Vegas advice/help

Im going to vegas on a stag and just wondering if anyone who has been there before can tell me the best place to go for a gamble. Were staying in the Aria and Ive heard the table limits for table games are $10-$15. This is a bit much for the guys I am going with as no one going is a big time gambler and none play table games at home. Anyone have any ideas where its possible to play low stakes? Also, I like playing poker so also wondering where good cash games take place, also with lower stakes like 1/2. Its first time going to vegas so have no idea where the best places are to go. Thanks in advance for help

Check out the casinos. Vegas has a few.

There is a street called the strip which is fairly lively at times.

I dont play table games but i know Hooters near the MGM has table game limits starting at $5 .For low stake cash games there are endless options.Personally i like the Wynn or the Bellagio to play but there is always plenty of cash games in the Aria where you are staying.Just download the 'Bravo Poker Live' app on your phone...it has a live list of all the cash games in Vegas including if there are any waiting lists.Everyone over in Vegas uses that app so its one app you should definetly have on your phone.
        Last edited by patg2; 15-07-14, 04:19.

Originally posted by patg2 View Post
          I dont play table games but i know Hooters near the MGM has table game limits starting at $5 .For low stake cash games there are endless options.Personally i like the Wynn or the Bellagio to play.Just download the 'Bravo Poker Live' app on your phone...it has a live list of all the cash games in Vegas including if there are any waiting lists.Everyone over in Vegas uses that app so its one app you should definetly have on your phone.
          hi pat

hi pat
            Howdy

Originally posted by deanolydon View Post
              Im going to vegas on a stag and just wondering if anyone who has been there before can tell me the best place to go for a gamble. Were staying in the Aria and Ive heard the table limits for table games are $10-$15. This is a bit much for the guys I am going with as no one going is a big time gambler and none play table games at home. Anyone have any ideas where its possible to play low stakes? Also, I like playing poker so also wondering where good cash games take place, also with lower stakes like 1/2. Its first time going to vegas so have no idea where the best places are to go. Thanks in advance for help
              For cheaper table games you'll need to go go to the cheaper casinos, Harrahs, Bally, Orleans and any of the Fremont Street casinos.

For a stag I'd defo spend some time at Fremont street, much cheaper to have a drink and lots going on in a smaller area compared to the Strip.
              "Being wrong is erroneously associated with failure, when, in fact, to be proven wrong should be celebrated, for it elevates someone to a new level of understanding."

Originally posted by TheSnapper View Post
                For a stag I'd defo spend some time at Fremont street, much cheaper to have a drink and lots going on in a smaller area compared to the Strip.
                It is worth seeing but I am not sure about recommending people to stay around there. I always felt a dodge/crazy person/poor people element to the place.

Vegas

My recommendations would be:

Stay in the Wynn - for the sheer class of the place
                  Best buffet: Wynn (the critics say Comso but the Wynn is still the best)
                  If your looking for low stakes limits and a decent poker room for cash games: Venetian
                  If your looking for low stakes tournaments: Caesers palace/planet hollywood
                  Looking for low stakes table games: The Quad or Margaritaville (main strip) for $5 blackjack and other table games also free drinks service

Freemont street is only worth a look and get the fcuk out of there then lol. Gambling there is as about as unglamerous as it gets

If you there for a stag you should go to Hakassan (all the major djs have gigs there), Haze in Aria is pretty good as well

The Rhino

Originally posted by patg2 View Post
                      I dont play table games but i know Hooters near the MGM has table game limits starting at $5 .For low stake cash games there are endless options.Personally i like the Wynn or the Bellagio to play but there is always plenty of cash games in the Aria where you are staying.Just download the 'Bravo Poker Live' app on your phone...it has a live list of all the cash games in Vegas including if there are any waiting lists.Everyone over in Vegas uses that app so its one app you should definetly have on your phone.
                      cheers for that, will definitely download it and have a look. Just dont want to be wasting time looking in casinos for low stakes.

Originally posted by Irisheman View Post
                        My recommendations would be:

Stay in the Wynn - for the sheer class of the place
                        Best buffet: Wynn (the critics say Comso but the Wynn is still the best)
                        If your looking for low stakes limits and a decent poker room for cash games: Venetian
                        If your looking for low stakes tournaments: Caesers palace/planet hollywood
                        Looking for low stakes table games: The Quad or Margaritaville (main strip) for $5 blackjack and other table games also free drinks service

Freemont street is only worth a look and get the fcuk out of there then lol. Gambling there is as about as unglamerous as it gets

If you there for a stag you should go to Hakassan (all the major djs have gigs there), Haze in Aria is pretty good as well
                        this is really helpful, thanks. Thanks to guys above also for the info. Even to the smart arses above. Always helpful.

Originally posted by deanolydon View Post
                          cheers for that, will definitely download it and have a look. Just dont want to be wasting time looking in casinos for low stakes.
                          If you want low stakes gambools head down to Fremont St. You should easily find Quarter Roulette with $1 table minimums.

Aria is grand hotel to stay in & all the hotels will have some game to suit ye -
                            make sure you throw a dollar into a machine when ordering drinks (gambling in any form = free drinks / not gambling = expensive drionks)
                            Do go to see Freemount but get out of dodge once you have - its pretty iffy imo (get a limo from the strip, will work out cheaper than a couple of cabs)
                            have a ball!

Originally posted by Lank01 View Post
                              Aria is grand hotel to stay in & all the hotels will have some game to suit ye -
                              make sure you throw a dollar into a machine when ordering drinks (gambling in any form = free drinks / not gambling = expensive drionks)
                              Do go to see Freemount but get out of dodge once you have - its pretty iffy imo (get a limo from the strip, will work out cheaper than a couple of cabs)
                              have a ball!
                              Cheers, I have to see this place. Most comments saying go and then leave. Thanks megatron.

Fremont and Downtown not as bad as described here. Lots of stuff going on and live bands and light shows on the street every night. Lots of new bars in the area, without slot machines everywhere. Lots of fun to be had. You can also visit Binions (Horseshoe) where the WSOP was born.
                                http://www.pokerinireland.net/

You are in the best place IMO, card room in the Aria is the nuts. There is $5 blackjack just up the Strip in New York New York.

The Aria has a couple of excellent daily tournaments at $125 entry.They spread $1/3 cash that isn't the most difficult in town,while the $1/2 cash at the Mirage or Planet Hollywood can be quite productive as well.For a good day out,try the quad bike experience to the Hidden Valley.A welcome change from the run of the mill tours to the Hoover Dam,or the Grand Canyon.For the best ribs in town,I recommend the PBR on the strip close to Planet Hollywood. Good luck.

Yeah this. The Aria's card room is the best.

Why so out of interest? The last time I stayed in the MC and it did not even enter my mind to pay a visit to the Aria as I had never really heard anything about it.

It is worth seeing but I am not sure about recommending people to stay around there. I always felt a dodge/crazy person/poor people element to the place.
                                          Firstly, I did not recommend to stay around there, op stated they were staying at Aria.

Yes you will see the odd "crazy person" but there isn't the pervasive threat you suggest. Then again I suspect I am less threatened by "poor people".

My idea of stag party appeal is lots of drinking in vibrant surroundings, Fremont street delivers that imho, free gigs from top musicians and drinks well below what you'll pay on The Strip.
                                          "Being wrong is erroneously associated with failure, when, in fact, to be proven wrong should be celebrated, for it elevates someone to a new level of understanding."

Originally posted by TheSnapper View Post
                                            Firstly, I did not recommend to stay around there, op stated they were staying at Aria.

Yes you will see the odd "crazy person" but there isn't the pervasive threat you suggest. Then again I suspect I am less threatened by "poor people".

My idea of stag party appeal is lots of drinking in vibrant surroundings, Fremont street delivers that imho, free gigs from top musicians and drinks well below what you'll pay on The Strip.
                                            Ya I suppose it has some positives. I think I would pay one visit any time I am in Vegas. There is no real danger in fairness once you stay close to the action. Just not my cup of tea but each to their own and OP will know how he feels about the place when he pays a visit down there.

Why so out of interest? The last time I stayed in the MC and it did not even enter my mind to pay a visit to the Aria as I had never really heard anything about it.
                                              Everything. Big room, loads of tables going, better brands of drinks available, comfy chairs, good dealers.

Games are really good too. The PLO is great, lots of action in it. NL is good also and games were 24 hrs when I was there. The 2 daily tournaments have some value in them ($125).
                                                You'll be pushed to find better, I stayed MGM in May June and walked there most days.
                                                Fremont Street, worth a visit but I'd be much the same as Tipp on it.

I am going with lads who will not really gamble much. They will want lively bars before a club. I would nearly say that somewhere young,messy and anything goes would suit fine.

It is one part of Vegas that I am not familiar with as I usually played poker and hit a club.

Anybody able to tell me what a good deal would be price wise for a helicopter tour over the gran canyon.

I used Papillion ~$300 including landing in the canyon

Have we any thoughts on Paris. I know the location is good. The downside is no Poker room but Bellagio across the road and PH beside should ease the pain in terms of that.

Could easily stretch the budget to PH if people really felt it was worth it.

Have we any thoughts on Paris. I know the location is good. The downside is no Poker room but Bellagio across the road and PH beside should ease the pain in terms of that.

Could easily stretch the budget to PH if people really felt it was worth it.

I've stayed in both Paris & Bally's and wouldn't pay the extra for Paris. I find the great valued Bally's more than suits my requirements. If I was going with the wife or another couple & was going to be spending more time in the room then possibly. Poker room in PH is no great shakes & Bally's poker room is every bit as good as it. Bellagio, Venetian, Aria poker rooms are different gravy imo. Caesars appears to be gone to the dogs as a poker venue.

Think im sold on it now as it makes sense considering the hotels are connected.