Aintree 2017 Tipping Competition

A horse walks into a bar. The barman confuses idioms with jokes and offers him a glass of water, but can't make him drink

A horse walks into a bar. The barman says "hey". The horse says "sure, thanks"

I went into Paddy Powers and asked the girl behind the counter could I back a horse in here. Sure she said.

"Come on boy, in your come"

Backed a Horse the other day, he came to join the leader 3 fences out when he was hit by a small Xmas pudding thrown from the crowd. He got going again to come and join the leader 2 out when he was hit by some cheese. Again he gathered himself together to come with what looked like a winning run at the last when he was hit by a box of cheap Xmas crackers and lost any chance.

Jockey reported to the stewards he had been badly hampered.

Jockey being given instructions by a trainer. Wait until the last two furlongs and shove these two pills into his mouth.
          Walking by was the stuffy owner Lord Dowright the 3rd What you got there old chap?

Ah nothing just a couple of smarties. Oh good, my sugars are low , give me a couple good man.
          Gobbles them down and off he waddles to the stand

The trainer continues, like I said , give him these two pills approaching the final furlongs and nothing will pass you to the winning post.
          If anything does , don’t worry it will probably be just Lord Dowright

Totally forgot about this, can do transfer this evening Glynn if that's acceptable, might take a day or two as it will be from my BOI account.

Originally posted by TheImprover View Post
              Totally forgot about this, can do transfer this evening Glynn if that's acceptable, might take a day or two as it will be from my BOI account.
              Read this 3 times and still can't find the punchline

Note that nicnic has kindly donated €200 of his winnings from Cheltenham to the pool and it will be used as follows:
                You must nominate (one only!) a NAP selection on Days 1 and 2. Simply put the word NAP in brackets after your selection's name to advise of yours.
                Thus:

The person who nominates the longest priced winning NAP on Days 1 and 2 each gets €100 to gamble on Day 3 (Grand National day). Simply nominate your bet in thread and I will place for you with proof given of same.
                If 2 or more people nominate the same winning NAP, the €100 is split equally.

No change to how you post your bets as a table:
                How much do you have to put on the nap?

Originally posted by TheImprover View Post
                  Fairly sure it's his wife is Glynn

How much do you have to put on the nap?
                    at least 10

Fairly sure it's his wife is Glynn
                      Lol must be, just see the name is Glyn on the bank details, Shur how was I to know. Names wouldn't be my strongest.

Just transferred there, thanks for organising. I'm more of a spring horse and being pulled up early at Cheltenham it's like i hardly had a race. So hopeful of a good run please god Gary.

Thursday's triumphs

Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 06-04-17, 11:50. Reason: GAB copied my picks, bringing the pain now

Confirmed runners and riders so far:

nicnic
                                SatNav
                                Hitch
                                RD3
                                Shraaaaap
                                KevIRL
                                Sitch
                                Mike Hunt
                                Eoghan104
                                Jibzzz
                                Dice
                                Mellor
                                New Approach
                                The Auld Switcheròòoooooooooooooo
                                Bohsman
                                El Shambola
                                Strewel
                                luckforsome.....
                                Gimmeabreak
                                careca

Cheques in the post:
                                Dead Parrott
                                bigfrank08
                                rounders
                                Horatio
                                The Improver

€1000 confirmed in the pool so far plus the €200 of Nicnic Naps-nominating notes.

Plus €250 in the post.

So playing for €1250 in total.

ENTRIES CLOSED

Last edited by SatNav; 05-04-17, 23:34.

Last edited by The Situation; 06-04-17, 04:14.

Last edited by careca; 06-04-17, 10:59. Reason: Astre non runner

Thanks Raoul!

NoRiverRequired is a supplemental entry.

One o'clock cutoff please.

]Confirmed runners and riders so far:

nicnic
                                                                    SatNav
                                                                    Hitch
                                                                    RD3
                                                                    Shraaaaap
                                                                    KevIRL
                                                                    Sitch
                                                                    Mike Hunt
                                                                    Eoghan104
                                                                    Jibzzz
                                                                    Dice
                                                                    Mellor
                                                                    New Approach
                                                                    The Auld Switcheròòoooooooooooooo
                                                                    Bohsman
                                                                    El Shambola
                                                                    Strewel
                                                                    luckforsome.....
                                                                    Gimmeabreak
                                                                    careca
                                                                    Dead Parrot
                                                                    Rounders
                                                                    The Improver
                                                                    NoRiverRequired

Cheques in the post:
                                                                    Horatio

€1200 confirmed in the pool so far plus the €200 of Nicnic Naps-nominating notes.

Plus €50 in the post.

So playing for €1250 in total.

ENTRIES CLOSED
                                                                    Last edited by Raoul Duke III; 06-04-17, 11:54.

Picking Dice as my tip for greatness

Astre de la Cour a NR.

Note that NRs go onto the SP fav

Cutting it close

Interesting naps-nominating.

Looking at some of them I feel like I have the rules wrong...

It is just highest return for your Nap selection wins yes?

Looking at some of them I feel like I have the rules wrong...

It is just highest return for your Nap selection wins yes?
                                                                                          nope, it's highest odds, not returns

Longest odds, rather than highest return.
                                                                                            So a $20 20/1 nag beats $100 on 6/1 - despite the latter return a lot more

Paging Parrot

I'd imagine giving the make up of the races today the winning nap being less than 5/1 would be favourite.

Fuuuuuuuck. Ah well.

Paging Parrot
                                                                                                    Looking like we are minus an expired avian.

His generous donation is noted and appreciated.

Ahhhhh ballix!!!

Post up your picks and I'll flip a coin. Quick now.

Proxy meetings all day

Leave DP in imo. Once they were in before 1.45 its all good.

Although maybe throw him out for the table attempt

He's not intelligent enough to be gaming us imo.

Bets stand.

Switcheroo leaps forward

No foulfor DP,
                                                                                                                    He's in plenty of time for R3. Plus he forgot his NAP - that's punishment enough

Rather benevolently, Switchy takes it easy on us by only having 50 on the winner.

Softly, softly catchee monkeys seems to be the strategy.

Onto the second which is a rather muted affair.

No NAP selections and just a few attempting to turn over the long odds-on fav

Handy little bit of e/w profit for Mike Hunt there as Bedrock sneaks into 3rd.

Big guns yet to play their hand though so the domestiques are getting their turn at the front of the peloton.