Cheltenham 2021 Tipping Competition

We're back for the seventh installment of this popular franchise. Covid be damned!

The Roll of Honour reads as follows:

2020 - Dice swooped from the clouds to break hearts on the line in the lucky last, robbing blind orphans and widows of €1,400
    2019 - rounders123 owned this from pillar to post, nabbing €1,600
    2018 - The Situation achieved a rare double, gobbling up €2,050
    2017 - nicnicnic hoovered up €2,150
    2016 - gazman snaffled €1,150
    2015 - The Situation scooped €1,550

Many have come to do battle in this illustrious competition, full of theory and serious study of the form. To a man (and woman) they have broken by the vagaries and vicissitudes of the famous Cheltenham hill. Only one can stand atop the podium, titties well-rubbed with fiddies and a glowing sense of satisfaction to sustain them to the next year's Festival.

You too can be The Man slash Woman slash gender fluid humanoid.

Rules of Racing below:

Same as last year's (and every other years) version:

1. €50 entry fee. Winner takes 100% of the prize pool. You must pay in advance via bank transfer (PM for details if you don't have already). Don't whinge about this, everyone has online banking these days.

You are only entered when your money hits my account. My account is with AIB so if your isn't, you should probably pay 3 workings days before the off to ensure entry. AIB to AIB should be instant.
    I will pay out the prizepool immediately following the Festival to your bank account.

2. You get 1,000 fantasy euro to wager on the upcoming Cheltenham festival (Note; this is from 16-19 March i.e. Tuesday to Friday. Winner is obviously the person with the largest fantasy 'bank' at the end of the week.

3. Max bet per race is 100 fantasy euro. Win or each-way bets only (no place only bets). Minimum bet per race is 20 fantasy euro. You do not have to bet in every race. You can back more than one horse in a single race (up to a total stake of 100 in that race) but multiple selections can only add up to 100 fantasy euro max in that race. No doubles\trebles etc.
    The Place portion of any Each Way bet will be paid at 1/4 the odds of the S.P., number of places paid to be as per the bookies rules on the race.

3. You must wager a minimum of 250 fantasy euro per day of racing (unless you start the day with less in your bank)

4. All bets for each day's racing must be nominated in this thread by 1pm on each day of racing. If you have not posted by then, you will be presumed to have placed no bets for that day. One post per entrant per day. You can edit your post up to 1pm as much as you like, any editing after 1pm will result in forfeit of 750 fantasy euro and your bets for that day being null and void.

5. All bets are at official starting prices.

6. All my decisions are final and any disagreement is pointless.

7. I will post an updated League table each evening after the day's racing.

8. If you select a horse that is subsequently declared a non-runner (and do not amend your post before 1pm), your stake is automatically transferred to the favourite in that race. In the case of joint or co-favourites, it will transfer to the horse with the lowest racecard number.

9. I am a generous old bollix so all races will be Double Result (i.e. FPP and RoR).

Happy punting

€100 sent for myself and aul lad (henceforth known as Dice47 )

If hes not allowed to play sent 50 back

€100 sent for myself and aul lad (henceforth known as Dice47 )

If hes not allowed to play sent 50 back
      Does he share your luckboxing gene or did you get that from thecdistaff side?

If there's a 66/1 winner to be found, he's your man.

I'll help make up the numbers

In and shipped
            Last edited by Silver-Tiger; 23-02-21, 16:55.

In for heartbreak

Hurrah. Shipped.

In, Free money sent

In and shipped. Please spend it wisely within a 5km limit.

In. Will ship now. Do the competition then feck off ya racist . Cheers Stuntman

Nice to see the usual clientele patronising this humble establishment. I will treat you all with all the due courtesy and respect that you will be accustomed to.

Be hard to top last year's grandstand finale all the same, but I'm sure we will try. I don't think I've gotten over rounder's raping activity in the Royal Ascot competition yet.

Paid

In please, if you can send me bank deets again.

Missed you

In please, if you can send me bank deets again.

Missed you
                              Missed you too snookums.

PM sent.

Donation shipped

Runners and Riders to date:
                                  1. Froggie invader Shraaaaaaaap
                                  2. Perennial talking horse GAB
                                  3. Former champion nicnicnic (currently recovering from colic)
                                  4. Academic interest only Hitch
                                  5. Defending Champion and luckbox extraordinaire Dice75
                                  6. Sire of the Defending Champion, Dice47
                                  7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                  8. Handicap blot Solksjaer
                                  9. the unluckiest man in racing, Dead Parrott

€450 in the pot and more en route. I think this might be a busy year, given the lack of entertainment options.

In

ill prob set a record for most penalties again this year

Welcome back RD3 good to have you, you were missed.

In and shipped.

7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                          10. the Silver Tiger who came to tea
                                          11. Cheltenham covid carrier Eoghan104
                                          12. Healy-Rea representative Lplate

€600 in the pot and more en route.

I think this might be a busy year, given the lack of entertainment options.

Isteach freisin le do thoil

du bist sehr wilkommen mein herr!

Money sent young man
                                                good luck all

Donation sent. Welcome back. Knew you couldn't stay away from Cheltenham comp. It just wouldn't be the same

7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                    13. The fastest milkman in the West, Pat Custard
                                                    14. King of the Nits, ionapaul
                                                    15. Aintree specialist, eoghan104

750 in the pot and more en route.

I think this might be a busy year, given the lack of entertainment options.

Funds sent

7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                        15. Aintree specialist, eoghan104
                                                        16. statistical deviation Murdrum
                                                        17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                        18. Some genius who sent their reference as 'AINTREE 2021'

€900 in the pot and more en route.

Pot building nicely at this stage and still well over 2 weeks for more.

woops, eoghan104 in twice

850 in the pot

I'm not even sure when Cheltenham is on but I shall donate to Dice's kids college fund - Will transfer later on

Monies sent

18 declared Runners and Riders to date:
                                                                7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                                15. Degag in the demouth
                                                                17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                                18. balfejohn, antepost favouite

€900 in the pot and more en route.

Be rude not to pop the head in for this. Sent

19 declared Runners and Riders to date:
                                                                    7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                                    15. Degag in the demouth
                                                                    17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                                    19. former dual champignon Sitch

€950 in the pot and more en route.

Could never miss this, shipped!

Dead money in. RD3, share bank details please for me to ship.

4 figures ahoy!

20 declared Runners and Riders to date:
                                                                          7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                                          15. Degag in the demouth
                                                                          17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                                          20. Jibber-jabber Jibzzz

€1,000 in the pot and more en route.

In and money shipped, thanks for running it.

22 declared Runners and Riders to date:
                                                                              7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                                              15. Degag in the demouth
                                                                              17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                                              20. Jibber-jabber Jibzzz
                                                                              21. Logistical Legend Lao Lao
                                                                              22. Sha-no-no-no-no

€1,100 in the pot and more en route.

Pot building nicely, we may yet break records here...

13 days out, Gordon Elliott out in the cold

23 declared Runners and Riders to date:
                                                                                7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                                                15. Degag in the demouth
                                                                                17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                                                20. Jibber-jabber Jibzzz
                                                                                22. Sha-no-no-no-no
                                                                                23. the pokerhand of God

€1,150 in the pot and more en route.

this site has been so bad that it may be necessary to have some contingency for submitting selections
                                                                                  if only one of the people with the ability to solve this problem was an enthusiastic participant in this competition....

I actually have made quite a few improvements lately I'll have you know

Tables work
                                                                                    sample:
                                                                                    R1 This Nag 100 W
                                                                                    R2 That Nag 50 EW
                                                                                    R4 Gordons Chair 100 W

Reponse times a fraction of what they were
                                                                                    top N posts back on home page
                                                                                    missing image bugs (that was Dom)
                                                                                    Code issues resolved.
                                                                                    We also have a sceduled task that clears data locks daily at 6am.
                                                                                    I'm noticing a spike congestion around 10.30 last few days so I might write something to amend that.

I actually have made quite a few improvements lately I'll have you know

Tables work
                                                                                      sample:
                                                                                      R1 This Nag 100 W
                                                                                      R2 That Nag 50 EW
                                                                                      R4 Gordons Chair 100 W

Reponse times a fraction of what they were
                                                                                      top N posts back on home page
                                                                                      missing image bugs (that was Dom)
                                                                                      Code issues resolved.
                                                                                      We also have a sceduled task that clears data locks daily at 6am.
                                                                                      I'm noticing a spike congestion around 10.30 last few days so I might write something to amend that.
                                                                                      How do you do tables on the phone?

You can either copy and paste from excel/google sheets
                                                                                        or use the BB code (under advanced editor) to draw the table first and then populate it

Donation sent

If I'm in a rush I just hit 'Quote' remove the brackets and posters name and edit as needed.

in and shipped funds

11 days out, Gordon Elliott culturally cancelled

25 declared Runners and Riders to date:
                                                                                              7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                                                              15. Degag in the demouth
                                                                                              17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                                                              20. Jibber-jabber Jibzzz
                                                                                              22. Sha-no-no-no-no
                                                                                              23. the pokerhand of God
                                                                                              24. Charlie Sheen crushes it
                                                                                              25. goldcupfav, annual Tramore outing complete

€1,250 in the pot and more en route.

I'll donate 50 to the best tipster.
                                                                                                I don't have bank details, please pm and I'll send it on.

6 days out, spring is in the air

27 declared Runners and Riders to date:
                                                                                                  7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                                                                  15. Degag in the demouth
                                                                                                  17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                                                                  20. Jibber-jabber Jibzzz
                                                                                                  22. Sha-no-no-no-no
                                                                                                  23. the pokerhand of God
                                                                                                  26. chug it mcnugget they cried, and he did
                                                                                                  27. the eagle eye of Skibbereen

€1,350 in the pot and more en route.

Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 10-03-21, 09:04.

I'm in again this year if you can PM bank details once more please.

5 days out

28 declared Runners and Riders to date:
                                                                                                      7. Chief Steward RDIII
                                                                                                      15. Degag in the demouth
                                                                                                      17. The Auld Buckaroo
                                                                                                      20. Jibber-jabber Jibzzz
                                                                                                      22. Sha-no-no-no-no
                                                                                                      23. the pokerhand of God
                                                                                                      26. chug it mcnugget they cried, and he did
                                                                                                      27. the eagle eye of Skibbereen
                                                                                                      28. Gee, Moron

€1,400 in the pot and more en route.

Just donated there

The pot reaches €1,450 as elbows knows value

Runners and Riders:
                                                                                                          balfejohn
                                                                                                          Charlie Sheen
                                                                                                          Dead Parrot
                                                                                                          Degag
                                                                                                          Dice47
                                                                                                          Dice75
                                                                                                          eagle eye
                                                                                                          elbows
                                                                                                          Eoghan104
                                                                                                          Gimmeabreak
                                                                                                          GMoran1
                                                                                                          goldcupfav
                                                                                                          Hitch
                                                                                                          ionapaul
                                                                                                          Jibzzzz
                                                                                                          Lao Lao
                                                                                                          Lplate
                                                                                                          mcnugget
                                                                                                          Murdrum
                                                                                                          nicnicnic
                                                                                                          Pat Mustard
                                                                                                          pokerhand
                                                                                                          Raoul Duke III
                                                                                                          shano1888
                                                                                                          shrapnel
                                                                                                          Silver Tiger
                                                                                                          Solksjaer
                                                                                                          The Aul Switcheroo
                                                                                                          The Situation
                                                                                                          Lots of likely supplemental entries out there too.....Strewelpeter, Frossach, Arazi, El Shambles, luckforsome...., Mellor, NoRiverRequired, rounders etc...cough cough hint ahem

Inski. Money shipped.

oleras is a supplemental entry, €1,500 in the pot
                                                                                                              balfejohn
                                                                                                              Charlie Sheen
                                                                                                              Dead Parrot
                                                                                                              Degag
                                                                                                              Dice75
                                                                                                              Dice47
                                                                                                              eagle eye
                                                                                                              elbows
                                                                                                              Eoghan104
                                                                                                              Gimmeabreak
                                                                                                              GMoran1
                                                                                                              goldcupfav
                                                                                                              Hitch
                                                                                                              ionapaul
                                                                                                              Jibzzzz
                                                                                                              Lao Lao
                                                                                                              Lplate
                                                                                                              mcnugget
                                                                                                              Murdrum
                                                                                                              nicnicnic
                                                                                                              oleras
                                                                                                              Pat Mustard
                                                                                                              pokerhand
                                                                                                              Raoul Duke III
                                                                                                              shano1888
                                                                                                              shrapnel
                                                                                                              Silver Tiger
                                                                                                              Solksjaer
                                                                                                              The Aul Switcheroo
                                                                                                              The Situation

...Make it €1550... Could you send me your details please- or even your name as I have them saved but not sure what your name is IRL...

DeadParrot and anyone else for that matter: any of your usual Cheltenham previews available?

Strange not to see rounders, Strewel and NoRiverRequired not among the declarations....

DeadParrot and anyone else for that matter: any of your usual Cheltenham previews available?
                                                                                                                      Got a few tbh.
                                                                                                                      I'll stick them in a google drive and post them later

48 hours until the flag drops and we have 31 declared runners and a prize pool of €1,550
                                                                                                                        balfejohn
                                                                                                                        Charlie Sheen
                                                                                                                        Dead Parrot
                                                                                                                        Degag
                                                                                                                        Dice75
                                                                                                                        Dice47
                                                                                                                        eagle eye
                                                                                                                        elbows
                                                                                                                        Eoghan104
                                                                                                                        Gimmeabreak
                                                                                                                        GMoran1
                                                                                                                        goldcupfav
                                                                                                                        Hitch
                                                                                                                        ionapaul
                                                                                                                        Jibzzzz
                                                                                                                        Lao Lao
                                                                                                                        Lplate
                                                                                                                        luckforsome
                                                                                                                        mcnugget
                                                                                                                        Murdrum
                                                                                                                        nicnicnic
                                                                                                                        oleras
                                                                                                                        Pat Mustard
                                                                                                                        pokerhand
                                                                                                                        Raoul Duke III
                                                                                                                        shano1888
                                                                                                                        shrapnel
                                                                                                                        Silver Tiger
                                                                                                                        Solksjaer
                                                                                                                        The Aul Switcheroo
                                                                                                                        The Situation