Am I the only one who thinks of the Michelin Man when I hear about the Michelin Star

Considering its all the same company, doubtful

Actually read that afterwards. Not sure the article itself supports the headline though, as his stats show there was decent growth in all segments of potential support.
          Fair point, it's certainly not confined to his base. I still feel the underlying negative for him versus the other major candidates is how poorly he polls (50%) in the H2H with Trump when compared with Warren(58%), Sanders(59%) and Biden(68%).

As RD3 said though, the demographics he isn't particularly strong with are those which generally vote Democrat irrespective of candidate so perhaps it won't matter if he gets the nod.

Yep, I don't really know much about him, but like his combination of smarts and policies. I'd imagine the H2H poll is very much driven by how little known he is and that could change overnight.
              Nobody outside Arkansas had ever heard of Bill Clinton before 1992. Obama wasn't exactly a towering figure either.

Young guy beats old guy is a well-established trend in American presidential elections.

The counter to Buttigieg is that he really has no experience beyond being the mayor of a medium-size city. I can't actually think of any mayor who has leveraged their job into the national stage. Giuliani maybe.
              Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 27-11-19, 10:05.

Fair play to the farmers blockading Dublin, hope they keep it up

Considering its all the same company, doubtful
                  Thinking more about the fat guy spare tyre man food link.

Fair play to the farmers blockading Dublin, hope they keep it up
                    Let the air out of their tyres.

Ruddy cheeked wankers.

Let the air out of their tyres.

Ruddy cheeked wankers.
                      Stop their subsidies more like.

Raoul and Tar, together at last

You can capture the hipster vegan wanker vote.

I go after the wanker vote.

Unstoppable.

You can capture the hipster vegan wanker vote.

I go after the wanker vote.

Unstoppable.
                            More like insufferable

If those farmers put half as much energing into reducing emissions and pouring slurry into rivers, then they might get more of a hearing.

They're all in BTs buying Xmas presents anyway.

Nobody outside Arkansas had ever heard of Bill Clinton before 1992. Obama wasn't exactly a towering figure either.

Young guy beats old guy is a well-established trend in American presidential elections.

The counter to Buttigieg is that he really has no experience beyond being the mayor of a medium-size city. I can't actually think of any mayor who has leveraged their job into the national stage. Giuliani maybe.
                                Internet says he's ‎5ft 8in. No chance.
                                Last edited by Denny Crane; 27-11-19, 15:00.

Originally posted by Denny Crane
                                  Internet says he's ‎5ft 8in. No chance.
                                  Wasn't Fiorella La Guardia 5ft tall?

Macron looks pretty short too. And Putin.

None of those were US presidents

Trump is 6"2

Had a look earlier, Kuensburgs twitter feed today looks like it came straight from Tory HQ!

None of those were US presidents

Trump is 6"2

Is that height or width?

Giuliani is quite possibly mad. What great theatre though.

https://time.com/5714722/rudy-giuliani-transformation/
                                                Well, Trump did say that Rudy looks for corruption wherever he goes. https://www.nytimes.com/2019/11/27/n...ess-trump.html

Prepare the "I don't know Giuliani very well, I don't think we ever met' remarks.

Bob has become ridic funny with old age. The age suits him very well.

(the above is the beginning of a multi-hour detour)
                                                      Think I've watched every clip of him I could find. Also well worth going back an listening to the 100 or so podcasts. What better things could you be doing with 50 hours or so.

15 mins to major political betting market movements. Seemingly this is the daddy of all polls in terms of the technique.

some hints that it might suggest a hung parliament, but the very fact of publishing that will then change the likelihood of a hung parliament actually happening.
                                                          It's going to predict a 30/40 seat majority I reckon.
                                                          Which probably keeps it close enough to be all to play for.

Only survey to forecast hung parliament in last election predicts Tories will win 359 seats — with Labour down to 211

Yikes, that's not good news.

ComRes poll released around 9pm (and taken over a more recent timespan) was a bit more positive with the gap down to 7%.

British election polling is notoriously awful. Why does anyone pay any attention to it?

Good time to buy labour seat number imo
                                                                        Last edited by Guest; 27-11-19, 22:38.

Or more to the point, sell the Tory one!

This time next year you’ll all have forgotten Pete Buttigieg even existed.
                                                                            Absolutely no chance

15 mins to major political betting market movements. Seemingly this is the daddy of all polls in terms of the technique.

some hints that it might suggest a hung parliament, but the very fact of publishing that will then change the likelihood of a hung parliament actually happening.
                                                                              What's the general expectation on the impact of the GE on price of GBP? I'd have naturally assumed it would strengthen on back of Tory majority, weaken on Tory minority and possibly strengthen in (unlikely) Lab/LD coalition? This could be miles off the mark though! Any views?

GBP price is a matter of how well no deal is already priced in. Slow decline in value until they actually commit economic hari kari then it slides below EUR and USD

They only have 11 months to strike a permanent deal?

This time next year you’ll all have forgotten Pete Buttigieg even existed.
                                                                                        Absolutely no chance
                                                                                        In complete agreement

A deal is almost certain if Tories get in. They're the only party running on implementing a deal. That then gives them two years to strike a permanent deal with the EU which will be a bit worse than the current membership of EU but probably not a huge amount worse. A long term negative almost certainly, but unlikely to affect the short-term value.

Can't see how GBP would be affected immediately, as spot prices are for value of GBP today and futures prices would be for value of GBP normally no more than a year in the future. So the Tory deal is the 'best' option for financial markets given the alternative is so unknown.
                                                                                          Does the amount of assets that have now left and plan to leave the uk in the event of a deal and or no deal not mean that the Tories coming to power will reduce the asset sheet for the uk thus drop the currency even if it’s in a predictable manner?

Essentially I see the whole uk economy as balance sheet assets in the London and a load of grants and drains in the rest of the country. I know that’s a very basic way of looking at things but I can’t see how anything but a fall post election no matter who wins.

A deal is almost certain if Tories get in. They're the only party running on implementing a deal. That then gives them two years to strike a permanent deal with the EU which will be a bit worse than the current membership of EU but probably not a huge amount worse.
                                                                                              Tories have already admitted amoungst themselves that their deal won't get negotiated in the allotted time and they will bomb out as planned.

Just kicking can down road two years and stripping everything

They only have 11 months to strike a permanent deal?
                                                                                                Hitch loves making things up.

The only way a deal by end of 2020 is possible is if the UK capitulate totally on every point immediately. Any significant divergence will take far longer to get agreed.

Does the amount of assets that have now left and plan to leave the uk in the event of a deal and or no deal not mean that the Tories coming to power will reduce the asset sheet for the uk thus drop the currency even if it’s in a predictable manner?

Essentially I see the whole uk economy as balance sheet assets in the London and a load of grants and drains in the rest of the country. I know that’s a very basic way of looking at things but I can’t see how anything but a fall post election no matter who wins.
                                                                                                  UK currency is a plaything of the markets and a dumping ground for people looking to move money from "less desirable" places

How many lads lost a job making wigets in Blackburn last week hardly scratches it.

Just look at what happened on the night of the brexit vote, Farage admitted defeat even though he had heard different from the polling company (can't remember name offhand), pound goes up, truth comes out, pound goes down, people he knows just happened to make a killing trading currencies that night

They'll work out something. With close to 100% certainty. They've even been faced with the worst bolloxology from UK over the last three years and still reached an exit agreement. Maybe there will be some form of further extension, but regardless of the headlines there won't be a no deal brexit at any point in this process.

While EU is no fan of UK or Boris at the moment, its still one of the largest economies in the world (far bigger than Canada who the EU recently trumpeted a trade deal with) and a net importer of European products. So there are some significant mutual benefits in striking a deal.
                                                                                                      Yes, but a deal that is still significantly worse than....EU membership.

Hitch loves making things up.

The only way a deal by end of 2020 is possible is if the UK capitulate totally on every point immediately. Any significant divergence will take far longer to get agreed.
                                                                                                        Given that they still have absolutely no fucking idea what they want, the timeline seems, shall we say, optimistic.

A Tory is a Tory is a Tory but England would probably be a better place if this lad hadn't basically been chased out of power by Spitting Image

Satire was grand until OxBridge took it over and turned it into a toy

A Tory is a Tory is a Tory but England would probably be a better place if this lad hadn't basically been chased out of power by Spitting Image

Satire was grand until OxBridge took it over and turned it into a toy
                                                                                                            Major has about as much in common with BoJo as Bush Senior has with Trump.

You may need to look into Bush Senior!

Old school republican

Not particularly funny but crazy assed shit and worth a listen

On this episode of The Dollop, Dave Anthony & Gareth Reynolds discuss the controversial experimental social movement known as the Third Wave. Originating in ...

If you're thinking of watching The Lesson Plan on Amazon, don't listen until after you have watched it as it will spoil it for you

UK currency is a plaything of the markets and a dumping ground for people looking to move money from "less desirable" places

How many lads lost a job making wigets in Blackburn last week hardly scratches it.

Just look at what happened on the night of the brexit vote, Farage admitted defeat even though he had heard different from the polling company (can't remember name offhand), pound goes up, truth comes out, pound goes down, people he knows just happened to make a killing trading currencies that night
                                                                                                                        Not so much that but if the pension fund with xbillion on a balance sheet moves it to Dublin or Frankfurt or asia or whatever to be managed there instead than surely that hits the value is what I meant.