It said I was from Killarney

You should feel privileged.

He's from Killarney Junior down the road I think.
    wp, he will love that lol

Hah, just did it and it came up with Dublin and Killarney for me. I don't find it so funny anymore.

Theres a bit of culchie in all of us.
        Could be worse AJ, could have said Kilgarvan or Kenmare and youd have to buy a flat cap

Hmm Killarney here as well but mainly anywhere between Wexford and Dundalk. I'm from Dublin.

Said Sligo, Dublin and Killarney for me. Lived in two so not bad.

Thanks for tips on NY location, after much searching, it is done! I want to be close to all. Turns out most Airbnb stays are illegal there.

Going to start practicing my best "I'm walkin' 'ere!"

Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 15-02-19, 16:59.

Got back from Vegas yesterday and collected the dogs from the parents in Kerry today so that's officially the end of the holiday. I'd guess most people here have been at some stage by now but it's been a.dream holiday for me since I was 17 and it exceeded all expectations. Ticked a few things off the bucket list like shoot a gun, ride in a helicopter, visit the Grand Canyon. And did loads of cool stuff too. Wont even attempt a trip report because it would probably be 100 pages long.

One of the highlights, walking through the Aria on my last night and met this guy. Was sound and took a few pics. Totally different to what we used to see on TV.

Last edited by dobby; 15-02-19, 16:57.

I must sound like a cunt.

Played the Deepstack today in Regency. Loling away at 1000bb starting stack. Not laughing now. Stupid game.

Worse beat is i checked into this piehole for 2 nights to escape visiting outlaws. Goin drinkin.

Don't be a Theresa May. On the outside looking in and wishing you could be back hanging with the cool kids.

Be a Michel Barnier.

Ha love that photo dobbs!
                        I actually wasn't sure who it was for a bit.

Not aging well.

Used to think it was very considerate of nightclubs to serve up a free cooked meal around 11pm-midnight. Chili Con carne used be a staple. Always found it strange even then to correlate nightclubs and free food in much the same way I always about skiing and shooting in the biathlon. Wasn't till much later I found out they had to do it by law i believe.

Anyone ever go to the Church in London.

Benny for sure.
                                Overheard in London : "I always thought it would be weird to have your dick sucked in Church and not be priest, but........".

Err... surely you need some expensive IT to run models on

I got a quote in for 50k (ex vat) for a system recently. Sales guy literally said to me on the phone it would take a few days as no one had been stupid enough to order Xeon 8180 before List price over 10k per chip... with 4 of them inside.
                                  Am looking at hardware in work myself these days. We need 3x everything, Pre-Prod, Disaster Recovery, LIVE. All running hot-hot.

Had a lovely sales meeting (90mins) where the guy was trying to get us to go 3x our budget for the sake of no % increase in compute. I genuinely got annoyed and had to call the meeting to an end as I felt it was too brazen.

Guy e-mailed after to ask for another meeting with IT only, and not users/consumers of hardware to be involved as we "clouded the conversation".

Don't be a Theresa May. On the outside looking in and wishing you could be back hanging with the cool kids.

Be a Michel Barnier.

"They will blink, they always do. Ask Greece"

ffs

"They will blink, they always do. Ask Greece"

ffs
                                      Oxi!

I watched that Free Solo documentary earlier (thanks OPR). Crazy people those climbers. Tense watch at times.

Am looking at hardware in work myself these days. We need 3x everything, Pre-Prod, Disaster Recovery, LIVE. All running hot-hot.

Had a lovely sales meeting (90mins) where the guy was trying to get us to go 3x our budget for the sake of no % increase in compute. I genuinely got annoyed and had to call the meeting to an end as I felt it was too brazen.

Guy e-mailed after to ask for another meeting with IT only, and not users/consumers of hardware to be involved as we "clouded the conversation".
                                          Would ye not just run it all on AWS or Azure or something or am I "clouding" the conversation? What on earth is hot-hot?

What vendors/tech are you considering?

One of those albums/bands you loved when you were a kid, that I forgot about for decades, and then remembered

Went to Hamilton last night, staying in Mayfair so was very enjoyable walking around feeling like a peasant. Got to the show and it started with a bang, by the third song my head was pounding, and by the 6th or 7th I couldn't look at the stage , the noise and banging triggered the concussion I got when knocked off my bike a few weeks ago, ended up having to leave at intermission. Got home, took a bath in the dark and slept well, but feeling pretty awful today as I guess I missed my one shot to see the show.

'Showing the house' rapidly becoming a pain in the hole. Hopefully some idiot comes in with a massive bid over asking soon.

I'm from Sligo, apparently.

Kilkenny for me

Beyond the pale

He knew how to get more cash out of ATMs than the daily limit, so he worked several machines near the hotel, withdrawing $5000.
                                                                How does that work SP? Was that the trick of letting the machine take back the top and bottom note?

Where was that?

Getting around online daily withdrawal limits is probably exploiting a bug, probably something to do with offline time or when limits are refreshed. Bank aren't going to be forgiving and will charge bonus rates for the unauthorised overdraft.
                                                                  In the US they continue to use antiquated systems and have chopped up the market between issuers, ATM operators and payment networks in such a messy way that there are more points of failure than there should be.

Allowing the device to retract some notes and holding on to the rest of the notes is still amazingly common but its the equivalent of walking into a shop and reaching over the counter into the till to steal cash except that as well as being on video the thief has already identified themselves by using card and pin.

So no work , no work, tomorrow. planned to do absolutely nothing . just lie about in pjs all weekend. greasy hair , make up still on from yesterday, not a care in the world!
                                                                    excuse the state of me
                                                                    and this happens, surprise!

fair play lads lol

Last edited by SatNav; 16-02-19, 15:08.

Nice dog. The other animals look feral.

Auckland a few years ago, just getting hard currency was his concern

Hitch are you parent 1 or parent 2? Who am I kidding, definitely parent 2

The amendment has been heralded by France's majority La République en Marche Party (LREM) but criticized by the French right.

Auckland a few years ago, just getting hard currency was his concern

http://archive.fo/kjuLi
                                                                              In the context

having said that, in that region it could be one of my ATM's so the bug theory is credible

Is there any logic to the order of the alphabet? Ie. why A comes before B and B before C and M before N?

Just curious if there's an underlying ordering system.

Was reading a book tonight that was saying most people didn't know the ordering of the alphabet about a hundred years ago - mainly as it wasn't considered important.
                                                                                  Derived from Greek perhaps? Alpha, Beta... Perhaps we ordered them that way afterwards.

On a totally unrelated note, Ryan Moore looking like Dobby's new bestie tonight wearing the most casual golf attire I've seen.
                                                                                  Aria casino baseball cap and a khaki hoodie for Round 3.

I guess the new question then is if the Greeks had an ordering logic! Like why the sound that alpha makes was deemed to 'come before' the sound that beta makes.
                                                                                        Yes exactly, either we have ordered them as such or the Greeks did (or any pre-Greek culture). I suppose it's the same as numerics, why does one come before two. The lines of Roman numerals make intuitive sense but the application of the Arabic system seems as arbitrary as the alphabet.
                                                                                        Last edited by Guest; 17-02-19, 00:32.

Is there any logic to the order of the alphabet? Ie. why A comes before B and B before C and M before N?

Just curious if there's an underlying ordering system.

Was reading a book tonight that was saying most people didn't know the ordering of the alphabet about a hundred years ago - mainly as it wasn't considered important.
                                                                                          You and my 5 year old must never meet. I've enough such questions to answer .

Disgraceful

Great finish to T20 match this morning. Ireland down to their last wicket and need six off the final ball off the innings to win by one run. Stuart poynter duly delivers

Move over Jedward

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=X7mpVbEV2TA

...I suppose it's the same as numerics, why does one come before two. The lines of Roman numerals make intuitive sense but the application of the Arabic system seems as arbitrary as the alphabet.
                                                                                                  There is an objective and compulsory logic to how numbers are ordered that doesn't obviously carry over to the alphabet.

I guess the new question then is if the Greeks had an ordering logic! Like why the sound that alpha makes was deemed to 'come before' the sound that beta makes.
                                                                                                    You are way overthinking this.

It's like asking why black is called black and not orange. Everything got to be called a "name" and order is derived from chaos. It's just a commonly agreed system. Its also as pointless as asking why is Monday before Tuesday. Not worth thinking about.

There is an objective and compulsory logic to how numbers are ordered that doesn't obviously carry over to the alphabet.
                                                                                                      Yeah re-read that this morning and it was a definitely a false equivalence on my part. Posted that at 12.30 after a few pints so I'll use that as an excuse. Ordering of letters is not analogous to the use of 1,2,3 as symbols to represent a count.

On an unrelated note but something was mentioned recently, I thought Andrew Yang was an interesting listen on Joe Rogan. Supporter of UBI and discusses the need for changes in employment due to automation

I spent the best part of two months making French toast sometime in the last millenium.

As you say, drop bread in eggs and fry in 50/50 olive oil and butter. Serve when golden brown both sides. Sprinkle with icing sugar. Serve with good quality maple syrup on the side (never on top, give people the choice) and bacon. Blueberries optional.

After the first thousand or so I got the hang of it.

Hidden talents eh. I do like cinnamon in the egg mix myself.
                                                                                                        Inspired me to make it there rounders!

Saw a review in the IT yesterday that mentioned smoked black pudding.

Sounds like a genius idea tbf.

Lip reading in accents...

Yeah re-read that this morning and it was a definitely a false equivalence on my part. Posted that at 12.30 after a few pints so I'll use that as an excuse.
                                                                                                              Apologies, that was obv, I should have gone with my original thought to post this:

Inspired me to make it there rounders!

Genuinely thought that was a stock photo

Looks amazing, what time is viewing at

NBA All-star Weekend is this weekend in Charlotte and a billboard has been erected in the host city showing 10 future NBA All-Stars, one of which is Aidan Igiehon Harris from Clondalkin.

He'd be the 2nd Irish born player to play in the NBA and if drafted, he'd be the 1st Irish born player to achieve that too.
                                                                                                                  He's chosen a pretty decent program with Louisville and he's currently ranked in the Top 30 or so in his class.
                                                                                                                  Pretty unbelievable for a guy from Ireland who only started playing in his teens.

Genuinely thought that was a stock photo

Looks amazing, what time is viewing at
                                                                                                                    That was breakfast this morning.

Customers hard to please though. One outright refused it, one decided caster sugar was a superior alternative to icing and the last said the rashers tasted like dog food.

I asked her how she knew what dog food tastes like, which seemed to settle things.

You are way overthinking this.

It's like asking why black is called black and not orange. Everything got to be called a "name" and order is derived from chaos. It's just a commonly agreed system.
                                                                                                                        He is asking about the order, and not why are they named so and so.
                                                                                                                        I dount order is random
                                                                                                                        I

Its also as pointless as asking why is Monday before Tuesday. Not worth thinking about.
                                                                                                                        The days of the week are name for the planets, from slowest to fastest.
                                                                                                                        The planets are in turn named after the Gods.

Monday is Moon's day. Saturday is Saturn's day.