Coffee people, ahem Mr Z, using a stovetop Bialetti for a bit of variety at weekends but don't seem to be getting great results. Any tips?

Using my grinder to grind beans to an espresso setting and then loosely tamping.
    Never really used them. Need to get grind, dose, and tamp exactly right or you end up with muck. I bought a Sage machine 3-4 years ago and I'd say I've made 1000 cups a year on it without it missing a beat. They're expensive but very high quality.

I don't watch soccer much but whenever I do I'm struck by how shit Rashford seems to be versus how much I seem to hear about him (I'm posting this after he scored FWIW).
      He's good out wide and average in the middle. He's English so will always be overrated.

Always thought Rashford has bags of talent but is highlly erractic and yet to find a proper role but then as Dice pointed out he is young and hasn't had the greatest enviroment with the changes in manager, team stuggling etc during his breakthrough period. The one I have always stuggled with how he gets near a United team is Lingard.

@Keane If you fancy something a little more mid tier this is cracking deal for the Pixel 3a - Boards Link

Last edited by Opr; 10-11-19, 19:44.

Never really used them. Need to get grind, dose, and tamp exactly right or you end up with muck. I bought a Sage machine 3-4 years ago and I'd say I've made 1000 cups a year on it without it missing a beat. They're expensive but very high quality.
          Yeah, I have a Gaggia Classic which I get similarly excellent results from. Just opened a cupboard and L'omino con i baffi was giving me the eye so I thought I'd better him a spin.

“Bird brain”

That’s what the Rashford criticism reminds me of.

Insightful interview with John Bercow.

Soldiers fought and died to give us the freedoms that allow us to occasionally forget to wear a Poppy. To see Jonathan Pie: LIVE! go to https://www.jonathanp...

Always thought Rashford has bags of talent but is highlly erractic and yet to find a proper role but then as Dice pointed out he is young and hasn't had the greatest enviroment with the changes in manager, team stuggling etc during his breakthrough period. The one I have always stuggled with how he gets near a United team is Lingard.

@Keane If you fancy something a little more mid tier this is cracking deal for the Pixel 3a - Boards Link

Adam Johnson has more assists in the last 6 years than Lingard and he’s been in prison for 3 of them.

He's 21 tbf....judge him in 5 years time
                    That's fair alright, I think his style just annoys me when I see him.

He's good out wide and average in the middle. He's English so will always be overrated.
                    He just always seems to take the Hollywood option when I see him. Like he's about 70% as good as he thinks he is. Martial who seems to get a bit more stick makes the right decision way more often.

ā€œBird brainā€

Thatā€™s what the Rashford criticism reminds me of.
                    Oh jeez I hope that's about him rather than me but I'll accept it as an eejit if I'm miles off

I got the p30 after. Then quickly realised I'm too old for new technology!

Coffee people, ahem Mr Z, using a stovetop Bialetti for a bit of variety at weekends but don't seem to be getting great results. Any tips?

Using my grinder to grind beans to an espresso setting and then loosely tamping.
                        Aeropress, it's a none contest at the price point. Additional admin but completely worth it.

He's 21 tbf....judge him in 5 years time
                          I've heard that before and Mourinho has given the best counter imo.
                          He's highlighted that he has more top level experience in terms of mins than almost any top level player of a similar age so he's not your standard 21 year old breaking through. 133 apps over 5 years and 36 caps for England.

He deserves to criticised in the same manner of those with similar mileage and cannot hide behind the age to the same degree as others.
                          He doesn't see him as a No9 long term.

Lindgard is everything I hate about the modern footie player and nothing that I love . Is Deli Ali related ?

Thought Sterling was class today. Never seen a player so needlessly badgered for the full 90 minutes . Wp pool fans not as classy as your team

Does anyone want to send me a referral link for Airbnb? About to sign up and use it for first time.

Lindgard is everything I hate about the modern footie player and nothing that I love . Is Deli Ali related ?

Thought Sterling was class today. Never seen a player so needlessly badgered for the full 90 minutes . Wp pool fans not as classy as your team
                                Dele Ali at least has something about him and a bit of bite. I'd swap Lindgard for him in a heartbeat.

Does anyone want to send me a referral link for Airbnb? About to sign up and use it for first time.
                                  There ya go. Never done this so hope it works

Have you tried Airbnb? Sign up with my link and you will get up to Ā£34 off your first trip. https://abnb.me/e/SB9uWAXNv1?suuid=d...bcd6c&slevel=0

This is the missus referral, think.you save 40 quid. Not sure what she gets but happy airbnbing

Aeropress, it's a none contest at the price point. Additional admin but completely worth it.
                                      Aeropress is my coffee device in work.

Swapped out the kitchen hob for an induction one recently so my aluminium stovetop pot was redundant. Picked up an aeropress recently on the back of bbv recommendation. Great piece of kit tbf. Waiting on a stainless steel filter from aliexpress to get rid of paper. Any recommendations for a storage bag or case?

This is the missus referral, think.you save 40 quid. Not sure what she gets but happy airbnbing

https://www.airbnb.co.uk/c/aliceg476...91060289802357
                                          Airbnb seems to be wonderful value (ignoring its detrimental effect on affordable rents).

I have never been to Greece, despite it being the one place I wanted to go as a kid who loved Greek mythology, and then teen who loved Greek literature, history, art, philosophy etc.

So I pulled the trigger to go to Athens with a friend for 5 days in February. Flights less than ā‚¬60, Airbnb central apartment with first time discount ā‚¬66 total between us! I almost feel bad. Coincidentally I'm listening to a very lively translation of The Iliad on audiobook atm.

Robertson just edged out Trump 10-9 in the snooker final. Cracking match which included Robertson winning a respotted black frame to make it 9-9. Knocked in a 137 to win it, grand evenings entertainment.

GFYS...
                                              Last edited by oleras; 11-11-19, 06:49.

Aeropress is my coffee device in work.
                                                I tried that for a while but the admin is a bit for the office, just too many people.
                                                Reusable Nespresso pods are ideal for the office.

On the Rashford thing - It’s more likely he’ll be with an Everton type team in three years rather than achieving the expectations given to him.

He's already with an Everton type team

There can be great flexibility with Locations on Airbnb.

He's already with an Everton type team
                                                        Did laugh slightly Iā€™ll admit

Coincidentally I'm listening to a very lively translation of The Iliad on audiobook atm.
                                                          Would be glad to get a recommendation please

The Irishman's run time is 3hr 30min. Jaysis.

Anyone checked it out yet?

Unfortunately our Marathons have been shite since Sean Tracey.

Prepare the hamper sp!

Gotta hand it to the baggage lads in Schipol, they love fucking with the travelling public. Dublin baggage clearly signed as coming out on carousel 20 so everyone dutifully lines up there and awaits delivery.

After 5 minutes, I remember I've seen this movie before and wander down to no 22 where lo and behold, I find my bag gently circulating. I nab it and do my good deed for the day by returning to my fellow travellers to break the good news. Reckon I saved 50 people 30 minutes each there.

Gotta hand it to the baggage lads in Schipol, they love fucking with the travelling public. Dublin baggage clearly signed as coming out on carousel 20 so everyone dutifully lines up there and awaits delivery.

After 5 minutes, I remember I've seen this movie before and wander down to no 22 where lo and behold, I find my bag gently circulating. I nab it and do my good deed for the day by returning to my fellow travellers to break the good news. Reckon I saved 50 people 30 minutes each there.
                                                                    For balance i went through there earlier and found bag as advertised

FFS!

FFS!
                                                                        Now I'm not a big fan of mortadella and the solid wedge of prosciutto is hard to slice without the right gear. I do like the bresaola. And of course a couple of salumi.

So do bear all this in mind when making up the hamper. If you could put a nice big ribbon and a bow on it too, that would be lovely.

Would be glad to get a recommendation please
                                                                          Stanley Lombardo's one. It's considered the go to translation by many these days as it flows very well without stodgy language or literal stultifying translation.

Now you have to be okay with Americanisms as people "get their licks in" etc. On Audible.

I really enjoyed it. Great actors. It is slower than Goodfellas and Casino without their sexy, slick, cocaine speedy, exciting music style. But it's a joy to see them together again.

Would happily watch in The Stella, comfy armchair, cushion, foot stool with the shoes off and a bottle of Pinot Noir on the side table.

Think most people will be happy to wait the two weeks, and watch it at home on Netflix. The lack of big screen and sound is balanced with the avoidance of dealing with other people, and the ability to pause it when you have to go to the jax.

FFS!
                                                                                Looks like Nigel got bunged by Vladimir, eh Boris to just get completely out of the road.

Asides from you winning a whole load of mortadella and unsliced prosciutto on a Tory majority now mst be a 1/4 shot It's a profoundly depressing situation. Close enough to no chance of an effective remain alliance so its the end of the UK as we knew it.

What do you make of the Chinese coming in for the Sunderland steel plant? I know they are more or less being paid to take it but I don't really see how it fits into anyone's vision of the future

Edit:
                                                                                  Con Majority is 4/7 from evens on Sunday evening when it looks like a load of smart money dumped on it around the same time Boris released a wholly unconvincing 'No if's no but's we will not extend trade negotiations beyond 2020' statement in a video that is assumed to have been the signal agreed by their FSB handlers.
                                                                                  Last edited by Strewelpeter; 12-11-19, 09:34.

Almost worth it though to see the likes of this imbecile melting down

You'd almost feel sorry for the lad he's up to his goolies in scientology and Farage

Just noticed that on his twitter bio.

Brexit Party PPC for Crawley. Retired pilot, Scientologist, live in Horsham and love Brexit.
                                                                                      These are the lunatics fly 787s.

Fraud squad detectives have made three arrests as part of a massive investigation into an alleged €86m 'Ponzi scheme'.

Surprised it took this long for arrests to be made

https://www.independent.ie/irish-new...-38683646.html

Surprised it took this long for arrests to be made
                                                                                          Finally. In fairness the regulator has a lot to answer for as well but the clearly fraudulent activity of misallocating peopleā€™s assets and falsely reporting on them was outrageous.

Over ten years ago now....and a number of these folk have reappeared elsewhere in the meantime. Iā€™ll be following this one with great interest given the various bits I know about the case and the folk involved.
                                                                                          ā€˜IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.ā€ Genghis Khan

Finally. In fairness the regulator has a lot to answer for as well but the clearly fraudulent activity of misallocating peopleā€™s assets and falsely reporting on them was outrageous.

Over ten years ago now....and a number of these folk have reappeared elsewhere in the meantime. Iā€™ll be following this one with great interest given the various bits I know about the case and the folk involved.
                                                                                            Basically HC was investing clients funds for personal investments that went tits up in the crash leaving a big black hole. Not sure about the other 2 but they were certainly culpable.

From memory it was someone doing due diligence for a potential purchase and spotted it and then reported them to the FR. Might have gone on longer only for that.

Basically HC was investing clients funds for personal investments that went tits up in the crash leaving a big black hole. Not sure about the other 2 but they were certainly culpable.

From memory it was someone doing due diligence for a potential purchase and spotted it and then reported them to the FR. Might have gone on longer only for that.
                                                                                              They were committed to buying properties in Germany and were paying deposits and stage payments using cash funds from clients. When nobody wanted to buy the property funds post crash they had a problem.

Meanwhile they were was ā€œsomebodyā€ amending peopleā€™s valuation statements to make it look like they were invested in cash not property.

Appian asset management completed the purchase of the Invesment management piece of the business but then saw the issue pretty quickly and had to hold the feet of the CBI to the flame by going down to the courts to seek an injunction on the deal. The regulator was already aware of the issue but was basing their supervision plan on hoping CHC would get some new property investor and it would all be grand. This cost Appian a million in legals and having to lay-off the newly acquired staff.

The pension savers and Appian are the two injured parties from the fraud. The wider pension industry and its credibility also took a terrible reputational hit.
                                                                                              ā€˜IF YOU had not committed great sins, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you.ā€ Genghis Khan

Bloke in question: Im standing for the cunts party in the next election

Person B: The one run by ex-members from Combat18 and the national front? oooh, whys that?

Bloke: I love that they are a bunch of cunts to people, especially the leader, he is a right cunt, I love it, I will fit right in!

some time later

Bloke: I cant believe it, turns out the cunt party are a bunch of cunts, Its a disgrace how they treated me

Person B: How was that?

Bloke: They treated me the way they treat everybody else

Passing throngs:

This Sean Hughes show from 2016 is a nice way to pass an hour https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/m000b74h

The Dublin Jimmy Indo article today certainly reads like they 100% know who the QIH "Paymaster" is. Going to be interesting to watch it unfold from here.
                                                                                                    At this point the only way this becomes more interesting is if it isn't him

Most of the lads that got cut from Masterchef last week must be looking at some of this crowd and cursing their run bad !

well yes and no. How the presumed paymaster plays his hand in all this will also be interesting. He is facing hard time I'd assume - he may well flee in the knowledge that the whistle is about to be blown for full time!
                                                                                                        I agree entirely. But this chapter of "The Maddest Story in Irish History" will end with the big reveal presumably. The following chapter - absconding, legal battle part 58, Gardai etc. will be a whole other thing

What would Ozzy have done ?

...2 tickets to see "Columbia mill" this Friday at 20:00 in the Bloody Mary house in South William street... Selling both of them for a total of Zero, reply or PM if you want them, first come first served and I'm sure they'll be in hot demand...

It is the presumed obvious person, yeah? Guess he has a fair bit of cash stacked all around the world, but surely Ireland has extradition treaties with nearly every country in the world.
                                                                                                                I'm sure there's a reason most of the scumbags hang out in Spain or Dubai?

With apologies to gorrrr

well yes and no. How the presumed paymaster plays his hand in all this will also be interesting. He is facing hard time I'd assume - he may well flee in the knowledge that the whistle is about to be blown for full time!
                                                                                                                  I couldn't believe what I was reading earlier. GardaĆ­ visited the paymaster to tell him Dublin Jimmy was gonna kill him if he didn't pay up for a spate of violence on the QIH directors.

Wtaf.

Did I read that right?

Edit, meant to quote your earlier post referencing the Indo article

Definitely a movie in it.

Brendan Gleeson plays Dublin Jimmy. Heard it here first.

I couldn't believe what I was reading earlier. GardaĆ­ visited the paymaster to tell him Dublin Jimmy was gonna kill him if he didn't pay up for a spate of violence on the QIH directors.

Wtaf.

Did I read that right?

Edit, meant to quote your earlier post referencing the Indo article
                                                                                                                      I think they are obliged to tell you if they get word that your life is in danger.
                                                                                                                      They don't have to do anything else, no protection or increased patrols etc.
                                                                                                                      That's what I've learned from the boards gangland thread anyway.

...2 tickets to see "Columbia mill" this Friday at 20:00 in the Bloody Mary house in South William street... Selling both of them for a total of Zero, reply or PM if you want them, first come first served and I'm sure they'll be in hot demand...
                                                                                                                        I'll take these off you please. Will pay for them too, don't expect to get them for free. Let me know how much they were and I can transfer, have your deets from Lotto.

...PM sent...