Lads and Ladies!

Booking flights to Mexico and they fly through US Airports! How much time would be safe for the transfer?

Lads and Ladies!

Booking flights to Mexico and they fly through US Airports! How much time would be safe for the transfer?
      Happy birthday Steve

A little explanation: we English have told Irish jokes for generations. In very much the same way that the Swedes do about the Norwegians, Americans used to about Poles and the Irish themselves do about those from County Kerry. Indeed, they're often the very same jokes. It's also considered really not [...]

I want to punch a magazine

Originally posted by TomD View Post
          There must be articles to explain how to be better with money. I used to be terrible, simply because i was too loose and frivolous. I plugged that leak a few years ago. Having the discipline to save 15% on my take home pay is a good feeling. It took a long time to get to that point though.
          There's loads of material available online, all the way down to changing your lifestyle so you can be more sufficient. It all starts with one thing though, write stuff down. It sounds really simple, but like everything in life we underestimate what we waste and how far off a path we are when we're not forced to look at it over and over.

RDIII posted earlier this week about stating to someone that his goal for 2013 was "to get rich" I've a similar goal but I think we're probably going to go about it in different ways My goal this year is to reduce my spending by 33% without really reducing the level of enjoyment I get out of life. I've realised that this is far easier than I would have previously thought.

If you could live on 20% of your take home pay for example, that would mean you're saving 4 years of living expenses for every year you work. Again a simple concept, and one that can be realised by almost anyone (to a greater or lesser extent, i.e. saving 50%+ of your take home pay) and in doing so you can buy the one thing that nobody gets enough of...time!

If you could do the above in a sustainable way for example, it would mean that after 10 years of work you would have saved up 40 years of expenses. I grant that it's an extreme example, but even if you went to 40%, you would have 15 years of expenses saved after 10 years.

I think most people, and I was one of them, get locked into a thought process whereby they are going to work until they're 65/70 regardless and they spend to their limits every year in order to derive a life once they're outside the workplace. What if you didn't have to do that? What if you could work like that until 50 or even 45, and then walk away or choose when, how, where & what you want to work at? Wouldn't that be better?

RDIII & V4V hit on it mid last year in a conversation about the tax benefits of working 6 months on and 6 months off. Yes there are tax benefits if you're earning enough money, and for some people if you were guaranteed six months a year that would work out perfectly. An extension of that is simple, what if by reducing your expenses a 6 month working stint meant you could take 12 months off without adversely affecting your lifestyle?

Anyway, turned into a bit of a ramble but it's something I've been interested in for a while and it's very enlightening to see some of the stories and information that are out there about people who are maximizing their time rather than their money
          Last edited by Iago; 04-01-13, 13:54.

Ah the good old days. When I was running the casino in Waterford I remember driving to Dublin, jury's I think, the year Vincent Melinn won, to buy our two satellite qualifiers into the Irish Open. Having done that I sat down for dinner with the two lads and couldn't handle not being in the event. Walked to the reg desk and bought in. Busted two levels in and remember not being at all bothered about the €3.2k.

Oh to have those days back

I watched 'The cooler', 'Hard Eight' and 'California Split' in the last day or so, recommend me another gamblore movie please knowledgeable BBV.

Not rounders for the hundredth time.
              This has been recommended to me but not seen it yet. Anyone? Love Hoffman.
              'Owning Mahowny' http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0285861/
              Carl Sagan - Pale Blue Dot

Running well today so far. Got my tooth fixed with 0 pain and also 0 in total to pay thanks to the medical card. Wasn't 100% sure I was covered to get that done. Come home then to find I got an email for a job interview

Then bowling tonight and maybe a "smoke" after.

All in all

Lads and Ladies!

Depends on the airport, but typically fucking ages. I avoid transferring through the US if at all possible.

If you could live on 20% of your take home pay for example, that would mean you're saving 4 years of living expenses for every year you work.
                    I have never heard it expressed like that before. Using that analogy means i'll have another look at my budget today and see if i can put any more away.
                    Last edited by TomD; 04-01-13, 14:07.

How can i text the wife for free (who is in belgium) if i don't know my 3-code to get the three online free messages?
                      Download viber or whatsapp for your phones and you both get free texts or is this option a non runner?

I'm utterly woeful at money management, end up busto the week before paycheck every single month. Really need to get a handle on it this year.

Originally posted by TomD View Post
                          I have never heard it expressed like that before. Using that analogy means i'll have anothe rlook at my budget today and see if i can put any more away.
                          Do yourself a favour (if you're not already doing so) and do two things in excel.

1. track all of your spending by day for a couple of months (it will become habit) break it into simple categories like travel/car/utilities/groceries etc

2. On a second sheet do up some simple scenarios based on what you're earning v's what you're spending. The difference should be your savings, run it out for 60 months at the same levels for everything and then start to tweak it so that you spend 10/20/30% less and look at the differences in saving levels.

Then divide your savings by your monthly spend and thats how much quicker you can retire to something you want to be doing

Once you've done that you'll have to start thinking about where you want to put your savings so they're working for you, the power of compounding and all that jazz!

I'm utterly woeful at money management, end up busto the week before paycheck every single month. Really need to get a handle on it this year.
                          I was in the same boat for a long time, at one stage had €20k+ of cc debt that I had to dig myself out of. I remember a point where I was thankful for Ulster Bank ATMs because they always had €5 when nobody else did. On more than one occasion I went "grocery" shopping with money from a coin jar I had at the time. All of which started me on this path of learning and evaluating time/money and I guarantee you I'll never end up back there again
                          Last edited by Iago; 04-01-13, 14:07.

Ah the good old days. When I was running the casino in Waterford I remember driving to Dublin, jury's I think, the year Vincent Melinn won, to buy our two satellite qualifiers into the Irish Open. Having done that I sat down for dinner with the two lads and couldn't handle not being in the event. Walked to the reg desk and bought in. Busted two levels in and remember not being at all bothered about the €3.2k.

Oh to have those days back
                            Yeah sort of been there before. I remember buying a ticket for the Full Tilt game in Dublin from Jayminator. He had just won the sat and was looking to sell the ticket. I just happened to have a couple of €1k clips on me at the time and paid him €2.2k there and then. Such bad bankroll management back then

Just finished watching Flight online with Denzel Washington, super film and its a really good link!!
                              PM me for link
                              Last edited by DeadParrot; 04-01-13, 14:17. Reason: dont really want referral links here

Won the lottery...died the next day

Carpe Diem.

Got a letter in the door this morning, fine of €80 for speeding, where speeding = going 70km on the Naas Road at 9:20 am on a Saturday morning. This is the greatest injustice since the Holocaust.

Worried about your financial future? Need an influx of cash to make your retirement a happier place?
                                    Then the Premier League Predictions Competition II could be just the thing for you.

Entry fee is just €20 and the Sky is the Limit on prizemoney.

For more details.....

Depends on the airport, but typically fucking ages. I avoid transferring through the US if at all possible.
                                      Atlanta?

Ugh nightmare! Feckin Yanks!

Speaking of driving, I gave myself a 50-50 shot of surviving my drive home tonight given the portentous nature of what I was seeing.

Got to the Louis Fiztgerald hotel for a thing and there is 2 fire brigades and an ambulance outside for what looked like a serious accident of sorts.

Left the hotel 3 hours later and was breaking the speed limit on the Naas road by a respectable percentage. Got frustrated by a traffic light and a couple of cars at it. Before I had a chance to get back to my speeding (which I intended for the entire Naas road) we pass a cop with a speed thingy. Phew!

Then I arrive at O'Connell bridge and there are about 6 fire brigades and some ambulances and lots of people looking into the Liffey. Dunno what happened.

Then about 3 minutes later on my journey there is a Garda checkpoint.

If I had wrapped my car around something at that point I could have had no complaints about the universe warning me.
                                        BBV gotcha.

BBV gotcha.
                                          Yup. It was actually going to the same thing in the same place 2 weeks later that I got caught. The universe was trying to save me with its messages. There's a lesson there for all of us - be superstitious. Rationality gets you €80 fines.

Iago really making me think today, great posts!

Eeek! Spending 20% of your take home on life expenses?! My rent is about 50% of my take home... Add in bills and shopping and I'm pretty much up to 100%.

While all the financial wisdom is great and all, can we please remember the forum is founded on degenerate activities.

all those people complaining about being broke the week before payday need to get higher paid jobs.

I remember when I started off my post collage working life in AIB. I was having a discussion with a colleague about the injustice of working for €30k PA and how I would like more money. He made a point alog the lines of = so what if you get paid more, you still do the same things - you just get a more expensive car, eat out more in better restaurants, go on more expensive holidays, live in a nicer place and wear more expensive clothes!
                                                  Is that your excuse for all those jumpers?? Not paid enough in your younger days.....

I look forward to the new wardrobe in due course.

all those people complaining about being broke the week before payday need to get higher paid jobs.

I remember when I started off my post collage working life in AIB. I was having a discussion with a colleague about the injustice of working for €30k PA and how I would like more money. He made a point alog the lines of = so what if you get paid more, you still do the same things - you just get a more expensive car, eat out more in better restaurants, go on more expensive holidays, live in a nicer place and wear more expensive clothes!
                                                    This!

I still do all the same stuff that my mates with highly paid jobs do I just make allowances elsewhere. Id hate to think I'd waste good experiences saving now so that one day I might enjoy stuff that I could have done at a younger age anyway

Mine aswell. Also Croupier if you have not seen it.
                                                      Saw that, some great scenes.

Originally posted by Morihei View Post
                                                      Is he a gamblore tho?

100% fresh rating, how long will that last?

Spent €150 last night. How the fck? €50 left for the next three days.
                                                        Would consider that a serious result myself, don't think I've had a night out that cost less than €200 since I was in college.

Lads and Ladies!

Atlanta is the nut US airport to transfer through, avoid JFK and OHare like the plague.

2 days to deep clean the house. feel like my head is also deep cleaned. nothing like a clean spotless house to put a woman in a good mood!

big fat chicken in the oven roasting covered in streaky rashers, some parsnips covered in oil and maple syrup also in there. roll on monday back on the SW diet and hit the roads . have 5 pounds up was to be expected the way I ate over xmas!!

Mine aswell. Also Croupier if you have not seen it.
                                                              oh the croupier is a cringe worthy movie. makes my head hurt to watch it.
                                                              a decent movie, good cast, a reasonable plot. but painfully cheesy and hammy as a casino movie.

the nut casino movie has to be casino, (well, movie set in a casino)
                                                              the nut movie about gambling/cons is the sting.

Womens football lol. Hang on and i'll just catch the ball here for the craic..

Got a letter in the door this morning, fine of €80 for speeding, where speeding = going 70km on the Naas Road at 9:20 am on a Saturday morning. This is the greatest injustice since the Holocaust.
                                                                  Speaking of which, I haven't gotten the fine from the Po-Po for my arrest.
                                                                  Wonder were they just talking shite when they said I'd get a fine in the post, and if so, why.

Will go check the letter box now to see if I bbv'ed myself.

Saw something about it mentioned earlier. I worked for the first 6 months of the year in Dublin, and have been working in Boston since June. Can I claim back any tax from the first 6 months of the year while I was in Ireland? How do I go about it?

Speaking of which, I haven't gotten the fine from the Po-Po for my arrest.
                                                                      Wonder were they just talking shite when they said I'd get a fine in the post, and if so, why.

Will go check the letter box now to see if I bbv'ed myself.
                                                                      I wasn't fined, got an adult caution.

Don't see why you would be fined unless you have been arrested before.

I wasn't fined, got an adult caution.

Don't see why you would be fined unless you have been arrested before.
                                                                        Bit silly of them to tell me to expect a fine if there won't be.

I was arrested before for very little reason and spent a couple of hours in the cell thingy... Didn't just get a fine, had to go to court and all... Got fined 200 in the end. It was an injustice.

Saw something about it mentioned earlier. I worked for the first 6 months of the year in Dublin, and have been working in Boston since June. Can I claim back any tax from the first 6 months of the year while I was in Ireland? How do I go about it?
                                                                            Yep. You can do it online if you register for revenue online at revenue.ie. I claimed my tax back in a few mins a couple of days ago, but I was already registered. You want a P21 balancing statement for 2012.

Pretty cool interview. Haven't heard much from Clough

We finally find out why Motson is so utterly useless. He's still in shock about this interview.

Womens football lol. Hang on and i'll just catch the ball here for the craic..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Ee98vg65eE
                                                                                Hrm. Clearly she thought the ball had gone out and come back in, and the assistant disagreed. This could just as easily have happened in men's football. The portrayal of this video is sexist.

lol stop trying to level people

Atlanta?

Ugh nightmare! Feckin Yanks!
                                                                                    UL.

Haha! Can't get it to embed, but I'm in bits laughing at this.. Woman's football highlights.

Oh, it is embedded.

Online FIFA is like crack. Never played a console game online before. Division three in the FIWC and rising!

Pretty cool interview. Haven't heard much from Clough
                                                                                                He's dead

I was arrested before for very little reason and spent a couple of hours in the cell thingy... Didn't just get a fine, had to go to court and all... Got fined 200 in the end. It was an injustice.
                                                                                                    "Thingy" trying to make it sound cute you criminal scum

I know its January. But poor state when ya can only get one person to go drinking with

Was thinking of only eating supermacs in homage to the city. There must be something about this place as have literally not had a whole minute where haven't thought about the smokey bacon burger (with a ty to deadparrot)

did you know pete finnerty owns supermacs in Galway, GAA legend and poker player ( bad poker player) had a monster row with him in the burlo a few yrs back so bad a few had to step in lol

The chap that walks Ireland for charity that stayed here is his best mate and the night he stayed here he put me on the phone to him and we have been friendly since. so go to supermacs look for Pete and say SatNav sent ya

EDIT he owns the one in Tuam, so get a taxi lol

I know its January. But poor state when ya can only get one person to go drinking with
                                                                                                          Well.

What did they even eat before the smokey bacon burger?
                                                                                                            Lol supemacs. Galway has la salsa and charcoal grill your missing out big time in the fast food area

Well.
                                                                                                              Compiling a drunken story for is this evening?

Got drunk last night. Now my head hurts.

Charcoal Grill on Eyre Square?
                                                                                                                      One on Eyre square one around corner from gpo and one off quay street. 1/4 donor burger ooohh I'm hungry now

Is he a gamblore tho?

100% fresh rating, how long will that last?
                                                                                                                          During his downward spiral, he gets tangled up in the biggest '2-up' (head/harp) game in Australia. Pretty authentic scenes.

Edit: If you're looking for egomaniacal kids with hoodies and attitudes, it probably won't be your thing, but he does tick the cool shades box.
                                                                                                                          Last edited by Morihei; 04-01-13, 18:14.