Irish Poker Boards
D4Events Feb17
Register Arcade FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-16, 17:27   #1
RossiesAbu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 55
Is this allowed?

2 players left in the hand, on the river Player A bets, Player B is thinking about it and says something like, "i think im going to have to call you", Player A then announces he has a straight, Player B mucks and Player A turns over his cards to show complete air. Should Player A face any sanctions?
RossiesAbu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 17:31   #2
dobby
Member
 
dobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The Village
Posts: 5,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
2 players left in the hand, on the river Player A bets, Player B is thinking about it and says something like, "i think im going to have to call you", Player A then announces he has a straight, Player B mucks and Player A turns over his cards to show complete air. Should Player A face any sanctions?
Nope.
dobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 17:43   #3
RossiesAbu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobby View Post
Nope.
What particular rule is he breaking though?
RossiesAbu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 17:47   #4
*PocketRockets*
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
What particular rule is he breaking though?
I think he's saying he shouldn't face sanctions.

Hellmuth would start telling you about etiquette in this spot.
*PocketRockets* is offline   Reply With Quote
2 Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 18:03   #5
dobby
Member
 
dobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The Village
Posts: 5,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
What particular rule is he breaking though?
He shouldn't face a sanction. Thread title and OP question are very different
dobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 18:17   #6
Flushdraw
The Gamesmaster
 
Flushdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Swieqi, Sunny Malta
Posts: 21,157
Player A is a prick
Flushdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 20:57   #7
Lplate
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
2 players left in the hand, on the river Player A bets, Player B is thinking about it and says something like, "i think im going to have to call you", Player A then announces he has a straight, Player B mucks and Player A turns over his cards to show complete air. Should Player A face any sanctions?
Cards speak. You can say what you like but it's the cards that count. Player B should 1) Not have mucked until Player A's hand was tabled and 2) Given him a good smack after.
Lplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 21:07   #8
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,055
Has player B called? Its a bit unclear in the OP. If not then its just speech play, if he has actually called then the relevant TDA rule is:

12: Declarations. Cards Speak at Showdown
Cards speak to determine the winner. Verbal declarations of hand value are not binding at showdown
but deliberately miscalling a hand may be penalized. Any player in the hand or not, should speak up if
he thinks a mistake is being made in reading hands or awarding the pot.

What this means in practice is that most TDs who are aware of the rule will warn the player who deliberately miscalled his hand, but won't kill his hand the first time it occurs.

This is all assuming wherever this happens follows the TDA rules.
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 21:35   #9
Morihei
Member
 
Morihei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: stendec
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hectorjelly View Post
Has player B called?
I think it's quite clear he hadn't. If he had, then a proper lynching of 'player a' would be entirely justifiable.
Morihei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 21:50   #10
The Aul Switcharoo
Member
 
The Aul Switcharoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: waterford
Posts: 2,866
Player A gets the pot and a penalty. Player B learns a lesson

I was in a situation like this a few months ago in a game in cork. I would have been player B and player a misdeclared his hand. I know this guy years and definitely just misread his hand. Dealer called floor on guy but I was just trying to tell him to award pot as I didn't have cards. T.d gave options to player A if he wanted the pot and he didn't want it and I got awarded it. Was fairly tilted at myself at mucking anyway. Should just stick to dealing
__________________
Redbet at the Dublin Poker Invasion FTW

Last edited by The Aul Switcharoo; 09-10-16 at 21:56.
The Aul Switcharoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 22:24   #11
Mellor
Member
 
Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,223
I understood it that player B hadn't called. But it's not completely clear either.

If that's the case, and player B wanted to fold without putting money in. Then I don't see what he has to complain about.
Obviously completely different if he was following through with the call and had the intention of paying.
__________________

35 Betfair bonus
Mellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 22:31   #12
Dice75
Bringing the Mac
 
Dice75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ranking People
Posts: 10,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mellor View Post
I understood it that player B hadn't called. But it's not completely clear either.

If that's the case, and player B wanted to fold without putting money in. Then I don't see what he has to complain about.
Obviously completely different if he was following through with the call and had the intention of paying.
I'm assuming he called or whats the point of the thread?

Some guy's speechplay to get a fold?
__________________
.

2017 LIVE IRISH POKER RANKINGS

.
Dice75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 22:47   #13
Mellor
Member
 
Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dice75 View Post
I'm assuming he called or whats the point of the thread?
I was also assuming there wasn't much point to the thread
__________________

35 Betfair bonus
Mellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-16, 13:47   #14
RossiesAbu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 55
No, Player B didnt call, i was just wondering if speechplay like that is okay? I presumed it was, just checking
RossiesAbu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-16, 16:16   #15
Flushdraw
The Gamesmaster
 
Flushdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Swieqi, Sunny Malta
Posts: 21,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
No, Player B didnt call, i was just wondering if speechplay like that is okay? I presumed it was, just checking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dice75 View Post
I'm assuming he called or whats the point of the thread?

Some guy's speechplay to get a fold?
I thought he called too

He's not a prick anymore
Flushdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-16, 00:24   #16
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
No, Player B didnt call, i was just wondering if speechplay like that is okay? I presumed it was, just checking
Yeah its fine.

In your op you described a player as mucking, when you meant folding. Typically people refer to mucking as discarding a losing hand at showdown. Thats what led to the confusion in the answers.
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
2 Thanks From:
Old 12-10-16, 01:24   #17
mugsy
straight arrow
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 571
this is still going i read it as he never called hence the " im going to call ".

rule changes from place to place but if that guy actually had a straight he could be open to a sanction.

he told the guy what his hand was and let him fold. possible collusion.

but as you say the action went no sanction just another smart arse.
mugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-16, 01:32   #18
mugsy
straight arrow
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hectorjelly View Post
Yeah its fine.

In your op you described a player as mucking, when you meant folding. .
whats the difference?
mugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-16, 02:10   #19
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugsy View Post
whats the difference?
You fold to a bet, you muck during showdown (typically having seen a better hand)
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-16, 03:29   #20
mugsy
straight arrow
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 571
i tried to reply and this shit site wouldnt let me so no going into a speil again incase it has posted but folding and mucking are not so clear cut.

mainly i can fold and win a pot but mucking no its like a rip of your hand even face up touch that muck. not all done at showdown either.

oh posted ***if everthing was so clear cut i wouldnt have come across different folding/mucking/angle shoots know the game your in

Last edited by mugsy; 12-10-16 at 03:33.
mugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 23:32.