Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Still learning, not sure if I played this right, some suggestions please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Still learning, not sure if I played this right, some suggestions please.

Hi, as the title suggests I'm a bit of a novice, or at least I am to online poker. I've usually only played a local game once a week, in a pub and drunk. I'm trying to take it more seriously now however and I've signed up to PokerStars. I read a bit of a strategy guide for playing sit and go's and it seemed to be working well, then I had to think for myself and I busted out lol. I was playing a $3.50 9 handed sit and go, I kept it very tight in the early stages and only played premiums in early position and high cards in late. I had a tight image at the table, this is what I was going for. In the late stage of the game I opened up a bit, stealing blinds with suited A's, mid pairs, large suited connectors etc . . . I was still folding to min raises in my big blind though, when I was weak or medium, I wanted to keep the tight image up. So, I have an average stack size (around 2.7k) and I was getting good cards so I was raising a bit. In the small blind, for 3 hands in a row I got KQ off suit, A7, then A9 suited. Each time it was just down to myself and the BB, each time I raised 3x the blind. The blinds were 50 and 100. He folded the first, re-raised on the second to 900 and I folded. Then on the 3rd, I raised the usual and he comes over the top with an all-in. I called and got knocked out to AQ. Was it the right choice to call there? My thinking was that it was such an overbet that it looked like a bluff, I'd raised him a few times and I thought he might think I'm trying to steal. I thought there was a good chance he had something like Ace rag or KJ, maybe even a total dirt hand, although he seemed to be decent enough and such a blow up would be unlikely with two rags. Sorry for the long post but I figured the more information