Tennis Betting Thread

There was a tennis thread afaik but I couldnt find anyway Rolland Garros has started and its probably the hardest of the grand slams to find value because the clay court specialists are always to the fore and priced up slim.

Today I like a Berdych Schiavone double at a little over 1/2.
    Berdych has never lost to Monfils leads 3-0 in the head to head and is flying along while Monfils is struggling currently ranked mid-80s in the ATP.
    Schiavone’s form has not been super but is ranked 50 places above her opponent Czink who has only one win in 6 matches on clay. Schiavone as a former winner here should have way too much for her.

Bah. Berdych loses a 5 setter. Great match to watch though.

They are due to meet in the semi final.
      Good luck

Anyone betting on Wimbledon outright? The draw is kind to Djokovic but he's gone from 21/10 a couple of weeks ago to 13/10 best price now, which isn't very appealling. Think Murray is too short too having to overcome Tsonga and Nadal/Federer in the semis. Nadal then, has the worst of the lot having to face Murray & Federer if he's to reach the final. Leads me to think the only value in the men's outright would be on picking the likely semi-finalist in Djok's draw and backing to lay. David Ferrer (world num 4) looks value at 80/1 and dump him come the semis.

Del Potro also in that side of the draw is best price 60s but num 8 in the world so if anyone has any insight on this I'd appreciate it.

Aside from the obvious Djokovic bet with Paddy Power, there is huge e/w value in the ladies now with Serena so short - the place book is way overbroke on the bottom side of the draw serious value.

Bartoli @ 40s? Would have to get thru Kvitova (one would assume) in the semis I think.

Bartoli is available at 66/1 with Lads and is decent value

Stephens @ 25 and Makarova @ 150s are savage ew value

Bartoli @ 40s? Would have to get thru Kvitova (one would assume) in the semis I think.
                Bartoli is available at 66/1 with Lads and is decent value

Stephens @ 25 and Makarova @ 150s are savage ew value
                Bartoli now in with super chance of winning. With Williams out and Flipkens beating Kvitova today she SHOULD win her semi-final with a final against I suspect Radwanska which would be close.

Get in Bartoli you little beaut! She played serious stuff today and must be one of the most infuriating players to play against on the tour. Did you back her Jigga?

Ya, tbh though I only got her at the 40s on Paddy Power. €10 e/w but still nonetheless pretty confident she will win now. You obv got the 66's ya lucky feck?

She certainly won't be beating on will to win anyway!

All 3 women are best price 2/1 at this moment!

Ya, tbh though I only got her at the 40s on Paddy Power. €10 e/w but still nonetheless pretty confident she will win now. You obv got the 66's ya lucky feck?

She certainly won't be beating on will to win anyway!
                        Yeah took the 66s, my best mate had Flipkens at 200 & 250s for a big chunk so was fairly tense watching it. Have hedged a nice bit of it for the final but think Bartoli is still value at the prices

Any reason to not cover Bartoli bet? Very confident she will win but a bit of insurance might be a good idea.

WP lads.

The Bryan Brothers getting battered at the beginning of the doubles final. Started the match 1/6 and now 5-0 down and available at 8/13. They will wake up soon and will push for this because there's more records to be had for them. Don't know enough about the other guys though to put any money down tho

well done lads on bartoli

the way the commentators talked was, any1 who won lisickis semi was the winner!

Was in London all day so didn't get to see the match.

I know it's easy to say again but I really didn't see a way that Lisicki was winning it.

I think I mentioned it above once or twice.

Things worked nicely in her favour with Williams getting knocked out in the other bracket and Kvitova getting knocked out (somehow) in the 1/4 finals.

Was a bet placed hoping for a second place finish. Bonus for winning. Delighted and happy for Bartoli. No other woman puts in as much effort really. Imo a due grand slam.

Was in London all day so didn't get to see the match.
                                  What were you up to in that London?

First was in Ruislip watching the brother play Hurling!!

Then went to Clapham to watch Tipp match.

Hottest day of the year here. Scalding stuff

Have Djok to win from the start at 6/5 so not going to bother with any more bets. But Djok to win 3-2 @ 5/1 with pp would be my value bet.

Really looking forward to this now, only a few more hours.

Both players come out fighting and trading blows, and first set tie-break @ 5/1 or Djok 10/1 Murray 12/1 to win 1st set TB seems priced wrong. The best price elsewhere is Djok 9/2 Murray 5/1

Who's that 5/1 with?

Edit - Sorry thought i put it in my original post. First set tiebreak is 5/1 with Boyles as is the 10/1 and 12/1

That's some price. Have you a link though, I can't see it on the site or here

Cant find it either

Hmm seems to be gone now. Was just at the end of the 'All Bets'

I got on just before i posted

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

On djok for decent chunk with pp special- should back murray a little to lock up awin but
                                                    t just can not see him getting much change. 3-1 djok mug punt for extra intrest.

On djok for decent chunk with pp special- should back murray a little to lock up awin but
                                                      t just can not see him getting much change. 3-1 djok mug punt for extra intrest.
                                                      feel like a fish for not knowing this was only for €50 in the shops. Didn't see that anywhere before I went to collect.

WTF Was it definitely only €50?

Seemingly so. The girl in the shop rang up to check. I still couldn't believe it, googled it, and showed her this:

She rang a second time and pulled it up on screen where there was a line saying 50 in shops. Don't think the site made any reference to it at all.

Sneaky bastards

Del Potro at 10s is a good price for the us open. He's won it before and is conning into form as long as he stays fit he has a good outside chance imo
                                                              https://twitter.com/#!/TedCullinane1

Originally posted by shanboghted View Post
                                                                Del Potro at 10s is a good price for the us open. He's won it before and is conning into form as long as he stays fit he has a good outside chance imo
                                                                80 @ 14.0 for you on Betfair and plenty of 13.5

Originally posted by shanboghted View Post
                                                                  It's very hard to see anything other than a Nadal win really. Cruised to the 2 recent 1000 Events (Toronto and Cincinnati).

Especially if Del Potro is in Nadal's half of the draw (I think he will be but not 100% sure) then 10's e/w doesn't even seem great value.

If Berdych is not in Nadal's half of the draw then I can see him being value @33's.

Avoid Djokvic anyway.

After seeing the draw now Nadal has a handy route to the final with he other half of the draw having Djokovic, Murray, Del Potro and Berdych.

The top half is anyone's game and out of all of them like I said above, Berdych at 33's is better than decent value.

After seeing the draw now Nadal has a handy route to the final with he other half of the draw having Djokovic, Murray, Del Potro and Berdych.

The top half is anyone's game and out of all of them like I said above, Berdych at 33's is better than decent value.
                                                                      50s on Corals.

ty

Thoughts on Serena Williams at 8/11 to win the US Open?

Wawrinka v Murray should be a classic later imo. Wawrinka's 2013 form has taken him to a new level, has reached a career best 4 APT finals and has beaten nearly double the amount of top 10 players than any other previous season. He put in a very dominant performance against Berdych last round. Murray has come through fairly unscathed so far baring the odd sluggish first set, but it gets very difficult for the defending champ from this point on, undoubtedly has the toughest draw of the 3 outright leaders. He leads him 8-5 on head to heads, usually hard fought battles. Wawrinka's main strength has lied in his first serve winner % being so high(78%), hard to him reaching that level again here considering Murray's defensive strengths but see it being long grind with Andy eventually wearing him down.

Recommend bet: Lay 3 sets at 2.58.
                                                                            Last edited by The Situation; 05-09-13, 13:26.

Wawrinka v Murray should be a classic later imo. Wawrinka's 2013 form has taken him to a new level, has reached a career best 4 APT finals and has beaten nearly double the amount of top 10 players than any other previous season. He put in a very dominant performance against Berdych last round. Murray has come through fairly unscathed so far baring the odd sluggish first set, but it gets very difficult for the defending champ from this point on, undoubtedly has the toughest draw of the 3 outright leaders. He leads him 8-5 on head to heads, usually hard fought battles. Berdych's main strength has lied in his first serve winner % being so high(78%), hard to him reaching that level again here considering Murray's defensive strengths but see it being long grind with Andy eventually wearing him down.

Recommend bet: Lay 3 sets at 2.58.
                                                                              How about Wawrinka 7/2 at ladbrokes and your stake back as a fee bet if goes to 5 sets.

Originally posted by Fearbocht View Post
                                                                                How about Wawrinka 7/2 at ladbrokes and your stake back as a fee bet if goes to 5 sets.
                                                                                Yeah solid, can't back with them though.

Its only 25 and shops only i think proper grinding.

Anyone watching the OZ open?

Pre tournament did Na Li & Djok double.

May do (will . . .) in plays during tourney.
                                                                                    Last edited by TheJiggaman; 13-01-14, 03:15.

I did a short preview and backed a few myself. On a Williams/Djok double

The first Grand Slam of the Calendar year gets underway on Monday, and it’s down under we go to see if Novak Djokovic can make it an unprecedented  4 straight...

I did a short preview and backed a few myself. On a Williams/Djok double

http://www.onlinegamblingbible.com/s...ennis-preview/
                                                                                        I don't think Novak would be too happy being called a Croat!

It's probably one of the worst sports betting pieces I've ever read.

Nothing like getting right to the point

One thing though, 'proof read'

GFY dickhead

Not brilliant by any means, but it's only meant to be a quick short piece. Defo should have proof read it though

GFY dickhead

Not brilliant by any means, but it's only meant to be a quick short piece. Defo should have proof read it though

What? Does he have to be so much of a cunt about it? It's a once a week short ~500 word article that i don't link here but decided to link it as Jigga asked did anyone have any thoughts on the betting, so i did. Won't be doing it again, that's for sure.

IMO there’s a big difference between being “a cunt” and being upfront about something. He didn’t insult you, he expressed an opinion. Calling him a dickhead is totally uncalled for.

Whatever. It's a great feeling being insulted like that, wp him

The draw has yet to be made, but with Djokovic seeded 2, he will be in the opposite half from Nadal (Seeded 1), Murray (Seeded 4) and Federer (Seeded 6) so if he continues his good run of form, he’ll avoid the other contenders until the final.
                                                                                                        I like in tennis that they do a draw within each seeding bracket, instead of just sticking with the 1v8,4v5 top half, 2v7,3v6 bottom half structure of other sports which can lead to repeat fixtures from one event to the next (e.g., in darts Andy Hamilton playing Taylor in the last 8 for what seemed about six grand slams running because he was stuck at #8)

From your article it seems they do this as a pre draw before the main draw, when/where does it get released?

I like in tennis that they do a draw within each seeding bracket, instead of just sticking with the 1v8,4v5 top half, 2v7,3v6 bottom half structure of other sports which can lead to repeat fixtures from one event to the next (e.g., in darts Andy Hamilton playing Taylor in the last 8 for what seemed about six grand slams running because he was stuck at #8)

From your article it seems they do this as a pre draw before the main draw, when/where does it get released?
                                                                                                          Del Potro seeded 5th also in the same half as Nadal et al. I'm not sure where i read it, because i looked through a lot of articles and sites before i wrote anything down. Disappointed i didn't realise i put Croat instead of Serb. That will be sorted soon, but the rest is just some predictions with a few facts thrown in. If i wanted it to be 2000 word longs, it could have been but that's not i'm asked to do. Guess it would have just been 2k words of shit by the looks of it.

Apologies for the comment Situation. You're entitled to your opinion and i was just pretty pissed off when i read it

GFY dickhead

You really need to grow up and learn how to take criticism. It not the first time you've lost the rag when someone criticised you . However it's one thing overreacting when someone comments on your family affairs but it's an entirely different matter when someone gives an opinion on a piece of work undertaken by you that's in the public domain[and which you have used this site to promote] . I don't agree with everything The Situation says but I'll defend his right to give an opinion every time. It grates listening to someone like yourself telling people to fuck off if they don't agree with you or tell you how brilliant you are.

You should console yourself with the thought that far more talented and experienced journalists and writers than yourself have their work constantly torn to shreds by the public. Actually most of them receive much more negative reaction than positive so it's a bit rich of a rookie like you to act like you're beyond criticism. If you're going to stick at this game be prepared for a lot more. FWIW I think you're writing is ok and generally well researched . I usually have a read over it even if I'm not too interested in the sport you're discussing. However this latest offering looked sloppy and hastily thrown together. Even if it wasn't The Situation was entitled to give his opinion without such an impetulant reaction. Take it on the chin next time

I don't mind if someone critizes my work. It helps me and lets me learn from mistakes

However this latest offering looked sloppy and hastily thrown together
                                                                                                              This is cool, and wouldn't cause me to lose my rag. The feeling of humiliation is different though. I've already apologised on thread and sent him a PM asking to give me some feedback as to why it was so bad. Even if i read a report, review, or whatever from someone and i thought it was horrendous, i wouldn't say so. That's where i differ from other people i guess. I wasn't promoting anything btw and will be back in my box from now on anyway. Cheers for the post

If Djokovic and Williams ship then I couldn't give a shit how it was written. If they don't it's a load of bollocks.

I don't mind if someone critizes my work. It helps me and lets me learn from mistakes

This is cool, and wouldn't cause me to lose my rag. The feeling of humiliation is different though. I've already apologised on thread and sent him a PM asking to give me some feedback as to why it was so bad. Even if i read a report, review, or whatever from someone and i thought it was horrendous, i wouldn't say so. That's where i differ from other people i guess. I wasn't promoting anything btw and will be back in my box from now on anyway. Cheers for the post

Ah come on there's no need to feel humiliated, I'm sure that's not what meant. Everyone exaggerates their feelings when having a go at a journalist or writer. So stay out of your box and grow a thicker skin

Originally posted by conspicuous View Post
                                                                                                                    Ah come on there's no need to feel humiliated, I'm sure that's not what meant. Everyone exaggerates their feelings when having a go at a journalist or writer. So stay out of your box and grow a thicker skin
                                                                                                                    It only reads one way to me. Oh well

Keep it up folks

Li Na thru to semis.

Djok will win.

Originally posted by mithcd
                                                                                                                        Guys, it's nice t bet on Wawrinka. He's got very low odds, and on my fanatic opinion, I think he's gonna pull off one upset right here.
                                                                                                                        Djok/Williams double didn't happen for me, and shame for Jigga that Djok didn't give him a final sweat, but still got Wawrinka @ 66/1 in the final so i'll settle for that.