The Open Championship

Royal Lytham and St. Annes

I have 3 ante post bets so far.

Sergio @ 48
    Furyk @ 85
    BVP @ 160

Will take on a fav with the 7 places that are available.
    Maybe Rose or Westy
    I love Rickie Fowler’s swing and ball flight for this championship. Not a great price on Fowler though.

A great week in store for us, one of the best of the year.

What’s your thoughts and picks gents?
    Last edited by Silver-Tiger; 16-07-12, 10:22.

I don't know much about golf, but love following the majors. I've seen nicholas coealsarts name pop up quite a bit in the latter stages of big tournaments. Is he worth a place bet @80/1?
    "true friends stab you in the front"

Fowler, Jacobsen, hansen and hanson for me.

Harrington, Mickelson and Oosthuizen for me so far, might add 1 or 2 before it kicks off.

Victor Chandler special. Mobile or online only.

Boyles go cash back if any Irish player wins the open. All Channels

Powers paying 7 places.

Andrew Georgiou to make the cut could be a good bet make yere own minds up based on the price. My cousin has traveled over from Atlanta to follow him as he knows him and his coach Mark Immelman well. He said he fancies him to make the cut.

Make what ye want of it really.

when does it start? thursday is it?
              I might deposit on VC tomor for that mbs. Vcs odds seen to be the best too.

Layed McDowell and Michelson for top 10. That's all for now.

I have 3 ante post bets so far.

Sergio @ 48
                  Furyk @ 85
                  BVP @ 160

Will take on a fav with the 7 places that are available.
                  Maybe Rose or Westy
                  I love Rickie Fowler’s swing and ball flight for this championship. Not a great price on Fowler though.

A great week in store for us, one of the best of the year.

What’s your thoughts and picks gents?
                  When was Sergio @ 48's?

Have curtis and goosen so far. not with any confidence. Course will be soft with no wind forecast (until sunday) and rough is animal. think the bunkering will take the long hitters out of play. Smells like tiger tbh.
                    Last edited by elbows; 16-07-12, 21:27.

Fowler will win

Lytham has never really thrown up much surprises going back through past winners, the cream in any time period seems to come to the top, even Duval was close to number world 1 before winning here.

I'm with Westy on the nose and Oosty, Hansen and Colsaerts ew.
                        Last edited by The Situation; 16-07-12, 22:55.

Been following this guy for quite a while now and been very impressed with his knowledge an tips. You can look back through the blog and see his results to date which have been mightily impressive. Definatley recommend following this guy if your not sure where to put your money.

Royal Lytham & St Anne’s is the host for this years third major championship where golfers from all over the world will be competing to hold aloft that famous claret jug on Sunday evenin…

Tiger 9's
                            Harry 20's
                            Sergio 35's
                            Poulter 45's
                            Rose 33's

Should get a run for my money

who would of foreseen at the start of the year that we'd see Harrington a shorter price then McIlroy for a major

Think i shall have a cut at mcilroy @ 18/1 on boyles ... could prove to be a huge price..

who would of foreseen at the start of the year that we'd see Harrington a shorter price then McIlroy for a major
                                  I think it's so wrong.

Originally posted by Jaysoose View Post
                                  Think i shall have a cut at mcilroy @ 18/1 on boyles ... could prove to be a huge price..
                                  25s in Laddies ATM

Victor Chandler are in fact doing that special in shop.
                                  Well the one in Baggot St is.

Still haven't topped up on my antepost outright bets.

Did do a 1st round leader one though,
                                  Vijay Singh 125/1 powers. 5 places.

He's hit a couple of low rounds recently. Will be eager to show he is not finished.
                                  Price is a lil big imo.

I think it's so wrong.

25s in Laddies ATM

Victor Chandler are in fact doing that special in shop.
                                    Well the one in Baggot St is.

Still haven't topped up on my antepost outright bets.

Did do a 1st round leader one though,
                                    Vijay Singh 125/1 powers. 5 places.

He's hit a couple of low rounds recently. Will be eager to show he is not finished.
                                    Price is a lil big imo.

Yeah i see he is bigger in other spots but i found some surprise money on boyles by cashing in my long forgotten online casino points for a nice little sum. Am currently on a self imposed ban on depositing on online sites for a while so will make do with the 18's on boyles and count it as a bet to nothing .

€20 ew @ 18's on Mcilroy
                                    €5 ew on Ben Curtis @ 90/1
                                    €5 ew on John daly @ 250/1

2 for first round leader

Tom Lehman at 200/1 and Lee Slattery at 250/1

Franceso Molinari @40/1
                                        Padraig Harrington @18/1
                                        Simon Dyson 100/1

VC and Laddies went 40s on Sergio.
                                          I took some more of him with some each way aswell.

Rose @ 33 and better and a bit on Sergio for the craic but Rose will win this.

A good case for M.Hoey here

I guess a lot of people are interested in why I have such a big bet on Michael Hoey – well it all boils down to the courses where he has been successful – namely short, windy courses by the sea and the fact that he has won three times on these types of courses in the last fourteen months. When he won the Alfred Dunhill Links from a top quality field in October the one thing that he was really happy about was the fact he would get into the Open at Lytham – the scene of his only Major to date when he qualified having won the British Amateur. He is a player who now knows how to win including decent events and I think his price in no way reflects his wins to runs ratio. 1.5 ew 200/1 (6 places)
                                              Taken from

A good case for M.Hoey here

Taken from

http://sportsbettingindex.com/SBI-betting-blog.html
                                                I looked at Hoey for the open but i think he just doesnt drive the ball well enough to keep a few big numbers of his card.. obviously this means he will romp home now..would prefer to see the first round out of the way before backing him myself.

Originally posted by Jaysoose View Post
                                                  I looked at Hoey for the open but i think he just doesnt drive the ball well enough to keep a few big numbers of his card.. obviously this means he will romp home now..would prefer to see the first round out of the way before backing him myself.
                                                  The thing about Hoey is he is either very good or very bad. Might wait and see after round 1. Don't think it will be overly windy (until sunday).

Cant wait for this years open..should be a great weekend of golf.

Interesting write up on the US players.

Look West for Open Success

Come Sunday evening one of the worlds best golfers will hoist the Claret Jug high above the 18th Green at Royal Lytham and St. Annes
                                                      in what will surely be a display of many emotions not least relief at overcoming yet another stern open championship test the R & A have served up.
                                                      Unearthing which golfer has the nerve,patience,experience and sheer brilliance to overcome such a test is a task in itself.

If you are looking for clues or hints to point you in the right direction, look no further than the American contingent this week in Lancashire. Since the
                                                      enigmatic John Daly triumphed in St. Andrews in 1995, the Yanks have had a firm hand on the Claret Jug, winning an amazing 11 of the last 17 Open
                                                      Championships. Whether it be a welcome break from playing the typically repetitive parkland courses in the states to the unorthodox lynx environment
                                                      in Britain or just an opportunity for the them to put their shot making skills to the test, the Americans have been the ones to follow in this particular
                                                      major for quite a few years. As recent as last year Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Chad Campbell, Anthony Kim, Rickie Fowler, Davis Love, Steve Stricker
                                                      and Lucas Glover all finished inside the top 12 places. An astonishing statistic

But with such an impressive record in the Open why are there only 3 Americans in the top 15 of the betting? Tiger Woods 9/1,Phil Michelson 33/1 and Rickie
                                                      Fowler 40/1. Rickie Fowler must be backed at that price. He has shown a keen liking to lynx golf in the past 2 open championships with a creditable 5th place
                                                      finish last year. I don't see any reason why he cant build on that this year. Fowler buoyed by his best friend Bubba Watsons triumph in the Masters this year
                                                      went on and won the Wells Fargo championship in May and is now ready to go a step further and claim his first major at an event he must surely have a liking
                                                      for.

Phil Mickelson must also be backed at 33/1 on a pure value perspective. " Big Phil" is about double the price he would usually be for another major, particularly
                                                      the masters. Granted he has won 3 maters and has yet to win an Open championship, but his desire for Open success is greater then ever as seen by lefties second
                                                      place finish in the Open last year. In preperation for this years Championship Mickelson played in the scottish open last week and expressed his desire for the
                                                      weather to change for the worst, in order to prepare himself for the forcast wind and rain this coming weekend. For a man with 4 majors in the bag already and
                                                      his shot making skills all we need to know is that he is mentally set for the challenge ahead. It seems like he is and at 33/1 he surely must be backed.

At insane odds of 250/1 Chad Campbell must be worth a few quid each way. The laid back Texan has pretty much done it all in his career bar winning the elusive major. He has played in multiple Ryder Cups and has won multple times on the PGA tour. He has won the coveted Tour Championship as well and has held a Top 10 ranking for many months before. Admittedly he has endured a quiet few years, hence the astronomical odds, but Chad has shown an appetite for the Major scene. He regularly tops the greens in regulation stat which is paramount at any Open venue. He lost out in a play off to Angel Cabrera a few years ago in the Masters, lost out narrowly to in the 2003 PGA to Shaun Micheel and finished fifth here last year. A repeat performance would be good enough at these odds to cover all bets and more.

Finally i would suggest a few pound on Zach Johnson following his win in the John Deere Classic last weekend. Johnson is renowned for his tough mental attitude and gutsy performances under pressure. He is already a major winner and relishses the extremest of challenges. He has shown he on the top of his game from last weeks finishing total of -20 par and his driving has never been as accurate. In fact he reckons he is as accurate with the driver as the other guys are with the 3 wood and driving irons. If thats the case it will take the sting out of his obvious weakness which his length. It has proven a hinderence in recent years but if Zach is capable of the accuracy he has shown in recent weeks with the Big stick he will make Lythams par 70 test a lot easier.

If an American wins the Open this week it will be 4 straight majors in a row for the U, S of A. So lets bank on it.

Coral offering money back if your golfer finishes 2nd to any British player.

Ricky Fowler 40/1
                                                          Nicolas Colsaerts 80/1
                                                          Francesco Molinari 40/1 all each way

One chap who played some nice stuff up in Scotland was Matthew Baldwin. Apparently grew up not too far from the Open course and knows it pretty well. Adding him to my stable @400 ew outright and 50's top Englishman.

Based on little knowledge, other than seeing their names appear frequently enough in the last month, I've gone for F. Molinari at 40s and Larrazabal at 200s, both EW obviously.

Barry lane 1st round leader

Does anyone know the last tee times on Sunday?

Usually around 3.00pm

Curtis is 5/4 to win his 3 ball vs Casey and Immelman? Both are wrecked.

I fancy him for that but is that a tad skinny?

adam scott and molinari both @40s ew for me

Backed Furyk for a little EW.

Justin Rose, Paul Lawrie and Michael Hoey so far for me.

feck it ill have to take rose @ 33s aswell and thats it!

Usually around 3.00pm

Curtis is 5/4 to win his 3 ball vs Casey and Immelman? Both are wrecked.

I fancy him for that but is that a tad skinny?
                                                                              I wrote a blog last night (for Boyles) and tipped Curtis in this 3-ball. This morning I'm not as convinced, I generally shy away form 18 hole 3-balls but that caught the eye.

Leishman 10/1 top twenty looks decent, I've backed him top Oz and small outright at stupid odds. He's only played one Open ( made cut in Louie's ) so it's a bit of a stab in the dark but as ever he's over priced for a guy that's hitting it well all year.

I'm going with Louis Oosthuizen, Zach Johnson, GMAC and Martin Kaymer.

Backed Furyk for a little EW.
                                                                                  On to win.

Fowler/Z.Johnson/Rose/Stricker all E/W for me.

Looking forward to it big time now.

Have Ricky backed @ 40 and Francesco @ 50, some more to add later.

Colsaerts @ 75, Hoey & Siem both @ 150. Go go!

IPB competition

Yank trio for me, Fowler, Ben Curtis and John Huh

Adam Scott 40
                                                                                              Dustin Johnson 55
                                                                                              Fredrik Jacobson 100
                                                                                              Thomas Bjorn 100
                                                                                              Raphael Jacquelin 160

I seem to be the only man here that has the Tiger.

Tiger @10/1
                                                                                                Garcia @35/1
                                                                                                Mahan @40/1

Originally posted by Juan Pablo View Post
                                                                                                  Yank trio for me, Fowler, Ben Curtis and John Huh
                                                                                                  Completely forgot to back him, adding him to my team.

Just added Hunter and Ben Curtis. Curtis seems a great price at 100, Sporting Life's tipster makes a great case for him here.

Looking forward to having a punt in the second round leader market, first round is a waste of time, may aswel play bingo.

Significant change in the forecast for tomorrow - they had it at about a constant 6 mph all day earlier in the week - now it's about 8 mph in the morning hitting 13 mph in afternoon. Expect a 2 shot difference in average scores. Friday look's more balanced.

Harrington , Garcia and Poulter for me , really looking forward to this.

The final squad.

Outright.

Furyk @ 85
                                                                                                            BVP @ 160
                                                                                                            Sergio @ 48

E/W

Rose @ 31
                                                                                                            Freddie Jac @ 110
                                                                                                            Sergio @ 40s
                                                                                                            Fowler @ 40s

1st round leader.
                                                                                                            Vijay 125s e/w.

Best of luck all.

One chap who played some nice stuff up in Scotland was Matthew Baldwin. Apparently grew up not too far from the Open course and knows it pretty well. Adding him to my stable @400 ew outright and 50's top Englishman.
                                                                                                              The RP also tipped him up in their special Open pullout today as Top Englishman 1pt EW. Great minds ect.

westwoods my main e/w bet. small e/ws on colsaerts,dyson,els,g-mac & noren.
                                                                                                                one time dealer!!!!!!!!!

main bet is jimbo . not much flair about him but can plot around here nicely. i went with pp top 7 and hopefully he can make a place anyways.

First round leader have 3 runners for a flutter today. e/w top 5.
                                                                                                                  els 50
                                                                                                                  bjorn 66
                                                                                                                  hansen 100

Brenden Grace for me, 210 to 1

Baldwin officially top of the leaderboard now having played more holes than any of the -1'ers, prob the only time Ill be able to say that over the tournament heh.

Sees himself top of the leaderboard, shits himself, proceeds to bogey 10,11 and 12. #dreamisover