Two guards in centre telling us complete lockdown 8 am Tuesday morning.

Did u manage to sell them the sky full package

Feels like the UK government are now delaying closures purely to save face, and dont want to admit their initial stance was off the wall but now they're compounding an huge initial error of judgement with another.

What are your symptoms Sam?

Did u manage to sell them the sky full package
            Yes about 12 months ago 😂😂

What are your symptoms Sam?
              Trying to be socially conscientious here and although this is weird I dont want to describe them on here for a few reasons. - Suffice to say I genuinely, feel as though my body is fighting ' something ' it has not encountered before. That said also hugely aware that there is momentous pressure on the mind in moments like this, and some of what I feel might be exaggerated by the pressure cooker of the situation.

I have the exact same feeling. I have described my symptoms but cant help but feel my mind is exaggerating them.

Hope you feel better.

Just back from testing, you are given a number and told to go to a certain place,stay in the car and they come out and get you. Nasal and oral swab done, should have the results within 24/48 hours.
                  That's a major fuck up on their part if they're sending people who have just been tested home for 24/48h.thats exactly how community spreading works Ffs.

No real practical alternative.

I guess the assumption is if youve been tested you know the gravity of the situation and so will isolate.

You’ll be told to self isolate for that period

Best of luck Sam & Eoghan. Reality is a good few of us likely to get it no doubt to varying degrees.

Missus just been told to WFH for the foreseeable. They were all issued with brand new laptops and IT installed all necessary software last week in preparation. Dogs will be delighted anyway

Panic buying new hardware to enable me to WFH. Raspberry Pi and dual screens I think.

You have a partner who is working Dobby, surely you can afford a few weeks without pay. Any employer that makes you come in and work now isn't someone you want to work for (Important work excepted obv). If worst comes to worst you can eat the dog food.

Lol. Hopefully wont be that stuck anyway. And I'm a fan of being employed so unfortunately if I'm being told to go to work I have to turn up. While you are right and I agree with you that we wont be stuck with her wages coming in, I cant just quit or lose my job because long term that's not ideal. Chatting to my manager here and he doesn't know what's gonna happen, just at the moment its business as usual.

Panic buying new hardware to enable me to WFH. Raspberry Pi and dual screens I think.
                                  Already had WFH equipped laptops but we were allowed to just take all the gear from work with us since this is going to be ongoing. It was like the office was getting looted with screens, docks, etc all emptying across the place last week.

It was like the office was getting looted with screens, docks, etc all emptying across the place last week.

Some craic in our place with all of the 4th years taking home scientific equipment in plastic bags so they can finish their final year projects.

Judd Trump going for a record 6th ranking title in a season on Eurosport 2 now for the sport deprived.

Dobby, I genuinely think your risk metrics are all over the place. You cancelled a trip to Europe a few years ago vs a tiny probability of terrorist activities and now you are running maybe a 1 in 300 mortality risk going to work. I'm so far away from having a go at you, and understand your situation, but really think its worth reconsidering if you are turning up to work just because you feel you are letting down people who aren't thinking about your safety.
                                            1/300 is a crazy shout. Maybe 1/500 people or fewer will get it here and his age group are 1/500 to die if they contract it.

Disappointing to see casinos still advertising poker tournaments on Facebook. Casinos are one of the worst environments along with pubs to spread this disease. I know it must be difficult for businesses who have overheads etc but this is literally the difference between life and death.

Dobby, I genuinely think your risk metrics are all over the place. You cancelled a trip to Europe a few years ago vs a tiny probability of terrorist activities and now you are running maybe a 1 in 300 mortality risk going to work. I'm so far away from having a go at you, and understand your situation, but really think its worth reconsidering if you are turning up to work just because you feel you are letting down people who aren't thinking about your safety.
                                                No I get it, trip was cancelled then due to multiple factors. I dont feel like I'm letting anyone down if I don't turn up. I need to turn up so I dont get sacked because when this virus passes I still need a job. As I said earlier, telling your employer you're not coming in or being able to wfh is a massive luxury.

It’s going to start getting very messy for workplaces(even ones who manufacture critical products) very soon. So many more people if not catching it themselves will be living with someone Who has been tested, has it, has a non covid but similar symptom illness, have childcare issues (only 1 day of that so far, many would rely on parents if creches closed but use advice is not to) etc
                                                  Have a feeling in my place that even if commitment made to pay is made people will just stop showing up when numbers spike , which will happen this week

I've been told who that person on the recording is, my source for this is extremely reliable and has a good relationship with them.

I've also seen photos of some rental cars in the car rental lot with Garda logos on them.

Maybe it is a wind up but if it is, a fair amount of time and effort has been put into it to make it credible, suppose all good wind ups need that.

My source is generally spot on with this type of stuff but only time will tell I guess.
                                                    I've a mate in the army. He says it's shite. Makes the interesting point that a fleet lease wouldnt be using 18d models as well as making a point about manpower. The recording also said all shops chemist's etc to close. Which doesnt appear to be in any plans.

We mightn't be in that bad a shape after all.

Apparently a good % of the world ventilator supply is made here in Galway by Covidian, an arm of Medtronic.

Hopefully they aren't all exported like food was during the famine.

Originally posted by golucky123 View Post
                                                        Disappointing to see casinos still advertising poker tournaments on Facebook. Casinos are one of the worst environments along with pubs to spread this disease. I know it must be difficult for businesses who have overheads etc but this is literally the difference between life and death.
                                                        My local casino still texting every night about cash games being on. Very disappointed but understand the difficulties for small business so not going to judge a situation I know nothing about.

But, it is surely one of the most likely places that can spread disease and virus of any kind. They said they are constantly cleaning chips and cards but that seems impossible to me. Oh and also going 8 handed instead of 9. LOL

I say there is going to be a lot of bullshit posted in social media over the next few days/weeks so would take anything you hear with a large dose of salt.

Already theres a fake doctor post making the rounds. Some people are such idiots.

That little ol band from Texas on Netflix is superb for music fans . Change of tune for you pardon the pun

1/300 is a crazy shout. Maybe 1/500 people or fewer will get it here and his age group are 1/500 to die if they contract it.
                                                              Why do you think so few people will get it?

No I get it, trip was cancelled then due to multiple factors. I dont feel like I'm letting anyone down if I don't turn up. I need to turn up so I dont get sacked because when this virus passes I still need a job. As I said earlier, telling your employer you're not coming in or being able to wfh is a massive luxury.
                                                                Jesus Dobby. You make up that you've been told to go into isolation and you do the clever thing and actually do it.

You gonna pay me m8, guarantee the job when I go back and the consequences if found to be lying. Also the little problem of having no doctors cert to give HR is an issue.
                                                                    Last edited by dobby; 15-03-20, 19:59.

Why do you think so few people will get it?
                                                                      Just a fairly baseless guess. Looks like 1/10000 in China will be around the max so giving a fudge factor of 20 due to size of country and compliance with rules there.

Pub shut until at least the 15th April, French government gonna pay 85% of my wages(if I qualify), Cans of various French food on the bedroom floor.

Now just have to wait and see if I managed to dodge the fucking thing on my last few days if work./

You gonna pay me m8, guarantee the job when I go back and the consequences if found to be lying. Also the little problem of having no doctors cert to give HR is an issue.
                                                                          It's gona be all shutdown. Get yourself the extra day or 2. It'll make a difference.

I just Took tomorrow as a holiday. We are off Tuesdsy for Paddys day anyway. Due back in Wednesday. So hopefully they have called it by then anyway.

Odds on you'll be cleared from working by then you'd like to think. Tough position understand where you're coming from.

Within a week or way less every single thing will be closed. You dont need to go in and you wont lose your job.

guys I think Dobby gets the message - surely no need for the continuous pile on? I am sure he is stressed enough about it already.
                                                                                      not stressed at all, just an unknown situation but currently on the couch watching the chase snuggled up to my dog after a cracking roast pork dinner so about as far from stressed as I've ever been. Doesnt feel like a pile on. Obviously its very close to CHDs heart as he has a young lad in a tough spot so understandable posts from him.

Pub shut until at least the 15th April, French government gonna pay 85% of my wages(if I qualify), Cans of various French food on the bedroom floor.

Now just have to wait and see if I managed to dodge the fucking thing on my last few days if work./
                                                                                        Awesome. Glad to see you made the move. Probably best of both worlds, getting paid and the people staying away whilst you discover the South of France!

in other news, I just ordered several hundred feet of timber to be delivered tomorrow. I'm gonna make some garden furniture in the next few weeks!
                                                                                          Was thinking of doing the same. Haven't got around to figuring out what I'd need to order though. Probably too late now.

All French schools in London being closed from Tuesday onwards following pressure from annoying French parents. This is going against BJs objectives. This will quickly snowball.

I've a mate in the army. He says it's shite. Makes the interesting point that a fleet lease wouldnt be using 18d models as well as making a point about manpower. The recording also said all shops chemist's etc to close. Which doesnt appear to be in any plans.
                                                                                              Only time will tell, although there was no mention of chemists in the recording and as far as I know (and am open to correction on this) but rental/lease companies only have cars that are max 3/4 years old in their fleet. After that, they sell them on.

in other news, I just ordered several hundred feet of timber to be delivered tomorrow. I'm gonna make some garden furniture in the next few weeks!
                                                                                                Send some on to me so I can sort this poxy fence.

What are you going to make? Never saw you as a handyman tbf so looking forward to photos that will prove me wrong.

I was let go on Thursday without any reason given. cant believe they fired me right at the beginning of a global pandemic and stock market crash and then told me not to worry because 'there's a great job market at the moment'

One of the guys on my team, not a drama queen by any means, texted me to say there'll be a government announcement tonorrow at 11 closing everything except supermarkets. And for those only to be open 3 hours a day.
                                                                                                      Which sounds like a recipe for unmitigated panic.

Either way (and I'm sure the above must be bs), looking forward to going down the shraaap route amd eating nothing but tinned French delicacies for the next few weeks. And maybe learning how to trap squirrels.

Great minds, time to shelve out the shed and make a few planters

What are you going to make? Never saw you as a handyman tbf so looking forward to photos that will prove me wrong.
                                                                                                          Somewhere to hang the meat .

Honestly, I'd suggest a big fucking DIY job is the last thing you should be doing.
                                                                                                            On the off chance you saw your finger off or some such the er mightnt be able to see ya..
                                                                                                            Overkill? Maybe. Just seems a needless risk

One of the guys on my team, not a drama queen by any means, texted me to say there'll be a government announcement tonorrow at 11 closing everything except supermarkets. And for those only to be open 3 hours a day.

Either way (and I'm sure the above must be bs), looking forward to going down the shraaap route amd eating nothing but tinned French delicacies for the next few weeks. And maybe learning how to trap squirrels.
                                                                                                              Doing the rounds on my WhatsApp groups. Even if not bullshit it sounds like a terrible idea that will just cause greater panic surely.

I told you. Its 100 %happening, manager in dealz her ex partner can't take the kids next few, days he's in the army and told her he's, being deployed.

Then the Gaurds saying it too kinda confirmed it.

Only time will tell, although there was no mention of chemists in the recording and as far as I know (and am open to correction on this) but rental/lease companies only have cars that are max 3/4 years old in their fleet. After that, they sell them on.
                                                                                                                  I've no idea tbh. It might be on the level. So much shite flying around at the moment it's hard to keep a handle on it all

BBV used to be the source of sanity. The last bastion. Now el stuntman is passing on drama and woodwork is deemed life threatening. Is there any way back for the BBV after this. Collie and Dobby already gone mad Ted .

Btw . I got chills.

George Lee looking terrified on the RTE news.

He didn't have the balls for an economic crisis so a health crisis will probably put him over the edge...