Bailout begins.

UK government draws up plans to buy into airlines..... banks next?

Hold on a sec, Trump shut down flights when he was recommended not to. He was massively criticised by the media and democrats for overreacting and putting the economy at risk. Yeah, he always paints a positive picture in press conferences, but he was taking this seriously far earlier than his detracters.

He shut down travel from China in Jan, had a task force set up by the 1st in Feb. And now at the end of March, he's being critised for not taking it seriously? By the very people who had been using it as a political football? Bollix.

Perma TDS imo.

The fucking WHO and his advisers were telling him January that he was overreacting. And now the US media are saying he didn't do enough it's quite something.

• Jan. 7: The CDC established a coronavirus incident management system to better share and respond to information about the virus.

• Jan. 17: The CDC began implementing public health entry screening at the three U.S. airports that received the most travelers from Wuhan — San Francisco, New York JFK, and Los Angeles.

• Jan. 20: Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institutes of Health’s infectious disease institute, announced efforts to develop a vaccine.

• Jan. 21: The CDC activated its emergency operations center to provide support to the coronavirus response.

• Jan. 31: Mr. Trump declared a public health emergency, announced Chinese travel restrictions, and suspended entry into the U.S. for foreign nationals at risk of transmitting the virus.

• Feb. 4: Mr. Trump vowed in his State of the Union address to “take all necessary steps” to protect Americans from the coronavirus.

• Feb. 11: The Department of Health and Human Services expanded a partnership with Janssen Research & Development to “expedite the development” of a coronavirus vaccine.

• Feb. 24: The administration sent a letter to Congress requesting at least $2.5 billion to help combat the spread of the coronavirus.

• Feb. 29: The administration announced a level 4 travel advisory to areas of Italy and South Korea, barred all travel to Iran, and barred the entry of foreign citizens who visited Iran in the last 14 days.

• March 3: The CDC lifted federal restrictions on coronavirus testing to allow any American to be tested “subject to doctor’s orders.”

• March 13: Mr. Trump announced public-private partnerships to open drive-through testing sites, a pause on interest payments on federal student loans, and an order to the Department of Energy to purchase oil for the Strategic Petroleum Reserve.

• March 18: Mr. Trump announced a temporary closure of the U.S.-Canada border to non-essential traffic and plans to invoke the Defense Production Act to increase the number of necessary supplies needed to combat coronavirus.
      Last edited by Denny Crane; 21-03-20, 13:26.

Hold on a sec, Trump shut down flights when he was recommended not to. He was massively criticised by the media and democrats for overreacting and putting the economy at risk. Yeah, he always paints a positive picture in press conferences, but he was taking this seriously far earlier than his detracters.

He shut down travel from China in Jan, had a task force set up by the 1st in Feb. And now at the end of March, he's being critised for not taking it seriously? By the very people who had been using it as a political football? Bollix.

Perma TDS imo.

The fucking WHO and his advisers were telling him January that he was overreacting. And now the US media are saying he didn't do enough it's quite something.
        You're taking this too far now, it's not funny.

What? Reality?

Just to say, I'm not completely against the idea of Trump being portrayed a tad unfairly at times thus far but as an example.

Why isn't their parity between the treatment of these countries on this date:

Feb. 29: The administration announced a level 4 travel advisory to areas of Italy and South Korea, barred all travel to Iran, and barred the entry of foreign citizens who visited Iran in the last 14 days.

Italy presented it's first case on Jan 31st and Iran on Feb 19th. One can hardly expect that Iran was higher risk on Feb 29th?

For those that are missing football, there's a Netflix drama called The English Game set around the beginnings of football. Enjoyable watch.

Sure. But I think that's getting into the weeds.

The media (^like that video above) are lampooning Trump, presenting the view that he wasn't taking it seriously, that he as calling it a hoax. When from the very beginning he was taking it more seriously than the WHO.

The reality of the situation couldn't be more different from how it's presented.

He described it himself as nothing and a hoax? His words. Who cares if he shut down flights when he was telling Americans to carry on regardless - with his words.
                      He was ahead of the WHO for fucksake!

He was one of the earliest movers in the West on this. That saved lives. Matters far more than what he was saying in a presser.

Anyway, that he called it a hoax is a hoax. Even just think about it logically for a second, why would he call it a hoax over a month after he shut down travel, or declared it a public emergency in January!

People just hear what they want to hear

Subscribe and 🔔 to the BBC 👉 https://bit.ly/BBCYouTubeSubWatch the BBC first on iPlayer 👉 https://bbc.in/iPlayer-Home Try The McGurk Effect! The McGurk e...
                      Last edited by Denny Crane; 21-03-20, 14:09.

It seems a little more a case that he used a developing situation to smuggle in some political agenda and it has backfired on him terribly.

I just don't think you can share a timeline of his actions portraying them as proactive and then dismiss what is clearly a politically motivated decision as being amongst the weeds.

Perma TDS imo.

You cant use the China blockade as proof when it was probably more political than anything else (+ Iran example mentioned above)

If task force was set up so early, where was their action plan and implementation of it?

He will be viewed fairly by history as someone who failed his country.

His need to be right, rather than doing the right thing his undoing

He's a cunt representing cunts.

Blowing a massive opportunity for world harmony with his foreign virus, Chinese virus dog whistling. His trying to buy vaccines to exclusively vaccinate Americans.
                            An absolute cunt.

Imagine the world leadership Obama would be displaying now, we would be emerging out the other side a much safer and more peaceful planet.

Thank you Deny for brightening up my dull Saturday

He's a cunt representing cunts.

Blowing a massive opportunity for world harmony with his foreign virus, Chinese virus dog whistling. His trying to buy vaccines to exclusively vaccinate Americans.
                                An absolute cunt.

Imagine the world leadership Obama would be displaying now, we would be emerging out the other side a much safer and more peaceful planet.
                                That was his response to China trying to blame the virus on the US military.

Biden was mocking Trump for his early over reactions, Obama would have been slower to react.
                                Last edited by Denny Crane; 21-03-20, 14:16.

Yeah. Like a 9 year old girl.

It's amazing Denny continually gets bites on this.

I'm just trying to understand how he can be critised for overreacting in January. And then for not taking it seriously enough in March.

Is TDS that strong?

I'm just trying to understand how he can be critised for overreacting in January. And then for not taking it seriously enough in March.

Is TDS that strong?
                                        Because banning people from China was a purely political move that suited his politics, and he did absolutely nothing else to prepare the US, actually giving the population a false sense of security about the whole thing. I'd point you to some articles detailing all the mistakes that have been made but it would be pointless, you're either trolling or have drunk the kool-aid too deeply to turn back now.

easyJet COO Peter Bellew copies Leo Varadkar's speech word-for-word in an attempt to sound sincere while pressing through shocking contract changes for staff.

Originally posted by Fullof..It View Post
                                            You cant use the China blockade as proof when it was probably more political than anything else (+ Iran example mentioned above)

If task force was set up so early, where was their action plan and implementation of it?

He will be viewed fairly by history as someone who failed his country.

His need to be right, rather than doing the right thing his undoing
                                            What should he have done?

If you think Trump has failed his country, imagine how the US would have faired with democrats in charge.

There were Democrats calling the travel ban unscientific ffs!
                                            Last edited by Denny Crane; 21-03-20, 15:26.

Any idea exactly where this is?

That's near Tullamore according to RTE

I'm sure yours will be far superior
                                                I'll do this if you want

Go for it

Go for it
                                                    Round 1:
                                                    1. WHAT IS THE SECOND SMALLEST COUNTY IN IRELAND?
                                                    2. AT THE 2018 OSCARS THE WINNER OF BEST PICTURE WAS INCORRECTLY NAMED BY FAYE DUNAWAY. WHO WAS THE OTHER ACTOR PRESENTING THE AWARD?
                                                    3. WHAT CHILDREN’S BOOK WAS THE BEST SELLING BOOK OVERALL IN IRELAND IN 2016?
                                                    4. HOW MANY COUNTIES TOUCH THE RIVER SHANNON?
                                                    5. PTERONOPHOBIA IS A FEAR OF WHAT?
                                                    6. EACH OF THE SIGNATORIES TO THE 1916 RISING HAVE A RAILWAY STATION NAMED AFTER THEM BUT ONLY ONE OF THE SIGNATORIES HAS 2 STATIONS NAMED AFTER HIM, WHICH ONE?
                                                    7. IN THE 2016 DAIL ELECTIONS, HOW MANY CONSTITUENCIES RETURNED 5 TDs?
                                                    8. AS OF NOVEMBER 6TH 2017, WHAT IS THE MOST WATCHED VIDEO OF ALL TIME ON YOUTUBE?
                                                    9. GENERAL JOHN KELLY REPLACED WHO AS DONALD TRUMP’S CHIEF OF STAFF?
                                                    10. WHAT IS THE ONLY U.S. STATE FLAG TO CONTAIN A UNION JACK?

Because banning people from China was a purely political move.
                                                        Why do you say that?

you're either trolling or have drunk the kool-aid too deeply to turn back now.
                                                        Fire away with the articles. I don't think listing his actions or pointing out the absurd media reaction it's drinking Kool aid.

Posting Peter Schiff articles is drinking Kool Aid imo.

Jesus.

Carlow?
                                                          No idea. Tom Hanks?
                                                          The Roddy Doyle one, umerrum.
                                                          Guesstimating 10.
                                                          A fear of Kayroo's quizzes
                                                          Pearse?
                                                          Hmm. 12?
                                                          No fucking idea. Gangnam Style?
                                                          Priebus
                                                          Think I know this...Hawaii

@Raoul - You got 3

Denny is a hoax.

Why do you say that?

Fire away with the articles. I don't think listing his actions or pointing out the absurd media reaction it's drinking Kool aid.

So good it's there twice.

793 deaths in one day in Italy. 546 in Lombardy.

Why do you say that?

If he acted so fast why are they fucked for equipment and he's going on about drugs that do nothing?

I have absolutely no idea and fully expect to get 0/10.

Why are your questions so out of date also?

Kilkenny
                                                                      Steve Harvey?
                                                                      A Harry Potter one?
                                                                      Feathers
                                                                      Connolly
                                                                      Gangnam Style
                                                                      No idea.
                                                                      New Hampshire

How come Trump cant turn his head sideways independently of his body.

Quiz answers, might be a race to the bottom with Dobby

Round 1:
                                                                          1. Carlow
                                                                          2. Robert DeNiro
                                                                          3. David McWallaims Granny Book I think Gangsta Granny
                                                                          4. 6 counties
                                                                          5. Radios
                                                                          6. Plunkett
                                                                          7. 6
                                                                          8. Ed Sheeran Shape of You(most played song on Spotify)
                                                                          9. Bolton
                                                                          10. Louisiana

WhatsApp Covid jokes, please fuck off.

793 deaths in one day in Italy. 546 in Lombardy.
                                                                              Staggering

WhatsApp Covid jokes, please fuck off.
                                                                                Something a bit primitive about lads WhatsApp groups, bored parents always the worst offenders I find, there's definitely a weird sort of over compensation for something going on.

Round 1:
                                                                                  2. AT THE 2018 OSCARS THE WINNER OF BEST PICTURE WAS INCORRECTLY NAMED BY FAYE DUNAWAY. WHO WAS THE OTHER ACTOR PRESENTING THE AWARD?
                                                                                  6. EACH OF THE SIGNATORIES TO THE 1916 RISING HAVE A RAILWAY STATION NAMED AFTER THEM BUT ONLY ONE OF THE SIGNATORIES HAS 2 STATIONS NAMED AFTER HIM, WHICH ONE?
                                                                                  8. AS OF NOVEMBER 6TH 2017, WHAT IS THE MOST WATCHED VIDEO OF ALL TIME ON YOUTUBE?
                                                                                  That is tough. Expecting zero.

Dublin?
                                                                                  Warren Beatty?
                                                                                  Dunno... Harry potter?
                                                                                  8?
                                                                                  Big words?
                                                                                  Connolly?
                                                                                  9?
                                                                                  Cute kitten?
                                                                                  ??
                                                                                  Virginia?

I have absolutely no idea and fully expect to get 0/10.

Why are your questions so out of date also?
                                                                                    Zero-ish.

I repurposed an old quiz I wrote, hence it being aged.

1

Something a bit primitive about lads WhatsApp groups, bored parents always the worst offenders I find, there's definitely a weird sort of over compensation for something going on.
                                                                                        Said it before. Older men always the worst for it. Need to be in a couple of groups for various reasons but have left 3 groups in the last week and told one colleague spamming me to feck off. Jesus its tiresome

That is tough. Expecting zero.
                                                                                          1

I have absolutely loads of these if anyone wants more.

Round 1:
                                                                                              1. Carlow
                                                                                              2. Robert DeNiro
                                                                                              3. David McWallaims Granny Book I think Gangsta Granny
                                                                                              4. 6 counties
                                                                                              5. Radios
                                                                                              6. Plunkett
                                                                                              7. 6
                                                                                              8. Ed Sheeran Shape of You(most played song on Spotify)
                                                                                              9. Bolton
                                                                                              10. Louisiana
                                                                                              Zero-ish.

1
                                                                                              I win

Zero-ish.

Interested to see your answers and how I get zero-ish because I know my answer to number 5 is correct. Heard it on a quiz show a few months ago and Googled it then.

Those are waaaay above average table quiz standard. Who was your audience?

Where's elbows' golf quiz?

I'm just very thankful I have the BBV as my main social medium.

Interested to see your answers and how I get zero-ish because I know my answer to number 5 is correct. Heard it on a quiz show a few months ago and Googled it then.
                                                                                                        Sorry you're absolutely right. You got 1ish.

Those are waaaay above average table quiz standard. Who was your audience?
                                                                                                          I have easier ones too. This was for a quiz in work which is notoriously tricky.

Round 1:
                                                                                                            1 - Carlow
                                                                                                            2 - Warren Beatty
                                                                                                            3 - No idea
                                                                                                            4 - 8
                                                                                                            5 - Big Birds (never stopped me in Coppers)
                                                                                                            6 - Pearse
                                                                                                            7 - 5
                                                                                                            8 - Justin Bieber Song
                                                                                                            9 - No idea
                                                                                                            10 - Hawaii
                                                                                                            Last edited by Dice75; 21-03-20, 18:55.

Do enjoy em. Hope to see the answers before you post more questions tho. No point getting em wrong if you're not gonna educate me.

1. Carlow
                                                                                                                2. Warren Beatty
                                                                                                                3. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
                                                                                                                4. 11
                                                                                                                5. Feathers
                                                                                                                6. Thomas Ceannt
                                                                                                                7. 11
                                                                                                                8. Despacito
                                                                                                                9. Rience Priebus
                                                                                                                10. Hawaii

1. Carlow
                                                                                                                  2. Warren Beatty
                                                                                                                  3. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
                                                                                                                  4. 11
                                                                                                                  5. Feathers
                                                                                                                  6. Thomas Ceannt
                                                                                                                  7. 11
                                                                                                                  8. Despacito
                                                                                                                  9. Rience Priebus
                                                                                                                  10. Hawaii
                                                                                                                  Ffs, 2 crossbars with 4 and 7. Nice questions.

102 cases here today with no deaths. No bad all things considered.

We seem to be handling the 3 pillars to this well from what I can see relative to other countries - stopping the spread, testing, increasing ICU capacity

Hopefully we end up in a position where better to have and not need, than to need and not have!

Danes have had single figure growth since they hit 800. There's an outside chance, and I'm tempting fate here, that this will pass quite gently here.

Where's elbows' golf quiz?
                                                                                                                          I’ll work on it tonight once I put the kids to bed.