Cheltenham 2023 Tipping Competition

We're back for the Ninth installment of this popular franchise.

SPOT PRIZE ALERT: There will be a free pony bet handed out to wager on days 2,3 and 4. This to be given to the player who has enlivened the comp the most on the previous day - ideally by posting high quality content in here but alternative submissions such as having your 50/1 shot fall at the last when 20l clear will be considered.
    Even when you lose, you win! Where else would ye get it?

The Roll of Honour reads as follows:

2022 - Oleras barbecued the field and smoked their dreams, picking up €1,200 for his troubles
    2021- Elbows completely ruined everyone's fun by picking 80/1 winnahs out of his arse. This luckboxing earned him €1,800
    2020 - Dice swooped from the clouds to break hearts on the line in the lucky last, robbing blind orphans and widows of €1,400
    2019 - rounders123 owned this from pillar to post, nabbing €1,600
    2018 - The Situation achieved a rare double, gobbling up €2,050
    2017 - nicnicnic hoovered up €2,150
    2016 - gazman snaffled €1,150
    2015 - The Situation scooped €1,550

Many have come to do battle in this illustrious competition, full of theory and serious study of the form. To a man (and woman) they have broken by the vagaries and vicissitudes of the famous Cheltenham hill. Only one can stand atop the podium, titties well-rubbed with fiddies and a glowing sense of satisfaction to sustain them to the next year's Festival.

You too can be The Man slash Woman slash gender fluid humanoid.

Rules of Racing below:

Same as last year's (and every other years) version:

1. €50 entry fee. Winner takes 100% of the prize pool. You must pay in advance via bank transfer (PM for details if you don't have already). Don't whinge about this, everyone has online banking these days.

You are only entered when your money hits my account. My account is with AIB so if your isn't, you should probably pay 3 workings days before the off to ensure entry. AIB to AIB should be instant.
    I will pay out the prizepool immediately following the Festival to your bank account.

2. You get 1,000 fantasy euro to wager on the upcoming Cheltenham festival (Note; this is from 14-17 March i.e. Tuesday to Friday. Winner is obviously the person with the largest fantasy 'bank' at the end of the week.

3. Max bet per race is 100 fantasy euro. Win or each-way bets only (no place only bets). Minimum bet per race is 20 fantasy euro. You do not have to bet in every race. You can back more than one horse in a single race (up to a total stake of 100 in that race) but multiple selections can only add up to 100 fantasy euro max in that race. No doubles\trebles etc.
    The Place portion of any Each Way bet will be paid at 1/4 the odds of the S.P., number of places paid to be as per the bookies rules on the race.

3. You must wager a minimum of 250 fantasy euro per day of racing (unless you start the day with less in your bank)

4. All bets for each day's racing must be nominated in this thread by 1pm on each day of racing. If you have not posted by then, you will be presumed to have placed no bets for that day. One post per entrant per day. You can edit your post up to 1pm as much as you like, any editing after 1pm will result in forfeit of 750 fantasy euro and your bets for that day being null and void.

5. All bets are at official starting prices.

6. All my decisions are final and any disagreement is pointless.

7. I will post an updated League table each evening after the day's racing.

8. If you select a horse that is subsequently declared a non-runner (and do not amend your post before 1pm), your stake is automatically transferred to the favourite in that race. In the case of joint or co-favourites, it will transfer to the horse with the lowest racecard number.

9. I am a generous old bollix so all races will be Double Result (i.e. FPP and RoR).

Happy punting

in

In
      looks like HU4rollz

Be rude not to, inski.

In

Runners and riders:
            1. Murder-'em Murdrum
            2. Reigning Champ OLE OLE OLE
            3. RD3

In

In

In obvs

Donation sent

Confirmed Runners and riders:
                      1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                      3. RD3
                      4. The Diceman
                      5. Degag goes in demouth

€250 in the pot....

In. Shipped

Shipped

1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                            3. RD3
                            4. The Diceman
                            5. Degag goes in demouth
                            6. The Tasmanian Tiger

€300 in the pot....

1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                              3. RD3
                              4. The Diceman
                              5. Degag goes in demouth
                              6. The Tasmanian Tiger

€300 in the pot....
                              7. Soul Jar

Im in and paid.

7. Soul Jar

Im in and paid.
                                Cool, some banks take a few days to process so once it lands I will add you to the list. You can start the form study.

I’m in but need bank deets as didn’t bother saving when I switched banks

1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                    3. RD3
                                    4. The Diceman
                                    5. Degag goes in demouth
                                    6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                    7. Norweigan Blue
                                    8. [Supersub Solks

€400 in the pot....

I’m in but need bank deets as didn’t bother saving when I switched banks
                                      Sent

Sent.

1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                          3. RD3
                                          4. The Diceman
                                          5. Degag goes in demouth
                                          6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                          7. Norweigan Blue
                                          8. Supersub Solks
                                          9. The Nutty Professor

€450 in the pot....

Sent

1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                              3. RD3
                                              4. The Diceman
                                              5. Degag goes in demouth
                                              6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                              7. Norweigan Blue
                                              8. Supersub Solks
                                              9. The Nutty Professor
                                              10. The sharpest pair of elbows

€500 in the pot....

1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                3. RD3
                                                4. The Diceman
                                                5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                7. Norweigan Blue
                                                8. Supersub Solks
                                                9. The Nutty Professor
                                                11. Aintree binkage specialist104

€550 in the pot....

I'm in for my maiden voyage. Need bank details obviously.

Originally posted by carlinrose View Post
                                                    I'm in for my maiden voyage. Need bank details obviously.
                                                    sent (and welcome aboard)

Payment 2 sent.

I think their prior screen name was something like LemonLover so you can use that.

Payment sent.

1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                          3. RD3
                                                          4. The Diceman
                                                          5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                          6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                          7. Norweigan Blue
                                                          8. Supersub Solks
                                                          9. The Nutty Professor
                                                          12. Lemon Lover

€600 in the pot....

I also need to know who sent a payment with 'CHELTENHAM COMP' as the reference. Carlinrose?

1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                            3. RD3
                                                            4. The Diceman
                                                            5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                            6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                            7. Norweigan Blue
                                                            8. Supersub Solks
                                                            9. The Nutty Professor
                                                            12. Lemon Lover

€600 in the pot....

I also need to know who sent a payment with 'CHELTENHAM COMP' as the reference. Carlinrose?

Guilty.

]Confirmed Runners and riders:
                                                              1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                              3. RD3
                                                              4. The Diceman
                                                              5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                              6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                              7. Norweigan Blue
                                                              8. Supersub Solks
                                                              9. The Nutty Professor
                                                              12. Lemon Lover
                                                              13. Carly Rose

€650 in the pot....

14 Confirmed Runners and riders:
                                                                1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                                3. RD3
                                                                4. The Diceman
                                                                5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                                6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                                7. Norweigan Blue
                                                                8. Supersub Solks
                                                                9. The Nutty Professor
                                                                12. Lemon Lover
                                                                13. Carly Rose
                                                                14. Gabbadabbadoooo

€700 in the pot....

I've lost your bank details can you whatsapp or PM me please...or revoult if you prefer

Sent

Likewise, have changed bank accounts so no longer have the correct details; Revolut also good option. But please PM me Raoul

Sent!

15 Confirmed Runners and riders:
                                                                          1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                                          3. RD3
                                                                          4. The Diceman
                                                                          5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                                          6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                                          7. Norweigan Blue
                                                                          8. Supersub Solks
                                                                          9. The Nutty Professor
                                                                          12. Lemon Lover
                                                                          13. Carly Rose
                                                                          14. Gabbadabbadoooo
                                                                          15. The Ionized Paul

€750 in the pot....

In and sent

The table talk

So, as we should all know, I need you guys to post your daily picks as a TABLE.

Here's how:

Step 1: identify the winners of every race you're going to bet in (this is the easy bit).
                                                                              Laugh to yourself thinking of the loots you will win and imagine the various goods and services you will purchase with your stack of freshly-minted fiddies.
                                                                              Make sure when making these awesome selections that you adhere to Rules 3
                                                                              (yes there are two Rule 3s, no I don't know why, now fuck off and refer to Rule 6)

Let's say we're going to back:

Race 1 - Dog Food Delight 100 Win
                                                                              Race 2 - Never Started - 50 Each Way
                                                                              Race 5 - Three Legged Tortoise - 50 Win
                                                                              Race 5 - Donkey Derby - 50 Win
                                                                              Race 7 - Reverse Gear - 25 Each Way

Step 2: open your favourite Spreadsheet application and create a list with 4 columns like the below:

Column A = Race number. Enter in the format 'R1', R2' etc
                                                                              Column B = Horse Name. Spell it right, as per the official racecard you dyslexic scum.
                                                                              Column C = stake
                                                                              Column D = type of bet. Either W (win) or EW (each way). These are the only two allowable values in this data domain.

Save this spreadsheet so you can re-use it on subsequent days on your inevitable charge to glory.

Step 3: post your selection as a table in this thread:

simply copy your selections from Excel and paste into this thread. Then wrap [TABLE] tags around it like so.

Step 4: Submit your post and admire your handiwork as below

Step 5: ????Profit

If you fuck up this extremely simple task, I reserve the right to be a prick. See Rule 6.

16 Confirmed Runners and riders:
                                                                                1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                                                3. RD3
                                                                                4. The Diceman
                                                                                5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                                                6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                                                7. Norweigan Blue
                                                                                8. Supersub Solks
                                                                                9. The Nutty Professor
                                                                                12. Lemon Lover
                                                                                13. Carly Rose
                                                                                14. Gabbadabbadoooo
                                                                                15. The Ionized Paul
                                                                                16. Learner Driver

€800 in the pot....

17 Confirmed Runners and riders:
                                                                                  1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                                                  3. RD3
                                                                                  4. The Diceman
                                                                                  5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                                                  6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                                                  7. Norweigan Blue
                                                                                  8. Supersub Solks
                                                                                  9. The Nutty Professor
                                                                                  12. Lemon Lover
                                                                                  13. Carly Rose
                                                                                  14. Gabbadabbadoooo
                                                                                  15. The Ionized Paul
                                                                                  16. Learner Driver
                                                                                  17. super-salami supplier sp

€850 in the pot....

I'm thinking that this will be the year Dead Parrott breaks his Cheltenham jinx. Although wouldn't be surprised if Ole goes back to back either.

The rest of the field just doesn't look up to graded quality.

Look how pristine it all looks beforehand. A thing of beauty:
                                                                                      Row Labels Sum of Nett_ret
                                                                                      carlinrose 1,000
                                                                                      Dead Parrot 1,000
                                                                                      Degag 1,000
                                                                                      Dice75 1,000
                                                                                      elbows 1,000
                                                                                      Eoghan104 1,000
                                                                                      Gimmeabreak 1,000
                                                                                      Hitch 1,000
                                                                                      ionapaul 1,000
                                                                                      Lemon Lover 1,000
                                                                                      Lplate 1,000
                                                                                      Murdrum 1,000
                                                                                      oleras 1,000
                                                                                      Raoul Duke III 1,000
                                                                                      Silver Tiger 1,000
                                                                                      Solksjaer 1,000
                                                                                      strewelpeter 1,000
                                                                                      Grand Total 17,000

Do not forget your opportunity to win FREE BETZ.

...Money sent sir...

Fuck it. Donation sent

R1 Inthepocket 100 W
                                                                                                R3 Fantastikas 100 W
                                                                                                R5 Marie's Rock 100 W
                                                                                                R6 Sir Allen 100 W

19 Confirmed Runners and riders:
                                                                                                  1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                                                                  3. RD3
                                                                                                  4. The Diceman
                                                                                                  5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                                                                  6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                                                                  7. Norweigan Blue
                                                                                                  8. Supersub Solks
                                                                                                  9. The Nutty Professor
                                                                                                  12. Lemon Lover
                                                                                                  13. Carly Rose
                                                                                                  14. Gabbadabbadoooo
                                                                                                  15. The Ionized Paul
                                                                                                  16. Learner Driver
                                                                                                  18. ..............
                                                                                                  19. Switchy twitchy

€950 in the pot....

R1 Inthepocket 50 ew
                                                                                                    R2 Hollow Games 50 ew
                                                                                                    R3 Good Boy Bobby 50 ew
                                                                                                    R5 Honeysuckle 100 w
                                                                                                    R6 Samuel Spade 50 ew

There won't be much in the way of updates tomorrow but should be normal service Weds-Fri.

I'll make it 4 figures if still time

Of course, welcome aboard.

20 Confirmed Runners and riders:
                                                                                                            1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                                                                            3. RD3
                                                                                                            4. The Diceman
                                                                                                            5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                                                                            6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                                                                            7. Norweigan Blue
                                                                                                            8. Supersub Solks
                                                                                                            9. The Nutty Professor
                                                                                                            12. Lemon Lover
                                                                                                            13. Carly Rose
                                                                                                            14. Gabbadabbadoooo
                                                                                                            15. The Ionized Paul
                                                                                                            16. Learner Driver
                                                                                                            18. ..............
                                                                                                            19. Switchy twitchy
                                                                                                            20. jibber jabber jibber

€1,000 in the pot....

Took a while but we made the guarantee.

Ara be rude not to. Sent

R1 Diverge 100 W
                                                                                                                R3 Top Ville Ben 100 W
                                                                                                                R5 Honeysuckle 100 W
                                                                                                                R6 Sundial 100 W

21 Runners and riders:
                                                                                                                  1. Murder-'em Murdrum
                                                                                                                  3. RD3
                                                                                                                  4. The Diceman
                                                                                                                  5. Degag goes in demouth
                                                                                                                  6. The Tasmanian Tiger
                                                                                                                  7. Norweigan Blue
                                                                                                                  8. Supersub Solks
                                                                                                                  9. The Nutty Professor
                                                                                                                  12. Lemon Lover
                                                                                                                  13. Carly Rose
                                                                                                                  14. Gabbadabbadoooo
                                                                                                                  15. The Ionized Paul
                                                                                                                  16. Learner Driver
                                                                                                                  18. ..............
                                                                                                                  19. Switchy twitchy
                                                                                                                  20. jibber jabber jibber
                                                                                                                  21. Snitchy Sitchy

€1,050 in the pot....

Took a while but we made the guarantee.

Remember...1PM Good. 1.01PM Bad

Official racecard:
                                                                                                                      carlinrose 1,000
                                                                                                                      Dead Parrot 1,000
                                                                                                                      Degag 1,000
                                                                                                                      Dice75 1,000
                                                                                                                      elbows 1,000
                                                                                                                      Eoghan104 1,000
                                                                                                                      Gimmeabreak 1,000
                                                                                                                      Hitch 1,000
                                                                                                                      ionapaul 2,000
                                                                                                                      Lemon Lover 1,000
                                                                                                                      Lplate 1,000
                                                                                                                      luckforsome 1,000
                                                                                                                      Murdrum 1,000
                                                                                                                      oleras 1,000
                                                                                                                      Raoul Duke III 1,000
                                                                                                                      shrapnel 1,000
                                                                                                                      Silver Tiger 1,000
                                                                                                                      Solksjaer 1,000
                                                                                                                      strewelpeter 1,000
                                                                                                                      The Situation 1,000
                                                                                                                      Grand Total 21,000

R1 Facile Vega 100 W
                                                                                                                        R2 Jonbon 100 W
                                                                                                                        R3 Monbeg Genius 100 W
                                                                                                                        R5 Brandy Love 100 W
                                                                                                                        R6 Jazzy Matty 50 EW
                                                                                                                        Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 14-03-23, 12:53.