I'm sure you can see why, when presented with a choice between a droning hangover from 1970s student politics and the unapologetic bullshitter that is Boris, people chose Option B in their droves?
                                                                                                  If Labour had a Blair, or even a Brown, they would have walked it. Instead they sold their soul to a version of socialism that is unequivocally failed. FFS, Corbyn couldn't even make up his mind on Brexit.

People like Boris. It's a mystery to me but it's one of those political intangibles that you can't put a price on. Bertie had it too.

Makes sense for the likes of the small parks around the city. 2m distance in a national park should be fairly achievable.
                                                                                                    Afaik Dunlaoghaire Rathdown are leaving the parks open, but closing the car parks. Might check out Marlay tomorrow, I had stopped going as it was too full.

Lol! You will see I have decided to "join in the conversation"!!! Be afraid, be very ... Etc, etc...

I assumed you were sedentary, like most here, where a 60 min run is big.

I post regularly on the boards athletics forum where that sort of comment is meaningless. I can see how it appears as bragging here, but it's not.

I think I'm just trying to say you seem to be very aggro about other people's interpretation of a (deliberately?) vague rule while having the most extreme interpretation of it I have seen anywhere on the Internet yourself.

I think this from the guards is also pretty indicative that nothing like a 15-30 minute limitation is implied

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0327/11...-restrictions/
                                                                                                          I don't see anything from the guards on that link.

I'm only annoyed because Lazare replied to one of my posts bringing up how long I typically exercise for, I mean this is either rude or stupid but either way, it's annoying.

Laz needs to check out the great Bill Hicks riff on jogging

In Relentless, Bill Hicks’ classic special from 1991, he tells us how he feels about non-smokers, blowjobs, religion, war, peace, drugs, and music.The full s...

I assumed you were sedentary, like most here, where a 60 min run is big.

I post regularly on the boards athletics forum where that sort of comment is meaningless. I can see how it appears as bragging here, but it's not.
                                                                                                              it might not be bragging, but it's definitely irrelevant.

Anyway, let's move on. The next time one of us bumps into Leo we can ask him.

Ok, so we've both annoyed each other. I don't like feuding with anyone, let alone someone who has been good to me in the past.

I apologise.

I didn't even leave myself enough beer to get drunk on

Eh.

A 35-year-old man who was placed under home quarantine amid the COVID-19 pandemic after he returned from Sri Lanka has been charged with killing a woman at a village in Tamil Nadu.

This is how it starts lads.

It's really not. The cardio rehab classes in Tallaght hospital were 50 minutes exercise for people with damaged hearts. Even now with plenty of practice, it takes 15 minutes just to get my heart beating at the speed that I'd consider myself to be exercising. Like to keep it going for 30 minutes, and cool down over 10 or so. That's not being athletic, it's just enough to keep feeling ok.

Ok, so we've both annoyed each other. I don't like feuding with anyone, let alone someone who has been good to me in the past.

I apologise.
                                                                                                                        Sorry if I overreacted! Once it's all over we can have a race, any distance up to 800meters

That was an inferior performance by him, here is a better one: