Irish Poker Boards
Register Arcade FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-16, 17:27   #1
RossiesAbu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 95
Is this allowed?

2 players left in the hand, on the river Player A bets, Player B is thinking about it and says something like, "i think im going to have to call you", Player A then announces he has a straight, Player B mucks and Player A turns over his cards to show complete air. Should Player A face any sanctions?
RossiesAbu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 17:31   #2
dobby
Member
 
dobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The Infirmary
Posts: 7,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
2 players left in the hand, on the river Player A bets, Player B is thinking about it and says something like, "i think im going to have to call you", Player A then announces he has a straight, Player B mucks and Player A turns over his cards to show complete air. Should Player A face any sanctions?
Nope.
dobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 17:43   #3
RossiesAbu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobby View Post
Nope.
What particular rule is he breaking though?
RossiesAbu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 17:47   #4
*PocketRockets*
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
What particular rule is he breaking though?
I think he's saying he shouldn't face sanctions.

Hellmuth would start telling you about etiquette in this spot.
*PocketRockets* is offline   Reply With Quote
2 Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 18:03   #5
dobby
Member
 
dobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The Infirmary
Posts: 7,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
What particular rule is he breaking though?
He shouldn't face a sanction. Thread title and OP question are very different
dobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 18:17   #6
Flushdraw
The Gamesmaster
 
Flushdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Swieqi, Sunny Malta
Posts: 22,120
Player A is a prick
Flushdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 20:57   #7
Lplate
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
2 players left in the hand, on the river Player A bets, Player B is thinking about it and says something like, "i think im going to have to call you", Player A then announces he has a straight, Player B mucks and Player A turns over his cards to show complete air. Should Player A face any sanctions?
Cards speak. You can say what you like but it's the cards that count. Player B should 1) Not have mucked until Player A's hand was tabled and 2) Given him a good smack after.
Lplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 21:07   #8
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,438
Has player B called? Its a bit unclear in the OP. If not then its just speech play, if he has actually called then the relevant TDA rule is:

12: Declarations. Cards Speak at Showdown
Cards speak to determine the winner. Verbal declarations of hand value are not binding at showdown
but deliberately miscalling a hand may be penalized. Any player in the hand or not, should speak up if
he thinks a mistake is being made in reading hands or awarding the pot.

What this means in practice is that most TDs who are aware of the rule will warn the player who deliberately miscalled his hand, but won't kill his hand the first time it occurs.

This is all assuming wherever this happens follows the TDA rules.
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 09-10-16, 21:35   #9
Morihei
Member
 
Morihei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: stendec
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hectorjelly View Post
Has player B called?
I think it's quite clear he hadn't. If he had, then a proper lynching of 'player a' would be entirely justifiable.
Morihei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 21:50   #10
The Aul Switcharoo
Member
 
The Aul Switcharoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: waterford
Posts: 3,017
Player A gets the pot and a penalty. Player B learns a lesson

I was in a situation like this a few months ago in a game in cork. I would have been player B and player a misdeclared his hand. I know this guy years and definitely just misread his hand. Dealer called floor on guy but I was just trying to tell him to award pot as I didn't have cards. T.d gave options to player A if he wanted the pot and he didn't want it and I got awarded it. Was fairly tilted at myself at mucking anyway. Should just stick to dealing
__________________
Redbet at the Dublin Poker Invasion FTW

Last edited by The Aul Switcharoo; 09-10-16 at 21:56.
The Aul Switcharoo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 22:24   #11
Mellor
Member
 
Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 10,182
I understood it that player B hadn't called. But it's not completely clear either.

If that's the case, and player B wanted to fold without putting money in. Then I don't see what he has to complain about.
Obviously completely different if he was following through with the call and had the intention of paying.
__________________
Mellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-16, 22:31   #12
Dice75
Bringing the Mac
 
Dice75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ranking People
Posts: 10,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mellor View Post
I understood it that player B hadn't called. But it's not completely clear either.

If that's the case, and player B wanted to fold without putting money in. Then I don't see what he has to complain about.
Obviously completely different if he was following through with the call and had the intention of paying.
I'm assuming he called or whats the point of the thread?

Some guy's speechplay to get a fold?
__________________
.

2018 Live Irish Poker Rankings

.
Dice75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 12-10-16, 10:49   #13
Atlantispoker
Member
 
Atlantispoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by RossiesAbu View Post
2 players left in the hand, on the river Player A bets, Player B is thinking about it and says something like, "i think im going to have to call you", Player A then announces he has a straight, Player B mucks and Player A turns over his cards to show complete air. Should Player A face any sanctions?
Almost afraid to type here but anyway looks like angle shoot followed by angleshoot followed by double bluff, B i think i have to call hears straight and folds A hears i think ive to call and misscalls his hand inducing a fold from B, because A cant win at showdown, nice work A and a warning for deliberatly miscalling your hand.
__________________
Atlantis Poker League present New Game POKER WITH THE CATS 3,500 GTD. The Monte Monthly Carlow The Trip to Tipp Sunday Hayes Hotel Thurles 3,500 GTD.THE Easter Poker Festival Friday 30th and Saturday 31st March The Dolmen Hotel
Atlantispoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-16, 14:02   #14
Mellor
Member
 
Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 10,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantispoker View Post
Almost afraid to type here but anyway looks like angle shoot followed by angleshoot followed by double bluff, B i think i have to call hears straight and folds A hears i think ive to call and misscalls his hand inducing a fold from B, because A cant win at showdown, nice work A and a warning for deliberatly miscalling your hand.
It's not misannouncing his hand if the other player never put money into the pot.
So either they both broke rules, or none of them did.

So if you want to give A a warning, you have to take the call chips off B and award them to A as the last player left

Last edited by Mellor; 12-10-16 at 14:09.
Mellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-16, 22:41   #15
Lplate
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantispoker View Post
Almost afraid to type here but anyway looks like angle shoot followed by angleshoot followed by double bluff, B i think i have to call hears straight and folds A hears i think ive to call and misscalls his hand inducing a fold from B, because A cant win at showdown, nice work A and a warning for deliberatly miscalling your hand.
Why would you give a penalty here Liam? A is clearly "trash talking" trying to induce a fold. The hand doesn't get to showdown. If A had mucked, no one would know any different.
Lplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-16, 23:39   #16
The Aul Switcharoo
Member
 
The Aul Switcharoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: waterford
Posts: 3,017
Considering he hadn't called this is basically just speech play in a heads up pot. No penalty(well there is a debate going on about the kassouf thing at the wsop)
__________________
Redbet at the Dublin Poker Invasion FTW
The Aul Switcharoo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-16, 09:34   #17
Atlantispoker
Member
 
Atlantispoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lplate View Post
Why would you give a penalty here Liam? A is clearly "trash talking" trying to induce a fold. The hand doesn't get to showdown. If A had mucked, no one would know any different.
Your right actually nothing to see here really is there :-)
__________________
Atlantis Poker League present New Game POKER WITH THE CATS 3,500 GTD. The Monte Monthly Carlow The Trip to Tipp Sunday Hayes Hotel Thurles 3,500 GTD.THE Easter Poker Festival Friday 30th and Saturday 31st March The Dolmen Hotel
Atlantispoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:36.