RIP 72over

RIP 72over

It's with a heavy heart that I start this thread in loving memory of my brother, David Caffrey (or Carefree as he was when he used to be on FB).

He loved playing poker and I know he met a lot of people through this forum and back when it was on boards. So I just wanted to share this terrible news.

You might have read that a body was found last Thursday in the Grand Canal at Percy's Place in Dublin. Unfortunately it turned out to be David. We don't know yet how or what happened, and maybe we never will but either way he won't be coming through the door again with his ridiculously long curly hair and his ancient bike.

There's no words to express how much he meant to me and my parents and how I wish he was here now. It's hard to understand and hard to handle. He had a heart of gold and such a kind and caring soul. I wish I could say more but my heart aches too much right now to compose a message more fit for purpose.

I would ask a favour, if you have any photos, whether at the tables or otherwise, I would appreciate that you post them here so I can show my mother and father, and just something to remember him. They don't need to be censored either!

I apologise if this is how someone close to him is finding out about this.

Hi Brian. I heard earlier. I'm heartbroken and so sorry. RIP.

This photo is entitled "Dice, this is going to one side to buy all my drinks for the night, all on you"

Last edited by Dice75; 23-04-18, 18:29.

Very sorry to hear that. Can't imagine what you're going through. My best to you and yours. RIP

Condolences , what a shock for everyone. Remember him well

So sorry to hear that Brian. I only met David a few times but he was always such a lovely fellow when I did.

man, so sorry to hear that Caf. My condolences to you and all the family

What awful news. Condolences Brian to you and your family at this terrible time. David was a great guy to be around, really positive outlook and up for the craic.

RIP

Oh no. I'm so saddened to hear this. Deepest condolences to you and your family. He was such a cool guy. I was only thinking of him a few days ago, and wondering what he was up to.

RIP David.

Heard earlier but was un confirmed and really wanted to message you but I couldnt , was back and forth to Dice ob viber both praying it wasnt true. I am absolutely heartbroken for Dave , you , your family.

I am in total shock , and as you said kind and caring to a T dave was. I am so upset, had many a good session. I have one photo for you where I was absolutely pissed and your lovely caring brother minded me. Truly devastated

May he rest in peace xx

Jesus Christ.

Sincerest condolonces, he just oozed kindness and decency, never saw him act with anything other than class.

R.I.P

So sorry for your loss Brian. Always a smile on his face and good craic at the bar. He will definitely be missed.

RIP 72over

Caf, so sorry to hear man. My thoughts are with you, the oul pair, and your family. Never met him in person but only ever heard that he was a classy mo fo.

Plsyed with the man a few times last tome at the norweigans a couplr of yests ago. He was having a few beers and teally enjoying himself.

Jesus Caf I’m sorry. Condolences

aaahh mate, so sorry for your loss, only knew him through here but was clearly a good guy!

Thoughts with you and your family!

I'm so sorry for your loss Caf, I've always been extremely fond of Dave. I had the pleasure of spending time with him on a number of occasions.
                                I even managed to swap a few % with him in a couple of tournaments over the years and I was delighted to see him make the such a deep run at the deepstack this year.

My deepest condolences to you and your family, he was a truly lovely guy.

OMG that is awful news. I heard about the body too, but never thought for a second it could be anyone we knew.

RIP David and so sorry for your loss. There really are no words

Just in the door and Christine is after telling me the terrible news.

In total shock here, David played in my club for a few years before your dad became ill, my own dad wasn't well at the time and we continued to see each other in Tallaght hospital. David always had a smile on his face, so sorry for your families loss.

Please post funeral details whenever they are confirmed.

RIP David
                                    €10,000 GTD New Monthly Tournament
                                    Village Green Card Club, Last Thursday of the Month, €270 Freezeout
                                    €1,000,000 GTD - Irish Open
                                    CityWest Hotel, 6th-13th April

Deepest condolences to you and family Brian. Such sad news to hear.

David was the best company you could possibly be with at a poker event, both on and off the table. He had such a great disposition as a person, I can't imagine he ever made an enemy in his life.

A night at the Norwegians a few years back springs to mind. We'd had a right drink all night and about ten of us ended up in my room. We'd run out of drink and room service were refusing to bring any to the room, this was 7am. Dave disappeared on his own and arrived back about 20 minutes later with three staff from the hotel carrying trays of beer for everyone and a decent bottle of Malbec for me.

Absolute legend of a man, he will be sorely missed. I'll raise a glass to him tonight.

Just been told Caf. I got a text message from a South Ireland number asking if I was still on this number. I replied I was and said to wife " I wonder who that is" I actually said to wife maybe its that bollocks (Dave) who I took fishing years ago and went drinking with till 5/6am throwing our glasses into river at bottom of garden at end. He tried to get taxi to take him straight home to Dublin! Maybe he wants to go fishing again? It was a great day and a fond memory. Cant believe one so full of life is gone. Thoughts with you and family. Had some great times at IPO including photo bombing one of him and Serena at the IPO.

Really sorry to hear this terrible news. Spent some time with David and even shared a couple of hotel rooms with him at some poker tournaments.

My sincere condolences to all the family.
                                          http://www.pokerinireland.net/

So sorry for your loss to you and your family Brian.

I got a call earlier telling me of the news which I still cant believe.
                                            Anyone that knew Caf, knew how much of a bubbly person he was and great craic to be around. We were good buddies and he will be greatly missed.

The picture here is when we were at the European deepstack in 2015, he grew quite fond of my hat, he kept telling me I have your hat and will post it down to you, I never got my hat back but it's Caf's hat now, notice the sock hanging from the ceiling, Caf decided to cover the smoke alarm while we had a smoke, I'm smiling here to myself with a tear thinking about this.

RIP my good friend

This is just suck terrible news and I'm completely in shock. Played with Dave a lot both live and online, had a few sessions with him and he was the best company on and off the table. Got to know him quite well through our time with BRS and he just oozed talent and class.

Really sorry to hear Brian, and condolences to you and all the family. He will be missed.

extremely sad news and my thoughts with you and your family Brian.

only ever met him a few times but always a pleasant gent .

Dreadful news, terribly sorry to hear it. Sincere condolences to yourself Caf, your family and all his friends. Can’t imagine what you must be going through.

I didn’t know Dave as well as many on here, but played and had the craic with him quite a bit at festivals a couple of years ago and I’ll remember him as a genuine, thoroughly nice fella who put smiles on the faces of those in his company. RIP.

I'm so sorry to hear about this. Having a few pints and the craic with David was always a highlight of the poker festivals when I used to go to them.

He will be greatly missed by a great number of people.

One of the nicest people in poker.... lovely guy.... truly sad to hear this news... RIP
                                                      D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

Deeply saddened by this news. David was a gent and really great guy to be around.

Really sorry for your loss.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My condolences Brian - your brother was a lovely guy, played with him at the European Deepstack recently. RIP.

Awful sorry to hear this. Such a sound genuine guy. Condolences to you and family Brian.

Ah noooo he was such a great guy

R.I.P. David ! Proud to have known you !

So shocked to hear this news this evening Dave would always greet you with a smile I remember the festival in Galway a few years ago drinking with Dave for nearly all the 2 weeks.

My heart goes out to you and your family at this time may he Rest In Peace.

That's awful news such a sound man.

one the most down to earth genuine guys I have ever had the pleasure of knowing and had the honour of being very close to him in recent years , ,to me AA will always be pineapple KK will always be prawns and QQ will always be titties, always be a chair in the war room for u bro till we meet again from colm ,Melissa ,Jason,leo ,shelly ,ponger ,matt and all the friends four legged included freddy matilda mia and family from BKEXTRACTS we love you and will miss u dearly

Condolences. One of the most genuine down to earth people on the Irish circuit. I remember being 3 bet by Dave in early position, full ring in my first UKIPT with fondness.

He was playing 97dd. Needless to say, way ahead of my UTG open and peel a 3! range ...
                                                                        Last edited by colm_leche; 23-04-18, 21:56.

Terrible sad to read this. My thoughts and prayers to his family. Rest in peace.

So sad

Very sad news indeed. David was a gentleman and a gentle soul
                                                                            My poker blog - Doking around in cyberspace

rip david so sad

Tragic news. Condolences to all family. Met dave years ago at ukipt galway2013 and instantly hit it off. Spent all week discussing poker strat at the bar. One of the nicest guys ive ever met in the irish poker community on/off table. You will be missed and never forgotten.

Very sad to hear this news, so very sad for his family. RIP David.

as everyone has said shocked to hear to this true gentleman of the game rip dave

A jovial gent as you'd ever meet, welled up while watching this for the first time in years I had this video saved in my YouTube favourites because of the music he chose and also it's pretty trippy watching the juggling but watch it all the way to the end for the best bit.

Jugglejugglejugglejugglejugglejugglejugglejugglejugglejugglejugglejuggle...Music: Aphex Twin - Alberto Balsalm(which I don't own or have anything to do with ...

Only met the dude a few times and he was always the soundest fella you could hope for.

Sincerest condolences to you and your family man.
                                                                                        *repost due to earlier db error.

So sorry for your loss Caf, my deepest condolences. We only crossed paths a couple of times over the years but he was always a lovely guy to chat to at the table. Very sad news.
                                                                                          "c'est en faisant n'importe quoi qu'on devient n'importe qui"

Tragic News ,

I knew Dave pretty well and played a major role in my personal career with his support , opinions and feedback .

A true gentleman and genuine guy ,what a loss for the poker community .

R.I.P Dave
                                                                                            €150,000 GTD Mammoth 2018- 29th May-4th June-Bonnington Hotel Dublin
                                                                                            PokerStars MEGASTACK DUBLIN €50,000 GTD 18th-22nd Apr
                                                                                            $30,000 Platinum Pass Added

I Met Dave quite a bit at the tables around Kildare mainly and some of the Dublin festivals. First time we met we clashed on a final table of a monthly tournament and I picked up on a quite prominent tell, I ribbed him about afterwards it but didn't tell him what it was. He figured it out though because the next time we played he hid it and gave me a wink when I mentioned it.
                                                                                              I nicknamed him (to myself) Dave bigstack Caffrey because he always seemed to be the bigstack in the room.
                                                                                              If I met Dave at a tournament he would be the person I would be outside smoking and chatting with on the break. He was always good fun to talk to and a pleasure to be around.

You probably don't remember but Dave introduced me to you at a tournament in Clane a few years ago, we were playing at the same table and chatted outside. Condolences to you Brian and your family, I can't imagine the heartbreak you are going through. Dave will be missed, I hope you find some comfort in the positive comments you read, it's obvious that he made a lot of friends in the poker community and everybody liked him. RIP Dave.

Brian my condolences to you and your family.

A true gent.

Rip Dave.

My condolences to you and your family. I played a good few tournaments with Dave over the years and bought action in various events. He was the kind of person that would bring a smile to everyone at the table and I always enjoyed the tournaments more when he was around.
                                                                                                  RIP Dave

Condolences to you & your family Brian !
                                                                                                    https://twitter.com/WesoFarrell

http://www.pmvtrust.ie/

Shocked and so sorry to hear this sad news. David was a true gentleman

Such sad news. The Irish poker circuit has lost a gentleman.

Sleep tight Dave.

Very shocked to hear this and condolences to you and your family.

I initially knew Dave as a beast on the online felt from lurking on here. I got to know him a bit better through my time in the same staking stable where we spent a decent amount of time in skype group chats and hand history reviews. I was nowhere near his level as a player but he was always willing to help lads like me out, trying to improve our game. I only met him in person the once at the big Galway festival a few years back which is a shame. He's definitely one of the soundest and most generous guys I've met through poker.

Sad, sad news. I am so very sorry for your loss.

Played a bit of poker with Dave around Kildare but hadn’t seen him in quite a few years until the deepstack this year. A few tables out we were on the same table and chatted for hours about so many things including how we were going to spend the winners cheque! A truly lovely, sound and genuine guy.

RIP David

How could you not have time for a guy had time for everyone!
                                                                                                              Clever, funny, interesting and so empathetic!
                                                                                                              Had so many good times in his company.
                                                                                                              So so sad. RIP

Was an absolute gentleman the couple of times I met him. Extremely sad news, RIP.

Condolences to you, your Mam and your Dad.

Always enjoyed playing poker with this guy, he will be missed, very sorry to his family for there loss

huge loss to the Irish poker scene , battled with him online for years and years but only had the pleasure of playing with him live a couple of times, a great poker mind and a true gentleman of the felt .
                                                                                                                    An unthinkable tragedy for those closest to him, my love and prayers go to u all . He was clearly a very kind soul and will always be remembered that way by all .
                                                                                                                    RIP David Namaste x

I'm glad I got to catch up with Dave during the Euro Deepstack this year. 1st time I'd seen him in 2 years and I was loooking forward to seeing his very sociable self a lot more now that he was back in Ireland.

My heart goes out to u Caf and your family

Spent day 2 of the deepstack sat beside dave. An absolute gent. Deepest condolences to his family and friends