Premier League fixtures dropped today. Couple of decent games on the Sunday

Arsenal playing Spurs and Liverpool in the opening 4 games not ideal, but anyway!

I can just about handle the lads who consistently come out with with misogynistic and racist shite excusing them as being 'a bit innocent' when they are and avoiding them as much as possible when they are just neanderthal morons but there is no one more insidiously nasty than the kind of prick who pretends they are testing your reaction and varies their follow up accordingly. Its the live version of I was only trolling but even worse.

Its just about basic respect for people you have to work with. It is no one else's business how sensitive someone is about having hilarious emails about their fondness for having a glazed ring circulated (is the word glazed supposed to be funny or have some double entendre in that context? I don't really get it ).
      I wouldn't think the level of offence here caused was a firing matter but the level of stupidity shown by someone in a management position had to be an on the spot red card.

I don't get why soccer fans would be upset with the La Liga app recording snippets of sound to find out if you are watching their games in a bar that is using an unlicensed feed. How else are teams going to pay their players the hundreds of millions they do. It was actually very clever of them IMO.

A day in the life of Victor Strewel

Two classic bits from "The Trial" (1993). Meldrew's long-suffering wife had gone out with Mrs Warboys, leaving him alone in the house, waiting for a phone ca...

Poor old glazed donut twat missed the cutoff by about 6 or 7 years,no excuse, there’s been plenty time given for the slow learners to catch up. I’m sure the company is delighted with whoever decided to let the media though, it’s that part that’s unfair, don’t think he could complain about harsh internal discipline.
            The disappearance of sexual “bants” from the workplace has been a good thing (obv department dependent )
            Last edited by Guest; 13-06-19, 21:55.

An evening with Thomas Friedman tonight. Impressive dude.

Obviously an excuse for eating and drinking well (currently consuming last beverage on the DART homeward) but this trend towards doing interesting stuff is good.

Dalkey is Grade A wanker territory to judge by the pubs.

Poor old glazed donut twat missed the cutoff by about 6 or 7 years,no excuse, there’s been plenty time given for the slow learners to catch up. I’m sure the company is delighted with whoever decided to let the media though, it’s that part that’s unfair, don’t think he could complain about harsh internal discipline.
                    The disappearance of sexual “bants” from the workplace has been a good thing (obv department dependent )
                    Yeah. That's my point.

Google elevates him to the notoriety of Hitler.....for being stupid.

I don't get why soccer fans would be upset with the La Liga app recording snippets of sound to find out if you are watching their games in a bar that is using an unlicensed feed. How else are teams going to pay their players the hundreds of millions they do. It was actually very clever of them IMO.
                        Similar to how GAA fans shouldn't complain about Dublin advantages, how else are the players going to get paid fortunes?

Jokes in work need to be the most anodyne ever. My colleague keeps making sexual jokes to female colleagues and it's absolutely dodgy as fuck.
                          C'est la France. I think that is probably accepted extra-curricular standard opening raise?

Was introduced to the phrase “Dubai porta pottie” yesterday
                            Knew the Saudi’s liked their brown but jesus

No it's really not! Or maybe it's not Brittany.
                                You need to sit down with a sympathetic colleague and ask him/her how affairs work in France.

Then explain to us so we can all marvel at the sophistication.

Get on it!

Jokes in work need to be the most anodyne ever. My colleague keeps making sexual jokes to female colleagues and it's absolutely dodgy as fuck.
                                  Most obvious reverso ever

Without wishing to distress any IPB greats it appears that the roads in Hong-Kong are populated almost exclusively by Teslas and double decker buses.

There’s a good a few of these articles about now but thought this was a good article on my mindfulness isn’t so great, definitely chimes with my thinking/experience of the brand of it that is pushed these days

This line has potentially already ruined my weekend, might need to meditate to get over it-“Google’s former in-house mindfulness tsar Chade-Meng Tan had the actual job title Jolly Good Fellow.”
                                      Their depravity has no limits

Without wishing to distress any IPB greats it appears that the roads in Hong-Kong are populated almost exclusively by Teslas and double decker buses.
                                        A mate of mine who a few IPBer's would know is currently living in Norway ATM and thought the same.
                                        I was curious and apparently electric vehicles sales make up over 55% of sales this year with over 60% of those being Tesla's.
                                        So 1/3 of cars sold in Norway ATM are Tesla's, pretty incredible market share even if it's a very small irrelevant market for the company.

Ha no, omg, that's embarrassing.

Pornhub illustrates it as a porn move where you do your stuff and then when ready 'glaze' the titties with your cum.

I'll never live this down.
                                          A 'ring' is an areshole. How do you not know this?

Yeah. That's my point.

Google elevates him to the notoriety of Hitler.....for being stupid.
                                            Interesting that future Google searches of the woman suggesting she's into filthy sex don't get a mention.

Sure it was only banter.

5k minimum gaming table hitch, let's go.

Any good one off documentaries on Netflix recommended to pass an hour?
                                                Sour grapes
                                                Miami showband massacre
                                                Watched both this week, moderately interesting 6.5/10 each.
                                                Yeah couple weeks ago 1-0 - warm up for both teams i guess
                                                That’s quite something...
                                                Nottingham Forest for cocktails. They open at 6:30, get there about 20 mins before they open as the bar is tiny. Highlight of the city for me, the Duomo was fine and all and nice enough city to walk around in. This place beside the Duomo too - https://www.amoitaly.com/milano/luini.html
                                                Restaurants in Milan aren’t great, went to two 1-stars when there a few weeks back and they were just Ok. Couldn’t recommend either of them, there is a 2-star which was apparently excellent but I didn’t eat there, can dig out the name if you’d like.
                                                The city parks are nice for runs and there’s a fee local bars too which are decent, also public transport is dirt cheap, hop on the tube where you can.

I can just about handle the lads who consistently come out with with misogynistic and racist shite excusing them as being 'a bit innocent' when they are and avoiding them as much as possible when they are just neanderthal morons but there is no one more insidiously nasty than the kind of prick who pretends they are testing your reaction and varies their follow up accordingly. Its the live version of I was only trolling but even worse.

Its just about basic respect for people you have to work with. It is no one else's business how sensitive someone is about having hilarious emails about their fondness for having a glazed ring circulated (is the word glazed supposed to be funny or have some double entendre in that context? I don't really get it ).
                                                I wouldn't think the level of offence here caused was a firing matter but the level of stupidity shown by someone in a management position had to be an on the spot red card.
                                                I think it depends on the workplace and also the level of relationship. I don’t think you’ll ever get away with slagging people who report to you, in any context, and you can sometimes get away with it with peers if they’re like-minded but it’s such a mine field. I just think the auto-Twitter reaction to every controversy is “sack him” is a bit too harsh, I’d be shocked if the guy chanced another email like that ever again. Also to be clear I’m not talking about the “harmless, I just slapped her arse” type behavior or language, more just jokes per se in the workplace.

Interesting that future Google searches of the woman suggesting she's into filthy sex don't get a mention.

Sure it was only banter.
                                                Another collateral damage of the vitality of these things. It’s completely tough for her too. The idea that we HAVE to take pictures and record everything funny or interesting and send it to our mates immediately is going to have horrible consequences. Same as nights out now or concerts where you’d be afraid almost to dance in case some eejit decides you’re a bit mad and sends it around the world.

I hope McDoug followed his own advice from last year and back the Toronto Raptors for the NBA title.

Also for those who want a jump on the next superstar US athlete, meet Zion Williamson, a lock for 1st pick in the NBA draft this year and likely to receive one of, if not the biggest endorsement deal ever for a rookie athlete in any American sport:

It was showtime in Cameron Indoor as Zion Williamson pulled off a 360 dunk during the game against Clemson. Normally something you would only see in a dunk ...

Sure it was only banter.
                                                    It's blatantly obvious that she's into no such thing and is a purely innocent party.

Put it this way; did the idiot in question commit a crime?

Another collateral damage of the vitality of these things. It’s completely tough for her too. The idea that we HAVE to take pictures and record everything funny or interesting and send it to our mates immediately is going to have horrible consequences. Same as nights out now or concerts where you’d be afraid almost to dance in case some eejit decides you’re a bit mad and sends it around the world.
                                                      Tom Friedman made a really good point about this last night. He said that just because we live large parts of our lives in cyberspace, that does not remove your responsibility to act ethically and do unto others as they would do unto you (no, he's not some bible basher, actually a secular Jew but I thought it was a very good point).

In a world where one person can destroy everything and all people could, literally, solve all the world's problems - you need an ethical framework more than ever.

It's blatantly obvious that she's into no such thing and is a purely innocent party.

Put it this way; did the idiot in question commit a crime?
                                                        Of course it's obvious, but it will still be a mental image conjured up by future potential employers.

What would it do to your confidence in an interview scenario?

I agree with you that the guy shouldn't be doomed for the rest of his career, a sacking as a harsh lesson is appropriate enough.

I just think it's interesting that we rarely view these things from the woman's pov.

I got stiffed filling up with diesel yesterday by using a pump that was dispensing some sort of magic diesel that costs 10c a litre more.

Whats the deal with the magic stuff, is there any case for paying an extra €7 per fill or is it just a complete rip off?
                                                          It seems to have arrived with Circle K taking over Esso but they at least have both prices up on their main sign this was an Applegreen who only had a very discreet magic juice sign on the pump and the price on the meter.

Tom Friedman made a really good point about this last night. He said that just because we live large parts of our lives in cyberspace, that does not remove your responsibility to act ethically and do unto others as they would do unto you (no, he's not some bible basher, actually a secular Jew but I thought it was a very good point).

In a world where one person can destroy everything and all people could, literally, solve all the world's problems - you need an ethical framework more than ever.
                                                            We have plenty of very serious existential risks in the world which appear to be growing, I completely agree that the idea of ethical frameworks which are used across a variety of domains are becoming more important than ever.

Ethics in areas such as AI are pretty topical and interesting, as the consequences are completely unknown. It leads into the idea of the potential ramifications of lack of governance due to the continued progress of humanity specifically technological progress which may be irreversible. This combined with the ever expanding capacity of bad actors to cause this irreversible harm which was only ever available to states is a tad worrisome.

Nik Bostrom is big in AI terms after Superintelligence but his primary focus is actually philosophy and ethics.
                                                            He has a relatively recent publication on the topic of global governance called "The Vulnerable World Hypothesis"

Originally posted by Bostrom View Post
                                                            Scientific and technological progress might change people’s capabilities or incentives in ways that would destabilize civilization.
                                                            For example, advances in DIY biohacking tools might make it easy for anybody with basic training in biology to kill millions; novel military technologies could trigger arms races in which whoever strikes first has a decisive advantage; or some economically advantageous process may be invented that produces disastrous negative global externalities that are hard to regulate.
                                                            This paper introduces the concept of a vulnerable world: roughly, one in which there is some level of technological development at which civilization almost certainly gets devastated by default, i.e. unless it has exited the “semi-anarchic default condition”. Several counterfactual historical and speculative future vulnerabilities are analyzed and arranged into a typology.
                                                            A general ability to stabilize a vulnerable world would require greatly amplified
                                                            capacities for preventive policing and global governance. The vulnerable world hypothesis thus offers a new perspective from which to evaluate the risk-benefit balance of developments towards ubiquitous surveillance or a unipolar world order

Is there a black ball in the urn of possible inventions?

What we haven’t extracted, so far, is a black ball: a technology that invariably or by default destroys the civilization that invents it. The reason is not that we have been particularly careful or wise in our technology policy. We have just been lucky.

What if there is a black ball in the urn? If scientific and technological research continues, we will eventually reach it and pull it out. Our civilization has a considerable ability to pick up balls, but no ability to put them back into the urn. We can invent but we cannot un-invent. Our strategy is to hope that there is no black ball.

He makes the case for the virtues of constant surveillance among other things which intuitively I'm not sure about and may cause PSV to spontaneously combust but nonetheless it certainly raises lots of questions around the need for ethical governance in an era where the risk posed by a lone bad actor may have incredible consequences.

I got stiffed filling up with diesel yesterday by using a pump that was dispensing some sort of magic diesel that costs 10c a litre more.

Whats the deal with the magic stuff, is there any case for paying an extra €7 per fill or is it just a complete rip off?
                                                              It seems to have arrived with Circle K taking over Esso but they at least have both prices up on their main sign this was an Applegreen who only had a very discreet magic juice sign on the pump and the price on the meter.
                                                              It's vegan diesel

Of course it's obvious, but it will still be a mental image conjured up by future potential employers.

What would it do to your confidence in an interview scenario?

I agree with you that the guy shouldn't be doomed for the rest of his career, a sacking as a harsh lesson is appropriate enough.

I just think it's interesting that we rarely view these things from the woman's pov.
                                                                I don't think all potential future employees have your durrrrrrrty mind.

It would be interesting to know who made the emails public...

We have plenty of very serious existential risks in the world which appear to be growing, I completely agree that the idea of ethical frameworks which are used across a variety of domains are becoming more important than ever.

Ethics in areas such as AI are pretty topical and interesting, as the consequences are completely unknown. It leads into the idea of the potential ramifications of lack of governance due to the continued progress of humanity specifically technological progress which may be irreversible. This combined with the ever expanding capacity of bad actors to cause this irreversible harm which was only ever available to states is a tad worrisome.

Nik Bostrom is big in AI terms after Superintelligence but his primary focus is actually philosophy and ethics.
                                                                  He has a relatively recent publication on the topic of global governance called "The Vulnerable World Hypothesis"

He makes the case for the virtues of constant surveillance among other things which intuitively I'm not sure about and may cause PSV to spontaneously combust but nonetheless it certainly raises lots of questions around the need for ethical governance in an era where the risk posed by a lone bad actor may have incredible consequences.
                                                                  Repeat of the Carrington event would be kind of hilarious, I mean I’d end up dying horribly eventually but would be funny watching everyone suddenly having to deal with no internet given how batshit people get when Vodafone/eir have a 1 or 2 hour outage

I don't think all potential future employees have your durrrrrrrty mind.

It would be interesting to know who made the emails public...
                                                                    Probably was just the icing on the donut. He wouldn't get throw under the bus like that if it was a once off remark by a competent manager.

I hope McDoug followed his own advice from last year and back the Toronto Raptors for the NBA title.

Also for those who want a jump on the next superstar US athlete, meet Zion Williamson, a lock for 1st pick in the NBA draft this year and likely to receive one of, if not the biggest endorsement deal ever for a rookie athlete in any American sport:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDysliA7HqI
                                                                      Sadly it'll be Pelicans he is going to. Endorsements projected to be about 40% less than it would be with Knicks if they had gotten 1st pick.

I'm delighted, the Pelicans deserve some good fortune in light of the current situation with their best player.

I suspect all else equal the $100m+ he gets in endorsements at 19 and the likely $220m max deal he gets in a few years will be just fine.

LeBron's legacy is buttressed by his achievements in a small market and he's likely to eventually reach billionaire status. It may cost him in the short term but if he's as good and has the pull he's expected to have, he'll make insane money anywhere.

Stop; it's gonna be scandalous. It's like to think he's fool-proof in regards to how he'll do too.

Gonna be a big one with Davis gone though.. He'll be their number one man, especially if they don't (and likely won't) get Kuzma.

It’s seem remarkable that the holier than thou types online, , FB, Twitter, forums , (dare I say IPB) maintain the high moral ground on every populist issue going, UNTIL someone disagrees with them, then they turn on that person , dissecting their personality , making over the top moral judgements/damnations based off their own reading (misreading) of a simple comment , reaction , in such a way as to betray their own solemn words beliefs etc. The portrait they like to paint of their moral adversary says more about them that the person commenting . IF you are such or strive to be such a remarkable upstanding citizen with high moral values, and deride people to make yourself look good well then take a good look at yourself and breathe in some humility and breathe out the hypocrisy. Humour for example is meant to be levity and I know some levity can go too far, however it’s a good idea to consider the intentions of someone rather than the mere words you read. I know this applies to me also – Breathes IN - Breathes OUT (feck it. FUCK LIVERPOOOL)

Any recommendations for a good mattress?

Similar to the Marie Bailey case, just because you can doesn’t mean you should. I fiund myself in a situation before where you realize how quickly things can go viral with a mate of mine, and it was the first time I took pause to think of the impact that a person going through that takes.

Like this twist on Orwell (picture link doesn’t work, mods feel free to correct)

I think the worst scenarios of this are when people come out with a view on referendums and the twitter mob start ringing their place of work saying they should lose their jobs. Or the guy working in the fish shop in Belfast who wrote a sign saying “you can beat your wife but you can’t beat our fish and chips”, he was 17 and the mob wanted him hung.
                                                                                Joking about a topic, and having that topic as the butt of the joke are two different things.

If you want memory foam, you get great value with the Simba, Eve, Emma, Easca brands online.

We bought the Emma as it had the best rating over the largest amount of reviews and we bought the bed from Eve, one always has 20-30% off too.
                                                                                  Arrive in a box, approx 100 day full refund etc, https://www.emma-mattress.ie/

It’s seem remarkable that the holier than thou types online, , FB, Twitter, forums , (dare I say IPB) maintain the high moral ground on every populist issue going, UNTIL someone disagrees with them, then they turn on that person , dissecting their personality , making over the top moral judgements/damnations based off their own reading (misreading) of a simple comment , reaction , in such a way as to betray their own solemn words beliefs etc. The portrait they like to paint of their moral adversary says more about them that the person commenting . IF you are such or strive to be such a remarkable upstanding citizen with high moral values, and deride people to make yourself look good well then take a good look at yourself and breathe in some humility and breathe out the hypocrisy. Humour for example is meant to be levity and I know some levity can go too far, however it’s a good idea to consider the intentions of someone rather than the mere words you read. I know this applies to me also – Breathes IN - Breathes OUT (feck it. FUCK LIVERPOOOL)
                                                                                    He without sin cast the first stone comes to mind with me regularly. It’s the hypocrisy I can’t stand, lads who send around 50 nudes a week into priv Ate group chats giving out then about Jackson’s messages on FB to virtue signal.

Harvey Norman 70% off sale this weekend

If you want memory foam, you get great value with the Simba, Eve, Emma, Easca brands online.

We bought the Emma as it had the best rating over the largest amount of reviews and we bought the bed from Eve, one always has 20-30% off too.
                                                                                        Arrive in a box, approx 100 day full refund etc, https://www.emma-mattress.ie/
                                                                                        Thanks will look those up! I've never used memory foam so I don't know, they've all been spring based. Particularly interested in any recommendations for back pain, I have a lot after being hit by a car.

Does the frame itself matter much apart from aesthetics (yours is the eve one you said)? I would have whatever frame that was already in my apartment.

Mattress Mick

I bought a couple of the Valencia Matttress for my daughters house in santry , and they are very good for the price. They delivered at a time that suited as well.
                                                                                          Longshotvalue.com

Thanks will look those up! I've never used memory foam so I don't know, they've all been spring based. Particularly interested in any recommendations for back pain, I have a lot after being hit by a car.

Does the frame itself matter much apart from aesthetics (yours is the eve one you said)? I would have whatever frame that was already in my apartment.
                                                                                            I had a fall a few years ago and suffered with my back, I found this more comfortable than a spring tbh.

Apparently bad memory foam can bend at the edges, basically falling out but reviews of these said it's fine in that department.

My one thing during the summer is they really retain heat so you can get too warm. It could be the house though, this air to water system keeps the house very warm.

Not sure about the importance of the frame but it's the reason we decided to buy from of these sites.
                                                                                            She just picked her fav aesthetically from a list of places that sold similar for fit as much as anything but no idea if it matters at all.

He without sin cast the first stone comes to mind with me regularly. It’s the hypocrisy I can’t stand, lads who send around 50 nudes a week into priv Ate group chats giving out then about Jackson’s messages on FB to virtue signal.
                                                                                              Listened to this on Wednesday night on Radio 4 about the morality of hypocrisy, quite focused on the Tories and drug admissions:
                                                                                              Live debate examining the moral issues behind one of the week's news stories.

Originally posted by aidankk View Post
                                                                                                Mattress Mick

I bought a couple of the Valencia Matttress for my daughters house in santry , and they are very good for the price. They delivered at a time that suited as well.
                                                                                                I'm sure all the models are different and all but I was immediately turned off there and Harvey Norman when I saw they were selling Visco mattresses for 500e+ and you could buy mattresses of the same brand for around 200e on Pigsback.

I had a fall a few years ago and suffered with my back, I found this more comfortable than a spring tbh.

Apparently bad memory foam can bend at the edges, basically falling out but reviews of these said it's fine in that department.

My one thing during the summer is they really retain heat so you can get too warm. It could be the house though, this air to water system keeps the house very warm.

Not sure about the importance of the frame but it's the reason we decided to buy from of these sites.
                                                                                                  She just picked her fav aesthetically from a list of places that sold similar for fit as much as anything but no idea if it matters at all.
                                                                                                  I am seeing that now, everybody says foam mattresses get quite hot. There is a 40% sale on the emma one like you said there always is. Did you get the "Emma Smart Sleeve"?

I imagine all the reviews are bought and paid for but since you have it and actually rate it, that makes a difference.

I am seeing mattresses up to 3k+ and so many types. Need to get into IKEA, Arnotts, Harvey Norman, etc to try some out as well.

And check out "mattress toppers" too.
                                                                                                  Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 14-06-19, 11:54.

I am seeing that now, everybody says foam mattresses get quite hot. There is a 40% sale on the emma one like you said there always is. Did you get the "Emma Smart Sleeve"?

I imagine all the reviews are bought and paid for but since you have it and actually rate it, that makes a difference.

I am seeing mattresses up to 3k+ and so many types. Need to get into IKEA, Arnotts, Harvey Norman, etc to try some out as well.

And check out "mattress toppers" too.

I just have no real idea about them to be honest so relying on various reviews was the best on a budget.
                                                                                                    We bought the morgedal memory foam for the spare room from IKEA around 200e.

Basically we were tight on money so we kitted out the spare room and waited until we had more funds to do our own.

For some reason I have this idea that mattresses are something quite expensive that you use alot that nobody knows anything about so I'm hesitant to buy them in a shop in Ireland where I feel I'd get ripped off hence deferring to online.

Didn't get the sleeve either but I'll mention it.

There's a mattress thread in the EDF from on 2p2, and pretty sure there's a thread in BFI by a guy that owns a mattress company. Might give some insight.

confusopoly = mega margins.

Listened to this on Wednesday night on Radio 4 about the morality of hypocrisy, quite focused on the Tories and drug admissions:
                                                                                                        https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m0005t5d
                                                                                                        Very interesting, had expected something else, but it opened my eyes. It’s great to hear reasoned debate, from both sides.

we got a simba a couple of years ago. absolutely love it, and definitely my fav mattress ever!! you get a 100 night trial to decide whether you like it or not

How much do ye spend on matresses? We got a new one last year @ about €900ish iirc. Faith & Ethan it seems to be called. Pretty decent.

Cheers guys! I feel the same as you murdrum, if anything it would be the same thing as I do with glasses, try them on in specsavers and buy them for half price online.

How many burgers in it for me bois.

How much do ye spend on matresses? We got a new one last year @ about €900ish iirc. Faith & Ethan it seems to be called. Pretty decent.
                                                                                                                  Those Shrap & I mentioned are in the 500-800e range but I think GAB mentioned buying one before for much more.

Any of the decent memory foam it seems are <1k, other types can go far higher.

Cheers guys! I feel the same as you murdrum, if anything it would be the same thing as I do with glasses, try them on in specsavers and buy them for half price online.

How many burgers in it for me bois.
                                                                                                                    Pic or GTFO

Vegan diesel burger Matrass wankers. Av a good weekend .

Go for the best mattress you can afford. Tempur or one of the high end Harrisson (like the 12k/15k I think).

You're going to spend 33% of your life on it. Don't skimp, reap the rewards.
                                                                                                                        I certainly want a good one for those reasons but I'd like to be reasonable and not spend unnecessarily. The best review of a tempur I saw is that it was terrible for sex as they got locked into one spot and had to return it as they had to sleep perfectly in teh same spot on the bed and have sex on the floor.

Pic or GTFO
                                                                                                                        Just regular burger pics I took in a sec haha.

I'm all for quality bedding but I can't imagine sheets lasting 10-15 years. I did debate getting silk sheets but I'd be too annoyed if something happened them. Did get silk pillow cases and they're A1, so maybe down the line.