I think taking out this particular fella is different to previous US interventions.
    Reasonable New Yorker article on who he was and possible ramifications.

Without having sight of the intelligence given to the US decision makers, it's pretty much impossible to be objective about this action.

Interesting that the Brits clearly weren't notified and seem to be vaguely horrified.

Also the timing (with the Senate impeachment trial about to start) is suspicious.

He learns from the best!

Some Republican members of Congress accused Clinton of using the airstrikes to divert attention from ongoing impeachment proceedings that had been lodged against him. (The day before the strikes took place, the Republican-led House issued a report accusing Clinton of committing “high crimes and misdemeanors,” related to the Monica Lewinsky sex scandal. The charges centered on a sexual liaison in the Oval Office with an intern that Clinton at first falsely denied had taken place.)

New arrival elbowed her way out a few hours ago at a whopping 9lbs 5.
          Nice one bro, congrats to you all, that's great news.

Greta changing her twitter handle to Sharon is good banter.

That kid is some craic.

Greta changing her twitter handle to Sharon is good banter.

That kid is some craic.
              Its her media team m8. Not her.

If anyone has some nice obscure tips for any of Nice, Monaco, Milan, Bologna, San Marino please get in touch
                Bologna was lovely, was recommended this restaurant Osteria Dell'Orsa and was great so would swing by if you can for some proper local cuisine which was very reasonably priced

Munster having their status as third best in Ireland fairly beaten into them in Belfast tonight. Doesn't augur well for their HC prospects next weekend.

Its her media team m8. Not her.
                    Ah me bollix.

New arrival elbowed her way out a few hours ago at a whopping 9lbs 5.
                      Get her christened asap you know yourself, every kid needs a soul.

That kid is some craic.
                        Not sure I've ever seen a less craic teenager.

Trolling Trump was good craic.

Munster having their status as third best in Ireland fairly beaten into them in Belfast tonight. Doesn't augur well for their HC prospects next weekend.
                            Probably 7 max will start in Paris, dont disagree with your pessimism re Sunday but this game will have little or no relevance

Ah come on. Going to Racing with a home defeat to Leinster 3rds and a battering away in Belfast is not ideal in any way.

Only positive was that Carberry lasted the full 80.

The mother in law baptised her this morning. Ella Bows O’Sullivan

Ah come on. Going to Racing with a home defeat to Leinster 3rds and a battering away in Belfast is not ideal in any way.

Only positive was that Carberry lasted the full 80.
                                  Obviously not ideal but doesn't change the enormity of the task in anyway, next week is Munsters season regardless of what happened in the last two games.

Have personally written off the season myself and am somehow trying to convince myself that I haven't wasted my money and time travelling to Racing next week.

Obviously not ideal but doesn't change the enormity of the task in anyway, next week is Munsters season regardless of what happened in the last two games.

Have personally written off the season myself and am somehow trying to convince myself that I haven't wasted my money and time travelling to Racing next week.
                                    Hey, those kind of trips aren't about the result as much as the experience! Hopefully the train strikes don't impact as at least you can taxi everywhere if needed.

Might be less feasible for us to taxi from Brussels to Montpellier the following week.

Ah the ol insurance policy.

My nephew was christened there a while back. Do you think Priests get thick at the mothers when they swan in and haven't a breeze how to say a hail mary?

Must be kind of galling for the priest.

Ah. She's likely good craic behind her message and all the scowling. She does seem to take the piss out of Trump fairly well.

Hey, those kind of trips aren't about the result as much as the experience! Hopefully the train strikes don't impact as at least you can taxi everywhere if needed.

Might be less feasible for us to taxi from Brussels to Montpellier the following week.
                                        Are you based in Brussels or just based there for the weekend, living in Brussels for the last 18 months myself.

Half of our travelling party live there so our customary route is fly into Brussels, spend a night there and then take a TGV to our destination with much wine/cheese consumption en route. Two nights there before returning broken men.

The train journey back is usually somewhat less boisterous. Usually fuelled with equal quantities of white wine and coffee.

We're slowly ticking off the rugby towns of France - Clermont, Perpignan, Toulouse (twice), Castres, Toulon, Marseilles and Bilbao.
                                          Bordeaux, La Rochelle, Lyon, Pau and Agen still on the to-do list...

How dare you.

This happened on celeb mastermind the other night.
                                              No idea who the celeb is but it was hilarious

She also got a question asking for the name of the Irish Political political party blah blah translates as We ourselves, blah blah and she answered The IRA

Last edited by Strewelpeter; 04-01-20, 00:18.

With only nonsense fa cup soccer and magners rugby on over this weekend it's a perfect excuse to take an hour out to get an entry together for the 2020 Multi Sport Competition.
                                                  Not the easiest comp to get an entry in for (requires some effort) but gives a huge sweat in every major sporting event throughout the year.
                                                  Entries by Friday 7pm.

If you want proof the planet is fucked, I just saw a bee buzzing away in the garden.

Half of our travelling party live there so our customary route is fly into Brussels, spend a night there and then take a TGV to our destination with much wine/cheese consumption en route. Two nights there before returning broken men.

The train journey back is usually somewhat less boisterous. Usually fuelled with equal quantities of white wine and coffee.

We're slowly ticking off the rugby towns of France - Clermont, Perpignan, Toulouse (twice), Castres, Toulon, Marseilles and Bilbao.
                                                      Bordeaux, La Rochelle, Lyon, Pau and Agen still on the to-do list...
                                                      Some border movement going on there

Ah the ol insurance policy.

My nephew was christened there a while back. Do you think Priests get thick at the mothers when they swan in and haven't a breeze how to say a hail mary?

Must be kind of galling for the priest.
                                                        Ah not really they know the majority who turn up for a baptisms arent regular church goers so there is plenty of tolerance. Moreso dont be chatting like your in a pub. This goes for weddings also. They usually do 3 baptisms at a time anyway and sometimes its not even a priest as a baptism minister can perform baptisms nowadays. Baptism ministers can be married.

The most galling thing is for parents to just rock up unnanounced with their child without having met with the parish team or without even making any prior contact with the church beforehand. This us usually travellers and scrap iron ryans(my term for close to travellers, feral a touch of romany about them.) but some general lay people also. Its such an ignorant thing to do especially if there are 3 or 4 simultaneous batisms going on but they are always accommodated.

People not being forced into it anymore for school admittance should see a healthy decline in it.

Ah not really they know the majority who turn up for a baptisms arent regular church goers so there is plenty of tolerance. Moreso dont be chatting like your in a pub. This goes for weddings also. They usually do 3 baptisms at a time anyway and sometimes its not even a priest as a baptism minister can perform baptisms nowadays. Baptism ministers can be married.

The most galling thing is for parents to just rock up unnanounced with their child without having met with the parish team or without even making any prior contact with the church beforehand. This us usually travellers and scrap iron ryans(my term for close to travellers, feral a touch of romany about them.) but some general lay people also. Its such an ignorant thing to do especially if there are 3 or 4 simultaneous batisms going on but they are always accommodated.
                                                            Can't see any problem with the late comers. Should be happy to get them in the club. An extra splash and a little mumbo jumbo is all it's costing them. The minks are usually pretty generous with the backhander to the priest.

If you want proof the planet is fucked, I just saw a bee buzzing away in the garden.
                                                              Yeah I spotted one today too. Pruned rose bushes are sprouting away, and daffodils are close to flowering.

Saw a foxy burd in a short flowery skirt was buzzing myself . Is it spring yet ?

Rugby porn at the RDS here.

Hope ionapaul isn't watching (or worse, is there)

Bonus point after 19 minutes

Rugby porn at the RDS here.

Hope ionapaul isn't watching (or worse, is there)
                                                                      Not there (going down to Galway next weekend for Toulouse though), this is a hard watch

Mercy Rule?

Not there (going down to Galway next weekend for Toulouse though), this is a hard watch
                                                                          Hoping for a really shitty wet, windy day in Galway next week.

Beat Toulouse and we'll be going to Montpellier with something to play for...

Just need to see the team psychologist first to remove the scars from this.

TBH, beyond the machine-like excellence of Leinster I've been most impressed with Ulster this season. If they stay with the inevitable Clermont frenzy next week, I wouldn't think it impossible for them to go down there and sneak a result.

Was away for the Christmas there in Florida lively break heat sunshine blissful. We always park near Dcu family’s house. 4 suit cases and taxi driver is all chirpy has yee a nice holiday etc ah ya wife says the address his whole persona changes. It will be cash only I said no bother we’ve bundles. Then said he didn’t know the route wife gave him short cut she said I’ll direct you you could see steam rising out his ears. Turned up the radio didn’t say a thing obv didn’t help with bags no bother. The fare was 14.60 gave him 20 handed me the fiver bit slow with the 40 cent I just got out said you can keep it he sarcastically said are you sure I said it’s Christmas fucking prick. Be a great welcome to some tourists just into the country. In the us the tipping can be tilting say hello to someone and they want a tip. Waitresses get 2 dollars an hour why the fuck does my fish and chips still cost 20 then another 4 tip

Taking off James Ryan after 24 minutes for what looked like an opportunity to give Ryan Baird some experience was an incredible statement.

Tom Daly gave an interview talking about being a professional trainer in his last year at Leinster. Not much has changed on today’s evidence.

Now I know Connacht are missing a lot and didn’t prioritise this game out of the 3 interpros but still this is the sort of beating that kills momentum in a squad.

The question for a third choice Leinster player is can they develop better at Leinster playing occasionally and being very well coached and winning or playing more frequently as a second choice player in one of the other provinces. Based on munsters performance yesterday and Connacht tonight I think staying in Leinster is the more attractive option.

Was away for the Christmas there in Florida lively break heat sunshine blissful. We always park near Dcu family’s house. 4 suit cases and taxi driver is all chirpy has yee a nice holiday etc ah ya wife says the address his whole persona changes. It will be cash only I said no bother we’ve bundles. Then said he didn’t know the route wife gave him short cut she said I’ll direct you you could see steam rising out his ears. Turned up the radio didn’t say a thing obv didn’t help with bags no bother. The fare was 14.60 gave him 20 handed me the fiver bit slow with the 40 cent I just got out said you can keep it he sarcastically said are you sure I said it’s Christmas fucking prick. Be a great welcome to some tourists just into the country. In the us the tipping can be tilting say hello to someone and they want a tip. Waitresses get 2 dollars an hour why the fuck does my fish and chips still cost 20 then another 4 tip
                                                                                  I’ve taken to booking the taxi on freenow as the plane is taxiing in. Then no bs from the taxi driver as they know the journey and that I’m paying by card and they’ve accepted the fare. Always end up with a foreign taxi driver and they are happy out and full of chat.

TBH, beyond the machine-like excellence of Leinster I've been most impressed with Ulster this season. If they stay with the inevitable Clermont frenzy next week, I wouldn't think it impossible for them to go down there and sneak a result.
                                                                                    4 former Leinster players in the pack last night. The move alway from ex saffers to former Leinster players who have slipped a little has really paid off. Only 2 Ulster players likely to start in the pack next week is some indictment of their underage systems though.

There shocking for producing forwards have plenty of home grown backs but the homegrown forwards very thin on the ground.

I’ve taken to booking the taxi on freenow as the plane is taxiing in. Then no bs from the taxi driver as they know the journey and that I’m paying by card and they’ve accepted the fare. Always end up with a foreign taxi driver and they are happy out and full of chat.
                                                                                        Done a couple of Ubers in Florida before the hire car and paid in advance etc it’s the finest and good value.

Taking off James Ryan after 24 minutes for what looked like an opportunity to give Ryan Baird some experience was an incredible statement.

Tom Daly gave an interview talking about being a professional trainer in his last year at Leinster. Not much has changed on today’s evidence.

Now I know Connacht are missing a lot and didn’t prioritise this game out of the 3 interpros but still this is the sort of beating that kills momentum in a squad.

The question for a third choice Leinster player is can they develop better at Leinster playing occasionally and being very well coached and winning or playing more frequently as a second choice player in one of the other provinces. Based on munsters performance yesterday and Connacht tonight I think staying in Leinster is the more attractive option.
                                                                                          I would disagree with you here on three fronts:
                                                                                          1. players need to play. That's why they leave.
                                                                                          2. if you want to play for Ireland...you have to be playing the big games for your province
                                                                                          3. Financially, it has to be better to be a first teamer at another province than a squad player at Leinster

Although maybe you are just trolling the non-Leinster folk in which case I applaud your efforts.

I would disagree with you here on three fronts:
                                                                                            1. players need to play. That's why they leave.
                                                                                            2. if you want to play for Ireland...you have to be playing the big games for your province
                                                                                            3. Financially, it has to be better to be a first teamer at another province than a squad player at Leinster

Although maybe you are just trolling the non-Leinster folk in which case I applaud your efforts.
                                                                                            A small bit of trolling but I think the following examples are interesting case studies.

Will Connors
                                                                                            Cian Kelleher
                                                                                            Ross Moloney v Alan o Connor

Not arguing the likes of Joey Carbery or Jack McGrath but more so the young lads with big aspirations.

There shocking for producing forwards have plenty of home grown backs but the homegrown forwards very thin on the ground.
                                                                                              Yeah fantastic young backs so it’s hard to understand why they can’t produce a few forwards. Munster have turned their academy system around but Ulster not producing any young forwards from what I can see.

Nice one Mick, love this.

The 'we've bundles' and the 40c tip are works of art.

I do think the IRFU should use 'more persuasive' means of getting the Leinster second string to move out to Connacht, Ulster, etc.. and get their regular first team play in. No idea what can be done though, obviously family ties and other relationships will mean lots of players are happy too be a small fish in a big pond rather than the reverse.

Already happening?

I think there's natural equalisation at play anyway. If Leinster have insane depth at, say, prop then you'll see people moving on for action\money. Somebody who's genuinely international quality won't sit there for years playing the odd game and silently funking for injuries.

They already have?

Players who 'originated & stalled' @ Leinster

@ Ulster
                                                                                                      Cooney
                                                                                                      McGrath
                                                                                                      Timoney
                                                                                                      Alan O'Connor
                                                                                                      Moore *
                                                                                                      Murphy

@Munster
                                                                                                      Conway
                                                                                                      Carberry
                                                                                                      McCarthy
                                                                                                      Loughman
                                                                                                      Beirne *

@Connacht
                                                                                                      Thornbury
                                                                                                      Healy
                                                                                                      Roux (ish)
                                                                                                      Daly
                                                                                                      Farrell

* Indirect

It's actually as healthy a system as it has ever been in terms of inter-provincial movement at the level where the guys need gametime to support the Ireland Squad! When queues are identified (Sexton / Carberry / Byrne, or SOB / Murphy / Leavy / VdF), new routes to gametime have been found for players, and it's actually worked quite well so far!

They tried to get Will Connors to switch and pointed out the guys ahead of him etc but he backed himself to come through and I think it’s hard to argue with him now.

Is going to Connacht going to give him a better chance of playing for ireland. For the young lads with big ambitions I’d be slow to leave. For the Tom Daly’s, Jordi Murphys or even Tadhg Beirne it’s obviously a good idea to leave but if you’re honest those guys just aren’t quite international class. They are all just missing a little bit. Daly is too brittle and injury prone, Jordi is neither big enough or dog enough and Beirne is just too short.

But for the likes of Doris and Connors why would you leave when you’re on the fast track? No amount of IRFU persuasion would make me leave if I was either of those lads.

Any film recommendations?

Uncut Gems

Ford vs ferrari

Knives out

All really enjoyable

The rock, an oldie but saw it for the first time last night and enjoyed it. Some of Nicholas Cages finest over acting

Uncut Gems

Ford vs ferrari

Knives out

All really enjoyable
                                                                                                                Gonna go knives out, cheers

The rock, an oldie but saw it for the first time last night and enjoyed it. Some of Nicholas Cages finest over acting
                                                                                                                Think I've seen that one, decent if I remember!

Sorry Dobby, but you’ve clearly not watched Con Air. Watching Cage doing whatever it takes to meet his Humming bird again is just quality.

Anyone who has never seen the Nicolas Cage remake of the Wicker Man should get on it asap. Probably the greatest thing ever done, not just films.

Sorry Dobby, but you’ve clearly not watched Con Air. Watching Cage doing whatever it takes to meet his Humming bird again is just quality.
                                                                                                                      Put the bunny back in the bawkx..

Anyone who has never seen the Nicolas Cage remake of the Wicker Man should get on it asap. Probably the greatest thing ever done, not just films.
                                                                                                                        Oh god Jesus Christ .
                                                                                                                        Last edited by Solksjaer!; 04-01-20, 20:40.

Oh I have indeed. An absolute masterclass in over acting. Great film.