I wonder though if he might lean in to who he is. Maybe a bit alluded to in the video HJ posted. That he portrays himself as the non-charismatic person who just gets things done. That then fits with the internet persona, and attracting the facebook racist grandmas etc, plus a base that he is used to charming in Florida. Its only the few TV debates where charm really matters and people have all heard the Trump-schtick before. I'm actually tempted to go a bit deeper on the De Santis bet. Not convinced his nomination is really a 4 event, but rather than people are overvaluing the smallish contribution of Trump speeches, and not valuing enough the ability of De Santis to intelligently target key racist groups.
    di Santis is dead in the water unless something happens Trump.

Speaking of presidential candidates, here's a real one speaking in 2015 and predicting with extreme accuracy just what Putin wanted (and still wants).

Anyone watch the finale of Survivor Season 44 yet?
        Title is "Absolute Banger Season"

Anyone watch the finale of Survivor Season 44 yet?
          Title is "Absolute Banger Season"
          already the finale? wow that was quick. not watched the last episode yet

I think next season will have longer episodes and maybe season length.

Today's gonna be the first day since our solar panel install that we generate over 40kWh So far this month we've generated 652 kWh in total, and only used 236 kWh (split into 159 kWh of our own generation used, and 77 purchased from the grid); so 493 kWh sent back to the national grid at a rate of 24c per kWh, SSE Airtricity will owe me €118 for that. Minus the €25 I owe them for the 77 kWh purchased I guess. Thus the long, slow process of the solar paying for itself kicks into gear! I assume the rest of us with solar PV systems are seeing equal lovely numbers?

Remember this is Ireland, invest in a sturdy brolly and a pair of Wellies . Pay for themselves.

One thing about the weather starting to warm up; you start seeing some white flabby things that should really not be seen. And that you can't unsee.

Now I know why Iago moved to Spain. The bastard. Although maybe he is inflicting punishment upon the optical nerves of the locals himself.

One thing about the weather starting to warm up; you start seeing some white flabby things that should really not be seen. And that you can't unsee.

Now I know why Iago moved to Spain. The bastard. Although maybe he is inflicting punishment upon the optical nerves of the locals himself.
                    Just back from Ranelagh (buying a used consaw off adverts) and thought the exact opposite. Talent was excellent.

I'm sure the hawt Spanish young wans would think the same about a flabby middle aged balding man strutting his stuff down the street.

Sorry never met you IRL so all of the above could be totally wrong. Although I'm fairly sure at least middle aged thing is right...you've a girl doing the LC.

Just back from Ranelagh (buying a used consaw off adverts) and thought the exact opposite. Talent was excellent.

I'm sure the hawt Spanish young wans would think the same about a flabby middle aged balding man strutting his stuff down the street.

Sorry never met you IRL so all of the above could be totally wrong. Although I'm fairly sure at least middle aged thing is right...you've a girl doing the LC.
                      I'm not middle-aged, it's just all my compatriots who seem to have succumbed to the ravages of age.

Luckily enough, I still seem to have hair and have got the genetic benefit of non-flabbiness. But still hoping for my lifestyle to catch up with me.

Also; WTF is a consaw and are they popular yokes in Ranelagh? Does Lao own one?

I'm sorting out some blinds for Bono's London gaff. Doubt I'll bump into him though.

​​​I was in a fabulous house yesterday out your leafy way Raoul. The end of Seafield Road. Gated property, truly stunning.

Young couple in their early thirties, think it's family wealth though.

The cinema room was absolute swoon.

Clontarf really is a beautiful part of the city.

Like I always say, hot birds are solar powered.

Full of wankers though.

A saw for cutting concrete. You can also use it for tiles and paving stones.

Bert Kreisher and Kevin Smith is well worth a look for fans of either

​​​I was in a fabulous house yesterday out your leafy way Raoul. The end of Seafield Road. Gated property, truly stunning.

Young couple in their early thirties, think it's family wealth though.

The cinema room was absolute swoon.
                                        Yeah, Seafield Road = Money.

Which end, sea or church?

Ssssh, don't be telling people. We'll have all sorts of undesirables.

The average age must easily be 65 though.

Yeah, Seafield Road = Money.

Which end, sea or church?
                                            Sea end. I'm sure you know the house. Family have a few nice houses in the area, another on Vernon Ave.

Ssssh, don't be telling people. We'll have all sorts of undesirables.

The average age must easily be 65 though.
                                              My uncle has a house on St Lawrence's Rd, fab gaff. He bought it in the early eighties for pennies. Was a pretty run down bunch of flats. Must be worth a fair few bob now.

@Shrap, have you ever been to the Gustave Moreau museum in Paris? I had never heard of him until someone recommended the museum to me last week. It is fantastic, wonderful paintings in a funky 4 story house.

I did though hear an awful story. Apparently, if you sell back over €200 of electricity to the grid in a year, then you owe marginal income tax on the excess. What a stupid fucking idea. Just the raw inconvenience of making the declaration, if nothing else. To fix the issue I'm going to get a new car charger where you can select to charge the car off excess solar and thus, approximately, drive for free from May to September.
                                                  Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 25-05-23, 23:16.

My uncle has a house on St Lawrence's Rd, fab gaff. He bought it in the early eighties for pennies. Was a pretty run down bunch of flats. Must be worth a fair few bob now.
                                                    7 figures for sure. That really is a beautiful road, stay in with him.

honestly, I just don't have enough eyes. it's torture.

though this week, and forecast up to next Wednesday (sorry DeadParrot ) we are mostly having thunderstorms and torrential rain.

Hadn't rained all year and then this week the heavens opened.

@Shrap, have you ever been to the Gustave Moreau museum in Paris? I had never heard of him until someone recommended the museum to me last week. It is fantastic, wonderful paintings in a funky 4 story house.
                                                          i've seen some of his paintings but never heard of that museum. cheers. looks amazing. will check it out one day

honestly, I just don't have enough eyes. it's torture.
                                                            My commiserations. I'm sure a man of your immense fortitude will somehow manage to persevere though.

I did though hear an awful story. Apparently, if you sell back over €200 of electricity to the grid in a year, then you owe marginal income tax on the excess. What a stupid fucking idea. Just the raw inconvenience of making the declaration, if nothing else. To fix the issue I'm going to get a new car charger where you can select to charge the car off excess solar and thus, approximately, drive for free from May to September.
                                                              Now, most people on the Renewable Energies section of boards are fairly unanimous in saying that there's no point declaring this, you won't get caught, etc etc... so take from that what you will. On the flip side, you're leaving a pretty in-your-face paper trail by selling electricity back to the national grid, so the counter-argument is that if the government ever cares enough to chase this, it's not like it would be hard to uncover those non-declarers!

That €200 allowance per annum should be €2,000 realistically, considering they actively want more micro-generation, which is both good for the planet but more crucially in the short term good for the national grid. New houses should only be built these days with a decent solar PV system included, the cost of adding a 4kW system en masse to hundreds of houses in a big development would be totally marginal in relation to the total new house cost. Though the availability of labour would be an issue I guess.

fully agree! its almost petty tbh

Do you have a battery with your solar setup?

No, didn't make economic sense to get a battery at the present time (what with the relatively high feed in tariff rates at present), would add many, many years to the set up paying for itself. But we did get a hybrid inverter that can handle a battery added to the system, in case the battery prices come down in the future - which is totally possible. But even still, right now we're generating such a big amount of excess energy, we'd still be sending most of it to the grid, battery or not. I'd love to be able to sell directly to my neighbours or something

Unless you have an electric car to charge batteries probably definitely in the nice to have category.

This seems like it could blow up into a major story if it turns out to be true. He claims everyone across the healthcare system has access to a person's full medical history across all departments with no access restrictions.
                                                                        HSE worker here. Wouldn't be the case in my department.

"Pat's Bar and Field Surgery"

Yeah asked Mrs D3 and she said same.

Although they cunningly prevent digital access by mainly having paper files.

Back in Tallaght A&E, not me but stuck with aul lad.

Some great running commentary from the yokels.

"Are u not too bleedin fat to be a nurse"

"I need pills ya fat cunt"

Proceeds to attempt a swing at the nurse but goes tits over arse.

They have some patience

Speaking of Tallaght, and best wishes to your dad Dice, but has anyone ever ventured out to Anu's Kitchen out there?

Has some rather spectacular-sounding Nigerian dishes including things like Egusi Soup with Swallow, Dodo Gizzard, and Efo Riro.

Unless you have an electric car to charge batteries probably definitely in the nice to have category.
                                                                                  I actually have an electric car as of last summer, but it's a work one and they charge it for me at the office, which is a nice perk obv. Would love to get a 2nd EV as a run-around for my wife, but there's no value there either, the second-hand electric market is nuts at present. Will be different in a few years hopefully with a shit-ton of four or five year old Teslas on the market.

Back in Tallaght A&E, not me but stuck with aul lad.

Some great running commentary from the yokels.

"Are u not too bleedin fat to be a nurse"

"I need pills ya fat cunt"

Proceeds to attempt a swing at the nurse but goes tits over arse.

They have some patience
                                                                                    Puntastic

Speaking of Tallaght, and best wishes to your dad Dice, but has anyone ever ventured out to Anu's Kitchen out there?

Has some rather spectacular-sounding Nigerian dishes including things like Egusi Soup with Swallow, Dodo Gizzard, and Efo Riro.
                                                                                      that name sounds shit

How else do you get that Egusi soup down.

So, this is probably a stupid question but at certain times of the year do you have 0 bills? Barring SC and PSO levy?

Wait, are they back from extinction?!

So, this is probably a stupid question but at certain times of the year do you have 0 bills? Barring SC and PSO levy?
                                                                                              yeah, essentially no bills Apr-Oct, apart from the SC (think PSO is gone now?). Its a complete no-brainer providing your roof is oriented south. Return is about 20-25% a year.

Wait, are they back from extinction?!
                                                                                                Not if Anu has anything to do with it

Had lunch in Bhonn Space today in Blackrock Market, something that's turning into a regular weekly pattern. Its the pop-up run by the Liath (of 2-Michelin star fame) crowd. Different menu items every week depending on what the chefs decide is a fun thing to do. They do the prep in the Liath kitchen, then do minor finishes - grill, fry etc - when you order. All with the street food theme. Usually costing around €12. Its genuinely ridiculous how good it usually is.

Very experimental. Like last week, one of the chef's had just come back from a culinary tour of Japan and made a staff meal of okonomiyaki (Japanese savoury pancakes with noodles) and the staff loved it so they popped that on the menu for the week. Today was some sort of beef brisket on focaccia. All made by themselves and the type of stuff that dreams are made of. If you are ever in the area around 12:30, before the big lunch rush happens, you'll spend the rest of the day reminiscing on the event. Jesus that brisket today was next level, and the way the sauce soaked into the focaccia.

I can confirm that Ranelagh is indeed a hot bed for hot talent all year round but especially on sunny days.

No consaw yet but if/when this house sale goes through, I will most likely need one

I can confirm that Ranelagh is indeed a hot bed for hot talent all year round but especially on sunny days.

No consaw yet but if/when this house sale goes through, I will most likely need one
                                                                                                      A house in Ranelagh! Fancy

the old smuggling business must be going great guns (pun intended)

I actually have an electric car as of last summer, but it's a work one and they charge it for me at the office, which is a nice perk obv. Would love to get a 2nd EV as a run-around for my wife, but there's no value there either, the second-hand electric market is nuts at present. Will be different in a few years hopefully with a shit-ton of four or five year old Teslas on the market.
                                                                                                        The new Chinese cars coming here should hopefully make things a bit more affordable. They use a cobalt ion battery (I think) instead of lithium ion, which is much cheaper. Range is lower, but for what you are describing as a runaround it sounds perfect. Brand new ones are a fair bit cheaper than the existing cars on the market I think, but you'll obviously be giving all your data to Xi. Hitch approves though.

I had pints of plain in the sun outside the Parliament Street Porterhouse for lunch. Not experimental, but enjoyable nonetheless.

When things go wrong and will not come right,
                                                                                                            Though you do the best you can,
                                                                                                            When life looks black as the hour of night –
                                                                                                            A pint of plain is your only man.

When money’s tight and hard to get
                                                                                                            And your horse has also ran,
                                                                                                            When all you have is a heap of debt –

When health is bad and your heart feels strange,
                                                                                                            And your face is pale and wan,
                                                                                                            When doctors say you need a change,

When food is scarce and your larder bare
                                                                                                            And no rashers grease your pan,
                                                                                                            When hunger grows as your meals are rare –

In time of trouble and lousey strife,
                                                                                                            You have still got a darlint plan
                                                                                                            You still can turn to a brighter life –

In terms of solar, our next door neighbours got them installed a couple of months back. I'll get the details from them early next year after 12 months of it to see how it worked out for them. We have an East/West orientation, so it means panels on the front and back for optimum effect.

I'm trying to turn a single oz of 24ct into cash but I don't know where to get the market price for it. A company called Goldcore are apparently the only buyers in Ireland who offer a fair price but they say their minimum purchase is 10 oz.
                                                                                                                Seemingly in the past all the small trades were done with UK bullion dealers who pay spot price -3% but that is yet another thing that's been fucked by brexit. Looks like my only option is to get a UK resident to trade with a UK based bullion dealer

Anyone know any better options?

Edit: Refined my google foo to remove all the cash for gold chancers and found a crowd called merrion gold who look like they do what I want will be interesting to see how much more margin they want over the UK dealers.
                                                                                                                Last edited by Strewelpeter; 26-05-23, 17:19.

yeah, essentially no bills Apr-Oct, apart from the SC (think PSO is gone now?). Its a complete no-brainer providing your roof is oriented south. Return is about 20-25% a year.
                                                                                                                  I presume theres a set price per kWh that they pay?
                                                                                                                  pity you can't send them an invoice regretting to inform them of your price increase due to continuing volatility in the dodo gizzard market!

​​​​The PSO levy is actually now a rebate due to the massive increases in energy costs. For domestic supply i think it's something like €7 PM ​​​or so expressed as a minus on your bill.
                                                                                                                  That was from Oct 1st last year so will be reviewed again by the regulator in a few months

For business the rebate was €25 per month up to 35KVA and more again over 35KVAs.
                                                                                                                  Last edited by dinekes; 26-05-23, 18:00.

25 * 16 y/o having a party here this evening. May God help us.

Already committed my first faux pas of the evening.

"there's some guy at the door"
                                                                                                                      "eh Dad, that's a girl"

Already committed my first faux pas of the evening.

"there's some guy at the door"
                                                                                                                        "eh Dad, that's a girl"

How many ‘They’s’ are there?

I’m at over 4

Meh, they're all out in the garden playing with the dog. Not much difference from ten years ago.