The redacted bit supposedly said:

Tariffs make UK petrol exports to the EU uncompetitive. Industry had plans to mitigate the impact on refinery margins and profitability, but UK government policy to set petrol import tariffs at 0% inadvertently undermines these plans. This leads to big financial losses and the closure of two refineries (which are converted to import terminals) with about 2,000 direct job losses. Resulting strike action at refineries would lead to disruptions to fuel availability for 1-2 weeks in the regions they directly supply. Government analysis of the impact of no-deal on refineries continues.

There's a copy of the document on pastebin dated Aug 18th 2019
    https://pastebin.com/gwevsbtx
    Had a look at Mailonline comments under yellow hammer release article, the “get on with it, just leave” comments getting way more downvoted then normal.
    I see they chucked Farage under the bus earlier too

Another point of interest. Nothing new but good to see proof

This story about AI replay being timed for 6PM because of greyhound racing on tv can be true can it?

Everyone who watches greyhound racing smells of piss, surely such a small demographic wouldn’t have affected this?
        The only words in that article needed to understand it is a steaming pile of shite are 'Healy Rae'
        It doesn't even mention that racing already voluntarily changed the schedule of one of the biggest days on the flat to accommodate the match.

Is the Bernard Shaw closing not just part of the evolution of cities? Dingy bar becomes popular, area becomes popular, area gets regenerated into more economically useful assets, dingy bar opens up somewhere new. Will just take a while for Una Mullally to want to drink there.

No

Some LOL at gobshites like Una catastrophising the closure of a once fashionable now shite hipster dive

This story about AI replay being timed for 6PM because of greyhound racing on tv can be true can it?

Everyone who watches greyhound racing smells of piss, surely such a small demographic wouldn’t have affected this?
                Woof woof time for a wash

So drained booked 3 hols abroad leaving me with zero hols till next July

Fuerteventura 19 days time 2 weeks, Xmas off f 10 days chill in pj's. March fueturventra week.

June 10 days puerto rico ��

July 35 New days kick in.
                  #retailproblems

The only words in that article needed to understand it is a steaming pile of shite are 'Healy Rae'
                    It doesn't even mention that racing already voluntarily changed the schedule of one of the biggest days on the flat to accommodate the match.
                    I think it’s a well argued, cogent article. The All Ireland final is supposed to be the premier sporting event in Ireland and it’s got to make way for a bunch of doped up mutts who are gonna get a beating (or a bullet) if they don’t perform?
                    I suppose at least the greyhound lads don’t bend over for a bunch of Arab slavers like the horse whippers

Have a sizable bet by my standards on Dublin at 3/10.

Congrats man.
                        The amount of media analysis completely ignoring the fact that Dublin played second half with 14 men is nuts. It’s like a concerted effort to pretend that nothings wrong,Football is still competitive.
                        If Dublin don’t get someone sent off they win in 4th gear

Some LOL at gobshites like Una catastrophising the closure of a once fashionable now shite hipster dive
                          Ah stop. You of all people, who has a good interest in the arts, are way better than that.

Selling 2x Cat B tickets for Ireland v Scotland if anyone knows anyone looking.
                            PM sent

What do we think of the spread?

No
                                Getting a bit sick of some of the twitter/insta posts on the GBS, particularly those picking a choosing bits of a planning decision to justify 'Dublin is dying and being taken over by hotels'. Are people selectively ignoring that the GBS has been a pain in the hole for local residents there for years and according to the planning file have not provided any acoustic mitigation they were supposed to under previous permissions to limit the noise on local residents. Dublin for the creatives or Dublin for the people who actual live in the city?? GBS could really have helped themselves out by trying to sort this out years ago but I suspect the owners are more than happy to shut up shop and cash in on the site, despite the line they are putting out.

Having said that, spent a lot of time in the place in the 00's, great spot for a 2 for 1 deal on a mojito!

The Bernard Shaw is a fucking kip
                                  The eat yard is pretty much the best thing about it.

I have a max bet on Kerry at 17/4 and more than my max on the hcap. I think the market is fundamentally wrong, even though it has semi corrected from the drawn game. There is just not that much between the teams. Kerry to come very close or win Saturday and then win 3 of the next 5 all-Ireland’s.

themselves out by trying to sort this out years ago but I suspect the owners are more than happy to shut up shop and cash in on the site, despite the line they are putting out.
                                      Would be great PR to cash in on a dilapidated bar while complaining about Dublin planning

Ah stop. You of all people, who has a good interest in the arts, are way better than that.
                                        For creativity to flourish especially amongst young and poor artists it is essential to keep on the move and accessible to students and teenagers not to be operating out of the same business premisses forever.
                                        The GBS is a very successful pub business and if the 'art scene' surrounding it is not resilient enough to survive after all this time then it has run its course.
                                        Whats much more important is getting more open non commercial spaces that are accessible to young people that they can explore their creativity freely in.

Selling 2x Cat B tickets for Ireland v Scotland if anyone knows anyone looking.
                                          i'd be interested. will be in japan from the 19th

I’m not going so would have to courier them to you. Where will you be until 19th? PM if you want them and we can arrange getting them to you asap.

It seems a tad OTT as you say paint such a catastrophic image of the closure of a pub which has only been around for 13 years.
                                              It certainly appears to have been influential culturally but it's not as though it's a historical landmark. It gave people a space to express themselves but are pubs really the space that young people want to express themselves anymore

If there is any clear shift in the younger generation, it's there diminishing interest in socialising in the setting of pubs.

NHS:

Overall the researchers found that between 2005 and 2015:

the numbers of people aged 16 to 24 who described themselves as non-drinkers rose from 18% to 29%
                                              the numbers who had never drunk alcohol rose from 9% to 17%
                                              the numbers who hadn't had a drink in the last week rose from 35% to 50%
                                              the numbers who drank above recommended weekly limits fell from 43% to 28%
                                              the numbers who had engaged in binge-drinking fell from 27% to 18%

Providing spaces which are more closely aligned to the values of young people would be far more advantageous than mourning the closure of a dingy pub which is not as relevant to how youth want to socialise anyway.

Was in Tate Modern the other day and went into the Olafur Eliasson exhibition and was particularly taken with a few of the pieces. No matter whether its art or more a kind of carnival experience I thought it was great and would recommend anyone with an hour or two to spare to stop by.

I went in knowing nothing about the exhibition and only a little about his work as an architect, without giving too many spoilers there two rooms in particular that are very immersive and fairly intense experiences. One is a foggy room, I can see why people would want to take photos even though there is little or no point but with my headphones on and a sigur ros playlist drowning out peoples chatter the stopping and instagramming wasn't any problem but did seem a bit silly.
                                                The other room is a very simple but stunning experience of a very dark room with a small fountain at chest height in the middle and above it a strobe light that flashes an intense bright light every couple of seconds so fast that all you see is the water fixed in moment of time.
                                                As you enter the room there is a guide on hand who explains that it's a strobe light and clearly and politely but firmly that you will not get any usable images with your camera but turning on your camera will ruin the experience for you and everyone else in the room so please put your phone away.
                                                Obviously that doesn't stop them first time I went in there are a half a dozen phone screens lit up but I waited and went into a quiet corner and its an amazing absorbing spectacle (hard enough on the eyes and the senses) but then some twat turns on his phone camera and he has the flash set on and lights up the whole room... It really does break the experience, "Ah For Fucks sake" and I leave. I go back through the hall and come back to the room when its a bit quieter, after a minute and someone turns their phone on a white screen for no better reason than the compulsion that he hasn't checked for 60 seconds... "please no phones" someone else asks then about 30 seconds later some middle aged twat who was already in the room talking loudly turns on his camera to try and defeat the limits of phone camera technology, but he also is unable to turn his fucking always on flash off which is pointing straight at me.
                                                Suffice to say he was left in no doubt as to the type of gobshite, laudraman and all round fucking eejit he is.
                                                Last edited by Strewelpeter; 12-09-19, 09:28.

Didn't spot any of our Waterford heads in this video. Like a 90's version of the Bernard Shaw

I have a max bet on Kerry at 17/4 and more than my max on the hcap. I think the market is fundamentally wrong, even though it has semi corrected from the drawn game. There is just not that much between the teams. Kerry to come very close or win Saturday and then win 3 of the next 5 all-Ireland’s.

I think it’s a well argued, cogent article. The All Ireland final is supposed to be the premier sporting event in Ireland and it’s got to make way for a bunch of doped up mutts who are gonna get a beating (or a bullet) if they don’t perform?
                                                      I suppose at least the greyhound lads don’t bend over for a bunch of Arab slavers like the horse whippers
                                                      Well argued, cogent and devoid of facts or information, so your typical Healey Rae venture then.

Racing moved the feature Champion Stakes to 4:15 from its desired teatime slot designed to maximize its exposure across europe without having to be asked in the expectation that the GAA would start at 5PM. Its coverage and coverage of later races are on RTE1 and overlap with the start of coverage of the GAA on RTE 2.
                                                      Greyhound racing coverage starts at 9PM and would only have been affected had the match started at 7PM or later. Healy Rae, a supporter of people being killed by drunk drivers, is complaining about a 6PM start being too late for people to drive home.

What has has that got to do with coverage of greyhound racing?

Well argued, cogent and devoid of facts or information, so your typical Healey Rae venture then.

Racing moved the feature Champion Stakes to 4:15 from its desired teatime slot designed to maximize its exposure across europe without having to be asked in the expectation that the GAA would start at 5PM. Its coverage and coverage of later races are on RTE1 and overlap with the start of coverage of the GAA on RTE 2.
                                                        Greyhound racing coverage starts at 9PM and would only have been affected had the match started at 7PM or later. Healy Rae, a supporter of people being killed by drunk drivers, is complaining about a 6PM start being too late for people to drive home.

What has has that got to do with coverage of greyhound racing?

The only reason greyhound racing was referenced in comments made to the media this week was to provide a rationale as to why the game will begin at 6pm and not 5pm.

This is because of the long-standing commitments of our broadcast partners to cover other sporting events on the day, including the semi-finals of the Greyhound Derby and the Irish Champions Weekend in horse racing.

ALAN MILTON,

GAA Director

of Communications,

Croke Park,

Dublin 3.

think Kerry and McNuggets confidence are going to take a bit of a hammering come Saturday. Sure they have some great attackers but the way the Dubs surrounded them at the end of the game will continue on to the start of this next game and the Dubs should be out of sight by HT. Kerry will struggle to keep it under 10 points. See there, I’ve put my head on the block for you Kerry men (and my cousins in BallyBunnion) . If you want to burn money that’s your choice, I’m going for the plus 10 points spread and may even risk a full 20 euro on it. Then the PSVtype begrudgery will begin again.

Facts are in the history of the GAA , two teams Standout , Kerry and Dublin. Nothing has changed apart from the fact that whilst in Kerry it’s the main sport and always will be (apart from cute hoorism) , in Dublin we have a few more playing the game despite the competition from other sports. The cries about funding from the other counties is a recent thing born out of frustration about their own lack of savvy . The GAA is loaded , it’s a simple game , get on with it .

The game should be played in Fitzgerald Park though imo.

Jesus even worse, it’s the Mutt racing semifinals? Thought RTÉ were in bad financial straits. Didn’t know they were still covering a sport only watched by piss soaked degens. Ridiculous.
                                                            Who enjoys watching doped up greyhounds racing to stave off getting a bullet in the head/ducked out the back off a hiace for one more day.
                                                            I guess some might enjoy that in a gladiatorial way
                                                            Last edited by Guest; 12-09-19, 10:46.

Facts are in the history of the GAA , two teams Standout , Kerry and Dublin.
                                                              I think you have a lot to learn about the history of the GAA!

Football

Kerry 37
                                                                Dblin 28

Gap

????

Teach me .

Football

Kerry 37
                                                                  Dblin 28

Gap

????

Teach me .
                                                                  You said GAA, I suspect he thought you referred to Football & Hurling.

You meant Football, if we include Hurling, Tipp, Kilkenny & Cork get added to the GAA mix

Phfffff

The Sligo Rovers V's Finn Harps game has been moved from Saturday to Friday because of the kick catch (oooh shock a draw at the temple of boom) world championship decider

Fucking GAA; Gaelic Football is the sporting equivalent of Whiskey

It was invented by the catholic church to prevent Irish world domination

Yer all slaves to a gold palace in a village in Italy!

Anyhu; Kerry at 4/1 or Dublin -9?

I don't understand what greyhound racing coverage that starts at 9PM has to do with scheduling a match that is starting at 6PM

Can someone explain the connection; unless I'm mistaken and the LOLKerry publicity whore gobshites wanted it to start after 7PM it has fuck all to do with fuck all except to set off the hipsters who have been conditioned to react like Pavlov's dogs at the mere mention of the word Greyhound

I don't understand what greyhound racing coverage that starts at 9PM has to do with scheduling a match that is starting at 6PM

Can someone explain the connection; unless I'm mistaken and the LOLKerry publicity whore gobshites wanted it to start after 7PM it has fuck all to do with fuck all except to set off the hipsters who have been conditioned to react like Pavlov's dogs at the mere mention of the word Greyhound
                                                                        I dunno, don't care either just thought you might be interested since you seem so agitated about it.

• LOLKerry publicity whores get outraged that they have to drive home late because RTE are showing greyhound racing
                                                                          • Hipsters are outraged because the word greyhound has been uttered
                                                                          • I point out that the quote in the IT shows no factual basis for a link between greyhound racing and the timing of the match
                                                                          • LOLKerry Hipster quotes back the same quote as Healey Rae is distorting and tells me I'm agitated

Let me explain it again in a way you might understand
                                                                          That City Slickers II: the Legend of Curly's Gold is being shown on RTE2 Saurday night is just as relevant to the timing of the match as any other programme being shown after the match ends
                                                                          LOL Kerry people

FFS

• LOLKerry publicity whores get outraged that they have to drive home late because RTE are showing greyhound racing
                                                                              • Hipsters are outraged because the word greyhound has been uttered
                                                                              • I point out that the quote in the IT shows no factual basis for a link between greyhound racing and the timing of the match
                                                                              • LOLKerry Hipster quotes back the same quote as Healey Rae is distorting and tells me I'm agitated

Let me explain it again in a way you might understand
                                                                              That City Slickers II: the Legend of Curly's Gold is being shown on RTE2 Saurday night is just as relevant to the timing of the match as any other programme being shown after the match ends
                                                                              LOL Kerry people
                                                                              Ok

Ok
                                                                                Arragh lighten up I'm just baiting PSV
                                                                                No disrespect for the Kingdom, going down there tomorrow and if it all goes well we might even stay and cheer ye on from there on Saturday.

The reason that the Bernard Shaw closing down is so important is that it is a one in a kind. Every other major city I've been to has multiple venues like it, Dublin only has one and its closing.

FFS
                                                                                    I didnt see much of Joao Felix until the Portugal-Bulgaria match but he looks like a player. I guess at 126m, he would want to be.

Trying to get Basketball into the conversation now again but I posted a few weeks about USA being a fantastic lay at 1/4 for the Bball world cup.

They got knocked out by France in the quarter finals(1st game they lost in the last 58), all the value is gone elsewhere now but I hope McDoug or someone else may have got on.

The reason that the Bernard Shaw closing down is so important is that it is a one in a kind. Every other major city I've been to has multiple venues like it, Dublin only has one and its closing.
                                                                                      But isn't that all about the people rather than the business and won't they find somewhere else?

Never been to the Bernard Shaw but I can tell just from looking at the people losing their shit in Twitter that there is some godawful edgelord maser mural somewhere on site.
                                                                                        Also funny Irish Times ppl whining about gentrification
                                                                                        Last edited by Guest; 12-09-19, 12:26.

I didnt see much of Joao Felix until the Portugal-Bulgaria match but he looks like a player. I guess at 126m, he would want to be.

Trying to get Basketball into the conversation now again but I posted a few weeks about USA being a fantastic lay at 1/4 for the Bball world cup.

They got knocked out by France in the quarter finals(1st game they lost in the last 58), all the value is gone elsewhere now but I hope McDoug or someone else may have got on.
                                                                                          Ya, Ive a small bet on Portugal for the euros, too big a price imo at 16/1

Looked at your tip for the basketball, meant to read up a bit and by time i did price was gone on Greece

Lay was probably the bet alright; nice!

No disrespect for the Kingdom, going down there tomorrow and if it all goes well we might even stay and cheer ye on from there on Saturday.
                                                                                            Where are you heading for?

But isn't that all about the people rather than the business and won't they find somewhere else?
                                                                                              We're replacing culture with shitty copy and paste bars and hotels at an alarming rate. It's not about that particular pub. Why isn't there something in place that ensures places like this are replaced? Wheres the hotel room tax that funds art and culture like they have elsewhere in EU?
                                                                                              The hangar the Tivoli and we're two big music venues full every Friday and Saturday. Replaced with hotels .no protection in place or requirement to replace elsewhere.

just watched a little gem of a movie called "The world is yours". French gangster movie very well put together and highly entertaining, with some brilliant performances to boot.

Next try one out of the tin. You will see why you have to score it more so than in a flat tray. Asthetics me hole.
                                                                                                  Ended up a bit lopsided. The crust was really nice though.

Sure if you’re down in Kerry why not pop up to Dublin for the game? It’s only a 10 hour round trip sure

We're replacing culture with shitty copy and paste bars and hotels at an alarming rate. It's not about that particular pub. Why isn't there something in place that ensures places like this are replaced? Wheres the hotel room tax that funds art and culture like they have elsewhere in EU?
                                                                                                      The hangar the Tivoli and we're two big music venues full every Friday and Saturday. Replaced with hotels .no protection in place or requirement to replace elsewhere.
                                                                                                      Are there not replacements popping up to replace them. Like if the demand is there and there is money to be made I'd have imagined there woud be. I have no idea btw just asking the question. Also not disagreeing with you either and woe betide if they start ripping down some of the last remaining Victorian pubs in Dublin.

just watched a little gem of a movie called "The world is yours". French gangster movie very well put together and highly entertaining, with some brilliant performances to boot.
                                                                                                        Will watch. Is it even close to the quality of A prophet. Brill movie

Sure if you’re down in Kerry why not pop up to Dublin for the game? It’s only a 10 hour round trip sure
                                                                                                          Where are you heading for?
                                                                                                          Listowel, and its a only a five hour round trip for a County Councillor with a few pints in him

Will watch. Is it even close to the quality of A prophet. Brill movie

this is not in the same league as a prophet. it's a lot more light hearted than that. it's more petty criminals than gangsters but it has plenty going for it.

Are there not replacements popping up to replace them. Like if the demand is there and there is money to be made I'd have imagined there woud be. I have no idea btw just asking the question. Also not disagreeing with you either and woe betide if they start ripping down some of the last remaining Victorian pubs in Dublin.
                                                                                                              No replacements. Jam Park is the attempted replacement for Tivloli in the old wright venue in swords.
                                                                                                              Not as much money to be made from them as hotels it seems.

I haven't been in it now so I don't know but what makes it so unique when compared to other Dublin venues?
                                                                                                                Is it simply that as a pub it hosted a wide variety of performing arts which aren't given much of a platform elsewhere?

I thought a 620k profit in 2018 for a pub of that size seemed pretty substantial so I'm sure someone else will provide a space if they see that such a venue can generate those types of profits.

I haven't been in it now so I don't know but what makes it so unique when compared to other Dublin venues?
                                                                                                                  Is it simply that as a pub it hosted a wide variety of performing arts which aren't given much of a platform elsewhere?

I thought a 620k profit in 2018 for a pub of that size seemed pretty substantial so I'm sure someone else will provide a space if they see that such a venue can generate those types of profits.

Nobody is providing spaces, that's the problem and that's the outrage.

this is not in the same league as a prophet. it's a lot more light hearted than that. it's more petty criminals than gangsters but it has plenty going for it.
                                                                                                                    That led me to this (can you tell I have a deadline looming )

Audiard made a western last year that passed me by , looks good

NOW PLAYING IN SELECT CITIES.Based on Patrick Dewitt's acclaimed novel of the same name, follows two brothers - Eli and Charlie Sisters - who are hired to ki...

Does no-one in Kerry point out that the 6pm throw-in is the best option for some travelling fans?
                                                                                                                      Presumably there are plenty who wouldn't want his mooted 2pm start as that would impinge on Friday night socializing and the game build-up.
                                                                                                                      It seems, from a distance, that the Healy-Rae position becomes the de facto Kerry position.

Nobody is providing spaces, that's the problem and that's the outrage.
                                                                                                                        Yes I understand that's the outrage.

I'm simply saying that if a venue of this kind has the capacity to generate 620k in profit in 2018 while pubs are closing at high frequency throughout Ireland & the UK then I suspect whether it's a pub or other type of cultural space, then they will be provided because it's in both parties best interest to do so.

Do other European cities that have more than one of these venues use the "art and culture" taxes from hotels which you referred to in order to fund pubs such as this?

Getting a bit sick of some of the twitter/insta posts on the GBS, particularly those picking a choosing bits of a planning decision to justify 'Dublin is dying and being taken over by hotels'. Are people selectively ignoring that the GBS has been a pain in the hole for local residents there for years and according to the planning file have not provided any acoustic mitigation they were supposed to under previous permissions to limit the noise on local residents. Dublin for the creatives or Dublin for the people who actual live in the city?? GBS could really have helped themselves out by trying to sort this out years ago but I suspect the owners are more than happy to shut up shop and cash in on the site, despite the line they are putting out.

Having said that, spent a lot of time in the place in the 00's, great spot for a 2 for 1 deal on a mojito!
                                                                                                                          Ah heyour, I genuinely had expected more from you, even more so than Strewelpeter. I mean, you have age and a lack of being prone to shouting at clouds on your side

The retention of the outside area was approved by DCC and the residents appealed to ABP. The recommendation from ABP's own inspector was to request further information from GBS on the noise mitigation before making a ruling on it. ABP ignmored this and went straight to refuse permission. In the decision, it stated that to grant permission would likely delay or undermine “comprehensive regeneration” on the site and adjoining lands and would be inconsistent with the “emerging pattern of development in the vicinity”.

i.e. - We're only interested in fancy, soulless, bland, glass buildings, hotels, over priced student accomadation, to hell with the culture side of things.

Originally posted by ghostface
                                                                                                                          Dublin for the creatives or Dublin for the people who actual live in the city??
                                                                                                                          This is just nonsesne, why does it have to be one or the other, and if it has to be the later in your head, where do all the creatives live? Do we ferry them all in from Athlone or some other remote country location on a daily/weekly/monthly basis to provide the city with some creativity and culture?

Originally posted by ghostface
                                                                                                                          I suspect the owners are more than happy to shut up shop and cash in on the site, despite the line they are putting out
                                                                                                                          What exactly are they cashing in on??? They don't own the site or the building, they rent it so they've gone from having a profitable business to nothing, I'd hardly call that cashing in!

For creativity to flourish especially amongst young and poor artists it is essential to keep on the move and accessible to students and teenagers not to be operating out of the same business premisses forever.
                                                                                                                          The GBS is a very successful pub business and if the 'art scene' surrounding it is not resilient enough to survive after all this time then it has run its course.
                                                                                                                          Whats much more important is getting more open non commercial spaces that are accessible to young people that they can explore their creativity freely in.

Bollix, why do you have to keep on the move? Has the Abbey or The Gate or such kept on the move over the last 100 odd years or so? And even, if this was true, where exactly do you propose they move to? Where are your non commercial spaces going to pop up exactly, what area/builiding/general location in Dublin do you suggest? How about the area up around New Market, oh no, that's gone, how about the north side of the quays inbetween the IFSC and the port, oh no, that's gone, how about around Francis/Thomas St, oh no that's gone, how about just down the road, nope that's now a fuckign Weatherspoons, how about the south quays where there was some cool old warehouses perfect for this kind of thing, oh, no, hang on that's already gone too!

It seems a tad OTT as you say paint such a catastrophic image of the closure of a pub which has only been around for 13 years.
                                                                                                                          It certainly appears to have been influential culturally but it's not as though it's a historical landmark. It gave people a space to express themselves but are pubs really the space that young people want to express themselves anymore

If there is any clear shift in the younger generation, it's there diminishing interest in socialising in the setting of pubs.

NHS:

Overall the researchers found that between 2005 and 2015:

the numbers of people aged 16 to 24 who described themselves as non-drinkers rose from 18% to 29%
                                                                                                                          the numbers who had never drunk alcohol rose from 9% to 17%
                                                                                                                          the numbers who hadn't had a drink in the last week rose from 35% to 50%
                                                                                                                          the numbers who drank above recommended weekly limits fell from 43% to 28%
                                                                                                                          the numbers who had engaged in binge-drinking fell from 27% to 18%

Providing spaces which are more closely aligned to the values of young people would be far more advantageous than mourning the closure of a dingy pub which is not as relevant to how youth want to socialise anyway.
                                                                                                                          A few things on the above, while I'm on a rant. I've no doubt that your stats from the NHS above probably mirror stats from the HSE but just because you go to a pub, you don't have to drink. You can do to a pub and enjoy the music/DJ/live perfromer and remain sober.

Plus, the big thing and this is something that everybody seems to be missing, it's not just about GBS, it's about the pattern where this is just another venue in a list (that is getting longer and longer) that is closed down, a venue that allows artists and art to flourish to be replaced with insipid, drab, dull crap that adds nothing to the city.

Maybe young people don't want to express themselves anymore in a pub but when there's fuck all other places to do it, you'll take what you can get!

To be brief, no as there is fuck all spaces/place left to spring up.