MTT Training Site Overview

Need to sign up to a training site after toying with the idea for ages and never following it through due to not knowing what the best one of there is. Was looking at reviews for the best MTT sites out there and thought i'd stick the info up here too for others that might want to go that line. There are some other sites out there but i left the likes of BlueFire and Leggo out for now as they are aimed predominantly at cash players. I haven't even read all the info yet myself, i was just gathering it up.

Maybe people can use this thread for any discussion relating to MTT Training sites, good or bad and any reviews or dealings they have with the site.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Site : PokerXFactor

Link : http://www.pokerxfactor.com/

Instructors

Eric “Sheets” Haber
    Cliff “JohnnyBax” Josephy
    Eric “Rizen” Lynch
    Chris “Fox” Wallace
    Adam “hatfield13” Stemple
    Chris “Beanmo” Mozingo
    Kevin “BeL0WaB0Ve” Saul
    Alex “AJKHoosier1” Kamberis
    Mark “mscell” Scellato
    Scott “BigRiskky” Clements
    Jerry “sandler1860” Pain
    Dave “Doubledave22” D’Alesandro
    Ryan “gutshtallin” Welch
    Felipe “Improved” Montenegro

Free Trial : No
    Subscription : $24.95 per month

Reviews

Rupiahtoto : Daftar Kumpulan Nama Situs Toto Togel Hadiah terbesar 2d 100rb Bet 100 Dan 4d 10 juta Terpercaya 2024 Di Indonesia.

Site : PokerVT

Link : http://pokervt.com/

Instructors

Daniel Negreanu
    Paul Wasicka
    JC Alvarado
    Jason Somerville
    Adam Junglen
    Prof. Charlie Swayne
    David Redlin
    Grayson Physioc
    Joshua Norris
    Matt Kay
    Derek Williams
    Jon Ettinger
    Bryan Devonshire
    Aaron Barone
    Jon Turner

Free Trial : 3 days
    Subscription : $29.99 per month

Reviews

Rupiahtoto : Daftar Kumpulan Nama Situs Toto Togel Hadiah terbesar 2d 100rb Bet 100 Dan 4d 10 juta Terpercaya 2024 Di Indonesia.

Site : PokerPwnage

Link : http://www.pocketfives.com/poker-pwnage/ (now PocketFives training)

Instructors

Russell “rdcrsn” Carson
    Jon “sketchy1” Eaton
    Tom “TitanTom32” Braband
    Alexander “Assassinato” Fitzgerald
    Nathan “Nsinger” Singer
    Zack “Thrash370” Koerper
    Jerry “herschelw” Watterson
    “Chardrian”
    Ben “NeverScaredB” Wilinofsky
    Brett “bballwiz” Fox
    Phil “USCPhildo” Collins
    Damien “zedveron” Elsing

Free Trial : 48 hours
    Subscription : $24.99 per month / $74.97 per 3 months / $149.94 per 6 months / $299.88 per year

Reviews

Site : Cardrunners

Link : http://www.cardrunners.com/

Instructors

Taylor “Green Plastic” Caby
    Colin “Colinmosman” Moshman
    Cole “CTS” South
    Jungleman12
    Kush
    David “Raptor” Benefield
    Brian “Sbrugby” Townsend

Free Trial : 7 Days
    Subscription : $30 per month / $240 per 6 months / $360 per year

Reviews

Site : DeucesCracked

Link : http://www.deucescracked.com/

Instructors

Jay “Krantz” Rosenkrantz
    Danzasmack
    DeathDonkey
    Joe Tall
    Entity
    Ansky
    Sthief09
    DJ Sensei

Free Trial : 7 days
    Subscription : $29 per month / $147.90 per 6 months / $278.40 per year

Reviews

Site : PokersavvyPLus

Link : http://www.pokersavvy.com/plus/#31903

Instructors

Andrew (Foucault) Broko
    Evan (_Fisherman) Roberts
    Jeremiah (Dantes) DeGreef
    Justin (WPThero) Rollo
    Tony (Bond18) Dunst
    AChen
    Eduard (Eddi) Antonyan
    Andrew (Ama0330) Arnott

Free Trial : 7 Days
    Subscription : $24.95 per month

Reviews

Site : Tournament Poker Edge

Link : http://www.tournamentpokeredge.com/

Instructors

Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek
    Mike "goleafsgoeh" Leah
    Daryl "aaaaaaaa" Jace
    Ryan “HITTHEPANDA” Franklin
    Ben "KidCardiff6" Warrington
    Lee Childs
    Nikolai "Halowax" Sears
    Danny "DannyN13" Noseworthy
    Brendon "Brendooor" Rubie
    Marc "aznAllin007" Alioto
    Jon “Wein” Wein
    Charles “Hagbard Celine” Sizemore
    Shaun “Cougars4444” Hendrickson
    Tim “TTWIST” Kelly
    Derek “Killingbird” Tenbusch

Free Trial : No
    Subscription : $23.95 per month / $69.95 per 3 months / $239.95 per year

Reviews

Quick question FD are you aware if any of these are possible to view on an android phone? Long night shift and all that...

I haven't looked into yet, but it's definetly something that i will be trying to find out about. I've an android myself and the last site i had access to used Silverlight which wasn't compatible with it so any site that works gets a plus point in my book!

pretty sure poker pwnage has joined up with pocket fives

Site : PokerPwnage

Link : http://www.pocketfives.com/poker-pwnage/ (now PocketFives training)
          pretty sure poker pwnage has joined up with pocket fives

knew i was right

poker x factor is old hat....and mostly for tournament players.
              pocket fives ...mostly for mtt players....
              for cash players Card Runners is supposedly pretty good ... deuces cracked have some pretty good coaches.
              gl with your choices.

agree islander, pxf gone really stale post black friday

I'm leaning towards PokerPwnage or Tournament Edge Poker at the moment but going to wait till i read up more on all the sites

Deuces Cracked is the one I am with now and love it.

I haven't looked into yet, but it's definetly something that i will be trying to find out about. I've an android myself and the last site i had access to used Silverlight which wasn't compatible with it so any site that works gets a plus point in my book!
                      Tournament poker edge boasts an "Android friendly site"

I'm leaning towards PokerPwnage or Tournament Edge Poker at the moment but going to wait till i read up more on all the sites
                        Pocketfives has some very good stuff on it imo,Assasinatos stuff is quality in particular.

NeverscaredB has some decent vids on there also.

I think either of the above should be good as Edge poker gets very good reviews as well.
                        Last edited by NoRiverRequired; 10-03-12, 19:43.

I know I'm going to be slated for saying this but I think these sites are a waste of time Tony.

When I was going through a bad batch 3 years ago I joined Cardrunners which was the biggest training site at the time. I thought at the time the game had change and that I had missed something or was doing something wrong.

I spent months (12) downloading the top trainers videos to be told what I already knew. All the video's did is re-confirm what I knew was the correct plays in most situations. Some people are going to say this was money well spent, but I'm not sure. Every hand I saw a top pro play I was thinking the exact same play or had spotted the same tell etc. So I felt I learned nothing, but it did help me with my cash game, or actually show me that cash game online was a grind.

Also most of the video's covers players success which is always very easy to discuss and analysis. They also spent to much time telling you how bad the other player played the hand! yeh of course because they played it perfect and had the nuts.

Also the training is always result orientated, I.e they won the hand. They don't really discuss different options and in some case I don't actually think the trainers think beyond what they did at the time or what they always felt was the correct play based on the outcome of the hand. Sometimes their egos get in the way. Don't ask me to list the trainers I watch, but some of these had EPT wins behind them.

Personally I think its a great way for poor or new players to learn the game very quickly. But a very advance player like you is wasting you're time, unless you want to improve some aspect of you're game that you don't play much like cash or stud etc. It is a great way to spend time if you have the spare time to watch another players hand history from there view point.

I always think the best way to learn is discussing hands with friends or going over you're hand history afterwards.

Anyway, I bet I get slated for this post.

I'd have to disagree with some of the above tbh. Although, i've never used Cardrunners, I have used PocketFives for nearly a year now and it has helped me greatly. Someone here mentioned Alex Fitzgerald already, and while his voice can be tilting, to watch the style he plays and how aggro he actually is in some spots is a joy to behold. Also, for his videos alone and the way he talks about the HUD numbers and how he implements them with the Math have been a huge benefit to the game. He is often super critical of himself and quite harsh at times but his videos do bring alot to the table. His WCOOP 5k video series is fanastic.

Pocketfives recently, have been doing alot more HH reviews from other players at the stakes I kind of play which I think has been very useful. Their certainly not afraid to say what's good and what's bad and whether they played their hand poorly themselves. Then you have a maths guy in KillerEV, who has numerous charts and discussion videos on just math. Perfectly for calculating calling/folding. I personally have found Pocketfives thus far to be a great help tbh and i'm sure plenty of other bettor players could say the same.

JUst an FYI --

Of the the listed instructors are not very active. For example i was on Cardrunners for 6 months and neither Cole South or Talour Caby made a video...

I was with PXF for a good while, but as said above it has gone stale. Eric 'Sheets' Haber is one of the best instructors, he has put together some really useful spread sheets for sngs' etc and his sweat sessions were the only thing worth watching just before I left.

Have just joined DeucesCracked and it seems prety good so far, they have a wide variety of videos and some good instructors including some Vanessa Selbst videos.

Havent tried any of the others.

Cheers for the feedback lads. Been a little busy the last few days and haven't even looked at this thread since but still have plans to sign up to one of the sites and try and get the most out of it.

Originally posted by Ollie View Post
                                  I know I'm going to be slated for saying this but I think these sites are a waste of time Tony.

When I was going through a bad batch 3 years ago I joined Cardrunners which was the biggest training site at the time. I thought at the time the game had change and that I had missed something or was doing something wrong.

I spent months (12) downloading the top trainers videos to be told what I already knew. All the video's did is re-confirm what I knew was the correct plays in most situations. Some people are going to say this was money well spent, but I'm not sure. Every hand I saw a top pro play I was thinking the exact same play or had spotted the same tell etc. So I felt I learned nothing, but it did help me with my cash game, or actually show me that cash game online was a grind.

Also most of the video's covers players success which is always very easy to discuss and analysis. They also spent to much time telling you how bad the other player played the hand! yeh of course because they played it perfect and had the nuts.

Also the training is always result orientated, I.e they won the hand. They don't really discuss different options and in some case I don't actually think the trainers think beyond what they did at the time or what they always felt was the correct play based on the outcome of the hand. Sometimes their egos get in the way. Don't ask me to list the trainers I watch, but some of these had EPT wins behind them.

Personally I think its a great way for poor or new players to learn the game very quickly. But a very advance player like you is wasting you're time, unless you want to improve some aspect of you're game that you don't play much like cash or stud etc. It is a great way to spend time if you have the spare time to watch another players hand history from there view point.

I always think the best way to learn is discussing hands with friends or going over you're hand history afterwards.

You're a better tournament player than me Ollie, so not surprised you were on the same page as a lot of pros. I've been playing poker for a few years now, but i don't think i'm up to the standard of a lot of the players that are about the scene these days. I wouldn't say i'm an advanced player in that regard. I have a grasp of the basics but i'm always looking to improve and at the moment i don't mind throwing $200 at a training site because at the end of the day, it's the difference between 1st and 2nd, or 2nd and 3rd at the stakes i'm playing at the moment so all it needs to this is implement 1 thing in my game over the space of 6 months that helps you move up a couple of places in the ladder and it's paid for itself.

I'm still slightly old fashioned in my approach to MTTS and i'm generally not a shove ATC when you get into certain positions and there's a few really good instructors out there that play the game similar to me, only a lot better, so i'm interested in their style.

Before i get into the training sites, i've got my hands on the below series. Some of the topics that he's covering are exactly what i want to know and areas i want to improve. I'm really looking forward to watching this series so hopefully it's good stuff

Originally posted by DesiG View Post
                                  I was with PXF for a good while, but as said above it has gone stale. Eric 'Sheets' Haber is one of the best instructors, he has put together some really useful spread sheets for sngs' etc and his sweat sessions were the only thing worth watching just before I left.
                                  Watched the start of the 1st video in the above series, and he recommends 'Sheets' spreadsheets as being fantastic so might look into that myself

Originally posted by Ollie View Post

I think you are just telling us how great you are tbh.
                                    Last edited by chinatown; 15-03-12, 00:04.

Originally posted by chinatown View Post
                                      Brag imo
                                      Fixed for bbvers
                                      Last edited by eamonhonda; 14-03-12, 23:59.

Did you ever try out any of these Flushdraw? Any thoughts?

Originally posted by GaryT View Post
                                          Did you ever try out any of these Flushdraw? Any thoughts?
                                          I never really went down this road in the end. I ended up doing a few Skype/TeamViewer sessions with some of the top players in the staking site i signed up with, and only briefly flirted with training sites because i've played a lot over the last few months.

Just finished a 2 month subscription to Pocketfives training and found it really good and may go down that route again, but i've got my hands on a deucescracked subscription so going to try and get stuck into that for a while and put a lot of time into watching videos and reading 2+2 (while playing less) to improve my game. I know DC is predominately a cash site but from some of the sites above, there seems to be some good content for SnG/MTT

A decent selection of various stakes cash videos for the Omaha games and even some Stud lessons can be found. Joe Tall, Gergery, and especially Vanessa Selbst do a great job in defining these games to beginning players. The 2×6 series of Vanessa teaching Whitelime how to play PLO has got to be more valuable than any book written on this subject.
                                          The headsup coaches at Deuces Cracked needs no introduction. If you’re looking to improve your heads up game then why not learn from the best in the business. Video producers include FoxwoodsFiend, Krantz, Insyder19, WiltOnTilt and Ansky. This is probably one of most skilled team of heads up players on the planet. Often two or more of the coaches collaborate and analyse a heads up session together where differing points of views are presented.
                                          Members at Deuces Cracked have given alot of credit to the videos on the site created by Joe Tall, danzasmack and Dj Sensei.
                                          Has anyone any previous with DC and their MTT section that can recommend any instructors to check out, incl the ones above?

Looking to brush up on:

Mixed game MTTs
                                          PLO/PLO8 MTT/SNG
                                          Holdem Manager Analysis
                                          Turbo/Super Turbo SnG
                                          HU SnG
                                          MTTs

Any advice/help is appreciated

Great outline in the first post.

Which site would ye recommend for PLO50-PLO100?

Also where are the most straightforward videos for setting up HEM2 for PLO cash?

interesting stuff, did you ever check out that video pack from daily variance flushdraw? Any use if so? Can't find any reviews online.

Originally posted by ClogBogger View Post
                                                interesting stuff, did you ever check out that video pack from daily variance flushdraw? Any use if so? Can't find any reviews online.
                                                Hey Clog,

The only thing i really watched from Daily Variance was the 100k MTT system. Watched a few vids on Pocketfives during a 2month subscription and being messing about with Deucescracked but it's a shared subscription so not as easy to bookmark or keep track of what you want to, or have already watched. Here's a post i put up a few months ago

I haven't watched a whole host of them tbh, but the 2 most memorable ones are

Category: The 100k MTT System by Matt 'mlagoo' LeGarde

Lesson 1 Advanced Tournament Tips Part I
                                                Lesson 1 Advanced Tournament Tips Part II
                                                Lesson 3 Optimal Resteal Ranges
                                                Lesson 4 Trigger Happy
                                                Lesson 5 Bluffing Ninjas
                                                Lesson 6 Deep Stacks Warfare
                                                Lesson 7 A Date with the Sage
                                                Bonus Video The Final Table

Some of these videos are really deep and a lot to take in, and some of the strategies he talks about would go against a lot of the principles i know but i found it really interesting. You'd pretty much have to switch off everything and give these your full attention to grasp whats going on!

daaaaaaang16

1 - Basic Principals
                                                2 - Early Game play
                                                3 - Early Game Draws Odds
                                                4 - Middle Game Aggression
                                                5 - EV Considerations
                                                6 - Bubble Play
                                                7 - In The Money Play
                                                8 - FT hand review
                                                9 - FT hand review
                                                10 - FT hand review

Don't have a link for this but it's available through DeucesCracked. Been a while since i watched it, but i remember picking up snippets as it went along. I watched both of these series through the staking site tho so not sure how easily accessible they might be. Sometimes i think it would be a lot easier to completely erase how you play and then start again from scratch with better fundamentals

Thanks man!!! Think I'll get the 100k mtt system. I've also been looking at Tournament Poker Edge and it seems like it's one of the highest rated training sites at the moment, according to 2+2 anyways. I'll give my feedback here once I've had a good root through em. Cheers!!!

Paying the $100 to buy this only option available for the MTT system?

Only reason I ask is because searched on Torrent sites on found and downloaded the full version in his own language.
                                                    The version I got still has all the bullet points etc in English but talking in his own language.
                                                    Last edited by corigi; 02-01-13, 18:21. Reason: error

Originally posted by corigi View Post
                                                      Paying the $100 to buy this only option available for the MTT system?

Only reason I ask is because searched on Torrent sites on found and downloaded the full version in his own language.
                                                      The version I got still has all the bullet points etc in English but talking in his own language.
                                                      The staking crowd i'm with have it available to their players so that's where i saw it. I can't link or copy it because it's part of their site

Sound cheers for reply. Is it worth paying $100 for English Version?

He seems to get great reviews on 2+2 for his individual coaching sessions so was thinking of investing in the Video first and take it from there

yeah I got that Russian dubbed version too, probabaly just gonna see if any of my poker mates wanna go splits on it and share it around.

Not a bad idea ....

Sure if you and your mates do buy it maybe drop us a message and maybe I can xfer you money on stars or something in exchange for it.

Can not make up my mind whether to just buy it or get CardRunners or some other site yearly subscription.