Simon Trumper spotted at the evening midsession

Selby the new Eddie Charlton.

If you mean by not taking too many unnecessary risks and trying force his opponent into mistakes, then absofuckinlutely today.

I'm a big Selby fan, and i'm a Higgins/White fan as opposed to a Davis/Hendry so he's a different type of player. He hasn't played his A game at any stage for the whole tournament and scraped and battled his way to the cusp of victory. He can play gung ho when he wants, and he can break build and take on phenomenal shots with the best of them. This guy knows how to play the game of snooker inside out and he knows how to beat the best players in the world. I'm delighted!

Agreed, but he got painfully slow at times the last 3 days.

I used to be a Selby fan. His safety, long range potting and break building is top drawer when he is on song. His shot selection is second to none and he plays shots that other players don't even see.

However his game plan when he comes under pressure is to disrupt the opposite player by intentionally playing slowly. He will take a ridiculous amount of time to play the most straight forward shots with the sole intention of breaking his opponent's rythym.

Personally I just think it is bad sportsmanship.

WHERE'S THE CUE BALL GOING!?!?

Cnut
              Thorn & Virgo..... The Andy Gray & Richard Keys of Snooker. Put the pair of ballbags out to pasture

Selby.... Gets the job done, wins the Worlds for a 2nd time playing mostly his 'B' game... out & out winner.

Snooker Legends Live Stream Semis and Final

I've done the Bagley & Lines double.

Crucible seedings confirmed after yesterdays China Open, disappointing for Mark Williams as a win in China would have got him into the T16 but defeat to Selby in the final means he has to do three qualifying rounds.

Lop sided enough draw with Selby, Robertson, Fu, Murphy, Wenbo, Ronnie and Ding all in the top half, whilst the bottom half has Bingham & Hawkins and not a lot else (can't be taking Trump as a contender when bottle and fortitude are needed, Higgins too old, Carter doesn't have it to get over the line, Allen too temperamental)

First round set of qualifiers here.

Outright odds here. Bingham at 28/1 for me.
                    Last edited by ArmaniJeans; 03-04-17, 15:46.

That is such a top heavy drawer for sure. Guys in the bottom half must be licking their lips!

Interesting draw for the qualifiers and a few of the elders going to be battling it out for a place, and the Irish guys not going to have it easy. The 7th section of the draw is a particular stinker.

Will probably come down to

1. Williams v Selt
                      2. Maguire v Stevens/Hamilton
                      3. King v Doherty (if he gets that far)
                      4. Dott v Fergal (if he gets by Greene)
                      5. Perry v Swail (if he gets that far)
                      6. M White v Walden (Repeat of the QF a few years back)
                      7. Holt v Cope / Ebdon v White (White might not get by the 1st round) / McManus v Lawler / Robertson v Lines. Pick one of that lot!
                      8. Davis v De Lu/Gould

Jaysus that's mad. Such a harsh draw for Robertson. Ronnie will struggle against Murphy too. Can't wait all the same. Hope he can get number 6 at least.

Interesting draw for the qualifiers and a few of the elders going to be battling it out for a place, and the Irish guys not going to have it easy. The 7th section of the draw is a particular stinker.

Will probably come down to
                          You are a fair bit wrong there as theres 16 places, not 8.
                          So for instance Fergal won't have to play Dott, he just has to beat Greene, then Tian/Zheng, then Clarke/Townsend/Gilbert/Wallace to qualify.

They done it to themselves by crying off so many tournaments incl ptc's and with Barry putting ranking pts on nearly everything incl the shootout it makes you need to play or else.

You are a fair bit wrong there as theres 16 places, not 8.
                              So for instance Fergal won't have to play Dott, he just has to beat Greene, then Tian/Zheng, then Clarke/Townsend/Gilbert/Wallace to qualify.
                              Doh, i'm an idiot. You are of course, as always, correct AJ

Trump wins in a canter.

Xintong smashes Williams in the first qualifying round

Be surprised if Ronnie even threatens to get involved

Fu in far more consistent form this year than lads a lot shorter than him in the market.

Himself and Hawkins both at 20/1's are the value.

Fu in far more consistent form this year than lads a lot shorter than him in the market.

Himself and Hawkins both at 20/1's are the value.
                                    Fu is done. For this season at least. He held his from for 5 months, hard to do, he has no B game, when his level drops it really drops

He made the final of the most recent tournament, what are you basing the assertion that he's done on?

I could almost pinpoint the exact moment he was done. Players, no matter who they are don't hold their form for a whole season. He's a player who has no back up game, he can't beat anyone unless he is at his best. Take him on whoever he is playing in the first round.

You didn't answer the question! You think he caved in the final against Trump and now he's done? Or when?

He was showing signs of it right through that tournament and the switch went in the final. Heard he's taken a big break to freshen up aswell which isn't his usual either, he needs to play himself into form.

Alright, good to know he can beat world number 1 Mark Selby comfortably when 'showing signs' of being done

Bizarre reasoning but we'll see i guess.

put your money on osullivan, records speak for itself, longer framed matches suit him best,

Originally posted by arrymyboy View Post
                                                  put your money on osullivan, records speak for itself, longer framed matches suit him best,
                                                  The rocket is done

He won the last major!

Alright, good to know he can beat world number 1 Mark Selby comfortably when 'showing signs' of being done

Bizarre reasoning but we'll see i guess.
                                                      Fu has always been the same, his A game is up with anyone in the world, anyone, but when he's off it he's atrocious. His whole career is littered with spells of both.

I'm basing it on past history and the fact that nobody can maintain that level for a whole season nowadays. Impossible. If you can watch back that final, he went from very good to average club player almost in a heartbeat. It's happened loads of times before, he's known for it.

He won the last major!
                                                        Won the last major but was a shadow of himself. Has barely won a game since, missing too many balls now, and the fear factor is gone. Don't forget Wenbo missed a black almost hanging to knock him out round 1

Reanne Evans disposed of Robin Hull 10-8 in the first Q round. Would love to see her make the crucible.

I know the standard at the top is a lot worse than it was, but in depth is probably stronger. Would be a farce if she was good enough to make it although he a great story

When would you say the top 8 was at its strongest?

WTF with Ricky Walden screwing my 15 man accumulator

Was 5-0 up against World Number 102 Hammad Miah and lost 10-7. Dickhead

Gary Wilson hit a 147 in his match yest too, and there was also an odd one were Dominic Dale was awarded the 5th frame in his match after Boonyarit Kaettikun returned late from the break!

When would you say the top 8 was at its strongest?
                                                                  1997-2004 ish. But I was more thinking Hendry Ronnie Higgins Williams were all better than anyone around now. Selby has nothing like that to deal with

Then come up against Mark Allen, with Mark Joyce putting Allen off from the audience and later takes up with Joyce.

Fergal sneaked through the second round 10-9 and faces David Gilbert for a place at Sheffield. Ken Doherty well beaten. Joe Swail also out.

Doherty has dropped off the tour now after this

Squeaky bum for Fergal

This could be the new world record for longest frame

Can't stay up for the US Masters with money on it but staying up watching this only on the live ticker with no money on!. Go on Fergal

World Snooker streaming it on facebook if anyone needs to get to sleep fast

Job done, fair play at his age.

Great stuff winning 10-9 in his last 2 games. Always been a good man for the final frame decided.

Also got to hand it to Ebdon (who's a year old than Fergal). Also winning his last 2 games 10-9 including winning 4 of the last 5 frames to get past Holt. 2 real grinders.

Rory McLeod also going through at 46 years old too.

Can't stay up for the US Masters with money on it but staying up watching this only on the live ticker with no money on!. Go on Fergal
                                                                                      You mentalist, it was live on their youtube channel.

What! Ah FFS!

Yes was live here on the 'World Snooker Official' channel.
                                                                                          SUBSCRIBE for the biggest and best videos from the only official World Snooker channel on YouTubeWebsite: www.worldsnooker.comTwitter: @WorldSnooker1Facebook...

You can watch the last frame in all its glory if you want
                                                                                          Interesting incident at 5:58:00. Gilbert is in all sorts of trouble, has been called on a foul&miss once already, walked out for a toilet break, then comes back and......

You can watch the last frame in all its glory if you want
                                                                                            Interesting incident at 5:58:00. Gilbert is in all sorts of trouble, has been called on a foul&miss once already, walked out for a toilet break, then comes back and......
                                                                                            100% blue first. That would have killed Fergal if he didn't get through.

First Round Draw is live in 2 mins

lol at Fergal's reward being first out of the hat v Mark Selby

Any outright bets? Have a few quid on Selby at 9/2 and a small few quid on Higgins at 16/1

Sports Betting Online - Welcome to PokerStars Sports; Soccer, Tennis, and Basketball betting, all other major sports odds plus betting offers and promotions

any thoughts,

Originally posted by Bluezar View Post
                                                                                                    Any outright bets? Have a few quid on Selby at 9/2 and a small few quid on Higgins at 16/1
                                                                                                    I'm backing Selby myself, but as AJ said earlier, the top half of the draw is ridiculously tough compared to the bottom half.

We'll ignore Huybrechts views on Judd Trump. He's won 80% of his matches this year, and out of the 66 wins, he dished out 17 whitewashes. I think he's in top form and i like a Selby/Trump straight forecast at 10.0

A small bet on Hawkins too for the interest just incase Trump comes off the rails. I think he's as solid as any in the bottom half and the last few years runs will work for him.

Trump is also 22 centuries clear of the next player on the list (Selby) for 2017 and with a run to the final expected, i like him at 2.7 to top the century charts.

I also fancy a 147 at 2.25 this year and will take the overs on the century breaks but not completely sold on +78.5 at 1.85 just yet.

There's not a lot of value in the first round imo. Guodong to beat Day at 2.63 and Robertson +2.5 to beat Allen at 2.45. May even have a sneaky bet on Ebdon at 5.5 to beat Bingham, but I don't really fancy any other qualifiers to upset the seeds.

Feel like Trump is perennially priced up on potential rather than the major event under performer he is. Like he's been in smashing form in minor events but could be argued his mental block in the big ones is getting worse. Dumped out in the first round of previous Masters, and 2nd round of previous World's and UK championship. Couldn't touch him so short in the betting with those temperament question marks still on him.

Trump wins in a canter this year

I wonder did anyone on IPB ever play Judd Trump before?

Fergal will win the race to 3 frames though.
                                                                                                            Last edited by rounders123; 14-04-17, 07:36. Reason: Win

Carter each way at 50/1. On the easy side of the draw, plays well at the Crucible and has a decent record against Trump.

Xiao Gudong is interesting at 125/1 to make the highest break with Paddy Power who go 1/5 the odds first 4 places.

I am unsure if it pays out the 4 individuals with the highest break or whether it is like Sporting Index and the same player can place twice??

Not anymore. Barry has granted him and Jimmy a royal pardon.

What a bbv.... He's just been handed a 2 year invitational tour card.

I wonder did anyone on IPB ever beat Judd Trump before?
                                                                                                                    Fyp

Poor Ferg left it out there in that 2 hour decider the other day.

Hard to know whether this sort of non test is good or bad for Selby going forward.

Must be some sort of record for Maguire?

Decent start from Marco Fu