@WSOP
    @WSOPLiveAction

Live Event Updates

WSOP
    PokerNews

Colossus Details

Structure
    Important details

Lots of great value side action also at Venetian, Planet Hollywood and Golden Nugget. Some good Guarantees. Always good to know whats going on alongside WSOP for the value hunters.

Venetian Deepstack III Series

Planet Hollywood - Goliath Series

Golden Nugget Grand Series

Good spreadsheet here for anyone heading over, think he updates it if anything new is released.

Originally posted by PokerPiper View Post
        Lots of great value side action also at Venetian, Planet Hollywood and Golden Nugget. Some good Guarantees. Always good to know whats going on alongside WSOP for the value hunters.

Venetian Deepstack III Series

Planet Hollywood - Goliath Series

Golden Nugget Grand Series

Not to forget Binions Classic, Downtown

http://www.pokerinireland.net/

Is anybody planning on being over for the colossus game?

Originally posted by gazman59 View Post
            Is anybody planning on being over for the colossus game?
            Yes. I am heading over on Weds.

I havent pre booked or anything, should I be worried about it selling out?

Ah I think we should be ok. I'm in the same boat!

I am intending on playing 1b - 1d think I am going to just go and reg for them all as soon as I land on Weds night. I am going to swerve 1a as I reckon its going to be a clusterfuck in terms of seating everyone.

Sounds like the best thing to do I'm gonna follow your lead when I arrive thurs. Many Irish going over that early?

I know of about 12 off the top of my head but I am sure there will be plenty more.

Theres a gang going over from JP's. I'm over on June 3rd lads. Slumming it at the Gold Coast. If you're still there lets catch up. GL in the Colossus!!

I am slumming it in the 4 queens! Back to Ireland on the 4th so will miss you unless I scoop big and can stay out for longer

For sure I'm staying until the 6th anyway

The Patrick Leonard blog, #bracelethunting is worth checking out ...

SN Pads1161 on Stars, and writes very well about the game.

Good luck in it man will be massive. We get over on the 12th June

whats everyone doing regarding buying into trnyes since for some insane reason the god damn casinos in this hell hole wont take my credit card?
                                is everyone eating sh!t with atm fees or carrying/keeping thousands in cash?
                                travellers cheques are a pain to buy also

Great showing from Marc McDonnell in the $1k Hyper. 5/9 playing for Gold today.

Yeah great stuff Multi gave me a heads up earlier will be available to stream from about 9:30 tonight over HERE

Last edited by tylerdurden94; 01-06-15, 20:23. Reason: updated link

Payouts?

Gl Marc!

Payouts?

Gl Marc!

Link I posted earlier was for videos and not the live stream will be underway in about 7 minutes which can be viewed HERE

Yeah great stuff Multi gave me a heads up earlier will be available to stream from about 9:30 tonight over HERE

Looks like Mark M is down to the final 4.

Originally posted by colm_leche View Post
                                              Looks like Mark M is down to the final 4.
                                              Now 3rd place locked up minimum.

Originally posted by TM2204 View Post
                                                Now 3rd place locked up minimum.
                                                Now 2nd locked up minimum ...

HU.... GL man

Whatever happens HU what a hero, wd Marc

Go on maccer see it home now you can taste it gl

2nd place is fantastic, played great Marc.

Hopefully the start of a long & fruitful thread!

Super stuff from Marc pretty sweet score, was out one of the nights with them last year can imagine something like this again

Also this "Dundalk - Iran" Corbett cashed in the Colossus.

Cheers lads was some craic, was delighted tbh couldn't even look at the bracelet when they out it on the table. Support was amazing and really hope one day I can do the business. Plenty of chances left for everyone and if anyone is in Vegas get in touch somehow be a good night out at least. Back to work Wednesday in the 6max.

Originally posted by AKQJ10 View Post
                                                                  Cheers lads was some craic, was delighted tbh couldn't even look at the bracelet when they out it on the table. Support was amazing and really hope one day I can do the business. Plenty of chances left for everyone and if anyone is in Vegas get in touch somehow be a good night out at least. Back to work Wednesday in the 6max.
                                                                  Well done, fantastic score. Good luck to you and the rest of the Irish lads over the rest of the trip.

Really enjoyed watching this last night. Can we have some more Irish in a FT please.

What's your thoughts on the Colossus winner getting only $639k (5.7% of the prizepool)?

It is 1,130 times your investment but is 5.7% not a tad low for the winner?

You can see it is good business for the WSOP - giving more players potential buyins for more events with the very flat payout jumps and volume of cashers. If it was not an advertised payout structure beforehand the pro's are right to be upset about it - but the only likely repercussion will be that the pro's will put it on their miss list for the schedule next year - which actually makes it more attractive to play imo.

What's your thoughts on the Colossus winner getting only $639k (5.7% of the prizepool)?

What do you think about the $1,400,000+ in rake they generated from it? This is from an article on PokerNews -

The biggest complaint appears to be the fact the WSOP took $65 in rake from each of the 22,374 entries, amounting to $1,454,310 and more than twice what the winner will take home.

What do you think about the $1,400,000+ in rake they generated from it? -

[IMG][/IMG]

What do you think about the $1,400,000+ in rake they generated from it? This is from an article on PokerNews -
                                                                              The biggest complaint appears to be the fact the WSOP took $65 in rake from each of the 22,374 entries, amounting to $1,454,310 and more than twice what the winner will take home.
                                                                              Whilst being a nice soundbite it's kind of an irrelevant complaint isn't it? Either ~11% rake is a correct and fair rake or it isn't. First prize being 6% of the prizepool doesn't really affect the fairness of it. For the same reason that if first prize was 18% it wouldn't make the rake less or more fair.

don't really get the hate for the Colossus payout tbh. When there's 23,000 people paying rake for one event, that rake is naturally going to be pretty high. As for 6% only going to first place, I don't really have a problem with it. It's good for the Rio and WSOP to have flat payout structures for obvious reasons, but it's actually good for the poker economy in general too.

[IMG][/IMG]

Love it

Watched a couple of hours of the 2-7 Triple Draw FT last night and Tuan Le was bossing it from the very first hand. Ended up shipping it and going back to back after winning it last year.

Also this "Dundalk - Iran" Corbett cashed in the Colossus.

I am pretty sure this is the Corbett, from the Takht-e Suleyman Mountains, in Iran, highest peak 4,700 m. A good player. Chap with a beard ...

Colossus final table stream with commentary and hole cards starting now.

Relaying WSOP Events FT for twitch viewers. Please no spoilers, let other enjoy them as you have Cheers:)

Quality 4bet shove from the Belgian there.

Whilst being a nice soundbite it's kind of an irrelevant complaint isn't it? Either ~11% rake is a correct and fair rake or it isn't. First prize being 6% of the prizepool doesn't really affect the fairness of it. For the same reason that if first prize was 18% it wouldn't make the rake less or more fair.
                                                                                            That is true but it just seems an insane amount of money, they have been criticised I think rightly in the past for making crazy rake if I remember correctly $300,000+ off the Little One for One Drop charity event.

But making money is their business!
                                                                                              11% rake is fair
                                                                                              Profit

If rake is extortionate its a different story altogether but I think "well played" in this scenario

Horrific fold with the ak suited there

Anyone see the last hand in the colossus? sick bluff when Garcia is sitting there with a house!

Garcia opens the button to 3,000,000 and McFarland defends his big blind.

He then checks the 4h Qd 2d flop, with Garcia continuing for 4,100,000. McFarland calls.

The 2c pairs the board on the turn. McFarland checks for a second time and Garcia shoots a few looks across the table before cutting out a bet of 8,400,000.

It's McFarland's turn to stare across the table, as he goes into the tank and calls.

The 7d completes the board and a potential flush draw. McFarland checks for a third time.

Garcia fires a third bullet, sized at 17,500,000.

McFarland announces "all-in" and Garcia snap calls, quickly tabling 4c 4d .

McFarland is left shocked, flipping over his own Ad 8h.

The counts were close before the hand began, but after some quick counting by the dealer and staff, it's confirmed that Cord Garcia has McFarland slightly covered and is the 2015 'The Colossus' champion.

He will make $638,880, while McFarland takes home $386,253 for his second place finish.
                                                                                                    Last edited by japeye; 04-06-15, 01:47.

If rake is extortionate its a different story altogether but I think "well played" in this scenario
                                                                                                      Mos def.

I agree the payout structure is good for poker but imagine if you did top that field how you would feel!! Perhaps slightly shortchanged to the tune of $500k...

Mos def.

Wild story coming from the 10k Heads Up

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/29...0k-hu-1537175/ - Allegations of Cheating in WSOP 10k HU

Post #7 Where it gets good, Connor Drinnan who lost to the guy posts.

Originally posted by japeye View Post
                                                                                                            He will make $638,880, while McFarland takes home $386,253 for his second place finish.
                                                                                                            Originally posted by Irisheman View Post
                                                                                                            I agree the payout structure is good for poker but imagine if you did top that field how you would feel!! Perhaps slightly shortchanged to the tune of $500k...
                                                                                                            Yeah the $386k for 2nd place in particular feels very low - more so than the $638k 1st place imo

There was some noise in the room when the pay outs were announced. Loads and loads of complaints. The Floor took some abuse over it. One lad described as both winning and losing $600k simultaneously.

Yeah the $386k for 2nd place in particular feels very low - more so than the $638k 1st place imo
                                                                                                              I thought that myself when I first saw it.

Has anyone run an Pay scale for a similar sized field in a Stars tournament and seen what it comes out like?

Other than the payouts it was a really fun tournament and really good for Poker as a whole. I dont think Vegas was ready for its success though, I tried to get into a lot of the other tournaments around the strip and was faced with 2 hour+ waits to get in. Even cash games had 40 or 50 people on the waiting list.

Has anyone run an Pay scale for a similar sized field in a Stars tournament and seen what it comes out like?
                                                                                                                COLOSSUS: Runners - 22,374 ; Prizepool - $11,187,000

SCOOP 45-L : Runners - 22,164 ; Prizepool - $2,216,400

Had a quick google of WSOP sats out of idle curiosity, I think PP's page being two years out of date says it all really

http://poker.paddypower.com/tournaments/wsop/
                                                                                                                    Paddy power really need to get their act together the site is turning into a bit of a joke

There was some noise in the room when the pay outs were announced. Loads and loads of complaints. The Floor took some abuse over it. One lad described as both winning and losing $600k simultaneously.

I thought that myself when I first saw it.

Other than the payouts it was a really fun tournament and really good for Poker as a whole. I dont think Vegas was ready for its success though, I tried to get into a lot of the other tournaments around the strip and was faced with 2 hour+ waits to get in. Even cash games had 40 or 50 people on the waiting list.
                                                                                                                      One of the Dutch guys I work with was tweeting about it saying cash games lists were 100 deep on the strip so he ended up going downtown for games.

Originally posted by Laois Hammer View Post
                                                                                                                        Wild story coming from the 10k Heads Up

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/29...0k-hu-1537175/ - Allegations of Cheating in WSOP 10k HU

Post #7 Where it gets good, Connor Drinnan who lost to the guy posts.
                                                                                                                        the capacity of this game to consistently throw up this kind of messing again and again and again never ceases to surprise me

if you think about it HU is super exposed to something like this as if you knew an opponent held an ace you have a really big edge, plus with so many hands you would get a chance to mark the deck relatively quickly