WSOP 2015 thread

Cathal (aka mdoug??) Is 3rd in chips of 9 players left.

I was about to say that makes it the 6th final table for the Irish but just remembered it is 6 max

Good luck, tid etc...
    got a link?

got a link?
      Can't seem to copy and paste for some reason but if you go to wsop.com you will find it. It is event #51

Unofficial final table of 7 reached. He is 2nd in chips. Stream available in 26 minutes.

Final table of 6 made.

6th Irish final table... Very impressive.

Would be nice to have an Irish winner.

Chip leader now with 5 left.

Sick sick call with the Q 3.

Very very nice call down there. This must be the best series for the Irish in a long time?

Jesus, he is getting the run of the table.... Quads 6s

1/3 now AA>66

Is.that actually doug, thought it was a joke before?
                    It actually isn't, chadley and Riggs are messing.

Down to last two. Cahill is chippie with 10m to the other 6m chips.

Jesus, he is getting the run of the table.... Quads 6s
                        If I remember right in the first live tournament he ever played he knocked me out with that hand and went on and won it!

good man doug

Awesome stuff, been following it since 7am.

WSOP reporting occasionally refers to him as Seamas Coleman. It is Cahill, though, isn't it?

If I remember right in the first live tournament he ever played he knocked me out with that hand and went on and won it!
                              Where was he a reg? Trying to place him from 'back in the day'.

Chip leader now with 5 left.

Sick sick call with the Q 3.
                                Flushdraw... What you make of this call, hand #18 of the report. He must have got a read but I would have been folding this surely?

Originally posted by DMMurray View Post
                                  Awesome stuff, been following it since 7am.

WSOP reporting occasionally refers to him as Seamas Coleman. It is Cahill, though, isn't it?
                                  Yes acording to henderson mob. Matches the photo there too.

He is an online cash reg and a quality player. Final tabled an Irish Open a couple of years ago.

Flushdraw... What you make of this call, hand #18 of the report. He must have got a read but I would have been folding this surely?
                                      Wasn't watching the stream this morning so missed it all

Played a lot in the Fitz a few years back, mostly the bigger Omaha game. Probably not far enough back in the day for you to know him though I'd say. Be great to see him win, fine player and nice guy on the table too.

Use to play cash between the Fitz & SE and was always miles ahead when it came to the game, played/plays big stakes PLO on Stars from what I remember. Will second what Dom said about him, best of luck & fingers crossed he binks the bracelet.

Pretty sick alright!

Originally posted by 8611 View Post
                                              seems bad unless he had a really good read, also could depend on how much villain was defending BB, he could have alot of 75/65/74s/85s, he should be 3bing A6/A7/A8 same as Kx and Qx that doesnt flop well, 98s is pretty much the only hand villain has in his range that we beat, although he could still have 9T suited too i suppose, pretty sick hero call #PUTONTHECAPEANDCALL

well you are right in a way! playing Q3o is absolutely horrific and I was aware of that as I reached for chips but couldnt stop myself , game flow told me I was due a pot and he'd give way to aggression for now (obviously wrong there cos he unloaded the clip on me!)

anyways postflop was easy for me... to win the pot all he had to do was call flop and bet turn. Raising flop really polarises himself to massive hands or else 2 overcards + possible gutter. When I bet I was like "he HAS to raise me here.. my range not strong enough to take the heat". So 1 pair became the nuts basically

I mean... normal play with 1 pair is to call flop, or else raise flop and take a free turn. But once he bets turn , I know he has 2pair/better , or is continuing a massive bluff. And besides, Q3o is one of my fav hands (amoung K3 and J3)
                                                Last edited by AllGonePTong; 28-06-15, 15:43.

Originally posted by AllGonePTong View Post
                                                  well you are right in a way! playing Q3o is absolutely horrific and I was aware of that as I reached for chips but couldnt stop myself , game flow told me I was due a pot and he'd give way to aggression for now (obviously wrong there cos he unloaded the clip on me!)

anyways postflop was easy for me... to win the pot all he had to do was call flop and bet turn. Raising flop really polarises himself to massive hands or else 2 overcards + possible gutter. When I bet I was like "he HAS to raise me here.. my range not strong enough to take the heat". So 1 pair became the nuts basically

I mean... normal play with 1 pair is to call flop, or else raise flop and take a free turn. But once he bets turn , I know he has 2pair/better , or is continuing a massive bluff. And besides, Q3o is one of my fav hands (amoung K3 and J3)
                                                  Haha <3 and I agree with your thinking also wp

Edit: glgl later too would be nice to ship a bracelet after all the FT's so far

How cool is it to discuss a hand with the actual player in question who later plays for a dream of many of ours,a wsop bracelet and some loose change too of course,get the deal thinking out of the way asap and be positive your gonna fulfil your dreams! Enjoy

Originally posted by AllGonePTong View Post

Thanks for explaining, really cool.

GL and TID.

What time will this start back and I assume it'll be streamed? I can't find any proper info on the wsop site.

I think its starting back at 9 with the stream starting at half past.

...Just curious, will people be chatting about the live updates or the stream with 30 minute delay?... enjoy reading it, but obviously want to watch it without knowing results...

Yeah it's starting in 15 mins 9.30

Any chat here better be based on the 30 minute delay stream.

Here is the link starting in 12 mins.

...Just curious, will people be chatting about the live updates or the stream with 30 minute delay?... enjoy reading it, but obviously want to watch it without knowing results...
                                                                  People generally watch it off the stream and tend to avoid posting spoilers.

Here we go, hopefully a positive result for Seamus.

People generally watch it off the stream and tend to avoid posting spoilers.
                                                                      ...Ah brilliant, thank you... Feels a lot like O'Dea in the Main event, nice bit of tension :-)...

All these fucking ads, Jesus.

Jaysus, haven't seen Seamus for a while. Channeling the 1970s porn star look.

He did a deal then.

...I hope so...He played it so so aggressively...

Just tuned in. WTF happened? He had all the chips...

88 vs AA, AIPF for 80 BBs

Called a 5 bet shove with 88 and the other dude had AA. Next hand he called for his last few chips with K8 vs KQ and a Q high flop was the end of him.

Hard luck Seamus, well played. Hopefully you got a decent deal from it. Still a serious achievement.

Did he not have like 75% of the chips which would have made them about even after that?

gg dude, far worse things that can happen than being in Vegas and winning the guts of half a million dollars, enjoy!

Opponent seemed fairly sound too

Did he not have like 75% of the chips which would have made them about even after that?
                                                                                          Lost a couple of biggish pots just before as well, including a 3m pot.

Hope the lad doesn't beat himself up too badly on the 88 hand. I also hope it doesn't get over analysed. 2nd and that money is soooo goood. Well done that lad.

The problem with watching these final table streams is we are not privy to any deals made and when they are made i.e before the ft even starts or during breaks etc. So people punt more and hard to analyse their hands and motives. Some people would value a braclet more than others.

whats the wsop stance on deals i presume you just do what you want but they dont officate a deal? bit of trust involved here eh or do you follow the dude up to the cage and instant wire.

Originally posted by mugsy View Post
                                                                                                The problem with watching these final table streams is we are not privy to any deals made and when they are made i.e before the ft even starts or during breaks etc. So people punt more and hard to analyse their hands and motives. Some people would value a braclet more than others.

whats the wsop stance on deals i presume you just do what you want but they dont officate a deal? bit of trust involved here eh or do you follow the dude up to the cage and instant wire.
                                                                                                ...IIRC, some weird shite happened two years ago in the rio, in which there was a deal made between 3/4 people...But the guy that claimed first collected the money and got a security guard to walk him out of the premises...the wsop will have absolutely nothing to do with it...probably not happening here given they are well known, but I'd be taking your last sentence and following right behind...

I always wonder what happens at the end with the money. Do you have the option of putting it into a bank account, get a cheque or have to take the cash? Seems insane to have to take the cash as you are then just begging to get mugged. How do Irish lads transfer it home to ireland? Be interesting to know, not that I will ever have that problem

WP'd doug

I always wonder what happens at the end with the money. Do you have the option of putting it into a bank account, get a cheque or have to take the cash? Seems insane to have to take the cash as you are then just begging to get mugged. How do Irish lads transfer it home to ireland? Be interesting to know, not that I will ever have that problem
                                                                                                      ...I'd imagine there has to be more than one option...I've only ever had cash but I've never had 5 figures never mind 6 lol...couldn't see them taking cash of $500,000...Hopefully when Seamus is finished his celebrations, he will enlighten us peasants...

you always have the option for cash in vegas doesnt matter the score plenty of guys dont want or have other methods.

Edit. I think noonan should put through emergency legislation to catch a bit of this green for the state coffers from the irish in vegas.
                                                                                                        Last edited by mugsy; 29-06-15, 00:13.

joking obviously i doubt mick reads the thread...but people in know what about the scenario where you are in a heavily taxed country eg Scandanavia. U have a recorded scored in a tournament and taxed x amount which you are aware of prior. Then you have sold action to other people. Does the tax you are faced with dilute into the profits and paid minus any tax issues or do you take that hit yourself.

Seems so complex to try explain yes I transferred X amount into my account but its not all my money I sold 50% of this stake ( you can lie obviously).

Then you have a score in vegas, the country you live in taxes shit out of it, you cant declare it in customs or wire so you end up burying it in the desert.

Alot of pre planning needed for a score in a tax state.

But cash is king.

Originally posted by mugsy View Post
                                                                                                            joking obviously i doubt mick reads the thread...but people in know what about the scenario where you are in a heavily taxed country eg Scandanavia. U have a recorded scored in a tournament and taxed x amount which you are aware of prior. Then you have sold action to other people. Does the tax you are faced with dilute into the profits and paid minus any tax issues or do you take that hit yourself.

Seems so complex to try explain yes I transferred X amount into my account but its not all my money I sold 50% of this stake ( you can lie obviously).

Then you have a score in vegas, the country you live in taxes shit out of it, you cant declare it in customs or wire so you end up burying it in the desert.

Alot of pre planning needed for a score in a tax state.

But cash is king.
                                                                                                            As a general rule investors in players who will have tax withheld take the hit. They know this when they invest (or at least should) which is why some Americans players markups can seem very low until you realise tax will be taken out of any score.

IIRC Peter Eastgate moved from Denmark to UK between the time he made November 9 and November to avoid Danish tax.

Anyway, massive well done to Seamus, my high score didn't last very long. This has been the best series ever imo for Irish poker players and hopefully that will follow through to the main.
                                                                                                            My poker blog - Doking around in cyberspace

Peter Easgate had plenty of time to get his affairs in order. Would not be possible in any other poker format where you dont have a few months break. What do these guys do who make a score but from a taxed state/country?

EDIT some guy called bufflo explained to me that its not possible to dodge tax if you are american because they have your id and social security number but fair game outside. You can also be double taxed ( his tax and then yours).
                                                                                                              Last edited by mugsy; 29-06-15, 02:39. Reason: cc

sean deeb going off on trumper in final table plo 10k, pretty funny stuff

Fuck Deeb pudgy gimp.
                                                                                                                  Trumper is doing some funky stuff though.
                                                                                                                  He once wore a dress so he could play the ladys event.
                                                                                                                  Prob plays in the fitz dressed as an asian tranny.

only just turned on stream, first hand I catch looks to be a pretty bad check back on the river from Trumper with the 4th nut flush after it comes runner-runner diamonds. Cliffs on what Deeb said to Trumper?

Surprised Deeb was being that harsh on the stream. Trumper must have tilted the bollox off him. Great hearing him talk strat though. When himself and Baker left the booth, the commentary deteriorated into explaining that the % graphics were wrong here...

...and that the JJxx hand wasn't drawing dead on the flop. He sounded so proud when he spotted it too

Think I'll go asleep now.

Well done to Seamus Cahill and Dara, jaysus. Savage results!!

Jude Ainsworth is in the money in event #57. 64 left, and he is 16th with a nice stack to run deep.

GL GL.