I'm writing a piece on potential vs achievement, specifically Duncan Edwards vs Ryan Giggs or similar! And also why I think Zidane was possibly overrated.

Anyone have any Thoughts on these?
    Interesting topic. You can rob my thoughts on Robbie Fowler if you want.

If RF had died in a car accident at the age of about 22 he'd be eulogised as the greatest loss to English football in a couple of generations. As England got knocked out of World Cups in 2006 and 2010 (and European Championships in between) the question would always have been raised as just how different it would have been if England had been able to build this team of reasonably talented players around a true world class beacon like Robbie.

Liverpool fans in the Robbie Fowler Kop would grimace as yet another season passed without the PL, the anguish made worse by the thoughts of just how many they would have won but for that one piece of black ice on that ill-fated January day. Young kids who'd never seen Robbie play would be told by their parents that that Messi guy is good but he could never hold a candle to The Little Legend of Liverpool.

I'm writing a piece on potential vs achievement, specifically Duncan Edwards vs Ryan Giggs or similar! And also why I think Zidane was possibly overrated.

They're all nevilles.

found on twitter...made by danny. excellent stuff

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXXtz--Mx9g
        Cheers Stan, hadn't even planned on taking any footage but it was a good bit of craic had limited space so had to leave out a few bits.

And also why I think Zidane was possibly overrated.

overrated? Best player of my generation IMO (besides the obvious)

Also.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9nbhzKaqvA

Just got my local Superquinn to restock asparagus tips after i wrote a letter of complaint yesterday about regularly heading down there recently with a plan to buy specific ingredients (including loose chilli's) for dinner and they seem to have stopped stocking them.

Came back mad yesterday as i had to buy a tray of 'stir fry veg' just to get a damned chilli.

Two emails and 24 hours later i'm happy with a partial victory and impressed that they properly investigated what they stocked (including checking with another nearby store) and offered me a compromise solution where they said they'd try and test the asparagus tips again.

Fair play, in fairness.

Yes, you are wrong

Not sure Giggs fulfilled his potential. Zidane was't overrated but much as I liked him Cantona was.

Iv no opinion on the players above but just in general: potential is a subjective measure based largely upon physical attributes a child or young person has. It also includes to a lesser degree some mental aspect but fails to take into account certain aspects such as drive, determinition or as Llyod would put it "the big heart" that are essential for success.

There are also numerous external factors such as luck, teams you play for and injury that cannot be accounted for which will also play a large roll. There is an excellent video on Tom Brady making it in the NFL when everyone thought he had no potential. Im not sure if it was here I seen it put people should definitely look it up.

Memorable quote from it " we measured him in every way possible and he was average at best.....we couldn't open his chest and look at his heart or his desire to win...thats what makes him the best"

Interesting topic. You can rob my thoughts on Robbie Fowler if you want.

If RF had died in a car accident at the age of about 22 he'd be eulogised as the greatest loss to English football in a couple of generations. As England got knocked out of World Cups in 2006 and 2010 (and European Championships in between) the question would always have been raised as just how different it would have been if England had been able to build this team of reasonably talented players around a true world class beacon like Robbie.

Liverpool fans in the Robbie Fowler Kop would grimace as yet another season passed without the PL, the anguish made worse by the thoughts of just how many they would have won but for that one piece of black ice on that ill-fated January day. Young kids who'd never seen Robbie play would be told by their parents that that Messi guy is good but he could never hold a candle to The Little Legend of Liverpool.
                    If Ali Dia got struck by lightening 1 minute into of his Southampton debut, we would have been mourning the loss of possibly one the greatest players to grace the game. Instead, we got about 20 mins of a chuckle and a big lol at Graeme Souness for falling for his fairytale story

Originally posted by tglynn View Post
                      The tv site I read always has stories up about that kid and how she got her own tv show, haven't brought myself to watch the clips yet because everything I read it seems like a horrid show.

Just got my local Superquinn to restock asparagus tips after i wrote a letter of complaint yesterday about regularly heading down there recently with a plan to buy specific ingredients (including loose chilli's) for dinner and they seem to have stopped stocking them.

Came back mad yesterday as i had to buy a tray of 'stir fry veg' just to get a damned chilli.

Two emails and 24 hours later i'm happy with a partial victory and impressed that they properly investigated what they stocked (including checking with another nearby store) and offered me a compromise solution where they said they'd try and test the asparagus tips again.

Fair play, in fairness.
                      I use to work in that one & the fruit & veg was one of my favourite departments to work in, Superquinn was a pretty decent place to work in but since they got taken over heard a lot of things have changed for the worse unfortunately.

All the aul ones use to love when Feargal Quinn would pop into the shop, was like royalty.

Fair play, in fairness.
                        We should start a butcher review thread imo, picked up two steaks from a place I was walking past yesterday, cut a piece with eager anticipation, perfectly cooked, went to eat it and just nothing, completely devoid of flavour.

Gunna block off next week and get it down.

you probably call all crisps tayto, amirite?
                          Yes, pronounced tae-toe.

@ BK, I know you have mentioned slight dyslexia issues before so from here on in can you just solely concentrate on one word - its Lloyd

tyty

The tv site I read always has stories up about that kid and how she got her own tv show, haven't brought myself to watch the clips yet because everything I read it seems like a horrid show.
                              I've just seen a few of these clips and she's awful. Horrible child, smacking people on CNN and shouting at people. Her mother gives her a concoction of redbull and some other energy drink.

South Park done an episode on that young one, that's how you know you've made it.

If I want to do a novelty bet on my nephew playing for the senior Irish rugby team which bookie would accommodate me? and what odds would they offer?

Potentially an interesting line in novelty bets for the bookies as I want to get the bet on as a birthday gift for my bro and I'd say if it was easy to do with a nice online certificate etc it would be pretty popular.

Originally posted by tglynn View Post
                                    I've just seen a few of these clips and she's awful. Horrible child, smacking people on CNN and shouting at people. Her mother gives her a concoction of redbull and some other energy drink.
                                    Joel McHale takes the piss out of her.

Those who are on Obama - how worried are you? Been checking out some polls and analysis just there and it seems on a knife-edge right now, and in moments of indecision I always think people's conservative nature wins out over their liberalism. I haven't a bet on yet, I keep thinking that Romney is going to make a gigantic gaffe but time is running out.
                                      not worried one iota

Romney basically has to win every single swing state

Apparently some "suspected Pinnacle agents" were arrested in the States yesterday... This is probably not good.

The Las Vegas Review-Journal is Nevada's most trusted source for local news, Las Vegas sports, business news, gaming news, entertainment news and more.

Cantor Gaming sports book director arrested, faces eight charges
                                        Tools

Cantor Gaming sports book director Mike Colbert was arrested Wednesday in Las Vegas by state gaming agents in connection with a warrant filed by the district attorney in Queens County, N.Y.

Gaming and legal sources confirmed the charges involve PinnacleSports.com, one of the largest offshore sports wagering websites. Sources said agents for the website were arrested in several cities Wednesday.

Colbert, 32, was booked into the Clark County Detention Center. He faces eight counts of conspiracy, money laundering and enterprise corruption and is scheduled to appear Monday in Clark County District Court.

Jerry Markling, the Gaming Control Board's chief of enforcement, said Colbert was arrested at 6 a.m. at his home a short distance from the M Resort in Henderson. He was one of eight people arrested in Las Vegas on the New York charges. Others were Las Vegas residents Kelly R. Barsel, 42, Jerry M. Branca, 67, Steven S. Diano, 48, Brandt A. England, 49, and Joseph D. Paulk, 35, and Henderson resident Paul Sexton, 29.

Colbert is thought to be the only one with ties to Nevada's gaming industry.

Control board agents will continue to investigate the matter to see whether there were any regulatory violations, but Markling declined further comment on the matter, referring additional questions to New York prosecutors. A news conference is scheduled for this morning in Queens .

"It's a New York case. We are working with them," Markling said.

According to its website, PinnacleSports.com was established in 1998 and is licensed by the government of Curacao and the Alderney Gambling Control Commission.

Gaming and legal sources said the matter does not involve Cantor Gaming and is unrelated to its business in Las Vegas, which includes leased space in seven Las Vegas-area casinos - M Resort, Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, The Venetian, Palazzo, Tropicana, Hard Rock and Palms - where it operates race and sports books.

Colbert oversees the company's race and sports book business and is chief oddsmaker.

Cantor Gaming officials would not comment on the arrest. The company is cooperating with Nevada gaming authorities and met with officials Wednesday at the M Resort, where Colbert is based.

M Resort opened in March 2009 as Cantor's first Las Vegas sports book and often took big wagers. M Resort officials did not respond to calls seeking comment Wednesday.

According to sports wagering publications, Colbert is a 10-year veteran of Nevada's race and sports book industry.

He is considered one of the industry's most respected personalities and routinely is quoted on sports wagering issues by national publications and on sports talk radio programs, including The Las Vegas Sportsline

In an interview last week with SportingNews.com, Colbert said that the National Football League and other groups opposed to New Jersey's efforts to legalize sports wagering lack strong arguments and that Cantor Gaming would explore opportunities there.

"The integrity argument, to me, is a complete facade," Colbert told SportingNews.

"It's a smokescreen that they're putting up there because it sounds good to maybe the average guy who doesn't understand the business. But if you're in the business and know what's going on, you know that if there is ever anything close to something shady, that we will be the ones that are able to point it out. That argument is so bad, and they continue to say it. It's kind of silly."

Colbert was described in a 2010 interview with Wired Magazine as someone who "has been around gambling all of his adult life."
                                        The fact that Pinnacle don't accept US customers (akaik anyway) makes this doubly weird.

EDIT: 2+2 thread
                                        Last edited by Keane; 25-10-12, 15:42.

not worried one iota

If he wins Ohio doesn't Obama basically have to win every other swing state?

Zidane was undoubtedly the best big game player of his generation, his problem was as his career went on he found it increasingly difficult to motivate himself for regular league games and needed an occasion to bring the best out of himself.

Think Riquelme has to be up there with the biggest underachievers compared to talent level, he had genuine genial ability to control a game from midfield, but serious mental instability and ego meant he never got near the heights he was capable of.

It's what is most impressive about the current crop of spanish players, the likes of Silva, Xavi, Iniesta, Cazorla, Mata(I'll include Messi as he was brought up through the system), they all seem like well rounded almost boringly nice individuals, without an ounce of balla in them. Everything they do is always the most +ev thing to do by the team, never throw out unnecissary skills for the sake of it. So while their acadamys always get praised for the technical development of these players I think their work on mental side of things deserves as much praise because imo mental stability is in general the key factor to long term consistancy of a player!
                                            Last edited by The Situation; 25-10-12, 16:03.

If he wins Ohio doesn't Obama basically have to win every other swing state?
                                              no , Romney does. Romney must win Florida, Ohio, Colorado, Nevada, Iowa, Wisconsin, New Hampshire and Wisconsin.

Obama is on about 240 probable electoral college votes at this stage

The auto-bailout swings Ohio for him and that's it, game over.

Just on the gaming news front. I see Zynga has partnered with Party. $$$$$

The company announced a partnership with bwin.party, a real-money gaming operator, that will take Zynga from the virtual-money to the actual-money arena.

Keane, play around with this interactive map and see if you can get Romney over the line!

This is the map John McGuirk sent me

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/epo...OR_1,WA_1,CA_1
                                                    Yeah the one I saw yesterday was from that site, probably red leanings or something.

I use to work in that one & the fruit & veg was one of my favourite departments to work in, Superquinn was a pretty decent place to work in but since they got taken over heard a lot of things have changed for the worse unfortunately.

All the aul ones use to love when Feargal Quinn would pop into the shop, was like royalty.
                                                      Yeah Musgrave took it over (out it out of receivership i think last year) and the overall shopping experience has gone downhill also.

Half the time i have the place to myself (and its a big place which has gotten grottier as the years go by) and the staff look bored and seem to gather in packs, looking shifty and generally discontented.

My wife doesn't even like going there anymore and prefers the more "upmarket" one (ie. less grotty) on Sundrive.

Oh well, we'll see how we get on with our asparagus adventure!

I did one for a 12 week old London Jew a few weeks back to play for Arsenal. Printed on headed paper, no certificate to speak of but I can get design to do one up for you if you like?
                                                        Yea but you are making the nephew 4/7 to play for Ireland right

This is where it's at imo. Have you got the dance moves learned off?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyAGgEJb1_8

Those who are on Obama - how worried are you? Been checking out some polls and analysis just there and it seems on a knife-edge right now, and in moments of indecision I always think people's conservative nature wins out over their liberalism. I haven't a bet on yet, I keep thinking that Romney is going to make a gigantic gaffe but time is running out.
                                                            I'm a little worried, but I think it's mostly nervous energy and the knowledge that Americans are prone to do anything regardless of it being in their best interest or not.

I'm very worried about the overs on 305.5 electoral seats, in fact I've pretty much reconciled myself to it being gone.

not worried one iota

I don't have the same confidence obv

This is the map John McGuirk sent me

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/epo...OR_1,WA_1,CA_1
                                                              which is basically everything breaking for Romney (barring Ohio)

it could happen but it's unlikely. Obama's machine is pretty fucking impressive in any case.

once OH goes blue, that'll be that

Americans are prone to do anything regardless of it being in their best interest or not.
                                                                this just isn't true in the context of presidential elections

you can argue GWB (which is fair enough but he was up against two terribad Democrats) but generally Americans elect the right guy

/awaits explosion/

Zidane was undoubtedly the best big game player of his generation, his problem was as his career went on he found it increasingly difficult to motivate himself for regular league games and needed an occasion to bring the best out of himself.

Think Riquelme has to be up there with the biggest underachievers compared to talent level, he had genuine genial ability to control a game from midfield, but serious mental instability and ego meant he never got near the heights he was capable of.

It's what is most impressive about the current crop of spanish players, the likes of Silva, Xavi, Iniesta, Cazorla, Mata(I'll include Messi as he was brought up through the system), they all seem like well rounded almost boringly nice individuals, without an ounce of balla in them. Everything they do is always the most +ev thing to do by the team, never throw out unnecissary skills for the sake of it. So while their acadamys always get praised for the technical development of these players I think their work on mental side of things deserves as much praise because imo mental stability is in general the key factor to long term consistancy of a player!
                                                                  Would agree regarding Riquelme. Saw him play live in Argentina a couple times, first time was in a Boca River derby and I've never seen a player completely control a game on his own like that. Totally flawless performance.

Bought an unsmoked ham fillet there today in superquinn. Anyone got any decent recipe ideas?

I did one for a 12 week old London Jew a few weeks back to play for Arsenal. Printed on headed paper, no certificate to speak of but I can get design to do one up for you if you like?
                                                                      Sounds good. A cert/headed paper thing I could frame would be the business.
                                                                      Just looking to put a 50 on. What sort of price will you give me? No history of senior representative rugby honours in the family at all.

The kid is very unlikely to go to private schoool.

cook it in coke. when cooked remove and allow to cool. Coat in honey and wholegrain mustard and pierce it with cloves - chuck it in the oven for 45 minutes to an hour. come back on here and thank me.
                                                                        probably best to specify that GAB means coca-cola

My wife doesn't even like going there anymore and prefers the more "upmarket" one (ie. less grotty) on Sundrive.
                                                                          Is there such a thing as a supermarket more grotty than Superquinn Sundrive road
                                                                          Go down there te odd time to get bread for my Da who misses it since they closed in Naas and its shocking how far downhill its gone.

Speaking of loose chillies Tesco don't sell them but the prepacks aren't too badly priced but the pricing of ginger is outrageous.
                                                                          Mouldy tubers sweating for weeks in a prepack is priced at €8 per kilo Ther nice fresh stuff in the box loose is only €2.15 per kilo.

They do the same with broccoli and carrots which are at least 50% cheaper and very much better than the wrapped stuff.

Also Tesco's Finest Roasted Nut Kernels are actually The Nuts !
                                                                          Last edited by Strewelpeter; 25-10-12, 16:27.

Well I actually know the uncle of this kid. He is a whopper. A sure fire 2nd row.

The bet would be to play for Ireland 1st team on or before 24th brithday. All joking aside - what price would you make him? Probably a 100/1 shot?
                                                                            1,000/1 at the very least shirley?

probably best to specify that GAB means coca-cola
                                                                              As opposed to white truffle powder

Well I actually know the uncle of this kid. He is a whopper. A sure fire 2nd row.

The bet would be to play for Ireland 1st team on or before 24th brithday. All joking aside - what price would you make him? Probably a 100/1 shot?

Lol. Well it's a cert he plays from an early age and he'll likely be genetically gifted enough for the game. But that really puts him a long way down the list. How many senior representatives have there been from Carlow in my lifetime? One. How many senior players in that period from the county? 10,000 perhaps?

I'd settle for 1000/1 just for the fun and ye would make it back in future pr easily if he did manage it.

Btw even POC was lucky to make it on before his 24th birthday. Give me until 27 in light of his likely playing position. Forwards don't tend to get early call ups.

Has the casino shop in Naas closed down, tried to get on to their website, but nothing happening.
                                                                                  https://www.facebook.com/pages/MidWe...17622831832879
                                                                                  http://mayopubpoker.com/

Bought an unsmoked ham fillet there today in superquinn. Anyone got any decent recipe ideas?

cook it in coke. when cooked remove and allow to cool. Coat in honey {insert whiskey here} and wholegrain mustard and pierce it with cloves - chuck it in the oven for 45 minutes to an hour. come back on here and thank me.

Chilli packs in Aldi are great

Cheers Stan, hadn't even planned on taking any footage but it was a good bit of craic had limited space so had to leave out a few bits.

Originally posted by greywolf View Post
                                                                                            Has the casino shop in Naas closed down, tried to get on to their website, but nothing happening.
                                                                                            No, I didn't even know they had a website tbh but rarely get off my ass to play there. They've been posting here a fair bit recently though with the 100k game in Clane coming up and they had an IWF sat the other night.

I'd settle for 1000/1 just for the fun and ye would make it back in future pr easily if he did manage it.
                                                                                              How more/less likely would it be for someone to play for Ireland than to grow up in England and respresent England at approx 1000/1?

No, I didn't even know they had a website tbh but rarely get off my ass to play there. They've been posting here a fair bit recently though with the 100k game in Clane coming up and they had an IWF sat the other night.
                                                                                                He means the actual shop.

Ring the Yankee Candle store they will tell you.

enjoying the gif war lads, keep up the good work

He means the actual shop.

Ring the Yankee Candle store they will tell you.
                                                                                                        Hmmm, don't even know what/where that is!

This is cool...

Experience the Apollo 11 Lunar Landing

Watch, listen, and relive the excitement of the Apollo 11 lunar landing as experienced minute-by-minute by the courageous crew of Apollo 11 and Mission Control.

www.irishkop.com Twitter = @Irish_Kop Facebook = Irishkop.com

Originally posted by Dub13 View Post
                                                                                                            This is cool...

Experience the Apollo 11 Lunar Landing

http://www.firstmenonthemoon.com/
                                                                                                            Could do with some video, whether it's from a camera on the lander or inside mission control.

Originally posted by greywolf View Post
                                                                                                              Probably, the one in Athy is gone anyway.

Is there such a thing as a supermarket more grotty than Superquinn Sundrive road
                                                                                                                Go down there te odd time to get bread for my Da who misses it since they closed in Naas and its shocking how far downhill its gone.
                                                                                                                Oh yes... try Walkinstown. At least Sundrive is reasonably well stocked and has had a lick of paint since the 1980s. The roof in Walkinstown regularly leaks and there are many tiles missing from the floor which has seen better times.

Generally Superquinn is in a jocker everywhere though i think and even Sundrive is unsatisfactory sometimes.

Recent forays to Aldi and Lidl (both nearby) have been fruitful and Sainsbury's when up north is good (why don't supermarkets down here stock beef sausages or wheaten farls?!) so maybe i should just accept the inevitable and switch loyalty.

Could do with some video, whether it's from a camera on the lander or inside mission control.
                                                                                                                  Your a hard man to please.

Originally posted by Dub13 View Post
                                                                                                                    Your a hard man to please.
                                                                                                                    True dat.

cube it and make a massive carbonara

By the way,as you were saying the old thread here was causing probs as it got so big....I remember a lot of people over on boards thought that theory was a load of crap.I close mine before they get to big anyway.